24PetWatch Insurance Reviews: A Complicated Claims Process?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Dog hanging out of car windowIf you consider your pet part of the family, then why not make sure your dog has health insurance like the rest of your loved ones? Just like humans, pets can become ill or get in accidents when you least expect it.

The good news is, pet insurance can help save your family from drowning in debt and keep your canine companion alive and thriving. 24PetWatch is one of many popular pet insurance companies. See how they compare to the pack.

Visit 24PetWatch Website

Article Overview

24PetWatch

3.2 / 5
24PetWatch
Policy Coverage 3.8
Customer Service & Reputation 2.5
Timeliness of Claim Payment 3.3
Price of Policy 3.3

Pros

  • Wellness coverage available as an add-on
  • No waiting period for accidents
  • Submit and track claims in real-time online
  • Your pet is covered when they travel with you in the United States or Canada
  • No additional waiting period for ACL, elbow dysplasia and hip dysplasia
  • Chronic conditions can be covered if they go 24 months without showing any symptoms
  • Annual deductible (not per incident)
  • Direct despot or check for reimbursement
  • Cover invoiced amoiunt, including exam fees

Cons

  • Limited enrollment age (8 weeks – 10 years) compared to other insurance companies
  • 14-30 day waiting period for illness coverage to kick in
  • If one leg has a CCL (ACL) injury before enrollment, the other leg will not be covered even if there are no prior issues. It’s considered a bilateral condition.
  • No unlimited claims options
  • $2.50 monthly transaction fee
  • Priced on the higher end when we ran quotes

Key Features

  • Underwriter: The North River Insurance Company
  • Exam period: If no medical records exist for Your Pet, or Your Pet has not been to a Veterinarian within the past twelve months, you agree to have Your Pet undergo a complete physical examination by a licensed Veterinarian, at Your cost, within the first 30 days of Your Policy effective date.
  • Pre-existing conditions defined by 24PetWatch:
    • Any Condition or complication directly resulting from a Condition which first occurred, manifested, displayed signs and/or symptoms of, was treated, diagnosed or has been known by You, and/or Your Veterinarian prior to Your Pet’s Coverage Effective Date, as stated on Your Document of Insurance, or during an applicable waiting period, and any subsequent time period during which a lapse of Coverage occurs.
  • Bilateral exclusions (a condition or disease that affects both sides of the body) for cruciate ligaments, hip dysplasia, elbow dysplasia and patella luxation
  • Pays claims within 60 days of submission either directly to the vet or direct deposit to you
  • Must submit claims within 180 days of treatment via online customer portal, email or mail
  • Customer service hours:
    • Phone, live chat, email and customer portal: Monday – Thursday: 8am-9pm (EST), Friday: 8am-7pm (EST) and Saturday: 9am-5pm (EST)

What Does 24PetWatch Cover?

Below is a list of services covered and not covered by 24PetWatch (as of December 2018). You’ll notice that 24PetWatch has annual or incident limits on certain items.

Covered by 24PetWatchNot Covered by 24PetWatch
IllnessesPre-existing conditions
InjuriesPreventative care and wellness visits (Available with wellness coverage only)
SurgeriesDental and orthodontic procedures (Available with wellness coverage only)
HospitalizationSpay/neuter procedures (Available with wellness coverage only)
Prescription medications
Therapeutic diet (50% up to $500/year)
Diagnostics (x-rays, blood tests, etc.)
Congenital & hereditary conditions
Emergency care
Alternative therapy (up to $1,000/year)
Ambulance & paramedical (up to $500/incident)
Accidental death ($1,000)
Euthanasia & cremation ($200)
Additional living expenses ($500/incident)
Trip cancellation ($500/incident)
Lost pet recovery costs ($500/incident)
Boarding kennel fees due to your hospitalization ($500/incident)

Is Hip Dysplasia Covered?

24PetWatch does cover hip dysplasia after a waiting period of 14 or 30-days depending on your plan:

  • Essential: 30-days
  • Extra, Classic, Super, Champion: 14-days

There’s a bilateral exclusion for hip dysplasia, which states it will not be covered if one side of the body was pre-existing.

Pricing Quotes

All of 24PetWatch’s plans have a $100, $250, $500 or $1,000 per year deductible, 20% copay and 80% reimbursement. You can choose from 4 coverage amounts: Extra $3,000, Classic $5,000, Super $10,000 and Champion $20,000.

Below are sample quotes we compiled in December 2018.

BreedLabrador RetrieverGolden RetrieverGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierDomestic Medium Hair Mix Cat
GenderMaleFemaleMaleFemaleMaleFemaleMale
Age28464 months7 months2
LocationIowa (zip code 50125)Illinois (zip code 60631)California (zip code 92027)New York (zip code 10012)New York (zip code 10012)Iowa (zip code 50125)Ohio (zip code 44108)
Price Per Month$55.57$89.19$54.97$81.26$56.53$34.71$27.26
Reimbursement Level80%80%80%80%80%80%80%
Annual Deductible$250$500$1,000$250$250$1,000$250
Annual Maximum$10,000$5,000$10,000$5,000$5,000$20,000$20,000

You can add wellness coverage to policies with a $3,000 or higher annual policy limit. Wellness coverage starts at $10/month for Routine Wellness or $25/month for Advanced Wellness.

 Routine WellnessAdvanced Wellness
Dental cleaningN/A$100
Fecal screen$15$15
Heartworm/flea preventionN/A$55
Heartworm test or FELV screen$15$15
Microchip procedure and/or urinalysis$20$20
Spay/neuter procedure and/or wellness blood test$80$100
Wellness exam$40$50
Canine bordetella vaccine/titer or feline FELV vaccine/titerN/A$15
Canine DHLPP vaccine/titer or feline FVRCP vaccine/titer$15$15
Rabies vaccine/titer and/or Lyme vaccine/titer, or FIP vaccine/titer$15$15

You can get personalized price quotes for your pet(s) from reputable companies when you fill out just 1 short form. You can also visit our Pet Insurance Quotes page to see how the cost of 24PetWatch Pet Insurance stacks up against the competition.

Coupon Code

There are no active 24PetWatch coupon codes at this time.

Waiting Periods

  • 12:01 am on the day following enrollment: Accidents
  • 2 days:
    • Ear illness
    • Eye illness
    • Flea allergy dermatitis
    • Intestinal parasites
    • Upper respiratory infection
    • UTI
    • Mange/mites/ringworm
    • Parvovirus/feline panleukopenia
    • Tick born diseases
    • Heartworm disease
  • 14 or 30 days (depending on your coverage): Cruciate ligament events
  • 14 or 30 days (depending on your coverage): Hip dysplasia

What Are 24PetWatch Customers Barking About?

Positive Reviews

My payments were raised, after being with them for over 5 years, but my dogs are old, and the new rates about the same as starting with another policy.  bottomline my dog got cancer in her liver and leg, and they paid their share without a problem.  my other dog has chronic allergic skin condition. since they established submissions through  website, everything is easy and sensible.   before, when the vet had to be involved, or the hospital admin staff, it was much more complicated and out of my control.  now, very easy.  no conflicts, no surprises. – Linda E., Yelp 4/23/2018

I had a very good experience so far with 24PetWatch (was SPCA insurance in Ontario, Canada)… very grateful for their coverage as I had to cover nearly 16,000$ for eye surgeries just after my pup turned 1 year old… they covered to the limit as written in the policy without any issue and in a timely manner. I have been treated well with each and every claim submission and this has been an unexpectedly bad year medically for my pups… I am so pleasantly surprised by the support that I have received during this tough time and I highly recommend them. – Oban, Consumer Affairs 11/2/2018

Negative Reviews

I adopted two sweet cats from a rescue shelter in Colorado named Every Creature Counts (now defunct), they came chipped, and obviously pre-registered since I have received emails from 24PetWatch asking me to “re-register” their chips. Of course, no one tells you this outfit wants to hit you for $85 as a “one-time” fee to even change your phone number, the cat’s name, or your contact information. This is a huge scam that preys on people’s fear of losing their pets. You believe your pet is registered, and these con artists are really holding the chip number hostage… and until you pay up, you can’t even update your damned phone number! – Bob, Consumer Affairs 1/22/2018

Adopted a new cat and started a trial of their insurance. Sent several emails requesting cancellation with no response. Just got off the phone with a high pressure salesman with whom it took about 6 repetitions of “I want to cancel this trial” for him to finally relent. Was supposed to send me an email confirmation. Never received it. Faxed them a request for confirmation. Not answered. Would give zero stars if possible. Stay away! – Band E., Yelp 1/3/2018

What Can You Face If You Don’t Have Dog Insurance?

What can happen if you don’t have pet insurance? Even minor accidents and illnesses can break your wallet — what’s the average vet bill if your dog ingests a foreign object and needs surgery? A whopping $3,275, according to Preventive Vet! With serious accidents and illnesses, not being insured can be devastating.

What’s Our Verdict On 24PetWatch Pet Insurance?

Visit 24PetWatch Website

24PetWatch does have some good features so it may be a good fit for you. But you may be able to do better for the price. Read our pet insurance comparison to see how 24PetWatch compares against other top pet insurance companies.

Are you considering 24PetWatch?

About The Author:

Kimberly received her Bachelor of Arts in multimedia journalism from Simpson College. She has been writing about dogs since 2014, covering subjects such as dog insurance, training, health, accessories and more. Her natural curiosity helps her research as she seeks the truth when learning about, comparing and personally testing canine products and services. With every piece she writes, her goal is to help our readers find the best fit for their unique needs.

Kimberly grew up in a family that loved Labrador Retrievers and remembers running and playing in the yard with them as a child. In 2017, she and her husband adopted their Coonhound mix, Sally, from a local shelter. Kimberly's research was put to good use since Sally faced some aggression issues with other dogs and needed some training to be an inside dog. She worked daily with Sally and sought help from professionals to help Sally become the happy pup she is today.

One of Kimberly's favorite pastimes is spoiling Sally with new toys, comfy beds and yummy treats (she even makes homemade goodies for her). She tries to purchase the safest products for Sally and knows that each canine has their own specific likes and dislikes. Kimberly is passionate about dogs, and knows the bond between humans and canines is like no other.

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Disclaimer: The information provided through this website should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, you should consult your health care provider.

Disclaimer: This website contains reviews, opinions and information regarding products and services manufactured or provided by third parties. We are not responsible in any way for such products and services, and nothing contained here should be construed as a guarantee of the functionality, utility, safety or reliability of any product or services reviewed or discussed. Please follow the directions provided by the manufacturer or service provider when using any product or service reviewed or discussed on this website.

12
Leave a Reply

avatar
newest oldest most voted
Roy McCullough
I purchased the premium plan the insurance 1week after bringing Zen our golden retriever home and 3 out of 4 claims have been denied because of pre existing condition Whitehall I have argued but not much help I have since asked to cancel my policy it’s been over a week since my request and I have heard nothing from them I would not recommend this company and I will put as many reviews as I can so others do not have the same problem.
Christa Gallagher
I inherited 24PetWatch when Purina Insurance sold to them. My plan with Purina was $44.90 per month and it was a rate that was supposed to stay that price. When 24 PetWatch took over it instantly went up every year. Now after being a loyal customer for 5 years I get a renewal notice in the mail and it states that my new rate starting June 2017 will be $163.18! Yes my Purina plan that was $44.90 is now going to be $163.18. It jumped from $64.73 this year to $163.18! That is almost $2000 a year in monthly fees! My dog has a pre existing condition so there is no other insurance plan that will pick him up and now he is priced out of his insurance at 5 years old just when he will start to need it the most. There are complaints all over social media about this company raising rates recently from 250-600% and these people have animals with pre-existing conditions which means they can’t go anywhere else! This company knows that and knows these customers are a liability and raising the monthly fees to a point where loyal customers have no choice but to cancel. Read all the sites about this issue with 24 Petwatch. There needs to be an insurance investigation and a class action brought against them.
There is a FB page called “24 PetWatch Dissatisfied Customers” just started so all customers horror stories can be put in one place instead of all over the internet like it is now. For some odd reason 24 PetWatch took down their own official Facebook page.
They are a nightmare to deal with never sign up fo
The process for filing a claim is very difficult and 24 pet watch do nice things that should have been covered by my plan with them I have had to spend hours and hours and hours trying to get them to reimburse me for costs which they should have covered in reimbursed me right away They are a nightmare to deal with never sign up for 24 pet watch
Maria DePrince
Do not ever buy pet insurance from this fraud of a company! $4,000.00 worth of bills and they have never paid one! They asked me for full medical records, which I emailed, and they lost them. I then faxed them, which they lost them. I then sent them certified mail, and was told they’re missing one page. Their Facebook page, if it’s real, is full of negative comments. The money I put out monthly for this policy, I could have paid my dog’s bill myself! #24 PetWatch A fraud company.
J.H.
I am a military veteran, and I have received more timely care from the VA than my dog received from 24PetWatch. I was denied a claim on an emergent surgery for my dog. The claim was denied because it involved my dog’s mouth. 24PetWatch stated that they don’t reimburse dental claims, and used that excuse to deny compensation for an emergent surgery. I filed an appeal with a personal letter from my dog’s veterinarian explaining the emergent nature of the surgery, and 24PetWatch still denied my claim/appeal. I have been working on this issue for over 8 months, which is how long their claims process took. 24PetWatch Customer Service is terrible; I had to submit my initial claim multiple times, and days would go by before I received a response to my emails. Save your money folks.
Jo Singer
I just wanted to add here a correction to ‘ 24PetWatch no longer offers pet insurance as of August 2016.” The correct date is October 1, 2016. This applies only for subscribers living in the state of Florida. These policies will remain in effect however, at the end of the policy term. As an example, if you policy term ends in July 2017 then that will be the end of coverage for that pet. From what I have heard from customer service is that they are working to get partnership back for those owners who live in Florida.
Mas
This company was recommended to me by the adoption center where I got my dog. I understand that most insurance companies for humans aren’t great but this company takes the cake. I submitted my first claim for a minor vet bill after my dog fell down the stairs. I have been a customer for almost two years paying $46/month. My dog had Xrays done and had some medicine prescribed. The total bill was only $299 so I was due around $130 refund from insurance. I submitted the claim and it came back with an email saying it was completed but doesn’t say rejected or approved. Just that I will receive a letter with the outcome. I called in to see what the outcome and it was rejected. I was told that a complete medical history was not included even though it was. The dog doesn’t have a history beyond the years I’ve had it because it’s adopted from a shelter! It was found on the street. They apparently don’t realize this. Anyway, I was told to go to the vet again and get a complete medical history and resubmit the claim. I do that, make a fool of myself walking into the vet again. I then wait a month or so only to find out it’s rejected again because I didn’t send them the “reassessment form” that should be included in the first page. Nowhere does the rejection letter say I needed this special form and no one on the phone originally told me either. Only when it’s rejected a second time is when apparently they tell you that another form is needed. I do that again, submitting for a third time and 4 months after the original appointment. They reject again saying the complete medical history is not included. They don’t pick up the phone unless you wait an hour on hold. The customer service people can’t do anything other than say it’s rejected. They say they will give you a manager call back within two days. I’ve waited a month for that call back. Each time you submit a claim it takes over a month to get an email saying it’s completed. They say you are supposed to be able to check your claim status online but it doesn’t show anything other than completed or not completed. No information whatsoever. Now they want me to go to the vet again and ask them for more information? There literally is nothing left. The last claim submission even had our phone conversation details for when I called to set up the checkup. Do they also want a lie detector test? I am now finding as many websites as possible to leave this review. I’ve contacted the pet adoption agency in hopes they are no longer recommend this insurance fraud of a company. I will cancel my premium and find a better place that will hopefully have less loopholes and less scams.
Maria DePrince
Almost the same story here. just canceled my policy
Do not ever buy pet insurance from this fraud of a company! $4,000.00 worth of bills and they have never paid one! They asked me for full medical records, which I emailed, and they lost them. I then faxed them, which they lost them. I then sent them certified mail, and was told they’re missing one page. Their Facebook page, if it’s real, is full of negative comments. The money I put out monthly for this policy, I could have paid my dog’s bill myself! #24 PetWatch A fraud company.
Amy
I have a ten year old Chihuahua and have had 24PetWatch for 9.5 years. I submit clear paperwork (they have a checklist at the top of the claim form!) and I have NEVER had a claim denied. I do not hesitate to take my dog to the ER or get her care because I am confident that my insurance will support me. Never been surprised, always have polite and clear customer service (they are a Canadian company!). They have very clear policies, I have what was formerly called QuickCare Gold for a reasonable monthly premium. My dog has had Lyme, and they supported me through the whole ordeal and never denied a claim. She has also had her Addison’s covered in full. They are a bit slow on processing claims, but I’d rather that any day over a speedy denial. I’m not interested in any company who plays games and denies claims, especially when my pet is ill and I’m stressed out- that’s my first criteria. Cost and speedy processing are secondary.

My only bit of sadness is my state (MA) has been very late in approving their new underwriter and so my insurance will be cancelled as of 10/1. It’s not the company’s fault, it is the State’s slow approval process (MA is the only state who is late in responding to the new underwriter). I’m looking for new coverage, and the options all seem pretty awful for a 10 year old dog.

Amy
Update! MA finally approved the new underwriter and my new policy (formerly $54, now $99!) will be made retroactive to ensure no “pre existing conditions” exemptions. I must say, in the short time this new underwriter has been in place, the customer service has evaporated. Incredibly long wait times on the phone, very very slow response to claims. I don’t know what’s happened- but it went from a company that met my expectations to a company I am reluctant to work with. Were my dog not 10 years old and vulnerable to the subjective scrutiny of “pre existing illness” games, I would move on to Trupanion.
Pissed consumer
Same here. My fur baby is 10 and I’ve had 24Petwatch since he was 18months. Now with several “pre-existing” conditions we are stuck and can’t shop insurance. The best part is we are in FL- our policy expired 12/31/16 and 24 PetWatch still does NOT have approval in FL. So here we sit after being a loyal customer for so long (with no lapses in coverage) with no coverage. I’ve called numerous times and now they are telling me he might have pre-existing conditions if and when they can renew his policy (which only lapsed because of them and through no fault of ours!!)
Sara May
I have 24PetWatch and have nothing bad to say about them, but nothing over the top amazing to say about them either. Agreed pricing is good for the value but I guess you pay for what you get sometimes.