Is Healthy Paws The Best Pet Insurance?

How do we keep this site running? This post may contain affiliate links — the cost is the same to you, but we get a referral fee. Compensation does not affect rankings. Thanks!

Dog's paws in sandHealthy Paws pet insurance is our #1 pick for best pet health insurance. Healthy Paws took the gold medal because it has a history of great customer service, annual deductible (vs per incident) and unlimited lifetime benefits. You get to choose how you want to pay by deciding your annual deductible and the percentage of the vet bill that you’ll be reimbursed for when you sign-up for your initial plan.

Healthy Paws also likes to give to those in need. Each time you get a quote from Healthy Paws they donate money to a homeless pet in need. Healthy Paws covers many services including genetic conditions like hip dysplasia, a condition that is rarely covered in the industry. Take a deeper look at our Healthy Paws Reviews to learn if they are the right pet insurance provider for you.Healthy Paws logo

Visit Healthy Paws Website

Help a homeless pet just by getting a quote… read more below about their Every Quote Gives Hope™ program.

Review Overview

Policy Coverage
Customer Service & Reputation
Timeliness of Claim Payment
Price of Policy

4.63/5.00

Healthy Paws is our #1 pick for pet insurance. Healthy Paws covers practically anything your dog would need covered. Their customer service is great and their pricing is among the lower end when compared to other pet insurance providers.

Why Does My Dog Need Health Insurance?

The same reason you need it. Should an unexpected accident or illness arise you don’t want to find yourself with large vet bills asking you to pay large sums of money to get your dog back to 100%. It’s comforting knowing that if something does happen, you are able to help your pup without the cost of high unplanned medical bills. It’s nice having that financial support to lean on for help so that the emotional wear is a little less as well.

Services Covered By Healthy Paws

Here is a list of services that HealthyPaws covers and does not cover (as of April 2017). Services included are not limited to this list and are subject to change.

CoveredNot Covered
SurgeriesPre-existing conditions
HospitalizationWellness visits (preventative or routine care)
CancerVaccinations
Prescription medicationsTeeth cleaning
Diagnostic treatment and testing (x-rays, blood tests, etc.)Spay/neuter procedures
InjuriesVeterinary exam or office visit fees
Illnesses
Congenital conditions
Hereditary conditions
Chronic conditions
Accidents
Emergency care
Alternative treatment

How Does It Work?

After you pay for your dog’s treatment at the vet, use the mobile app to take a photo of your itemized vet invoice to submit your claim instantly. If you prefer pencil and paper, there is a claims form that you can print out and complete as well. Healthy Paws will process your claim and send you a reimbursement check. Most reimbursement checks are sent out within 3.5 days of when the claim is filed which is likely before your credit card bill even shows up, if that is how you chose to cover the cost until the insurance company paid you back. In May 2017, Healthy Paws is releasing a direct deposit reimbursement option as well.

Pros

Cons

  • Annual deductible vs. per incident deductible
  • Unlimited lifetime coverage so no annual or per incident limits on claims
  • Pricing is generally the best value vs competition (get quotes)
  • Your pet is covered when they travel with you in the United States or Canada
  • High customer satisfaction
  • Easy to submit a claim on the Healthy Paws app for quick claim reimbursement
  • Most claims are in the mail within 3.5 days (first claims may take longer since they need to review your dog’s full medical history)
  • BBB accredited with an A rating
  • Great email response time
  • Good CCL (ACL) coverage, read this comment thread for more information
  • Veterinary exam fee and behavioral therapies are not covered
  • Excludes hip dysplasia in animals enrolled after age six, so this might not be the best option for large breeds that are older than six. There is also a 12 month waiting period.
  • Contract states under section III item 5, You must agree to implement all reasonable means possible in the care and protection of your pet. This statement is rather vague and may be open to the company’s interpretation of whether or not you are caring for your pet appropriately.
  • There are age restrictions. (If pet is older than six you must have vet exam within past 30 days for enrollment. If not, you must get one within 15 days for the new policy to be effective.)
  • Pets older than 8-years-old are restricted to 60% reimbursement and a $750 annual deductible
  • 15-day waiting period for accident and illness
  • No wellness plan
  • Charges a one time $25 fee

Coupon Code

Use this link and you will automatically receive up to a 10% discount. The actual discount varies based on individual state regulations. You can also visit our dedicated HealthyPaws promotions page to discuss current offers.

Is My Dog Eligible for Healthy Paws?

All dog breeds are eligible for Healthy Paws’ unlimited lifetime benefits. Dogs between the ages of 8 weeks and 14 years are eligible to enroll. Once enrolled, your dog is protected for the lifetime of the policy. Pets 8 years and older receive a 70% reimbursement level and $500 annual deductible without the other options due to increased risk of accidents or illness with age. Below is a table showing examples of quotes from Healthy Paws. You can put your pet’s information directly into their site to get a better estimate for your pet (use our link above for the best discount).

BreedLabrador RetrieverEnglish Cocker SpanielGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
Age2 years8 years4 years6 years2 months2 months2 years
LocationFlorida
(zipcode: 33601)
Illinois
(zipcode: 60290)
California
(zipcode: 90001)
New York
(zipcode: 10001)
New York
(zipcode: 10001)
Florida
(zipcode: 33601)
Washington D.C.
(zipcode: 20001)
Price Per Month$32.75$53.99$48.06$70.52$46.05$25.65$16.77
Reimbursement Level80%70%90%90%90%80%80%
Annual Deductible$200$500$500$100$100$200$250

As shown above, things like location can change the price per month. In four columns we changed one thing to show how your monthly payments can vary depending on your reimbursement level, annual deductible, location, and age.

What If My Dog Gets Hip Dysplasia?

Healthy Paws covers expensive hereditary and congenital conditions under the condition that your veterinarian has not noted these clinical symptoms prior to obtaining Healthy Paws’ pet insurance. You must enroll your dog for lifetime hip dysplasia before the age of 6 for you to take advantage of this coverage. It’s important to know that there is a 12-month waiting period for hip dysplasia coverage from when you sign up with no related medical history to when your pet can be treated for it. Although there are some conditions that must be met to obtaining hip dysplasia coverage, it is a rare and great advantage that few pet insurance providers offer. Check out our hip dysplasia article to learn more about this condition, if your dog is likely to suffer from it and possible treatments for your pup.

Healthy Paws’ Every Quote Gives Hope Program

Healthy Paws donates toward a homeless pet’s medical care each time you get a pet insurance quote with their Every Quote Gives Hope™ grant program. Cash grants are given to pet rescue and adoption organizations for life-saving vaccines, medical treatments, and spay/neuter surgeries. By caring for these homeless pets, they are made more adoption-read since they are in good health and ready to go.

Healthy Paws’ Mobile App

The Healthy Paws app lets you take a photo of your pet’s veterinary invoice and submit your claim on the app. There’s no need for paper forms anymore. This is a faster and easier way to submit claims. The claims get processed quickly and a reimbursement is sent. You can download the iOS app for free via this link or the Android app here.

Opinions on Healthy Paws

We found real Healthy Paws customers’ reviews. Not only the good but also the bad so you could see both ends of the company. Since the dogs couldn’t share their thoughts we asked the pet parents 😉 .

Positive Reviews

I have 2 dogs insured with Healthy Paws since about 3 years ago. Fortunately, only submitted a couple of claims but their staff is always super helpful and understanding. The claim process was smooth and easy, and they were very clear on what they would/would not cover. I have no complaints. – J.W., BBB 4/19/16

From the first time we looked into the eyes of our new French bulldog puppy, I knew we needed pet insurance because we would do whatever our vet said she needed to keep her healthy. I researched several pet insurance companies and found Healthy Paws to be the best out there.
Five years later, I am so glad that we signed up with Healthy Paws!  We thought our little girl was having seizures a few weeks ago. After 3 visits to our local vet, they recommended that we travel to an animal neurologist for further evaluation. They did an MRI which revealed a herniated disc in her neck that we are treating with meds & limited activity. We racked up thousands in vet bills that Healthy Paws not only paid 90% of, they also followed up to see how she’s doing! To get reimbursed, all you do is take a photo of the vet bill on your smart phone, hit submit, and you get a check in about a week! If they would only insure us too!!! – Greg W., Yelp 3/5/2017

Baxter’s Story

Cancer is the highest disease related cause of death for pets each year making up almost making up almost 50%. Unfortunately, Baxter was diagnosed with cancer and his owners needed help financially. See how Healthy Paws helped this family in a time of need.

Negative Reviews

Definitely would NOT recommend Healthy Paws. The customer service was beyond awful. They canceled my pets policy claiming a payment did not go through which I did not find out until I was investigating a claim i’d placed. No one reached out to me to correct the error and now they are requiring that my dog be placed back on a 15 day waiting period although they are reading her policy over the phone and verbalized that she does not have a preexisting condition. IF YOU CARE SO MUCH ABOUT THE HEALTH OF YOUR CLIENTS LOVED ANIMALS YOU SHOULD SHOW THAT INSTEAD OF JUST COLLECTING MONEY LIKE ALL OTHER INSURANCE INSTITUTIONS! AWFUL!! I If I could give less then one star I absolutely would. My policy was clearly canceled because I filed a claim! Thank you Healthy Paws for absolutely nothing! – R.S., BBB 1/26/2017

Pet parents please be aware- stay away from healthy paws. Every claim we have filed has been denied due to pre-existing condition!! Do you know that allergy is a pre-existing condition? Think of us human-being, we all have some type of allergies but does our health insurance denies coverage because of allergy? Not to mention that they try to link every sickness my dog has had due to allergy!! Bleeding paws, bug bites, you name it!! NOTHING IS COVERED Because EVERYTHING IS DUE TO PRE-EXISTING!!! Did your claims representative get trained as a vet?? If not, please DO NOT diagnose my puppy!! This company is a total SCAM! Stay away! I want my money back !!! – Daphne W., Yelp 1/2/2017

What Are Your Healthy Paws Reviews?

Read our Healthy Paws review but still not sure if it’s the right pet insurance provider for you? That’s ok! You’ve got lots of options and you should always get at least two quotes to compare coverage and cost to find the best value for your family. Our Pet Insurance Reviews article compares Healthy Paws against many other providers to help you determine the best fit for you. If you’re thinking about getting pet insurance but still have some unanswered questions feel free to ask us! We’re here to help you and your pets live a better, less stressful life.

Do you have any questions about Healthy Paws plans and what they cover?

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.

Growing up, Kimberly used to get the sniffles when she was around dogs. Thankfully, she grew out of her allergy and is now able to play and snuggle with dogs as much as she wants! She adopted Sally, a four-year-old hound mix, in early 2017, and at the end of 2017 she adopted Kopa, a one-year-old treeing walker coonhound. She and her husband are loving life as pet parents.

Leave a Reply

99 Comments on "Is Healthy Paws The Best Pet Insurance?"

avatar
Tina
Tina

Having a sick pet can be emotionally and financially exhausting. No one ever thinks the unimaginable could ever happen to your puppy or dog. In my case my 8 month old puppy was happy, energetic, healthy one day, then the next, he fell to the ground paralyzed. After days of testing, they found his spine had contracted an infection, that spread to his brain. Who would have thought??? With out pet insurance, i don’t think we would have been able to save him, or got him the care that he deserved. Getting pet insurance was the smartest move I ever made, and going with Healthy Paws was my best choice. They worked so fast! So easy! So friendly! They truly care about the well being of your pet. I am still so shocked with how easy they made everything!!!

After quite a bit of shopping around, I felt that Healthy Paws had the best plan for my new puppy. Everything from filing a claim, to being kept updated on the status of the claim, and contacting customer service, was all so easy! I am so happy with the choice I made of going with Healthy Paws.

Tina

Jennifer
Jennifer

We had 3 labs prior to our current guy Jude and didn’t have pet insurance for any of them. Our yellow lab had a few issues here and there and our vet had recommended we get insurance. I had done some research but didn’t think it was worth the money. I was wrong! He had 3 knee surgeries in the last 2 years and crossed the rainbow bridge in June. We spent close to $15,000 out of pocket to care for him. We enrolled Jude in Healthy Paws Pet Insurance immediately upon adopting him, we knew we couldn’t afford those costs again. Jude recently had an intestinal blockage and needed to have emergency surgery – we would have struggled to pay without the insurance. It was easy to submit the claim, the reimbursement check came quickly and Healthy Paws even checked in to see how Jude was doing. The premium is reasonable and the coverage is excellent. The insurance paid for itself, and then some, with just this one surgery. I recommend it to everyone.

ERic
ERic

I cannot say enough great things about Healthy Paws. We have 2 bulldogs and both are on the plan. One of our poor dogs has had multiple health problems this year. We’ve had to pay out over $10,000 in bills. Unrelated issues and each time huge bills. From a cherry eye to a leg operation and an ER visit. We would have gone bankrupt but thank god for Healthy Paws. Each time they paid out as agreed. No push back no weird exclusions. We had the 90% reimbursement checks before the credit card bill was even due. I tell every friend and pet owner I meet. You have to get this health insurance. All you do is take a photo of the bill from the vet and submit. Takes 5 seconds. They even call and email to check how our dog is doing. Just the nicest, most unexpected company I’ve dealt with in many years.

Andy
Andy

We have had our dog, Wynslow, insured with Healthy Paws since he was a puppy. We couldn’t be happier and more satisfied with the service we have received from Healthy Paws. Unfortunately Wynslow has had a couple of significant health events that required specialized medical care. Even if we did not have insurance, we would have sought out the best care possible for Wynslow. But having insurance was a source of comfort as we made our decisions on Wynslow’s care. The cost of the care was significant but its impact on our family budget was very much muted by the reimbursements from Healthy Paws. Dealing with Healthy Paws couldn’t be easier – we submit our bills/receipts to Healthy Paws and very promptly we are reimbursed the vast majority of our expenses. We have never had an issue with coverage; Healthy Paws coverage is very comprehensive, including prescription medications. It’s also nice to get periodic emails from Healthy Paws checking up on Wynslow’s wellness. It makes us realize that they keep an eye on their clients. Last thing, the monthly premiums are very reasonable. I can think of nothing negative with our interactions with Healthy Paws. It’s been one of the best decisions we made regarding providing a safe and healthy home for Wynslow!

Isaac
Isaac

I did my research before signing up for pet insurance and found the best reviews for Healthy Paws. My puppy unfortunately developed a rare auto immune disorder that ended up costing us a lot of money but Healthy Paws did a great job assuring us it’ll be covered and quickly processed our claims. They’ve been great with following up and explaining what is covered and what isn’t and have exceeded my expectations. I now encourage all pet owners to get insurance for their pets and very much recommend Healthy Paws. Thanks for saving my dog’s life!

Sarah B
Sarah B

I cannot say enough positive things about Healthy Paws. From the day I brought my puppy home 4 years ago, Healthy Paws made it incredibly easy to get her insured. Having done thorough research on all of the pet insurance companies, Healthy Paws was the leader as they offer lifetime care at an affordable price. Their customer service team is incredible, and their mobile app makes it incredibly easy to submit claims. My dog had a bout of pancreatitis earlier this year which was stressful enough but knowing that Healthy Paws was there to help made the situation a tad less stressful. A few weeks ago my dog tore her ACL and had to have a surgical repair, again Healthy Paws provided me with the support I needed to get her the surgery. And a week later, a member of their customer service team emailed me to check in on my dog! I don’t ever want to have to make a difficult decision concerning my dog because I cannot afford to get her the proper treatment. Healthy paws has been nothing but extraordinary and I cannot thank them enough for all they do!

Chet Falk
Chet Falk

Healthy Paws is truly an exceptional company. I am an insurance agent with 17 years of experience. My dog, Romeo an Am Staff, blew out his ACL and required surgery. I called to see what type of pre-authorization was required and what pricing limits I could expect. Neither applied, I was told to use the surgery center of my choice, and as long as I met the eligibility requirements, Healthy Paws will pay 90% once my deductible was met.
Once the surgery was completed, I submitted my paid invoice. I had previously submitted all of his medical records to speed up the process. My claim was approved, and a reimbursement check was mailed out within two weeks. I am beyond pleased. If only my health insurance were this simple and efficient.

Telaryn May
Telaryn May

I’ve had Healthy Paws for 4 years now, and my poor dog has needed it every year. Thank goodness for this insurance! They are no hassle and prompt in paying. Just download the app, snap a pic of the bill and hit submit. That’s it, then wait for the check in the mail. The rates do go up each year, but for what they have had to payout, other carriers may have dropped us. Healthy Paws did not.

Brad M
Brad M

After spending well over $10,000 in medical bills on our previous dog, we researched several dog insurance companies before we purchased our new pup. We felt the most comfortable with Healthy Paws and are glad we chose them. Our dog, Denali, sadly, was diagnosed recently with osteosarcoma and we made the difficult decision to have our dog’s leg amputated and to start chemotherapy to give him the best chance at survival. These decisions we had to make were tough, on their own, but the entire process was made easier knowing that Healthy Paws was there to provide us with the financial ability to give our Denali the best care possible. As per their website, within 10 business days of my submitting the statements for Denali’s biopsies and surgery, Healthy Paws processed our claim and will be reimbursing us for part of the bill. Denali will be starting 6 rounds of chemotherapy next week and, while we wish we didn’t have to go through all of this, it is all made much easier (and possible) because of the commitment Healthy Paws has made to us and our dog’s health. We cannot state strongly enough how pleased we are that Healthy Paws is exactly as they advertise!

Jeff G
Jeff G

I wouldn’t have been able to afford the medical care my 5.5 y/o golden retriever needed after suffering two torn cruciate ligaments if I didn’t have my Healthy Paws pet insurance. after about $14,000 of surgeries, medicines, radiographs and follow up visits (oh and an emergency hospital visit, after a bad reaction to Fentanyl), I was reimbursed 90% (after my $100 deductible). it was as simple as taking a picture of my receipt and submitting through my cell app. I have recommended Healthy Paws to my friends/family, it has more than paid for itself, but more importantly, it opened up all the options that I would have never been able to entertain. Only the best for my guy and he is recovering superbly!!! If you love your pups, insure them – be a responsible fur parent!

SHEREEN K
SHEREEN K

I have two rescues. Scrappy we adopted in 2013, he was 1 and a half, and Baloo we adopted in 2014 and was between 2-5yrs old.

Scrappy ended up testing heartworm positive in December 2013, despite having a clean bill of health from the rescue and being on heartworm prevention since we adopted him. Baloo is not an extremely sporty dog, but my Scrappy chases him around for 8hrs a day to make sure he gets tons of exercise. We recently noticed him limping, after x-rays and an exam that he needed to be sedated to have done, he was diagnosed with a torn CCL.

Thanks to healthy paws, both my boys were able to receive the treatment they required, including multiple night hospital stays and made a full recovery.

I would never have been able to afford at least $2000 for Scrappy and $4000 for Baloo’s medical expenses. I called the company multiple times to make sure they received medical records and ask questions about reimbursement. Every person l spoke to was knowledgeable and friendly. They followed up with my vet and even emailed to see how my boys were feeling.

The reimbursement of 90% is one thing but the personal attention is priceless. It feels like you are dealing with another human being rather than an insurance company that only cares for themselves.

I will never be able to fully express the gratitude I have towards this company for their services.

Kelli F.
Kelli F.

Our 2 year old Labrador had to have three cysts removed and biopsied. Thankfully they were benign! Healthy Paws made the claims process so easy and stress free! We are so happy that we made the decision to go with Healthy Paws when she was a puppy!

Nina Savelle-Rocklin
Nina Savelle-Rocklin

Outstanding!!! I wish my health insurance is as good as the insurance my dog has through Healthy Paws. My Great Dane has had two surgeries after eating 1) socks and 2) corn on the cob with a cob holder prong in it – and both times the people at Healthy Paws have been amazing. They are quick to reimburse and also very caring. When I called customer service to see if they’d received a claim, the rep saw how huge the bill was ($8000) and offered to expedite it. Amazing!!! They also checked in to see how Zane is doing, post-surgery. I hope you never have to use pet insurance but if you want to make sure your pet is covered, Heathy Paws is the way to go. Thank you, Healthy Paws!

Julia Schwalb
Julia Schwalb

I have been using Healthy Paws for my 7 year old English Bulldog Harley since he was 6 months old. He had NO pre-existing conditions when we signed up. This is important to know about Pet Insurance. Insure your pet as soon as you get them, preferably when they are around 6 months old. As you may be aware, English Bulldogs can have many health issues. Harley has been diagnosed with IVDD (Intervertible disc disease), some hip displaysia and arthritis, and recently tore his ACL on his right back knee and had to have surgery. For every instance, Healthy Paws has been there for Harley and for us! They are amazing. Unlimited lifetime coverage and deductibles that you can change to align with your ability to pay are the factors that made me choose this pet insurance company. The claims are super easy to file and the payment comes quickly. If you need to speak with them, the agents are knowledgeable and so willing to assist. Not only that, they will follow up to see how your pet is doing. If I could give more than 5 stars I would!!

Raechel A
Raechel A

I just have to say how incredibly grateful I am for Healthy Paws. We’ve had our two 6 year-old labs insured with them since they were 11 months old. One has been mostly no trouble (only one claim in 5 years); the other is a different story – starting from mere weeks after we were insured ($1200) and up to this past week where we just had to treat him for a lung tumor at the young age of 6 ($12,000 and more treatment ahead for him).

For sure, as pet owners, we know we’re likely going to out-live our pets; and I now know we will have a reduced life span with our guy because of the cancer, but the relief that comes along with not having to choose between their life or quality of treatment and money is indescribable.

Not to mention, they are SUPER FAST with reimbursement (one time, the check was on the way to me as I was on the way home from the vet), make it very easy to submit claims (app on my phone), have direct deposit for claims, and the customer service is impeccable.

If you do not have this pet insurance, GET IT NOW! (And NO, they aren’t paying me to say this – they are, however, paying for my pet to be healthy!)

Jacki
Jacki

Healthy paws has the worst business practice ever. They take the percentage off BEFORE the total is applied to the deductible which is a rip off. The customer service is a joke and when they say they will get someone to respond back its an email and not a personal phone call

Healthy Paws
Healthy Paws

Jacki – We’re sorry that your dog was ill and that you were not satisfied with our customer service. In your initial call with our customer care team, you requested a follow up by one of our managers, but it was not specified that you wanted a call. If you did, we apologize for not catching that request. In our effort to get you the appropriate information, our manager chose to send an email and that was done within a half hour of your call.

We do our best to be transparent regarding how our reimbursement calculations work. We include this information (including examples) on our website within our “Frequent Asked Questions” page, and on our “For Customers” page within our website. Our process for calculating reimbursements are approved by each state’s Department of Insurance and are based upon the deductible/reimbursement level a client chooses at enrollment. There are many pet insurance companies that use this same method for determining reimbursement amounts. We regret we lost you as a client and hope you and your pet stay well.

Caroline Harris
Caroline Harris

I’m with you Jacki. I wish I had tried another company- trupanion or any other place. PetPlan was GREAT but then they changed their underwriter and the plans became too expensive (to actually recoup any money) for 3 cats. Anyway my cat has had a UTI on HealthyPaws and I am stuck with them now. It’s been 1 year 3 months with them, hardly ever submitting anything because they barely cover anything, and their rates have already gone up. I will be moving my other cats elsewhere–unfortunately one of my babies will be stuck with them. My cats are my family, and having them sick, bouncing between vets, emergency vet trips and taking off from work to get to the vet is already mega stressful, and knowing their insurance company will barely give me $100 from a $500+ dollar claim only makes matters worse.

Mark
Mark

To those complaining about preexisting condition denials. As soon as you get your dog get insurance..and dont get a sick dog from a store or shelter. I hope they can remain in business. My dog is now on medicine for life and yearly heart tests ive filed 50 claims. All covered.

Linda H
Linda H

I would like to thank Healthy Paws so much for their PERSONAL touch. Not only were they willing to work with me and California VeterinarySpecialist on payment arrangements, but my wonderful Healthy Paws representative, Nicky called me to ask how my fur baby was doing. Now who would have ever thought you’d have that through an insurance co. It made me realize that these are just not employees working for the company, but they are employees who understand how hard it is to go through anything with your loved pet. They had commitment, professionalism, but most of all, they had HEART!

Anthony Maffei
Anthony Maffei

Healthypaws has been nothing short of excellent when helping us deal with several different issues with our beloved yellow lab. Unfortunately, she has been a little accident prone in her early life and has needed more veterinary care than expected or wanted. Healthypaws hasn’t let us down and was always quick with response and reimbursement as well as concern for Ellie’s well being. We would not hesitate whatsoever in referring Healthypaws to others…and will certainly enroll any of or future pets with Healthypaws!

Katie Carroll
Katie Carroll

My company offered pet insurance at a discount and I bought it. I was glad I did because 9 months later, my beloved English Pointer developed thyroid cancer. I had not researched pet insurance at all even though I am an insurance lawyer. Treatment was very costly and the insurer paid on a schedule so I never knew how much I was going to get. In the end, the insurer paid about 60% of my claim. I was very unhappy and began to research better coverage for my puppies. I researched all carriers, rates of reimbursement and claims processes. I selected Healthy Paws. It is hands down the best.

Diana Trupiano
Diana Trupiano

I am so happy to have Healthy Paws Pet Insurance! My little beagle, Ivy, was mauled by two large dogs, leaving her with a split ear and large wound on her side. My emergency clinic submitted everything for my claim, and within a couple of days, I received an email from Healthy Paws letting me know they had received it. What surprised me was the first sentence was basically, “How is Ivy doing? “We’re so sorry you have to go through this”, etc. I’ve never had such service before. Healthy Paws really cares for their clients. I’m so happy I found them!

Rachel Palkovics
Rachel Palkovics

My dog Mojo scared his mommy quite a bit when he tore his CCL at 3 years old 🙁 He had to to have a very expensive surgery @$4500! We luckily chose the $250 yearly deductible and 90% reimbursement policy with Healthy Paws Insurance. So, we didn’t have to worry about making the choice to get him the best care.

Healthy Paws processed his claim quickly (within 2 weeks normally) & got us a check back. Thank goodness we had insurance. I am not sure what we would have done without it. Afterwards, they even sent me an email to ask how he was doing after surgery. We appreciate them caring and checking in on him. He is young and strong and recovering like a champ! I am sure in a few weeks he will be almost good as new & back to running and playing like a young crazy pup. I would recommend Healthy Paws to everyone who asks me!

Robert W
Robert W

I have been a client of Healthy Paws for years. Unfortunately, I have submitted many claims for my pet. Never, never, have they questioned anything that I have submitted. If it wasn’t for them, I would not be able to give my pet the care that she so deserves.
I would be remiss if I didn’t recommend Healthy Paws to everyone. Don’t bother to try to compare other companies, just sign up!!

Jack Coman
Jack Coman

I was skeptical of pet insurance. When we adopted our dog Abby, she came with a packet on insurance from Healthy Paws for a reasonable monthly charge. After losing our previous pet to cancer, and since i could cancel the policy at any time, I tried it. I have made at least 4 Vet claims for Abby since then. The process worked exactly as advertised. Explanation of Claims are emailed and are clear, concise, and understandable. My last claim was for surgery amounting to $2,895.51. $118 for an exam charge was not covered, but $2,777.51 was. My check arrived 7 days after Abby’s surgery! If only Human Insurance was this easy and straightforward! We couldn’t be more pleased with Healthy Paws’ prompt and courteous service.

Romanie Baines.
Romanie Baines.

I’m feeling rather disappointed with Healthy Paws. 2 weeks ago I received an email notification from them advising me of a rate increase. I’ve had their insurance for my 5.5 years old, 8lb. Chihuahua mix, rescue dog for 2 years now. We have never had a single claim. When I called Healthy Paws customer service to ask them why was my monthly charge going up, I was told that it was because of the increase in the price of veterinary care where I live. I live in Manhattan, NYC. and it certainly is not an inexpensive place for anything, however being a retired person on a small, fixed income, I’ve been taking my dog to the nearby Humane Society for his veterinary needs. They are likely the least expensive place in town. Yet Healthy Paws seems to assume that I would be paying top dollar somewhere. Sadly, in addition, I found their customer service representative to be cold and unhelpful on the phone when discussing this.

The Healthy Paws Team
The Healthy Paws Team

Romanie – We’re sorry that your customer service experience did not meet our high standards. Due to the increasing cost of new technology and advances in veterinary care, rates will increase each year in most states (this is your first increase in 2 years). These annual increases provide you the opportunity to offer your pet the best medical and diagnostic options available today. Rest assured, we will never penalize you with higher rates for making claims. All pet insurance companies, no matter how they market their benefits, will raise rates periodically to keep up with the rapidly rising cost of veterinary care.

Even though we could not keep your increase as low as we would have liked, our competitors premiums are anywhere from 68% to 248% higher overall than your premium with Healthy Paws (based on your current reimbursement level/deductible). Our management team works hard to keep your premiums as low as possible, but there continues to be an overall increase in the frequency of high-value treatments such as anterior cruciate ligament surgeries, cancer treatments including chemotherapy, and foreign body exploratory surgeries performed by veterinarians.

Rescue dog lover
Rescue dog lover

******DO NOT go to them if you have rescue animals!!!!********

Originally I got an email from them upon claim submission that they need all medical record AFTER, let me repeat, AFTER my dog joined our family. I even called and made sure I have nothing else missing.

My dog is a rescue we adopted him 6 months ago. The first occasion to a vet was a month ago with the symptom on the claim.

Now they sent me this on email:
“A pet….ON THE DATE OF ENROLLMENT must have undergone a COMPLETE clinical examination. ”

If I can’t provide this, “any signs and symptoms noted (in claims submitted) would NOT be eligible for coverage.” because they will consider those as pre-existing condition.

Luckily, I can provide since the dog was an owner surrender. and I know which vet they used.
But most dogs at rescue or shelters don’t have any medical records.

**********DO NOT use this insurance for rescue animals!!!!!!!!*********

The Healthy Paws Team
The Healthy Paws Team

We are glad you have a place in your home for your rescue . Healthy Paws makes every effort to be transparent throughout our website and in the policy documents about the need for medical records. We request a pet’s medical records at the time of their first claim instead of requiring them at the time of enrollment. We use those medical records and notes written by the attending veterinarian to determine if there are any pre-existing conditions which would keep us from approving a claim. We realize that those pets can have limited health records and will work with those clients based on the records that are available.

No matter where a client gets their new four legged family member, we do require that a pet has a wellness exam (as do the majority of pet insurance companies). We do our best to be transparent about the need for a wellness exam in our website FAQ section and in the policy documents found in your online account. During the online enrollment process, we specifically ask new customers who are enrolling for the date of their pet’s last veterinary exam. We provide the following information in a pop-up window below the request for the exam date:

“We use your pet’s medical records to process claims. This exam date tells us that your pet has been examined by a veterinarian within the timeframe required by our policy.

Pets younger than 6 years old – We require a veterinary exam in the 12 months prior to enrollment.

Pets six years or older – We require a veterinary exam within the past 30 days.”

If enrolling over the phone with one of our customer care team, we will also ask for the above information.

The Healthy Paws Team

BeagleMom
BeagleMom

Did everyone else who commented on this article get an e-mail from Healthy Paws Pet Insurance? I did. Now I know that Canine Journal gave them my e-mail address and this article is a mere advertisement.

Kathleen
Kathleen

Does anyone have a link for a detail outline of their policy?

If you are charged for a $75 x-ray does HeathyPaws pay the full amount but 80%? Or do they say we feel 65 is fair value price and then deduct 80% and pay you that?

Kathleen
Kathleen

Do they pay what they see fit and then 80% for that. For example if a x-ray is $75 and they think in the insurance mind that $60 is a reasonable cost and then 80% of that they pay you after the deducatble?

The Healthy Paws Team
The Healthy Paws Team

Reimbursements are based on your actual veterinary bill. We determine the total of the covered treatments and provide reimbursement based on the deductible and reimbursement level chosen at enrollment.

Kathleen
Kathleen

If you sign up when you first get your puppy lets say nine weeks old and keep them on plan for the life of your pet, would there be pre-existing conditions? That brings me to my other question should you wait the 15 days after you get the puppy and on the 16th day take your puppy in for its first vet visit? Is there a option to pay annually and if so is there a discount?

Chiweenie Parent
Chiweenie Parent

I purchased Healthy Paws pet insurance when I adopted a Chihuahua mix last year, and it has been a mixed bag. I really wish I had read the lengthy list of policy exclusions more carefully, since it is far more extensive than I realized. I knew preventive care and exam fees were not covered, but believed that medications and procedures generally would be. However his anxiety medication is excluded because it is considered to be for behavioral change, and his tooth extractions were excluded as well because it is associated with dental disease. The way they count your progress toward your deductible is misleading and unlike any human health insurance — if your reimbursement rate is 80%, then only 80% of what you spend counts towards your deductible. Therefore my nominally $250 deductible is in fact $312.50. Their EOBs are also inaccurate, for they invariably list all no covered charges as preventive care rather than splitting them out under all the different exclusion categories. That said, their app is very easy to use, claims are adjudicated ( read: denied) quickly, and their online customer service is responsive. The service is really only good for those large and disastrous incidents. If you want something like the catastrophic coverage plans for humans, it’s ok.

The Healthy Paws Team
The Healthy Paws Team

We would like to provide a more detailed response to your review, but we could not find an account in our system with the information in your review profile, so we’ll reply to your issues the best we can

We make every effort to be transparent throughout our website, during the enrollment process and in the policy documents available to each client in their online Healthy Paws account regarding the limited exclusions of our policy. Those exclusions are pre-existing conditions, preventative/routine care and the office visit fee (veterinary exam fee). Anyone visiting our website can see this information on our “Benefits, Coverage and Exclusions” page.

Our complete accident and illness plan covers injury to the teeth if it is caused by an accident, including extractions and reconstruction of damaged teeth. Like some other pet insurance companies, our plan does not cover the regular dental care required to maintain dental hygiene for the pet, including brushing, scaling, polishing, extractions and reconstructions due to dental disease.

We do our best to inform our clients how our reimbursement calculations work. We include this information (including examples) on our website within our “Frequent Asked Questions” page, and on our “For Customers” page within our website. Our process for calculating reimbursements are approved by each state’s Department of Insurance and are based upon the deductible/reimbursement level a client chooses at enrollment. There are many pet insurance companies that use this same method for determining reimbursement amounts.

The Healthy Paws Team

Kendrick
Kendrick

I have a question regarding monthly premium payments – is it common for them to go up each year? I purchased my pet’s policy when he was 6 months old and assumed I’d locked in a certain rate based on signing up at an early age, rather than waiting until he was 2 (sort of like a life insurance policy). Today I received an email saying his policy is going up $4/month beginning in 60 days. I can handle $4/month but am now wondering if it’s going to climb higher as he ages? It’s possible I read this in the fine print way back when I purchased but I can’t remember, and can’t seem to find anything on their website to confirm this.

Stephanie Skees
Stephanie Skees

Healthy Paws has been fabulous!  I have two yorkshire terriers and Healthy Paws covered most expense when they each unexpectedly got sick! Recently, when little Mac was sick, they immediately covered all expected expenses from his initial office visit (including testing and procedures), to his emergency surgery through his followups. Mr Weiss from Healthy Paws even called to check up on him a few weeks later. Such nice people and amazing service!

Monique
Monique

I just don’t know where to begin. This company is frankly awesome! I began researching pet insurance companies after adopting a lab mix a few years ago. Sadly, she was very ill when I adopted her and wasn’t insurable but the interaction that I had with the Healthy Paw people during this time made up my mind that I would insure my next pet. A couple of years ago, I rescued a German Shorthair Pointer and did get her insured with Healthy Paws. You can imagine with active dogs like Pointers, vet visits can be frequent. Each of my interactions with Healthy Paws has been extremely positive. First, when you call, a HUMAN answers the phone! Issues are resolved immediately! Submitting a claim couldn’t be easier; simply upload your vet’s invoice. Reimbursement checks come within about 2 weeks, I am grateful beyond words that my girl has such great coverage! Thank you Healthy Paws for being such an amazing, ethical, efficient and empathetic company!

Colby
Colby

I have two French Bulldogs and when I got the second one I didn’t even hesitate signing her up immediately for Healthypaws. My oldest Frenchie, Wilbur, tore his ACL recently (common for the breed) and the total cost of the surgery and rehab was over $4,500 dollars. With our deductible being $250 I was then reimbursed 90% of what I paid. My dogs are family members and instead of having to worry about how I was going to afford the surgery because of Healthypaws I could focus 100% on Wilbur and his recovery. The amount of weight lifted off of me with the help of Healthypaws is really almost too difficult to put into words but every single dog owner I talk to I inform them of Healthypaws. Their customer service is amazing and best of all, a check was sent to me very quickly after Wilbur’s surgery. All in all, I am very pleased and will continue to tell all dog owners to not second guess this wonderful insurance. It is completely worth every penny.

Patty Redemeyer
Patty Redemeyer

Healthy paws is the best insurance for my Golden Lacey. They have paid on many claims for Lacey promptly Customer service is great. Premiums are lower, and my vet submits my claims for me.Their are less restrictions on what they pay for. One of her recent claims was over $1900.00 and Healthy paws paid 90% minus vet’s exam. Lacey will be insured for life by Healthy paws.

Bridget Shenk
Bridget Shenk

WORST pet insurance, do not waste your money!! We had this lousy insurance company for a year. Our dogs are healthy but since I had a cat die suddenly after a very expensive visit to an ER, I thought I had better insure our dogs. We paid a little over $100 a month premium. Our deductible was $250 with 80% coverage. What a nightmare. First of all, office visits are not covered nor included in your deductible. So…a trip to the vet to examine the dog’s itchy red ears costs $60 office visit, and $22 for the ointment/antibiotic. Turn in claim. Healthy paws wants all veterinary records for your dog’s entire life. Find out that the dog had an ear infection three years ago and it become a pre-existing condition – not one cent of this visit covered. Next visit was other dog limping and lethargic. Office visit $60, anti-inflammatory meds $25. Again, office visit not covered, and the $24 for meds does not go to deductible – only 80% of the $25 goes towards it. So…in 5 months paid over $500 in premiums, absolutely no coverage for dog’s ears, and only $20 towards the $250 deductible. Since they only consider 80% of what you pay as deductible, my deductible is actually $300, not $250, so I still have $280 to go to reach the deductible. Next, the dog had to go in for X-rays. The Cost was $310. In the end, after paying Health Paws $540 in premiums, and vet visits for $82, $85, and $310, we received a check for around $40 from the company. So…they are making a killing on people ripping us all off. Go elsewhere. We now have a great company that costs $10 more a month however covers office visits without question. The deductible is the first full $250 we pay out of pocket, with 80% back on all vet care after that. No having to submit every veterinary record of your pet’s life. I can see if an animal has an outrageously expensive pre-existing condition, but come on, ear infections? Another thing – calling in. I think they must have just one customer service rep. Call is never answered, you are told that you are “caller 4” and to hold for a while or leave a message. Rip off. Don’t buy the good reviews here. There is no way any of that is real. Must be Healthy Paws employees writing those stories. You can tell by the writing style that they are all from the same person. Nobody, NOBODY could say this company is good and fair.

Michelle
Michelle

FYI – all comments on this site are from readers. Our review of Healthy Paws is genuine, independent, and based on our unbiased review process. You can read more about our review process here – https://www.caninejournal.com/our-review-process/

The Healthy Paws Team
The Healthy Paws Team

Bridget,

As a company, we value our client’s input, good or bad. We regret that you were not satisfied with our plan and customer service. Unfortunately, we cannot find your account in our system with any degree of certainty using the name you provided in your review, so we’ll reply to your issues the best we can.

We do our best to be transparent throughout our website, during the enrollment process and in the policy documents available to each client in their online Healthy Paws account regarding the limited exclusions of our policy. Those exclusions are pre-existing conditions, preventative/routine care and the office visit fee (veterinary exam fee). Anyone visiting our website can see this information on our “Benefits, Coverage and Exclusions” page. By making the office visit fee (vet exam, recheck or consultation) part of the pet parent’s financial responsibility, it allows us to offer a complete accident and illness plan at an affordable monthly premium. Our policyholders value comprehensive coverage and unlimited benefits at reasonable rates, which is why they choose to assume the responsibility of paying for those costs.

All claim decisions are based off of your pet’s medical records and the signs/symptoms that are noted by your veterinarian. Most pet insurance companies including Healthy Paws use a pet’s medical records and notes written by the attending veterinarian to determine if there are any pre-existing conditions which would keep us from approving a claim. It sounds as though your veterinarian associated some of your pet’s current condition to a pre-existing condition and therefore, it was not eligible for coverage.

In regards to your reimbursement, our process for calculating reimbursements is approved by each state’s Department of Insurance and is based upon the deductible/reimbursement level you chose at enrollment. There are many pet insurance companies that use this same method for determining reimbursement amounts. As you stated in your review, there were items that were excluded from coverage which affected your reimbursement.

We’re sorry if our customer service did not meet your expectations. In times of high call volumes where all of our Customer Care Team members are busy with other clients, we feel it is necessary to let the clients calling in know where they are in the call queue and give them the option of leaving a message for a return call once a team member is available. We take customer service very seriously and continue to look at ways to make the process more efficient for everyone involved.

We’re sorry to lose you as client and hope you and your pets stay well.

The Healthy Paws Team

Maryann H.
Maryann H.

May I ask the name of the great company that you found for only $10 more a month that covers office visits without question? Have you had a subsequent instance of ear infection & did the new company cover it?

Melissa
Melissa

What is the name of the company you changed too? We want to check it out too!

Cece Chen
Cece Chen

I had the insurance policy for one month, 80% coverage with hundred dollar deductible. I knew that their effective eligibility date was 15 days from signing up, but they did not say that that begins the day after you sign up. So about two weeks after he signed up, after I thought he passed the waiting period, he had some diarrhea, so I took him to the vet and had him seen, $300 charge. I had to wait two weeks to get an answer on my claim from Healthy Paws, and they said that he was not covered because his symptoms began one day before the waiting period expired! According to them, the coverage began on the day that I saw the vet (but he started having symptoms the night before), but I contested this because it was not clear. Plus, they were supposed to have a 30 day moneyback guarantee and I was canceling my policy within that time period. But guess what, that is only if you don’t file a claim. In other words, you only get all your money back if you never even tested out their service AND cancel the first month you have it… makes a whole lot of sense, right?? So, I got nothing for my trouble, I had to pay $54 nonrefunded for nothing, plus I had to pay the full vet fee because he got his first symptoms one day before they said the period ended. Incredibly petty and bad company. Don’t deal with them.

Tim - The Healthy Paws Team
Tim - The Healthy Paws Team

It is always difficult for us to deny a claim for one of our pet parents. We use a pet’s medical records and notes written by the attending veterinarian to determine if there are any pre-existing conditions which would keep us from approving a claim. Our policy is to request those records when a client files their first claim. It is part of our process to follow up with a client when there is missing information needed to process a claim and we apologize that it took longer than usual to get those records from your veterinarian.

As you stated in your review, we could not cover your pet’s illness since the signs/symptoms were noted in your policy’s 15 waiting period. The majority of pet insurance companies have some sort of waiting period before coverage actually begins. Healthy Paws is very transparent about our waiting period on our website, in the policy documents that are in each client’s online account and during the enrollment process. Our waiting period for coverage is clearly stated during the online enrollment process when you are completing the information regarding your pet’s last physical exam and your personal information. We have to process claims for all pets according to the same standards set within the provisions of our policy that are submitted to each state’s Department of Insurance.

In regards to our 30 day money back guarantee, we cover that information on our website within our Frequent Questions page. If someone enrolls and decides Healthy Paws isn’t right for them, we’ll give them a complete refund as long as they cancel during the first 30 days of their policy and they have not submitted a claim.

We’re sorry to lose you as a client and hope you and your pet stay well.

Jenny
Jenny

I can’t say enough about how amazing Healthy Paws is! They are always super friendly, fast, and very helpful! The only negative comments I ever see about Healthy Paws are related to pre-existing conditions! What is wrong with you people!?!? You can’t have an issue with your pet’s health, and THEN decide you want to get insurance coverage for that issue. They state VERY clearly that pre-existing conditions (or, from what I understand, anything related to pre-existing conditions) are not covered! I have had to file many claims for my 2 year old Pittie, and have NEVER been denied, and they have only asked for clarification once! Get your pets covered from the moment you get them and understand what conditions your pet may have so you know if the (very reasonable) monthly premium is worth it for you and your pet. They’re very open about their policies, so do your research and you won’t have any disappointments. Again, I can’t imagine not having HP insurance for my baby! I have tremendous peace of mind knowing my pet will be covered for any medical issue he may have (because he’s been covered from day one), and knowing I will never have worry about finances to cover those medical expenses. Hopefully I will never have to call on them for any serious medical treatments, but I sure do rest easy knowing they’re there! I’m a very happy customer! 5 paw rating from me, for sure!

JEN SHERMAN
JEN SHERMAN

I have had Healthy Paws for my 2 dogs for just about 2 years. I have a 2 year old German Shepherd and a 1 Year old Treeing Walker Coon Hound. I have not had any issues with my German Shepherd but my Coon Hound was just diagnosed with Malignant Melanoma. I called them and not only were they fast and efficient but they were kind, considerate, and empathetic. They approved his claim for the coverage that I expected and purchased, they reviewed everything with me and addressed all of my concerns. They even worked with my vet to do a direct pay as I was in financial dire straights , so that he could have his surgery before the cancer got worse. Fingers crossed that the cancer is gone and 2 thumbs up to Sara at Healthy Paws for a job well done. HEALTHY PAWS ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!

Ronald Zigmund
Ronald Zigmund

The Best Company Ever! My dod Grace has been sick and I have spent thousands of dollars for her care to get 90% back is aawesome. I couldn’t have given her the care without this insurance. Thank you healthy Paws… I highly recommend you to my friends and family – Feb 7, 2017

Patrick herbert
Patrick herbert

I highly recommend Healthy Paws. I signed up a year or so ago for my Bernese Mountain Dog, who unfortunately just passed from cancer. HP was super responsive and communicative, was quick to review my claims and payment was prompt. Everything that I expected to be covered was covered. When my pup passed, they send me a very kind email expressing their regrets and retroactively cancelled my policy, including a credit back. No one ever wants to go through that type of ordeal with a fuzzy member of the family, but when life hands you that card it’s really nice to not have to fight with the insurance company. I’ll definitely be using them again with my next pup.

Daphne Wang
Daphne Wang

Pet parents please be aware- stay away from healthy paws. Every claim we have filed has been denied due to pre-existing condition!! Do you know that allergy is a pre-existing condition? Think of us human-being, we all have some type of allergies but does our health insurance denies coverage because of allergy? Not to mention that they try to link every sickness my dog has had due to allergy!! Bleeding paws, bug bites, you name it!! NOTHING IS COVERED Because EVERYTHING IS DUE TO ALLERGY!!!

Did your claims representative get trained as a vet?? If not, please DO NOT diagnose my puppy!! This company is a total SCAM! Stay away! I want my money back!!!

Tim - The Healthy Paws Team
Tim - The Healthy Paws Team

Daphne – Unfortunately, pet insurance does not work like human health insurance. We do our best to be transparent throughout our website, during the enrollment process and in the policy documents available to each client in their online Healthy Paws account regarding the limited exclusions of our policy. Those exclusions are pre-existing conditions, preventative/routine care and the office visit fee (veterinary exam fee). Anyone visiting our website can see this information on our “Benefits, Coverage and Exclusions” page. Our pet insurance protects you against future conditions, and unfortunately, the majority of pet insurance companies will not cover pre-existing conditions.

We’re never happy when we have to deny a claim for one of our clients. All claim decisions are based off of your pet’s medical records and the signs/symptoms that are noted by your veterinarian. We use a pet’s medical records and notes written by your veterinarian to determine if there are any pre-existing conditions which would keep us from approving a claim. Based upon the information provided for your claim and since your pet had allergy issues noted by your veterinarian prior to enrollment, we could not provide coverage. Our customer care team has reached out to you via email in regards to getting more detailed information on your recent visit and that claim was appealed/covered based upon the deductible and reimbursement level you chose at enrollment.

Gary Allen
Gary Allen

Tim I am about to start insurance on MoMo my cat. He has been to a vet several times and has a new client exam as well. He is age 3 and healthy and active. Am I good to go? Thanks…Gary Allen JJ /Cale The Charlie Daniels Band)

Tim - The Healthy Paws Team
Tim - The Healthy Paws Team

Gary,

It sounds as though your pet has visited your favorite veterinarian within our guidelines. Answer the question below to see if you need to do anything special:

For pets younger than six years old, have you seen your veterinarian within the past 12 months? If yes, there is nothing more that you need to do to enroll.

Caroline Harris
Caroline Harris

Gary of course he is going to tell you you are good to go, it’s his job. Check out PetPlan before you make a final decision.

Lisa
Lisa

“Think of us human-being, we all have some type of allergies but does our health insurance denies coverage because of allergy?” Before the ACA that used to happen all the time.

Bridget Shenk
Bridget Shenk

Same thing here Daphne. This fly-by-night company wants all past records of a pet – ALL of them. I sent records for our dog and then Healthy Paws denied a claim for an ear infection because he had been treated for an ear infection 3 years earlier!! They called it a “chronic” condition! Also, when at the vet for a checkup, a small lump was found on our dog’s neck, and the vet thinks it needs to be removed. It was a new cyst/lump. Well, this half-ass insurance company saw that he had a small lump near his ear two years ago and are assuming this is the same, will not cover anything! What?! SCAM is right!

Shauna Carpenter Kruse
Shauna Carpenter Kruse

I have got to comment! I have had healthy paws insurance for my dog Bella for 2.5 years and had nothing but a great experience! They paid out at 90% after my $100 deductible every time! I pay $34 a month. No hassle, no extra charges, just straight forward. I submit my claims with their app, which takes seconds, and hear back within a week through the app email. Then a check shows up in the mail. What scam folks! What bait and switch! Pretty mysterious unless you didn’t understand the process and coverage. 5+++ stars for healthy paws!

Liz

How is it possible to have such a low monthly payment? the quote on my 10 week old puppy with the same 90% and $100 deductible will cost me $47!

BeagleMom
BeagleMom

Depends on breed and size, and apparently your location enters into it, because vet fees vary by region.

Caroline Harris
Caroline Harris

The location is a bunch of bull. i live in a rural area. Matter of fact, we used to be a paper mill and textile town and when those companies closed down this town starting dying, just a bunch of empty run down buildings. My rates went up b/c of the “rising cost of vet treatment”. the rates in my area have not and likely will not go up because we are a Tier III county (which means below poverty line) and the vets here know most people can only afford so much if they want to stay in business.

Alli Chung Tice
Alli Chung Tice

I am wondering if things like apoquel, allergy testing, allergy shots and prescription omega 3 fatty acids would be covered? Yes, my vet has already prescribed the apoquel and the omega fatty acids for my lab. I am assuming that the allergy is a pre-existing condition but does that mean the the prescription meds will also not be covered?

Sadie Cornelius
Admin
Sadie Cornelius

Alli, unfortunately if the pet has already been treated, then it is a pre-existing condition and will not be covered by ANY pet insurance company. But if you go ahead and sign up now than any future meds or other conditions listed above will be covered!

George Chiang
George Chiang

RIPOFF! I’ve been paying this policy religiously for two pets for several years. They’ve made thousands off of me. When one of my pets needed surgery, I had to fork out thousands. The process took a ridiculously long time and I was only reimbursed less than 15% of what I had to spend. So if I had to spend $10,000, I was reimbursed less than $1500. This charge couldn’t be included. That charge can’t be included! I worked hard for the money I paid to them to make sure my pets were covered. And when a crisis hit, I feel like I was really taken advantage of. Not happy! Stay away unless you want to be taken for a fool!

Healthy Paws Customer Care
Healthy Paws Customer Care

We apologize that it took longer than usual to process your claims. All claim decisions are based off of your pet’s medical records and it took a few attempts on our part to have your veterinarian fax them to us.

In regards to your claims, they were all covered by your policy according to deductible and reimbursement level you chose at enrollment. As with any policy that includes a deductible, the deductible has to be met before any reimbursements are made. In your case, your initial claim was covered, but went towards your deductible. The other claim covered the balance of your deductible and a check was sent to you based upon the reimbursement level you chose.

The Healthy Paws Team

Arlene Howard
Arlene Howard

September 2016
I’d like to know why Michael wrote that Healthy Paws is covering his dog’s vet prescribed supplements, when my vet prescribed supplement claims have been rejected – saying that they only cover FDA regulated medications?

My dog has seen a very well respected holistic vet (also allopathic-ally licensed) since she was a puppy and she has only been to a regular vet on a few occasions in her life, including in the last few months since she was diagnosed as having a heart murmur.

My holistic vet prescribed her the supplements and the heart surgeon agreed with her choice of treatment. The specialist still thinks that she should continue taking the supplements. I didn’t put her on these myself.

I’d also like to know why this company has chosen not to cover her vet exam bills? Saving us money on premiums is not a satisfactory answer and if I treated it like a co-pay (as suggested on their website), I would be paying $20 a visit or an agreed percentage, NOT the full $101 per visit!

Since my dog now has congestive heart failure, she is required to have an ECCO done by a specialist every 4-6 months, she is also advised to get her blood work checked regularly by her regular vet and to get an EKG done regularly. No vet or specialist will do these tests without an exam and boy, do they know how to charge for those! I am now paying hundreds and hundreds on exam fees.

I believe that these exams should be covered, if it is part of the treatment for an ongoing illness. I can fully understand that routine exams should not be covered, but these are diagnostic exams as part of my dog’s ongoing care. Healthy Paws policy on this needs to be revised. I am paying almost $50 a month in premiums plus the $200 a year deductible – 90% coverage and I do think that this is good coverage – apart from the couple of things I have mentioned above.

Get Some Common Sense
Get Some Common Sense

so, for your 600 dollars per month, you should get 25000 in coverage every year? Where do they draw the line, is it just for you, or do they do that for every one, if they go by your business model, the company does not exist because it is not profitable. People who view pet insurance as human health insurance are completely mental. I get pet insurance for the extreme situations, where I can afford to shell out 25k but really do not want to, and I believe 99% of others feel the same way. If you cannot afford routine vet visits, then you probably shouldn’t have the animal in the first place. If you cannot afford $101, every 4-6 months…please give the dog to someone who can take better care of it. Coming up with 202, to 303 dollars should not be a challenge, nor should they be expected to pay for it. Use the insurance for disaster situations, cancer, etc…

Tim warnke
Tim warnke

Your first mistake was not having your pet cared for by a real world vetenarian from the beginning and throughout the life of your pet. Seems you go to the real deal when you know real medical attention is needed. Your holistic Hocus pocus is BS and seems you know that as well. Hopefully you don’t make the same idioctc choices for your own health. An educated guess you drive a suburu or worse a Volvo.

Caroline Harris
Caroline Harris

Can’t believe the owner of this site let your trash comment through. HealthyPaws claims to cover holistic treatment, genius.

Michael
Michael

June, 2015 I insured my pit bull, Scratch, with Healthy Paws (HP) for 90% reimbursement, less $250.00 deductible.

Last December 2015, Scratch ripped her cruciate ligament. She required surgery and physical therapy.

Healthy Paws delivered: On average I receive reimbursement (by snail mail) within 10 days after claim approval.

Oh man, HP makes it so easy to submit claims! Immediately after receiving statement of services and associated costs, I usually submit claims at provider’s premises. HP promptly sends notification upon claim approval (or if they require additional information).

Their customer support is just perfect: patient and–this is rare–empathic.

Some advice:

Read the policy; know exactly what is and *what is not* covered. After filing your first claim, send HP *all* vet records and notes. Not just recent, but from every vet. The first claim takes a couple weeks to process. HP will send notice when they require additional documentation.

Don’t hesitate to call their customer service. Again, they’re fantastic.

Recently HP raised my premium about $5; more than fair in my opinion.

Finally, Scratch has recovered and I have my dog back! (Should mention they’re covering her vet-prescribed supplements–just fantastic.

Hope this helps (I rarely write reviews–procrastinated on this one).

James Moon
James Moon

I have a small puggle that I adopted a few months ago. Being a responsible pet parent, I did my research online, and properly did my research on pet insurance. Unfortunately, I was led to believe that Healthy Paws Insurance was an industry leader; this is not true, as evident during my two months with the company.

I spoke with Hillary from Healthy Paws today, whom did not have a single clue regarding their policies, nor did she understand that what she said had huge implications of collusion on their company.

The policy will NOT COVER ANYTHING THAT A DOCTOR DOES. In fact, it only covers the medication. In addition, she mentioned that she calls hospitals to make sure that they change the invoices in a way that makes it seem as if it was only a veterinarian exam. I will be contacting the BBB and the IL AG Lisa Madigan to better facilitate these matters.

In addition, Hillary was completely useless, and outright rude; I highly advise that you stay away from this insurance company as it is not transparent in anything they do, and their representatives (Hillary) said numerous contradicting statements during my call.

Thanks.

Healthy Paws Customer Care
Healthy Paws Customer Care

James,

We’re sorry you were not satisfied with your phone conversation and emails from our Customer Care Team. We work very hard to be transparent with how our policy works so that our pet parents have a good understanding of our coverage. Anyone can find specific policy information and a sample copy of our policy on our website in the FAQ section: https://www.healthypawspetinsurance.com/Frequent-Questions

Our policy covers the treatments of any new accidents or illnesses that present after the policy waiting periods. The treatments that are covered by your Healthy Paws Policy are:

– Diagnostic testing such as blood-work, x-rays, ultrasounds, MRI’s, etc.
– Surgeries
– Hospitalization, including any treatments while in the hospital
– Prescription medications

Our policy does not provide coverage for pre-existing conditions, the veterinary exam fee, or preventative care, such as annual check-ups, vaccinations, spay/neuter procedures and teeth cleaning. By making the office visit (vet exam or consultation) part of the pet parent’s financial responsibility, it allows us to offer a complete accident and illness plan at an affordable monthly premium (think about it like your copay when you see a doctor.) The office visit is not covered whether you go to a general practice veterinarian, specialist, or emergency hospital.

All claim decisions are based off of your pet’s medical records and the signs/symptoms that are noted by your veterinarian. We use a pet’s medical records and notes written by the attending veterinarian to determine if there are any pre-existing conditions which would keep us from approving a claim. As you can imagine, there are times that the medical records we receive cannot be read with any accuracy. In those instances, our Customer Care Team will contact your attending veterinarian for the express purpose of clarifying what your veterinarian has already entered in your pet’s medical records.

We’re glad you and your Puggle are still part of the Healthy Paws family and that we were able to cover your most recent claim.

The Healthy Paws Team

kradcliffe
kradcliffe

Completely agree, and I had the same experience as a responsible pet owner. Their sales website and process is deceptive, as is the welcome email. This is more a premium collection agency than an insurance company. I lost hundreds of dollars in premiums because of their deceptive language and practice.

Stay away from Healthy Paws!

Beth
Beth

Healthy Paws was a complete waste of money for my dog and their customer service team is awful. I signed up last May and didn’t file a claim until this year when I took my dog to the vet- the claim wouldn’t have met the deductible entirely but rather than paying at all, they claimed both things she was seen for were preexisting. Their insurance would only be useful if you get a puppy or a dog with no previous veterinarian records of any kind. My vet recommended I cancel the insurance and I did. They didn’t respond to 2 emails to their “help” email address- I called them and spoke with an obnoxiously superior supervisor who argued and talked over the top of me repeatedly. I do not recommend Healthy Paws insurance at all- horrible company.

Healthy Paws Customer Care
Healthy Paws Customer Care

Beth,

We’re never happy when we have to deny a claim for one of our clients. Healthy Paws makes every effort to be transparent throughout our website, during the enrollment process and in the policy documents available to each client in their online Healthy Paws account regarding the limited exclusions of our policy. Those exclusions are pre-existing conditions, preventative/routine care and the office visit fee (veterinary exam fee). Anyone visiting our website can see this information on our “Benefits, Coverage and Exclusions” page.

Our pet insurance protects you against future conditions, and unfortunately, no pet insurance company can cover pre-existing conditions. Claim decisions are based off of your pet’s medical records and the signs/symptoms that are noted by your veterinarian. Since your pet’s condition was noted prior to enrollment, we were unable to cover the recent care and treatment related to it.

We make every effort to respond to emails and phone calls in a timely manner. It looks as though there were no responses because our customer care team was in phone conversations with you regarding the cancellation of your account right after your original emails. We’re sorry to lose you as a client. We wish you and your pet a very healthy future.

kradcliffe
kradcliffe

I had exactly the same experience, with several obvious tests showing up in their exclusions. Nothing covered, nothing counted toward the deductible. They can say with snark “It’s clearly listed”, but everything that you would imagine as routine and normal is not actually covered. Stay away!

Ronnie Wayne Myers
Ronnie Wayne Myers

I am a healthy paws customer, and to be quite honest, a huge fan of their service. They went out of their way to make sure my oversized claim was handled with as worry free as they possibly could. They contacted my previous vet, and the animal hospital my dog was at currently, and coordinated a direct pay almost instantly. I was so impressed by their speed and their kindness.

Their words to me, “…go to your meeting, and let us handle this for you. Then you can focus on picking up your baby”.

Chris
Chris

Great information on this site! Looking to insure our next puppy. I especially like Healthy Paws’ unlimited lifetime benefits and annual (not condition annual) deductibles.

Concerning the statement: “Puppies can be enrolled as early as 8 weeks old and can be covered until their 14th birthday.” Does that mean Healthy Paws does not insure dogs beyond 14 years of age?

Concerning the statement: “Pets 8 years and older receive a 70% reimbursement level and $500 annual deductible without the other options due to increased risk of accidents or illness with age.” Does that mean lower reimbursement and/or higher deductible values selected prior to age 8 are automatically reduced/raised?

Kimberly Alt
Kimberly Alt

Great questions Chris. With Healthy Paws, if you enroll your pet before he/she is 14 then he/she is covered for life (or as long as you have a Healthy Paws plan). However, you cannot enroll your pet after they’ve reached 14 years old.

Regarding your other question, if you enroll your pet after he/she has turned 8 years old then the only option is a 70% reimbursement with a $500 deductible. However, I’m not positive if it will change if your pet is enrolled before his/her 8th birthday. I want to make sure I’m giving you accurate information so I have contacted Healthy Paws with this question. I will let you know what I hear back!

In the mean time, let me know if you have any other questions!

Chris
Chris

Thank you for taking the time to dig into this … and to confirm Healthy Paws’ coverage!

Kimberly Alt
Kimberly Alt

Ok just heard back from Healthy Paws! Here’s what they said:
The maximum coverage of 70%/$500 is only for pets that are enrolled after their 8th birthday. If enrolled prior to turning 8, all coverage options are available and will not be reduced just because your pet turns 8. Please note that if you look to change your pet’s coverage after their 8th birthday, you will be subject to those restrictions.

Rachael
Rachael

Healthy Paws was the best decision we ever made when it came to our dog. He got diagnosed with immune mediated hemolytic anemia at the age of 4. 🙁 He needed so many medications, tests, x rays, ultrasounds, nights in the emergency vet, etc. We did all we could for him and we were able to because of this insurance. Unfortunately, he passed away about a month ago, but knowing that we did everything we possibly could helps me sleep a little better at night. And not having those thousands of dollars in bills helps too. We just got another puppy and I am signing up for Healthy Paws tonight!!

Kimberly Alt
Kimberly Alt

I’m so sorry for your loss Rachael. I’m glad Healthy Paws could help you care for your dog while he was still with us. Best of luck with your new pup and again, I’m so sorry for your loss.

S

This insurance is nightmare. It is a classic bait and switch, where they don’t tell you about additional fee until AFTER you sign up. They charge a “one time setup fee” which is a BS charge designed simply for them to make money. They never state this during the enrollment process (or if they do it is a small print scam) and I saw it only after I received confirmation e-mail (below)Effective Date: 11/4/2015•Monthly Premium: $70.50•Billing Day: 3A one-time $25.00 policy setup fee was applied to your first payment.

I called customer service to cancel and Haley was ready with the “everyone charges that fee” speech which is simply not true. Then she said others have it as part of their monthly fee, again not true. I asked her to cancel immediately and she said she has to send me e-mail because I need to confirm cancellation request in writing. Fine, send me e-mail.
15 minutes later, I received an e-mail which was a BS about staying with them, but if I really want to cancel I had to click on a link that takes me to online account management. And interestingly enough, it shows my policy is not active yet! So I can’t even cancel this policy!!! Horrible company!
Oh BTW – Pet plan was also cheaper with better coverage.

Healthy Paws Customer Care
Healthy Paws Customer Care

Transparency is very important to us at Healthy Paws. The $25 policy setup fee is clearly presented on the final step of the enrollment process. We then also include that information on the enrollment email. We certainly do not want any of our customers to be surprised by the setup fee.

Regarding others pet insurance companies that have fees, Petplan states on their website that they charge service fees for monthly and quarterly payments. http://www.gopetplan.com/faqs/petplan-payment-questions. Other companies all have their own charges and policies. We share this only to show that we are sharing information that is accurate and truthful.

We want you to have the best experience possible and your feedback on our cancellation process was very helpful. We’ll also review how we could have better explained on the phone the fees charged by other companies and how the fee is presented on the enrollment experience.

Thank you for your feedback.

Elizabeth Deems
Elizabeth Deems

Oh please. You are going to whine about a $25.00 application fee? Really? And you will cancel insurance over that?

John
John

Read the FINE PRINT! I can’t stress this enough. It does not matter what their rep tells you over the phone. You MUST get it in writing. Also, their requirement that you provide full medical records within x amount of time of enrolling is confusing. When I called after enrolling and receiving the email, the rep said this wasn’t needed. Later they’ll tell you it’s in their FAQ. Is that the right place for it? Maybe their reps should know too. For a year they’ve collected my monthly payment and a few hundred dollars in deductible this year. What did I get out of it? Well, I thought I had good pet insurance and peace of mind when really it was all an illusion.

Healthy Paws Customer Care
Healthy Paws Customer Care

Healthy Paws makes every effort to be transparent throughout our website and in the policy documents about the need for medical records. We request a pet’s medical records at the time of their first claim instead of requiring them at the time of enrollment. We use those medical records and notes written by the attending veterinarian to determine if there are any pre-existing conditions which would keep us from approving a claim.

kradcliffe
kradcliffe

Yes, exactly the same. I’ve lost hundreds of dollars to Healthy Paws as well. The sales/marketing is deceptive and only in the fine print can you see that most expected normal care is not actually covered nor does it even count against the deductible! Stay away!

Jeff L
Jeff L

Getting Healthy Paws was by far the best decision that I ever made for my dog. She came down with a heart murmer, congestive heart failure and bleeding ulcer all within a few years. This insurance was literally a life saver. I switched from a different insurance company that jacked up my rates 18% in one year and my dog was 9 years old at the time. The rates were pretty reasonable considering we had 90% coverage after a $100 deductible. I never had a claim that I didn’t have a check in the mail in less than a week and everyone I ever dealt with was super nice. I can’t say enough about them, what a great company. I am definitely getting my next pet covered with them.

Michelle Enebo
Michelle Enebo

We have Healthy Paws pet insurance for both our cat and dog. Last year our cat got so sick that we thought we were going to lose her and she was only two years old. So many tests had to be run and medications administered and she had to stay at the vet for many nights. The total bill was over $1,800 and we paid less than $300. I love that we didn’t have to make a decision between good care for our pet and making ends meet. We would have had for forgo many of those tests without insurance.

wpDiscuz

Send this to a friend