Is Healthy Paws The Best Pet Insurance Provider?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Dog's paws in sandHealthy Paws is committed to helping homeless pets — so much so, they’ve donated nearly $600,000 in grants to animal shelters and rescues across the U.S. A great selling point for a pet insurance company, for sure.

But is Healthy Paws worthy of insuring your beloved pet? How does its coverage, service and cost compare to other top pet insurance companies?

Visit Healthy Paws Website

Article Overview

Healthy Paws

4.65 / 5
Healthy Paws
Policy Coverage 4.3
Customer Service & Reputation 4.8
Timeliness of Claim Payment 4.8
Price of Policy 4.8

Pros

  • Annual deductible (not per incident)
  • Unlimited lifetime coverage so no annual or per incident limits on claims
  • Pricing is generally the best value vs competition
  • Your pet is covered when they travel with you in the United States or Canada
  • High customer satisfaction
  • Easy to submit a claim on the Healthy Paws app for quick claim reimbursement
  • BBB rating: A+
  • Great email response time
  • Good CCL (ACL) coverage
  • Direct deposit or check reimbursement

Cons

  • Veterinary exam fee and behavioral therapies are not covered
  • Excludes hip dysplasia in animals enrolled after age 6, so this might not be the best option for large breeds that are older than 6. There is also a 12-month waiting period.
  • There are age restrictions (if pet is older than 6, you must have vet exam within past 30 days for enrollment or within 15 days of policy issuance)
  • Pets older than 8 years old are restricted to 60% reimbursement and a $750 annual deductible
  • 15-day waiting period for accident and illness
  • No wellness plan
  • Charges a one-time $25 fee

Key Features

  • Underwriter: ACE Property & Casualty (Chubb)
  • Exam period:
    • Dogs younger than 6 must have visited the vet in the the last 12 months or go within 15 days of policy issuance
    • Dogs older than 6 must have been to the vet in the last 30 days or go within 15 days of policy issuance
  • Pre-existing conditions defined by Healthy Paws:
    • a. an illness or the recurrence of any illness or condition which first occurred or displayed any signs and/or symptoms consistent with the stated illness or condition prior to the pet policy effective date;
    • b. an injury or recurrence of an injury that occurred prior to the pet policy effective date; or
    • c. any condition or complication resulting from an illness or injury that occurred prior to the pet policy effective date. 
  • Has one bilateral exclusion (a condition or disease that affects both sides of the body): pre-existing cruciate ligament problems to one leg as respects to the cost of future treatment for problems of the other leg
  • Must file claims within 90 days of the date of service, and they process 99% of claims within 2 days
  • Policyholders can opt for direct deposit instead of a hard copy check
  • Option to have Healthy Paws pay vets directly. This means you don’t have to pay a hefty vet bill in advance and wait for reimbursement (check with your vet — not available everywhere)
  • Continues coverage for a pet if the pet parent becomes unable to care for the pet or dies. This works by transferring the policy to someone else without a lapse in coverage. The new policyholder will pay the same amount, and there will be no newly added pre-existing conditions.
  • No waiting periods in Maryland or New Hampshire
  • Submit claims through the app (download the iOS app for free via this link or the Android app here) or online customer center
  • 30-day free look period (similar to a money-back guarantee)
  • AAA and AMAC member discounts may be available
  • Customer service hours:
    • Email: 24/7
    • Phone: Monday – Friday from 6am to 6pm PST and Saturday – Sunday from 8am to 5pm PST

What Does Healthy Paws Cover?

Here’s a list of services that HealthyPaws covers and does not cover (as of December 2018). Services included are not limited to this list and are subject to change.

CoveredNot Covered
SurgeriesPre-existing conditions
HospitalizationVeterinary exam fees
CancerPreventative care (vaccines, flea control, heartworm medication, dental health care, grooming, anal gland expression, spay and neuter)
Prescription medicationsBehavioral modification
Diagnostic treatment and testing (x-rays, blood tests, ultrasounds, etc.)
Accidents
Illnesses
Congenital conditions
Hereditary conditions
Specialty Care
Emergency care
Alternative treatment

Is Hip Dysplasia Covered?

Healthy Paws covers expensive hereditary and congenital conditions if your vet hasn’t noted associated clinical symptoms before you purchase a policy. Still, you must enroll your dog for Healthy Paws pet insurance before the age of 6 for you to take advantage of this coverage. Healthy Paws DOES NOT cover hip dysplasia for dogs enrolled after the age of 6.

Healthy Paws also has a 12-month waiting period for hip dysplasia coverage from the date you sign up. This applies as long as there’s no prior related medical history for this condition. Check out our hip dysplasia article to learn more about this condition.

Is My Dog Eligible For Healthy Paws?

All dog breeds are eligible for Healthy Paws’ no-caps-on-claim payouts. Dogs between the ages of 8 weeks and 14 years are eligible to enroll, and your dog has coverage for the lifetime of the policy.

Healthy Paws has some restrictions on reimbursement and annual deductible amounts depending on your pet’s age at enrollment.

  • Dogs and cats 5 years and under:
    • 90%, 80% and 70% reimbursement
    • $100, $250 and $500 deductible
  • Dogs and cats 6 and 7 years old:
    • 80%, 70% or 60% reimbursement
    • $250, $500 or $750 deductible
  • Dogs 8 years and older: 
    • 60% reimbursement
    • $750 deductible

Pricing Quotes

See the table below for examples of quotes from Healthy Paws. You can get personalized price quotes for your pet(s) from Healthy Paws and several other top-ranked companies when you fill out our short quote form.

Remember though that Healthy Paws is the only company that only offer unlimited coverage, which we believe is the best choice if you are opting to get pet insurance since it covers you in just about any new situation. However, pricing may be slightly higher for Healthy Paws since you receive more complete coverage.

BreedLabrador RetrieverEnglish Cocker SpanielGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
Boy or GirlBoyBoyGirlGirlBoyGirlGirl
Age2 years8 years4 years6 years2 months2 months2 years
LocationFlorida
(zip code: 33601)
Illinois
(zip code: 60290)
California
(zip code: 90001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
Florida
(zip code: 33601)
Washington D.C.
(zip code: 20001)
Price Per Month$41.58$52.44$61.04$57.37$37.46$31.87$20.19
Reimbursement Level80%60%90%80%80%80%80%
Annual Deductible$200$750$500$250$250$200$250

Also, visit our Pet Insurance Quotes page to see how the cost of Healthy Paws stacks up against the competition.

Coupon Code

Use this link and you will automatically receive up to a 5% discount. The actual discount varies based on individual state regulations. You can also visit our dedicated HealthyPaws promotions page to discuss current offers.

Waiting Periods

  • 15-days: Illnesses and accidents
  • 15-days: Cruciate ligament events (bilateral exclusion for pre-existing cruciate ligament injuries and lameness)
  • 12-months: Hip dysplasia

Customer Opinions On Healthy Paws

Positive Reviews

We have had policies for both of our dogs for a few years with HealthyPaws and they have never failed us. We just filed multiple claims for our 9-year-old rescue mix that totaled over $2,100 and they paid them quickly and without any fuss. I recommend this company to anyone with a beloved fur-baby. It is better to have pet insurance from a reliable company and not need it than chance it when the time comes that you do need it. We will remain loyal customers because HealthyPaws stayed true to their word when we needed the policy most. – Monica B., BBB 4/17/2018

This was my first experience with pet insurance, and after meticulous research I chose Healthy Paws. And I’m so glad I did!! My very special cat needed surgery for the second time in a month. (I’m still mad at him.) I enrolled him in pet insurance right after his first surgery, and I’m so glad I did. 2 weeks after his waiting period ended, he needed surgery again. I maxed out my care credit with this second surgery but then needed it for my own dental care. So I called to request my claim be expedited. Ryan answered the phone and he was so warm and friendly. He even asked how my cat was doing! Then he asked me to submit some documents and told me he would follow up immediately. And he did!! I uploaded the documents and got a call shortly after saying he’s processed the claim and I should get a confirmation of benefits on that same day, if not the next morning!! I was SO impressed!! All this happened within a short span of an hour! My other 2 cats are also on healthy paws and I know they’re well protected with this amazing company!! Thank you Ryan for your prompt service and your caring attitude! – Lydia P., Yelp 3/18/2018

Negative Reviews

BEWARE outrageous policy increases every year. Typical insurance company will lure you in with an affordable option that will quickly turn into an outrageous expense. You are better off banking the money into a savings account that relying on them. The language from their website reads “your rates will increase slightly each year. These manageable annual increases” – If you consider 15% per year “slight” or “manageable” then maybe it’s for you, but when you’re paying $100 month, and will still be out of pocket a considerable amount for anything major, you really should ask yourself if it’s worth it. – Todd M., BBB 4/24/2018

Horrible customer service and in general horrible policies. It is absolutely worth the extra $10 a month to go with any other insurance agency other than this one. We were a member for about 2 months when we submitted our first claim. Our puppy had been peeing in our office and we wanted to bring her in to make sure it wasn’t a medical related issue before signing her up for training lessons. My mother called and made the appointment and they did a urinary test which ran us around $300.  After 12 days of waiting for our claim to be processed, I emailed Healthypaws about when our claim would be reviewed.  No response. About 4 days later I emailed again about our claim.  Again no response.  Then I finally called after roughly 18 days had passed and they began to process our claim that day.  3 hours after I called in to request they review our claim, I get an email saying our claim was denied. When I asked why, they said there was a note on my dogs health records stating that we were bringing her in to check for recurring UTI’s and since she had had two over the last year they were considering it a pre existing condition and would not pay. When I spoke with my vet they let me know that the note on our medical records were actually just notes the receptionist jotted down from a conversation she had had with my mother about the vet visit.  I told healthypaws that these were just notes and not a diagnosis and was not the real reason we brought our dog to the vet. Healthypaws then told me verbatim “The official diagnosis does not affect coverage for a claim. Your own testimony regarding your pet’s health is taken into account when determining the start of signs and symptoms, since you know your pet best.” Apparently I have no need for a vet anymore since my mothers diagnosis means more than a vets.  Good to know! In conclusion, if you want a company that isn’t trying to gauge you of your money and takes weeks to tell you your claim is denied after taking 3 hours to review – find a different agency. – Leah M., Yelp 2/12/2018

How Did Healthy Paws Help Baxter And His Pet Parents?

Cancer is the highest disease-related cause of death for pets each year, making up almost 50% of the total. Unfortunately, Baxter’s cancer diagnosis meant his owners needed help financially. See how Healthy Paws helped this family in a time of need.

Our Final Verdict On Healthy Paws

Healthy Paws pet insurance is our #1 pick for best pet health insurance. Healthy Paws took the gold medal because it has a history of excellent customer service, an annual deductible (vs per incident) and unlimited lifetime benefits with every policy. When you sign up for your initial plan, you choose your yearly deductible and the percentage of the vet bill for reimbursement.

Healthy Paws also likes to give to those in need. Each time you get a quote from Healthy Paws, it donates money to a homeless pet. Healthy Paws also will continue covering your pet if you’re unable to care for them or if you die. This is rare in the industry, and we think it’s fantastic.

How Does Healthy Paws Compare?

Still not sure if Healthy Paws is the right pet insurance provider for you? You’ve got lots of options, and you should always get multiple quotes to compare coverage and costs, finding the best value for your family.

Our Best Pet Insurance article compares Healthy Paws against many other providers to help you determine the best fit for you. If you’re thinking about getting pet insurance but still have some unanswered questions, feel free to ask us. We’re here to help you and your pets live a better, less stressful life.

Do you have any questions about Healthy Paws and what they cover?

About The Author:

Kimberly received her Bachelor of Arts in multimedia journalism from Simpson College. She has been writing about dogs since 2014, covering subjects such as dog insurance, training, health, accessories and more. Her natural curiosity helps her research as she seeks the truth when learning about, comparing and personally testing canine products and services. With every piece she writes, her goal is to help our readers find the best fit for their unique needs.

Kimberly grew up in a family that loved Labrador Retrievers and remembers running and playing in the yard with them as a child. In 2017, she and her husband adopted their Coonhound mix, Sally, from a local shelter. Kimberly's research was put to good use since Sally faced some aggression issues with other dogs and needed some training to be an inside dog. She worked daily with Sally and sought help from professionals to help Sally become the happy pup she is today.

One of Kimberly's favorite pastimes is spoiling Sally with new toys, comfy beds and yummy treats (she even makes homemade goodies for her). She tries to purchase the safest products for Sally and knows that each canine has their own specific likes and dislikes. Kimberly is passionate about dogs, and knows the bond between humans and canines is like no other.

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Disclaimer: The information provided through this website should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, you should consult your health care provider.

Disclaimer: This website contains reviews, opinions and information regarding products and services manufactured or provided by third parties. We are not responsible in any way for such products and services, and nothing contained here should be construed as a guarantee of the functionality, utility, safety or reliability of any product or services reviewed or discussed. Please follow the directions provided by the manufacturer or service provider when using any product or service reviewed or discussed on this website.

276
Leave a Reply

avatar
newest oldest most voted
Dave T
I have been a Healthy Paws member since February 2017 and I can safely say that signing up for their pet insurance program is one of the best decisions I have made in regards to caring for my dog. I have had to file claims on 3 separate occassions and in each instance the process was simple, quick and stress-free, allowing me to focus on the health of my dog. I was able to easily upload images of the invoices to the app and was promptly reimbursed 3 business days later. The annual deductible as opposed to a per incident deductible along with a 15 day waiting period for hip and knee claims differntiated Healthy Paws from their competition. These factors made selecting Healthy Paws as my insurance company of choice a no-brainer.
Kara Dunning
I have had Healy Paws Pet Insurance since the day we got our lab. She has chronic skin issues and she recently had an emergency illness. Healthy paws has always covered everything and reimbursement has always been quick. They even recently personally emailed me to check to see how Remi was doing after her emergency visit!! I work at an animal clinic, I see and deal with all the pet insurance companies. By far, Healthy Paws is the easiest and best. Highly recommend!
Tootie
I have had pet health insurance ever since one of my dogs became very ill with cancer and over the course of one month, had incurred nearly $18,000 in medical bills. I shopped around several companies for policies and talked to a number of people about their experience with other companies before choosing Healthy Paws. Even now, 8 years after first getting coverage, they are still an outstanding company. I could not be happier with the coverage, the price or the service. I think every claim I’ve submitted has been paid within 2 weeks. That make a big difference in my peace of mind when the bills start to stack up for medical care. I’ll be a customer for as long as I have dogs and they’re around to provide coverage. I wish human health insurance companies were as customer-focused, transparent, fast and friendly as Healthy Paws!!
Cindy
I am so thankful for Healthy Paws insurance! I got Willow started on the insurance when she was a puppy because I was fearful of her getting cancer. Little did I know she would be diagnosed with hip dysplasia at 4 years old and need a total hip replacement. Healthy Paws has been fairly quick getting the claims processed and I am already awaiting reimbursement for her surgery, which was 4 weeks ago. They even emailed to check on her progress! I have referred many people to them and will continue to do so.
Shannon
My little Scout developed bladder stones which needed to be removed surgically. Surgery went smoothly and I took a picture of the bill and texted it to Healthy Paws. I was surprised and pleased at at how quickly I received my reimbursement. Thanks, Healthy Paws!
Mary
We recently submitted a bulk of claims for our pets. My procrastination for submitting them was mostly because the last time I submitted claims it seemed a bit cumbersome. But, I sat down this past weekend and went to the Healthy Paws web portal where I noticed the process appeared very streamlined. I scanned in all of our receipts and sent them off as claims. I was fully prepared to be contacted for more information and/or to process each claim individually rather than in bulk. You can’t imagine my surprise, relief, and gratitude when I started getting emails that claims representatives had taken each request and created individual claims for me! Not only that, but they were being processed and completed within days of their submission! Everyone seems spread thin these days just trying to get thru each day between work, home and taking care of these wonderful pets that share our lives, so all of this work by the claims department was such a blessing. I nearly cried when emails came back so quickly and each had been processed and reimbursement checks were being issued. Now that we know how easy and streamlined the web portal is, we will be able to scan and file our claims as incidents arise instead of letting them build up for a single submission. Healthy Paws has truly shown it is committed to helping us provide the best healthcare for our pups.
Frank
I first purchased the policy for our Cocker Spaniel last Sept when he was 4 months old. With $250 deductible and 90% coverage, the premium was $41.74 per month. Now one year later they premium was raised to $51.76 per month. That is a 24% increase!!
To make matter worse, the same coverage for the same age and breed of dog would currently cost a NEW subscriber only $39.66 per month.
When I questioned this, they just gave me double talk saying if I cancelled and re-enrolled I would have to worry about pre existing conditions…
It is clear this company takes advantage of current clients.
DO NOT DEAL WITH HEALTHY PAWS, by the time your pet may actually need it, the premiums will have become unaffordable.
Tim
Frank,

We understand that no one likes any form of premium increase. We know you haven’t had to file a claim and we hope that you never have to–this means your pet is healthy and accident free. Our management team works hard to keep our premiums as low as possible while still providing comprehensive coverage. New technology, advancements in veterinary treatments, and overall claim costs are taken into consideration when assessing our rates. Your monthly premium is going up because the increase in claim payments has been faster than the premium increases in your state. As a result, we need to increase the premium level for all pets in your state so you and your pet can have continued access to the best veterinary care. The pricing for your current policy is per the rating plan approved by your state’s Insurance Department and we are not permitted to deviate from those rates for existing policyholders. The quote you generated recently is the approved pet insurance product filing for NEW accounts only. Because of Insurance Department regulations, the information our team provided regarding the need to cancel/re-enroll to acquire the lower premium is correct. All pet insurance companies, no matter how they market their benefits, will raise rates to keep up with the rapidly rising cost of veterinary care. We do our best to be transparent regarding annual premium increases by including this information on the “Frequently Asked Questions” page of our website. We’re sorry to lose you as a policyholder and hope you and your pet stay well.

The Healthy Paws Team

Geordie
I totally agree, Frank! They are charging me $600 per year for a five year old dog. It just doesn’t make any sense financially to have this insurance. When she was 1 it was $35/month which still was not cheap but I figured that was an okay gamble. But clearly they just raise and raise hoping their clientele is too busy to shop around for better pricing.
Lindsay Young
I was DEEPLY happy as a healthy paws policy holder for over 2 years with multiple incredible experiences for our dog, who we enrolled at 10 weeks old…UNTIL this monthly when my monthly premium increased 43% from $79 to $140 a month. I recovered ONE email about this that was titled “updates to your policy” and visually read like a spam message. When I called to inquire about what was going on I was told it was because the premiums for California and NY are increasing significantly. I’m incredibly disappointed that healthy paws — who I highly recommended to any and all friends in the last two years — would find a FORTY-THREE percent premium increase to be acceptable and not lose customers. I’m sad to say I’m immediately shopping for new coverage IMMEDIATELY.
C roche
Love it! The app makes it soo easy for file claims! My dog needs an expensive rx for life now so I pay about $40/mo and they send me a check for $100 each month when I submit the rcpt.
Gene Lovas
Healthy Paws Pet Insurance was the best and smartest decision we made upon adopting our little Missy. At first we thought it was like car insurance. Really, how often would it be needed? What a foolish evaluation that was. We have in fact used it more then I would have ever imagined and thank goodness it was with a company that responds quickly, provides very quick turn around reimbursements and has follow up personal emails to see how the puppy is doing. Insuring with Healthy Paws is a Great Choice.
Abby's Mom
I chose healthy Paws based on my research of the best Pet insurance. They came up and I signed up on our way to get our sweet Abby. Unfortunately we have had some issues with our sweet girl since 6 months old. Healthy Paws has been prompt with responses and very communicative with us. I filed a claim last Thursday it was approved on Monday and check was in the mail to me by Thursday. They even sent a follow up email checking in our sweet girl. I will recommend them always. Such a great company!
Rachel - Valkyrie’s mon
Just in case there’s still anyone out there who doesn’t have pet insurance, is on the fence about it, or maybe doesn’t even know about it, hopefully this helps. I have a 2 year old German Shepherd. She is from a top shelf breeder, she’s from a champion line and both of her parents and grandparents tested excellent for hips and elbows. There’s no history of cancer, illness, joint issues, allergies, and they all tested negative for Degenerative Myelopathy and so did she. She was perfect. At the start of last month she came down with a fatally high fever, she wouldn’t eat, had diarrhea and antibiotics weren’t working. Over the last 4 weeks she’s been hospitalized at the emergency vet hospital 3 times and they ran every test imaginable and it took over a month of diagnostics, overnight fluid treatments, xrays, joint taps, ultrasounds, cultures and more before they came to a diagnosis of immune mediated disease. She has an autoimmune disease that there’s no cause or reason for and it’s no ones fault. It could not have been prevented or anticipated.

The total I’ve paid since September 5th 2019 is $10,480.19…. and we’re not done, it’s going to continue since we have follow ups and reoccurring medication she’ll be on for a significant amount of time.

I enrolled Valkyrie in a policy with Healthy Paws when she was only 11 weeks old, before I even brought her home. I have a $500 annual deductible and the policy is a 90% reimbursement rate. So out of that nearly $10,500, the green out of my jeans is just under $1700. YES, that is still a lot of money… but it’s a heck of a lot better than 10,500+ and having an insurance policy with Healthy Paws made it possible for me to save my girl. She’s my entire world. I don’t know what I would have done if I didn’t have pet insurance.

I haven’t had a single issue. I didn’t have to fight with anyone on the phone. They didn’t once attempt to challenge or deny coverage from any of these claims. Not one single charge did they cause an issue over. They legitimately covered everything they always said they’d cover with no stress or fuss whatsoever.

Can you name one HUMAN health Insurance company that you can say that about? I can’t.

Also… the process couldn’t have been easier. They have a Healthy Paws app that you download onto your phone and when I submit a claim, literally all I had to do was take a photo of the invoice and hit the send button. Within 3 days I had an email informing me they received it and it was being reviewed. A couple days after that I got another email letting me know it was completed and a check had been sent out and on its way to me.

I can confidently say, without a doubt, that if I didn’t have her insured I don’t know what I would have done. I have been told by multiple people that most people would have put the dog down. I don’t know a whole lot of people who have $11,000+ disposable cash laying around or have the ability to just rack up credit card debt or owe money to the hospital for years. It’s not a waste of money. It’s not a rip off. I pay under $50 a month and it’s been worth every penny.

Even if your dog is healthy. Whether it’s from a rescue or from a good breeder. Even if it’s a low risk breed. Stuff happens. Even IF nothing happens for the majority of its life, eventually when your pet gets old… When your pet starts losing their teeth, getting infections, arthritis, all of that end of life shit, it’s going to need care, it’s going to need medication, this insurance covers all of that too.

I hope that this helps someone make the choice to do this so that you don’t have to let go of your babies due to money.
It would be a tragic SHAME.

Riley’s mom
This is a wonderful company. I have had horse insurance and dog insurance and this company by far surpasses price and the fact that part of what I pay goes to help homeless dogs really makes me feel good about paying my monthly fee as well. I was moved to post when I had a couple services combined and instead of reaching out to me or finding the one lab that was approved they just paid both because they wanted to take care of my dog! They help me save hundreds a year as I do a lot of preventative testing and help keep my baby healthy! Wonderful company!
Monkey’s dad
My wife and I are so extremely thankful to all of you at healthy paws. It means such a great deal to us that for the most part, we will never have to make the hard decision of choosing between trying to avoid difficult financial hardship and our dog Monkey’s well being. This especially rings true to us because a friend of ours had to deal with those circumstances recently and unfortunately, to poor results.

Even though the complexities of health insurance may escape Monkey, it certainly does not escape my wife and I. Monkey is well loved and cared for and that is due in part to all of you at healthy paws.

Rachel P
I have not had an issue with this insurance company. Our dog needed to use the policy within a month of getting it and they were very prompt. When there was a wait period as they were handling a lot of claims they kept us informed. Super helpful. Even sent a follow up email to check on her. Our dog has better insurance than we do
Mary Beth Labuda
I requested to cancel my policy after my beloved dog Sasha passed away. I never received any confirmation that this was completed. I kept being charged for 3 additional months of coverage. Once I cancelled my credit card, they finally engaged with trying to ‘keep me’ as a customer. I have reached out no fewer than 5 times via their website and cannot get out of their automated system. It is painful enough to lose a pet. This company compounded my pain by continuing to send me reasons I needed to keep her coverage. They won’t respond to refund the months covered after she died. I can’t get them on the phone or get them to respond to my messages. PS- they never covered a penny of her care despite having a clean bill of health for 4+ years under their plan.
Tim
Mary Beth,

We’re so sorry for the loss of your beloved pet. We know how hard it can be and you are in our thoughts. We apologize that our customer service was nowhere near up to par during this difficult time. We truly value your feedback regarding this issue and will actively communicate with all teams and trainers so this is not experienced by another client.

Prior to 9/9, we did not receive any communication in regards to the passing of your pet. When you canceled your credit card, that triggered those emails letting a client know their payment did not go through. Again, we apologize for the delay, but your account was canceled and you were provided with a pro-rated reimbursement of your premiums.

The Healthy Paws Team

Trish
I would like to voice my opinion here on Healthy Paws. I must tell you I’ve never met an insurance company for puppies that are as nice as this group. When I first started with healthy paws, I wasn’t that experience with health insurance. I sent them three claims at one time and they walked me through all the claims procedures and help me understand what I was doing.

My Westie recently had to have knee surgery. Owning animals, is very expensive and I always worry about the cost. I want my babies to be healthy and happy, that is so important. But when Gracie had to have surgery Healthy Paws helped me through the expenses, I would not have been able to do it on my own. I am a senior and retired and live as all seniors do, at least most of them, from paycheck to paycheck. You want a great company to work with these people are it!

Elizabeth
Worst customer service experience I have ever had. They do not return calls or emails. It’s been a month and they still have not processed my claim. They won’t even give me an idea of when it might be processed. They flat out ignore their customers and do not care about your business. Highly recommend you find another insurance company to do business with! It’s a complete joke that they process claims quickly. It’s been a month and no one can even tell me what’s going on with my claim! I’ve been told numerous times that the claims processor has been tasked with expediting the claim or at least giving me a call, but I haven’t heard from anyone. I’ve since canceled my policy, but it’s still active for another month. I will continue to call every single day and leave reviews on every site I can find until someone at this joke of a company actually takes some accountability and helps me out. I plan to write to the CEO, sharing every contact I’ve made and how it just gets ignored.
Tim
Elizabeth,

We apologize that our current customer service has not yours or our expectations. We have been helping an unusually large number of sick pets at this time and that has increased our email response and claims processing time. We have been proactively adding more customer care staff so that all policyholders can get the their claims and customer care issues resolved as quickly as possible.

As of 9/7, your claim has been processed. You should be receiving an Explanation of Benefits for the appealed claim within next 24-48 hours. We’re sorry to lose you as a client and hope you and your pet stay well.

The Healthy Paws Team

Fabio
The worst customer service ever!!! I have been trying to submit a claim since almost two months ago. Actually I submitted in the app three times, they say it is processing but after few days they delete the claim, with absolutely no explanation for that. I also called them many times, then they put me on hold forever. So, I am paying for nothing. I will try PetPlan or Figo, they seem to be much better.
Tim
Fabio,

We’re sorry that your pet wasn’t feeling well. We apologize that our current customer service has not met yours or our expectations. We recognize that our hold times have been longer than expected recently and appreciate your patience. We have also been helping an unusually large number of sick pets at this time and that has increased our claims processing time. We have been proactively adding more customer care staff so that all policyholders can get the their claims and customer care issues resolved as quickly as possible.

We appreciate your efforts in providing your pet’s medical records. We did receive an estimate for the services, but not an actual invoice. Our team reached out on your behalf to your veterinarian for that invoice. It has been received and your claim has been processed . You should see an Explanation of Benefits from us in the next 24-48 hours. Give your buddy a big hug from us.

The Healthy Paws Team

rachel
I have had awful experiences with three other pet insurance companies and had almost given up on the entire industry; but when we adopted my pup two years ago, I decided to give Healthy Paws a try. Two years later, Wally started limping, and now three months later, he’s had major knee surgery followed by eight weeks of twice weekly hydrotherapy. I submitted the receipts expecting to get the run around. Instead…two weeks later a check showed up in my mailbox! Healthy Paws’ easy process and expedience made a stressful experience so much easier, and cheaper too.
Pam
Healthy paws is a great pet insurance company. The have been great with reimbursement. I would recommend this company to everyone.
Dee-Dee A
Healthy Paws is an integral part of my dog’s life. It is an amazing organization that truly cares about pets and their pet parents. As my dog gets older, it is reassuring to know that Healthy Paws will be with us every step of the way. Healthy Paws is one of the best organizations I have worked with – whether for people or for animals! Everyone at Healthy Paws is attentive, compassionate, responsive. I wish there were more organization out there like Healthy Paws who genuinely put the welfare of pets first.
Melissa Catania
I am SO grateful to Healthy Paws and so happy that I selected them for my dogs’ insurance. My beloved mastiff was hospitalized, critically ill in ICU for a week, with aspiration pneumonia and post surgery for a GI perforation. I was not ready to lose my boy, but I was terrified about what this was going to cost. He had suffered a similar condition in the past, and I was not sure if this was going to be considered a pre existing condition, and thus not covered. Not only was the $30,000 plus hospitalization and follow up care covered, but they were actually able and willing to tell me two days in that it would be covered! That was SUCH a relief as the charges were adding up quickly each day.

It takes me less than a minute to file a claim, and all of my claims have been processed and paid quickly, for all of my dogs. I highly recommend Healthy Paws!

Matt K
This pet insurance is not worth it. Due to not covering the exam for who knows what reason, the way the claims dept drags their feet in resolving the claim, and the ever-present need for more documentation, I’ve decided it’s in my best financial interest to save about 50 bucks a month in a special account for our dog.
When our puppy jumped out my arms and hit the floor with her jaw, it resulted in a severe concussion. We wound up taking her to the emergency room where they were able to stabilize her and recommended we take her to a hospital to get monitored for 8 hours, which we did. All turned out well, and the final cost was at about $600. When we submitted our claims, I got two emails stating that they were working on it. Then after that I got notice that they closed the claim for lack of supporting paperwork. WHAT? So I talked to customer (service?) and they told me to submit all the vet records from before the incident. I did, they got it, and then nothing happened. So I called again and had them file 2 new claims. OK whatever. After ten days (or maybe 11) I got an email stating they were waiting for more paperwork (the original paperwork got lost?). SO I called again and they managed to get all the paperwork. After it was all said and done, I got reimbursed just over $55. My wife said, “Is that all?” Yep. And it only took about 3 months and numerous phone calls to get that much.
My advice: save your money and don’t put it in their pockets.
Tim
We do our best to be transparent on how our reimbursement calculation works. We include this information (including examples) on our website within our “Frequent Asked Questions” page, and on our “For Customers” page within our website. Our process for calculating reimbursements are approved by each state’s Department of Insurance and are based upon the deductible/reimbursement level a client chooses at enrollment. As with any policy with a deductible, the deductible has to be met before any claim reimbursement.
Kayla
My fur family has had Healthy Paws Insurance for several years and I have been very pleased with the service. When I have had questions, I always get a prompt and courteous response either by phone or email. My Anatolian Shepherd got osteomyelitis and received an MRI and two CT scans and was on antibiotics for 6 months. Her care came to thousands of dollars. I was very grateful to have Healthy Paws Insurance for her!
I highly recommend this insurance company.