Home > Dog Health > Pet Insurance > 24PetWatch Insurance Reviews: A Complicated Claims Process?

24PetWatch Insurance Reviews: A Complicated Claims Process?

How do we keep this site running? This post may contain affiliate links — the cost is the same to you, but we get a referral fee. Compensation does not affect rankings. Thanks!

Dog hanging out of car windowIf you consider your pet part of the family, then why not make sure your dog has health insurance like the rest of your family? Just like with humans, pets can become ill or get in accidents when you least expect it. But the good news is, pet insurance can help save your family from drowning in debt and keep your canine companion alive and thriving. 24PetWatch is one of a number of popular pet insurance companies. See how they compare to the pack.

Visit Website

Review Overview

Policy Coverage
Customer Service & Reputation
Timeliness of Claim Payment
Price of Policy

2.88/5.00

24PetWatch is one of the most affordable pet insurance companies, but that comes with a price on what they offer their customers. They fall short in coverage, customer service and their claims process.

Why Does Your Pup Need Pet Insurance?

Get 3 Free Pet Insurance Quotes

You likely wouldn’t ask this question about you or your family members. Because he needs it for the same reasons you do. Your dog is a beloved member of your family, and you want to make sure he — and your finances — are covered in the event of an unexpected illness or accident. As you know, you can run up vet bills quickly, especially with emergency care, surgery, and chronic conditions. Pet insurance has your financial back, so you can focus on healing your pet instead of worrying about how you’re going to pay thousands of dollars in vet bills.

Services Covered by 24PetWatch Pet Insurance

Below is a list of services covered and not covered by 24PetWatch (as of April 2017).

Covered by 24PetWatchNot Covered by 24PetWatch
IllnessesPre-existing conditions
InjuriesPreventative care and wellness visits (Available with wellness coverage only)
AccidentsDental and orthodontic procedures (Available with wellness coverage only)
SurgeriesSpay/neuter procedures (Available with wellness coverage only)
Hospitalization
Prescription medications
Therapeutic diet
Diagnostics (x-rays, blood tests, etc.)
Congenital & hereditary conditions
Emergency care
Alternative treatments
Ambulance & paramedical
Accidental death
Cremation

What Are Some Key Features of 24PetWatch?

Started in 1999, 24 Hour Pet Watch has covered thousands upon thousands of pups and other pets for illnesses and injuries. All of 24PetWatch’s plans have a set $100 per year deductible and 20% copay. You can choose from five coverage amounts: $1,500, $3,000, $5,000, $10,000 and $20,000.

Pros

Cons

  • BBB rating of A+
  • Wellness coverage available as an add-on
  • No waiting period for accidents
  • Limited enrollment age (8 weeks – 10 years) compared to other insurance companies
  • 14-30 day waiting period for illness coverage to kick in
  • Many consumer complaints about the poor claims process (long time to get paid, lost claims, etc.)
  • A number of customer complaints about overall bad customer service
  • 24-month waiting period for chronic conditions
  • If one leg has a CCL (ACL) injury prior to enrollment the other leg will not be covered even if there are no prior issues. It is considered a pre-existing condition.
  • No unlimited claims options
  • $2.50 transaction fee
  • Priced on the higher end when we ran quotes

How Much Does 24PetWatch Cost?

24PetWatch, like most pet insurance companies, bases their policy pricing on age, breed and other factors. See our Pet Insurance Quotes for a pricing comparison of 11 different pet insurance companies, based on a few different breeds and ages.

Coupon Code

There are not any active 24PetWatch coupon codes at this time.

What Are 24PetWatch Customers Barking About?

Here’s a sampling of real 24PetWatch customer reviews, both positive and negative, to give you an idea of their experiences with the company. Finding positive reviews was more difficult than finding negative reviews, which is why the positive reviews are more dated.

Positive 24PetWatch Reviews

I have used this company for 5 years. My ten year old dog had to undergo surgery and lengthy cancer treatment, and my claims were paid promptly within 30 days. Nothing was denied. The key is correct paperwork, promptly submitted. I found 24PetWatch to be professional and as advertised–they were there when I needed them for a catastrophic situation, which is why I had insurance. I could not have afforded to treat my dog otherwise–it was a good investment for me. I saw many people at the cancer center who had no insurance and were really struggling. – Grc D., Yelp 12/15/2015

Not only do they pay in a timely fashion, the Vet faxes the forms in for me and occasionally has to relax them which is not a big deal. When 1 pup’s tail need to be amputated, I got almost all the money back, which was over $1,000. There are different plans which have different levels of coverage so that may explain some of the problems people are having. You get what you pay for and it is important to understand your policy and how it changes over time. As a pet ages things change as well… Just as they do for humans. I also pay annually so there is no wait time when I need immediate service! 🙂 – Eileen, Consumer Affairs 11/5/2015

Negative 24Petwatch Reviews

I detest this company. The previous company was decent and fair. Then they sold out to this company. Insurance cost doubling is the least of my concerns. I have paid FOUR TIMES since September for my cat’s insurance. Each time I receive a letter stating that her insurance has been cancelled for non-payment. I have spent, literally, hours on hold trying to resolve this issue with this disgusting company. THEY SAY THE ISSUE IS RESOLVED, THEIR MISTAKE, SORRY–AND THEN ALONG COMES ANOTHER CANCELLATION NOTICE. I came onto this site because I am hoping that someone has started a Class Action suit against this so-called “company”. If no one has, I may try to figure out how to do it myself. AVOID 24PetWatch.com LIKE THE PLAGUE!!! – Katherine, Consumer Affairs 3/5/2017

TERRIBLE. I have been trying to get this company to send me a check for my claim for months. They have issued and canceled and reissued the check at least five or six times and it has *magically* not been able to get to me. At some point, I was supposed to get a check expedited to me via courier mail and someone was supposed to call me and give a tracking number. But, after I didn’t receive the tracking number, I called back and the check was reissued via regular mail delivery service. So cancel asap. They suck. – Larisa M., Yelp 4/18/2017

What Can You Face if You Don’t Have Dog Insurance?

What can happen if you don’t have pet insurance? Even minor accidents and illnesses can break your wallet — the average vet bill for when your dog ingests a foreign object and needs surgery? A whopping $3,275, according to Preventive Vet! With more serious accidents and illnesses, not being insured can be devastating. Watch this heartbreaking story of Pomeranian Molly and her owner’s tough reality without pet insurance.

What’s Our Verdict on 24PetWatch Pet Insurance?

24PetWatch is not ranked in our top three in our pet insurance reviews article. 24 Pet Watch does have some good features so it may be a good fit for you. But you may be able to do better for the price. Be sure to check out our article, which gives you in-depth reviews and recommendations for the best pet insurance for you and your pup.

What are your experiences with 24PetWatch?

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.

Sally grew up in a feline-only home, but cat allergies in her early 20’s made it an easy transition to dog ownership. And she couldn’t be happier with her canine shadow, who’s been at her side (literally) for years. No longer a cat person for obvious reasons, Sally is now a true bone-ified dog lover.

Leave a Reply

10 Comments on "24PetWatch Insurance Reviews: A Complicated Claims Process?"

avatar
Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Christa Gallagher
Christa Gallagher
I inherited 24PetWatch when Purina Insurance sold to them. My plan with Purina was $44.90 per month and it was a rate that was supposed to stay that price. When 24 PetWatch took over it instantly went up every year. Now after being a loyal customer for 5 years I get a renewal notice in the mail and it states that my new rate starting June 2017 will be $163.18! Yes my Purina plan that was $44.90 is now going to be $163.18. It jumped from $64.73 this year to $163.18! That is almost $2000 a year in monthly fees!… Read more »
Maria DePrince
Maria DePrince

Do not ever buy pet insurance from this fraud of a company! $4,000.00 worth of bills and they have never paid one! They asked me for full medical records, which I emailed, and they lost them. I then faxed them, which they lost them. I then sent them certified mail, and was told they’re missing one page. Their Facebook page, if it’s real, is full of negative comments. The money I put out monthly for this policy, I could have paid my dog’s bill myself! #24 PetWatch A fraud company.

J.H.
J.H.
I am a military veteran, and I have received more timely care from the VA than my dog received from 24PetWatch. I was denied a claim on an emergent surgery for my dog. The claim was denied because it involved my dog’s mouth. 24PetWatch stated that they don’t reimburse dental claims, and used that excuse to deny compensation for an emergent surgery. I filed an appeal with a personal letter from my dog’s veterinarian explaining the emergent nature of the surgery, and 24PetWatch still denied my claim/appeal. I have been working on this issue for over 8 months, which is… Read more »
Jo Singer
Jo Singer
I just wanted to add here a correction to ‘ 24PetWatch no longer offers pet insurance as of August 2016.” The correct date is October 1, 2016. This applies only for subscribers living in the state of Florida. These policies will remain in effect however, at the end of the policy term. As an example, if you policy term ends in July 2017 then that will be the end of coverage for that pet. From what I have heard from customer service is that they are working to get partnership back for those owners who live in Florida.
Mas
This company was recommended to me by the adoption center where I got my dog. I understand that most insurance companies for humans aren’t great but this company takes the cake. I submitted my first claim for a minor vet bill after my dog fell down the stairs. I have been a customer for almost two years paying $46/month. My dog had Xrays done and had some medicine prescribed. The total bill was only $299 so I was due around $130 refund from insurance. I submitted the claim and it came back with an email saying it was completed but… Read more »
Maria DePrince
Maria DePrince

Almost the same story here. just canceled my policy
Do not ever buy pet insurance from this fraud of a company! $4,000.00 worth of bills and they have never paid one! They asked me for full medical records, which I emailed, and they lost them. I then faxed them, which they lost them. I then sent them certified mail, and was told they’re missing one page. Their Facebook page, if it’s real, is full of negative comments. The money I put out monthly for this policy, I could have paid my dog’s bill myself! #24 PetWatch A fraud company.

Amy
I have a ten year old Chihuahua and have had 24PetWatch for 9.5 years. I submit clear paperwork (they have a checklist at the top of the claim form!) and I have NEVER had a claim denied. I do not hesitate to take my dog to the ER or get her care because I am confident that my insurance will support me. Never been surprised, always have polite and clear customer service (they are a Canadian company!). They have very clear policies, I have what was formerly called QuickCare Gold for a reasonable monthly premium. My dog has had Lyme,… Read more »
Amy
Update! MA finally approved the new underwriter and my new policy (formerly $54, now $99!) will be made retroactive to ensure no “pre existing conditions” exemptions. I must say, in the short time this new underwriter has been in place, the customer service has evaporated. Incredibly long wait times on the phone, very very slow response to claims. I don’t know what’s happened- but it went from a company that met my expectations to a company I am reluctant to work with. Were my dog not 10 years old and vulnerable to the subjective scrutiny of “pre existing illness” games,… Read more »
Pissed consumer
Pissed consumer
Same here. My fur baby is 10 and I’ve had 24Petwatch since he was 18months. Now with several “pre-existing” conditions we are stuck and can’t shop insurance. The best part is we are in FL- our policy expired 12/31/16 and 24 PetWatch still does NOT have approval in FL. So here we sit after being a loyal customer for so long (with no lapses in coverage) with no coverage. I’ve called numerous times and now they are telling me he might have pre-existing conditions if and when they can renew his policy (which only lapsed because of them and through… Read more »
Sara May
Sara May

I have 24PetWatch and have nothing bad to say about them, but nothing over the top amazing to say about them either. Agreed pricing is good for the value but I guess you pay for what you get sometimes.

wpDiscuz

Send this to a friend