Is Healthy Paws The Best Pet Insurance Provider?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Dog's paws in sand (text in image: Healthy Paws pet insurance review) Healthy Paws is committed to helping homeless pets — so much so, they’ve donated over $1 million in grants to more than 300 nonprofit organizations. A great selling point for a pet insurance company, for sure.

But is Healthy Paws worthy of insuring your beloved pet? How does its coverage, service and cost compare to other top pet insurance companies?

Visit Healthy Paws Website

Article Overview

Healthy Paws

4.65 / 5
Healthy Paws
Policy Coverage 4.3
Customer Service & Reputation 4.8
Timeliness of Claim Payment 4.8
Price of Policy 4.8

Pros

  • Annual deductible (not per incident)
  • Unlimited lifetime coverage so no annual or per incident limits on claims
  • Pricing is generally the best value vs competition
  • Your pet is covered when they travel with you in the United States or Canada
  • High customer satisfaction
  • Easy to submit a claim on the Healthy Paws app for quick claim reimbursement
  • BBB rating: A+
  • Great email response time
  • Good CCL (ACL) coverage
  • Claim repayment averages 2 days (Direct deposit or check reimbursement)

Cons

  • Veterinary exam fee and behavioral therapies are not covered
  • Excludes hip dysplasia in animals enrolled after age 6. There is 12-month waiting period for all.
  • There are age restrictions (if pet is older than 6, you must have vet exam within past 30 days for enrollment or within 15 days of policy issuance)
  • Pets older than 8 years old are restricted to 60% reimbursement and a $750 annual deductible
  • 15-day waiting period for accident and illness
  • No wellness plan
  • Charges a one-time $25 fee
  • Can't enroll pets over 4 years old in NY

Key Features

Healthy Paws App Screenshots

  • Underwriter: Westchester Fire Insurance Company/Chubb
  • Has one bilateral exclusion (a condition or disease that affects both sides of the body): pre-existing cruciate ligament problems to one leg as respects to the cost of future treatment for problems of the other leg
  • Must file claims within 90 days of the date of service, and they process 99% of claims within 2 days
  • Policyholders can opt for direct deposit instead of a hard copy check
  • With approval from Healthy Paws and the clinic, on a claim-by-claim basis, Healthy Paws may be able to pay your clinic directly. This means you don’t have to pay a hefty vet bill in advance and wait for reimbursement (check with your vet — not available everywhere).
  • Can transfer your policy without a lapse in coverage to someone else if the pet parent becomes unable to care for the pet. The new policyholder will pay the same amount, and there will be no newly added pre-existing conditions.
  • Submit claims through the app (download the iOS app for free via this link or the Android app here) or online customer center
  • 30-day free look period (similar to a money-back guarantee)
  • Continues coverage for a pet if its policy transfers to a new owner
  • AAA and AMAC member discounts may be available

Exam Period

  • Dogs younger than 6-years-old must have visited the vet in the last 12 months or go within 15 days of policy issuance
  • Dogs older than 6-years-old must have been to the vet in the last 30 days or go within 15 days of policy issuance

Pre-Existing Conditions

Defined by Healthy Paws as:

a. an illness or the recurrence of any illness or condition which first occurred or displayed any signs and/or symptoms consistent with the stated illness or condition prior to the pet policy effective date;
b. an injury or recurrence of an injury that occurred prior to the pet policy effective date; or
c. any condition or complication resulting from an illness or injury that occurred prior to the pet policy effective date.

Customer Service HoursHealthy Paws Waiting Period Chart

  • Email: 24/7
  • Phone: Monday – Friday from 6am to 6pm PST and Saturday – Sunday from 8am to 5pm PST

Waiting Periods

  • 15 days: Illnesses
  • 15 days: Accidents
  • 15 days: Cruciate ligament events (bilateral exclusion for pre-existing cruciate ligament injuries and lameness)
  • 12 months: Hip dysplasia

There are no waiting periods for New Hampshire and Maryland.

What Does Healthy Paws Cover?

Services included are not limited to this list and are subject to change.

CoveredNot Covered
SurgeriesPre-existing conditions
HospitalizationVeterinary exam fees
CancerPreventative care (vaccines, flea control, heartworm medication, dental health care, grooming, anal gland expression, spay and neuter)
Prescription medicationsBehavioral modification
Diagnostic treatment and testing (x-rays, blood tests, ultrasounds, etc.)
Accidents
Illnesses
Congenital conditions
Hereditary conditions
Specialty Care
Emergency care
Alternative treatment

Is Hip Dysplasia Covered?

Dog in wheelchair on beach: Canine Hip DysplasiaHealthy Paws covers expensive hereditary and congenital conditions if your vet hasn’t noted associated clinical symptoms before you purchase a policy. Still, you must enroll your dog for Healthy Paws pet insurance before the age of 6 for you to take advantage of this coverage. Healthy Paws DOES NOT cover hip dysplasia for dogs enrolled after the age of 6.

Healthy Paws also has a 12-month waiting period for hip dysplasia coverage from the date you sign up.* This applies as long as there’s no prior related medical history for this condition. Check out our hip dysplasia article to learn more about this condition.

*Both New Hampshire and Maryland remove the 15-day waiting period and the 12-month hip dysplasia waiting period. New Hampshire retains the hip dysplasia age limitation for coverage. Maryland does not have this age limitation.

Is My Dog Eligible For Healthy Paws?

Is My Dog Eligible For Healthy Paws graphicAll dog breeds are eligible for Healthy Paws’ no-caps-on-claim payouts. Dogs between the ages of 8 weeks and 14 years are eligible to enroll, and your dog has coverage for the lifetime of the policy.

Healthy Paws has some restrictions on reimbursement and annual deductible amounts depending on your pet’s age at enrollment.

  • Dogs and cats 5 years and under:
    • 90%, 80% and 70% reimbursement
    • $100, $250 and $500 deductible
  • Dogs and cats 6 and 7 years old:
    • 80%, 70% or 60% reimbursement
    • $250, $500 or $750 deductible
  • Dogs 8 years and older: 
    • 60% reimbursement
    • $750 deductible

Pricing Quotes

See the table below for examples of quotes from Healthy Paws. You can get personalized price quotes for your pet(s) from Healthy Paws and several other top-ranked companies when you fill out our short quote form.

Remember though that Healthy Paws is the only company that offers unlimited coverage. We believe it’s the best choice if you’re opting to get pet insurance since it covers you in just about any new situation. However, pricing may be slightly higher for Healthy Paws since you receive more complete coverage.

BreedLabrador RetrieverEnglish Cocker SpanielGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
Boy or GirlBoyBoyGirlBoyGirlGirl
Age2 years8 years4 years2 months2 months2 years
LocationFlorida
(zip code: 33601)
Illinois
(zip code: 60290)
California
(zip code: 90001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
Florida
(zip code: 33601)
Washington D.C.
(zip code: 20001)
Price Per Month$44.86$52.57$71.63$33.82$31.87$18.13
Reimbursement Level80%50%90%80%80%80%
Annual Deductible$200$1,000$500$250$200$250

You should expect annual increases on your premiums from any pet insurance company. These rates and increases will vary based on your location, changes in vet costs and more.

Also, visit our pet insurance quotes page to see how the cost of Healthy Paws stacks up against the competition.

Coupon Code

Use this link and you will automatically receive up to a 5% discount. The actual discount varies based on individual state regulations. You can also visit our dedicated HealthyPaws promotions page to discuss current offers.

How Is Reimbursement Calculated?

Reimbursement is determined by taking the total of the covered treatments and multiplying that by your chosen reimbursement rate. The annual deductible is then subtracted. Here’s an example for someone with a 90% reimbursement and $100 deductible:

$1,200 (covered treatments) x 90% (reimbursement level) = $1,080
$1,080 – $100 (remaining annual deductible) = $980 reimbursement amount

Healthy Paws’ deducible is annual, which means it only needs to be satisfied once per policy year. It resets on the anniversary of your pet’s enrollment.

Reimbursement Story

  • Dog: Charlie, miniature Dachshund
  • Diagnosis: Intervertebral Disc Disease

Dachshund looking out windowJordan, Charlie’s pet parent, knew something was wrong with Charlie when he didn’t greet her when she returned home as usual, so the next day they went to a vet for neuro and orthopedic exams. They both came back normal.

The vet took knee and hip radiographs, which also came back normal. Jordan worked at the vet’s office and knew that Dachshunds were prone to back problems, so she requested a second neuro and orthopedic exam. This time, he failed both.

Charlie was unable to walk by this time so Jordan rushed him to the emergency hospital where she was told it was intervertebral disc disease. They started him on a pain regimen, and things got worse overnight. Charlie was prepared for anesthesia and had an MRI which identified where his discs herniated into the spinal canal. Fortunately, the damage was corrected in surgery.

After weeks of physical therapy and about 2 years later, Charlie is about 90% recovered. He still receives maintenance therapy every 2 weeks but is running around like a puppy again.

  • Treatment Cost: $12,085
  • Healthy Paws Reimbursed: $9,168
  • Final Cost For Pet Parent: $2,917 ($250 deductible, 20% copay)

Customer Opinions

Positive Reviews

It was a huge relief to have Healthy Paws insurance. They paid accurately and on time. It is hard enough to have a pet go through something like this, and knowing that we had insurance to help with expenses made it more bearable. – E.F., BBB 11/18/2019

My wife and I are so extremely thankful to all of you at healthy paws. It means such a great deal to us that for the most part, we will never have to make the hard decision of choosing between trying to avoid difficult financial hardship and our dog Monkey’s well being. This especially rings true to us because a friend of ours had to deal with those circumstances recently and unfortunately, to poor results. Even though the complexities of health insurance may escape Monkey, it certainly does not escape my wife and I. Monkey is well loved and cared for and that is due in part to all of you at healthy paws. – John S., Yelp 10/2/2019

Negative Reviews

My pet was fully examined and declared to be healthy when I took possession of her from her rescue. I signed up for Healthy Pets and they asked for her medical records and I sent her the FULL packet from her vet. Healthy Pets said great!!! Thanks that is everything we need to cover her, after her waiting period she is covered for everything blah blah blah. Fast forward to now when I have my first vet visit with her and reason for claim. Their reponse? “You aren’t covered because we haven’t received your medical history from your vet! Nah, nah, nah, nah, nahhhh, NAH.” (keep in mind that anytime you interact with them after you are a paying customer you have to wait almost 2 weeks for a reply or sit on hold for over an hour.) So I explain that she was healthy during her last full exam, nothing has changed and she hasn’t been to the vet BECAUSE SHE HAS BEEN HEALTHY. Too bad!!!! they say, now she is never covered for any future back issues (she threw out her back after hiking with us) because apparently you have to go to the vet and pay for nothing even with a healthy pet for them to cover anything. Also they won’t even cancel my policy, they write back (after 2 weeks as is their MO) and keep making you jump through hoops. $40 a month wasted since signing up for NOTHING. AVOID THIS COMPANY at all costs. – K.M., BBB 10/7/2019

I just cancelled. I had one more pet on my policy and now I have none. I got a notification that my insurance was going to increase yet AGAIN in the next 90 days. My cat just turned 6 and what started as a 21.00 monthly, now costs more than my own health insurance. They hook you with low rates and increase the premium substantially over time to recoup the cost for the initial low rates. With their declining customer services, as you can see in my previous review and some of the other customer reviews, it’s time to cancel. I hope they see these bad reviews and improve for the sake of other pet owners. – Shanny L., Yelp 10/15/2019

How Did Healthy Paws Help Baxter & His Pet Parents?

Cancer is the highest disease-related cause of death for pets each year, making up almost 50% of the total. Unfortunately, Baxter’s cancer diagnosis meant his owners needed help financially. See how Healthy Paws helped this family in a time of need.

Healthy Paws vs Other Companies

See what the key differences are between Healthy Paws and other leading pet insurance companies.

Healthy Paws vs Trupanion

  • Healthy Paws has a better customer service reputation and pays out 99% of its claims within 2 days as opposed to the 60 days Trupanion allows.
  • Trupanion is consistently more expensive than Healthy Paws in the quotes we ran.
  • Trupanion has a shorter 30-day waiting period for hip dysplasia, while Healthy Paws is 12 months.

Compare Healthy Paws and Trupanion

Healthy Paws vs Embrace

  • All Healthy Paws plans include unlimited claim limits. The maximum claim limit you can get online from Embrace is $30,000, you must call in for unlimited claim limits.
  • Healthy Paws averages a 2-day claim repayment, while Embrace average 10 to 15 business days.
  • Embrace has a 2-day waiting period for accidents, while Healthy Paws has a 15-day waiting period for accidents.

Compare Healthy Paws and Embrace

Healthy Paws vs Petplan

  • All Healthy Paws plans include unlimited claim limits, while Petplan offers claims limits ranging from $2,500 to unlimited.
  • Petplan has a shorter 6-month waiting period for hip dysplasia, while Healthy Paws is 12 months.
  • Healthy Paws averages a 2-day claim repayment, while Petplan average 5 to 14 business days.

Compare Healthy Paws and Petplan

Healthy Paws vs Pets Best

  • Pets Best offers $5,000 or unlimited claim limits, while Healthy Paws offers unlimited.
  • Healthy Paws has a longer waiting period for hip dysplasia at 12 months vs Pets Best’s 14 days but a shorter ACL waiting period at 15 days vs Pets Best’s 6 months.
  • Both companies were consistently among the least expensive when we ran quotes, but Pets Best is often slightly lower in cost.

Compare Healthy Paws and Pets Best

Healthy Paws vs Figo

  • Healthy Paws was founded in 2009 and has a great reputation for customer service. Figo was founded in 2012 and doesn’t have the customer service reputation that Healthy Paws has.
  • Healthy Paws pays 99% of its claims within 2 days, while Figo typically pays claims within 5 to 7 business days.
  • Healthy Paws was more consistently among the least expensive options in quotes we ran, whereas Figo was more sporadic.

Compare Healthy Paws and Figo

How Does Healthy Paws Compare?

Visit Healthy Paws Website

Healthy Paws has a history of excellent customer service, an annual deductible (vs per incident) and unlimited lifetime benefits with every policy. When you sign up for your initial plan, you choose your yearly deductible and the percentage of the vet bill for reimbursement. Learn more about Healthy Paws and their foundation in our interview with Co-Founder Rob Jackson.

If you’re still not sure if Healthy Paws is the right pet insurance provider for you, you’ve got lots of options, and you should always get multiple quotes to compare coverage and costs to find the best value for your family.

Our best pet insurance article compares Healthy Paws against many other providers to help you determine the best fit for you. If you’re thinking about getting pet insurance but still have some unanswered questions, feel free to ask us. We’re here to help you and your pets live a better, less stressful life.

Do you have any questions about Healthy Paws and what they cover?

About The Author:

Kimberly received her Bachelor of Arts in multimedia journalism from Simpson College. She has been writing about dogs since 2014, covering subjects such as dog insurance, training, health, accessories, and more. Her work has appeared in many notable brands, including The New York Times' Wirecutter, Reader's Digest, Forbes, People, Woman's World, and Huffington Post.

Kimberly's natural curiosity helps her research as she seeks the truth when learning about, comparing, and personally testing canine products and services. With every piece she writes, her goal is to help our readers find the best fit for their unique needs. Kimberly grew up in a family that loved Labrador Retrievers and remembers running and playing in the yard with them as a child.

In 2017, she and her husband adopted their Coonhound mix, Sally, from a local shelter. Kimberly’s research was put to good use since Sally faced some aggression issues with other dogs and needed some training to be an inside dog. She worked daily with Sally and sought help from professionals to help Sally become the happy pup she is today. One of Kimberly’s favorite pastimes is spoiling Sally with new toys, comfy beds, and yummy treats (she even makes homemade goodies for her). She tries to purchase the safest products for Sally and knows that each canine has their own specific likes and dislikes. Kimberly is passionate about dogs and knows the bond between humans and canines is like no other.

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Disclaimer: The information provided through this website should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, you should consult your health care provider.

Disclaimer: This website contains reviews, opinions and information regarding products and services manufactured or provided by third parties. We are not responsible in any way for such products and services, and nothing contained here should be construed as a guarantee of the functionality, utility, safety or reliability of any product or services reviewed or discussed. Please follow the directions provided by the manufacturer or service provider when using any product or service reviewed or discussed on this website.

Subscribe
Notify of
501 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Buffie
September 25, 2020 8:45 am

I’ve had pets and livestock for 40 years. After I lost my beloved companion to cancer this past January and going through 8 months of chemo with him, I knew I was going to opt for pet insurance for any pets I adopted in the future. When we adopted Lulu, our COVID baby, I thoroughly researched multiple insurance companies. I chose Healthy Paws because of their customer rating and price. I couldn’t be happier. After the initial set-up with the vet, I can submit claims from my phone in 2 minutes. They respond within 24hr and sometimes within the hour. And I’m reimbursed by direct deposit within 3-5 days. If only human insurance worked as well.

Fannie LaGreca
September 24, 2020 4:33 pm

Healthy Paws was so helpful when my puppy needed emergency surgery. The cost was high and my dog needed the surgery. The claim process was easy. The communication was professional and informative. Thank you Healthy Paws.

Lizz
September 24, 2020 9:57 am

Healthy Paws pet insurance has been a lifesaver. Our two young dogs have had a handful of serious emergencies over the past few months. We were able to get them medical care with the peace of mind that Healthy Paws would be super responsive to questions and process our claims quickly. On top of that – their team kindly reached out to check in on our dog after she received emergency care for severe stomach problems.

Sheena & Joe
September 23, 2020 2:16 pm

Healthy Paws made the process of our dog’s need to get TPLO surgery so much less stressful knowing that financially we were covered – pre and post-op care too. Our beloved furbaby got the best possible care and Healthy Paws gave us that peace of mind to focus on being able to give him that best care without any hesitation due to financial strain. They were so helpful, responsive, and really cared about our pup’s full recovery.

DONNA
September 23, 2020 1:03 pm

Healthy Paws is the best pet insurance on the market. I have used them for 6 years and have had nothing but an excellent experience and relationship with their company. Rapid and easy claim service and reimbursement, excellent and knowledgeable staff, and top of the line coverage options for your pets. Healthy Paws is an A + company. Check them out. You will be glad you did.

Peter Antinoph
September 22, 2020 12:04 am

Healthy Paws is excellent insurance. You can’t beat the polite staff, the quick turnaround, and the service!

Kylie L
September 21, 2020 6:28 pm

We have been using Healthy Paws for our rescue pup for about 6 months and have already had to submit several claims. The process was so easy and we got reimbursement via mail very quickly with no questions asked. They even reached out to us after each case to personally ask how our dog was doing after his health scares, which was such a nice personal touch. Prices were also the best we found. Definitely recommend them for your pet!!

michelle
September 17, 2020 12:41 pm

My dog recently started to get severe allergies, we have had to take her to the vet many times within the past couple of months. At one point, I even had to take her emergency. Thankfully, we were covered through HealthyPaws. All of the claims, I have submitted have been taken care of by this insurance with no difficulty at all! Thank you HealthyPaws!

Megan
September 14, 2020 10:53 pm

Sadly, my last two pups had extremely high vet bills (granted pet insurance wasn’t much of a thing 15+ years ago) but I promised myself the next fur baby would have insurance. I started asking my vet the top ones they recommended to help narrow it down and they gave me three to look into. I sent several emails and questions to each and I settled with Healthy Paws. All the companies had similar coverage but I was able to tweak the plan a bit more with Healthy Paws, everything from the deductible and the reimbursement rate. I couldn’t be happier with them and uploading claim documents is super easy and they are easy to reach and their communication is great. They even sent me an email asking how my pup was after a recent mass removal surgery (she’s great in case you’re wondering). The bottom line is I love them and can’t say enough good things about them.

Apiffany Gaither Billings
September 15, 2020 10:44 am
Reply to  Megan

We are happy to hear your pup is doing well after her surgery and we hope you continue to experience great experience with Healthy Paws!

Melissa Lamontagne
September 14, 2020 3:19 pm

I was very impressed with the genuine care and concern HealthyPaws showed after I submitted my first claim. They even followed up weeks later to see how my pup was doing. My claim was processed timely and funds were deposited directly into my account which covered 80% of the emergency vet costs. No need to wait for a check!

Jeffrey Lee
September 14, 2020 1:07 am

If you have a dog or cat, I highly recommend Healthy Paws Pet Insurance. I have used Healthy Paws for the past three years and have never had any trouble with them. Recently, my three-year-old dog was diagnosed with cataracts and detached retinas in both her eyes. She needed emergency surgery to fix both before they got worse. The medical expenses for these surgeries were astronomical, but Healthy Paws ended up covering 90% of the cost. It made a world of difference and allowed me to focus on getting the best quality of care for my dog rather than worry about the bill. Thank you Healthy Paws!

Kristen
September 12, 2020 3:09 am

We are SO grateful to have Healthy Paws for our sweet doggo. This insurance has more than paid for itself, due to the amount of times we have had unexpected accidents, injuries, and illnesses…It has been so worth it and we have recommended it to everyone we know with a pet!
It is so easy to submit a claim, and Healthy Paws lets you know right away that they are processing it, and you receive your reimbursement check very quickly. Highly recommend!

Fraser
September 9, 2020 10:51 am

Bodhi, our 8-year-old toy poodle, has been insured with Healthy Paws since he was 6 months old. A year ago, we got the devastating news that Bodhi had developed Diabetes, and would most likely need cataract surgery.
In the year since his diagnosis, he has had a number of veterinary tests, as well as cataract surgery in both eyes. Healthy Paws has been fantastic in helping to pay for these procedures – and was very communicative throughout. A common complaint is the fact that premiums increase every year (ours have doubled in the 8 years since we took the insurance out) – but to us, it’s completely worth it since they have been so good at paying for Bodhi’s health (in excess of $13k so far). We wholeheartedly recommend Healthy Paws – like all insurance – you hope you never have to claim – but it is nice knowing they will come through for you when you need it.

Theresa Sciortino
September 8, 2020 11:20 am

Healthy Paws has been my insurance company for many years. I always say you get what you pay for and that is definitely the case with Healthy Paws. My mastiff just had to have TPLO surgery that was very expensive. 90% was covered. They will always be my insurance company.

Catherine Cummings
September 7, 2020 1:10 pm

Yes, rates did increase for us by $8.00/month recently, but doing that math, we are still doing well considering our dog had a really bad hip injury requiring very expensive specialty surgery. It was amazing having Healthy Paws, because you think to yourself, I won’t spend that much out of pocket on your dog, but let me tell you, you will if you possibly can. It can be shocking how much surgery and post operative care costs, and it can force you to make really tough decisions. Healthy Paws reimbursed us for 80% after our $200 deductible, and that meant we could afford the best care for our beloved dog. Monitor rate increases, but I totally recommend Healthy Paws.

Roxanne
September 5, 2020 10:19 pm

I’m so thankful for Healthy Paws! They have been a blessing during this unexpected time.
When I got pet insurance, I never imagined having to use it as extensively as I have over the last month. When Baylor got sick and it took several weeks, several vet appointments, five medicines, and a trip to the ER for an ultrasound for the experts to get to the bottom of what was wrong. When your pet is sick, the last thing you want to do is worry about the expense. You just want her to get better. And that’s what I did. You can imagine how the bills racked up. Even though I knew I had insurance, I wasn’t convinced that it would work for ‘big things’ like this.
After each treatment, I submitted the receipt online, which literally takes less than a minute, and took a wait and see approach. No expectation.

Not only did Healthy Paws cover their portion of EVERY treatment & medicine that they said they would, they approved my claims in less than 36 hours (typically it was the next day) and deposited the reimbursement a day after approval.

I was and still am in shock. No one plans for thousands of vet bills. And yet Healthy Paws swooped in to help.

AND they reached out to me to check on Baylor!

I am eternally grateful for Healthy Paws. If you are looking for pet insurance, they are the obvious choice.

Ken
September 2, 2020 5:09 pm

Just requested a quote for my 12-year-old healthy dog (8 lb Morkie)…$175/mo and only covering 50%??? That’s double the cost of other quotes I’ve received.

Gina Stanton
September 2, 2020 1:48 pm

I am so thankful that I had Healthy Paws Pet Insurance. They are easy to work with, very reasonable on their prices, and they pay out to you right away. They also followed up to check on my Noodle. I highly recommend this to everyone. Thank you Healthy Paws.

Cynthia
September 1, 2020 3:46 pm

My husband and I can’t thank Healthy Paws Pet Insurance enough for helping us with Charlie’s medical bills. They literally saved his life. Thanks to Healthy Paws, he gets to snuggle and play with his adopted little sister. Hopefully, we won’t have to use his insurance again for a while but it feels great to know they have our back. We love Healthy Paws!

Sahaj
August 31, 2020 5:50 pm

So grateful for Healthy Paws Pet Insurance. We adopted our Dane/Mastiff when he was 4 months old, and a friend of mine recommended we get pet insurance for him. I decided to go with Healthy Paws, even though my friend recommended another pet insurance, and am so happy I did. In fact, my friend is now wanting to switch to Healthy Paws for her pet insurance. So far our Dane/Mastiff has had to have two elbow surgeries for elbow dysplasia and a stomach surgery along with various x-rays and medications. I can’t believe how much Healthy Paws Pet Insurance has covered in just over the last 17 months we’ve had our Dane/Mastiff! I’ve had companion animals all my life and from here on in, every companion animal I adopt in the future will be enrolled in Healthy Paws Pet Insurance. The customer service is amazing, checking in with us after every claim to see how our boy is doing and the reimbursement is so fast and efficient! At barely 2 years old, our Dane/Mastiff has encountered so many health issues we would have never imagined he would have to endure, and hence, am so very thankful to have Healthy Paws Pet Insurance! They have literally saved us thousands of dollars in vet bills!

Christina Anderson
August 31, 2020 12:03 pm

I had not had Healthy Paws for that long when my dog got a bowel obstruction. The surgery was NOT cheap! Healthy paws reimbursed me quite a chunk and it was in my bank account within a week! Not to mention the monthly cost is very affordable. I’m grateful to have had Healthy Paws!

Rick Zwern
August 30, 2020 7:15 pm

We have owned dogs for many years and have learned (the hard way) of the price paid for not having pet insurance when you really need it: for injuries, sickness, or end-of-life care. Our first pet insurance provider was VPI, which was offered through an employer. On a scale of 1 to 10, VPI is the worst. Barely a “1.” Their default position on every claim is “no” and you have to fight for the coverage you’ve paid for. Then we found Healthy Paws. They are off the charts, 10+, and I can’t say enough positive things about them. The ease of claim submission, fast processing, and having a “customer first” perspective are all among the reasons Healthy Paws is an easy choice for people who care about their own pets and are passionate about animal welfare. I know this sounds like a commercial. It is not. Just a solid recommendation for a great company.

Allyssa Henley
August 19, 2020 10:00 am

English bulldog owners MUST-HAVE! This is the best coverage for hip dysplasia, nasal and airway issues, etc, etc. Read the fine print on all the competitors. I have seen so many disappointed owners when their pet insurance didn’t cover procedures that are most common for English Bulldogs. The app is incredibly easy to use. Upload the picture of your bill and you’re almost done. Healthy Paws says to expect the claim to be processed in 10 business days, however, most of the time the reimbursement is IN my account in 24 hours!!! The rates are reasonable and the customer service is 5-star. I even was contacted to see how my pup’s surgery went! Highly recommend Healthy Paws! Don’t be the heartbroken pet owner that has to euthanize your pet for financial reasons!

Deborah
August 17, 2020 11:58 am

LOVE Healthy Paws!!!! I have been with them since 2015 for three dogs and cannot say enough good things about them! From X-rays to surgeries to therapy, they make providing for my dogs much easier!

Anne
August 16, 2020 7:25 pm

Based on advice from a friend, we have had insurance for our pup Anabel since we adopted her almost 6 years ago. We initially had coverage with Pets Best, and though we had no complaints about them, we never filed a claim, so didn’t test their system. After a couple of years, we changed to Healthy Paws because they have no claim limits and we felt that if we needed to file a claim, there was a good chance it would be a big one. Anabel is very active and spends a lot of time hiking with us (typically at least 50 miles per week). We recently filed our first claim, and, as we expected, it was a doozy! Anabel was bitten by a neurotoxic rattlesnake and the antivenin she needed came to more than $10,000 – our total claim was over $13,000. She was extremely lucky on several accounts and has made a full recovery. Although we would have paid for the treatment regardless, we were extremely appreciative that Healthy Paws covered all of the antivenin and processed our claim so quickly. Even though this was our first claim, which requires submitting her full medical history since coverage started, the process was very simple and the review times were extremely fast. I think we had confirmation of claim approval within a day or two of submitting all the required info, and we received the check in the mail within a week (probably would have been even faster with direct deposit). Although the premiums may seem high, it is absolutely worth it. Thank you Healthy Paws!