Is Healthy Paws The Best Pet Insurance?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Dog's paws in sandHealthy Paws pet insurance is our #1 pick for best pet health insurance. Healthy Paws took the gold medal because it has a history of great customer service, annual deductible (vs per incident) and unlimited lifetime benefits. You get to choose how you want to pay by deciding your annual deductible and the percentage of the vet bill that you’ll be reimbursed for when you sign-up for your initial plan.

Healthy Paws also likes to give to those in need. Each time you get a quote from Healthy Paws they donate money to a homeless pet in need. Healthy Paws covers many services including genetic conditions like hip dysplasia, a condition that is rarely covered in the industry. Take a deeper look at our Healthy Paws Reviews to learn if they are the right pet insurance provider for you.Healthy Paws logo

Visit Healthy Paws Website

Help a homeless pet just by getting a quote… read more below about their Every Quote Gives Hope™ program.

Healthy Paws Review

4.65
Healthy Paws Review
Policy Coverage 4.5
Customer Service & Reputation 4.8
Timeliness of Claim Payment 4.5
Price of Policy 4.8

Pros

  • Annual deductible vs. per incident deductible
  • Unlimited lifetime coverage so no annual or per incident limits on claims
  • Pricing is generally the best value vs competition
  • Your pet is covered when they travel with you in the United States or Canada
  • High customer satisfaction
  • Easy to submit a claim on the Healthy Paws app for quick claim reimbursement
  • Most claims are in the mail within 3.5 days (first claims may take longer since they need to review your dog’s full medical history)
  • BBB accredited with an A rating
  • Great email response time
  • Good CCL (ACL) coverage

Cons

  • Veterinary exam fee and behavioral therapies are not covered
  • Excludes hip dysplasia in animals enrolled after age six, so this might not be the best option for large breeds that are older than six. There is also a 12 month waiting period.
  • There are age restrictions. (If pet is older than six you must have vet exam within past 30 days for enrollment. If not, you must get one within 15 days for the new policy to be effective.)
  • Pets older than 8-years-old are restricted to 60% reimbursement and a $750 annual deductible
  • 15-day waiting period for accident and illness
  • No wellness plan
  • Charges a one time $25 fee

Why Does My Dog Need Health Insurance?

The same reason you need it. Should an unexpected accident or illness arise you don’t want to find yourself with large vet bills asking you to pay large sums of money to get your dog back to 100%. It’s comforting knowing that if something does happen, you are able to help your pup without the cost of high unplanned medical bills. It’s nice having that financial support to lean on for help so that the emotional wear is a little less as well.

Services Covered By Healthy Paws

Here is a list of services that HealthyPaws covers and does not cover (as of April 2018). Services included are not limited to this list and are subject to change.

CoveredNot Covered
SurgeriesPre-existing conditions
HospitalizationAnal gland expression
CancerVaccinations, titer test, flea control, heartworm medication, de-worming, nail trim, grooming
Prescription medicationsDental health care (injury to teeth caused by accident is covered)
Diagnostic treatment and testing (x-rays, blood tests, ultrasounds, etc.)Spay/neuter procedures
AccidentsVeterinary exam fees
IllnessesPre-existing cruciate ligament problems to one leg as respects the cost of future treatment for problems of the other leg
Congenital conditionsParasite control including internal and external parasites
Hereditary conditions
Chronic conditions
Specialty Care
Emergency care
Alternative treatment

How Does It Work?

After you pay for your dog’s treatment at the vet, use the mobile app to take a photo of your itemized vet invoice to submit your claim instantly. If you prefer pencil and paper, there is a claims form that you can print out and complete as well. Healthy Paws will process your claim and send you a reimbursement check. Most reimbursement checks are sent out within 3.5 days of when the claim is filed which is likely before your credit card bill even shows up, if that is how you chose to cover the cost until the insurance company paid you back. In May 2017, Healthy Paws is releasing a direct deposit reimbursement option as well.

Coupon Code

Use this link and you will automatically receive up to a 10% discount. The actual discount varies based on individual state regulations. You can also visit our dedicated HealthyPaws promotions page to discuss current offers.

Is My Dog Eligible for Healthy Paws?

All dog breeds are eligible for Healthy Paws’ unlimited lifetime benefits. Dogs between the ages of 8 weeks and 14 years are eligible to enroll. Once enrolled, your dog is protected for the lifetime of the policy. Pets 8 years and older receive a 70% reimbursement level and $500 annual deductible without the other options due to increased risk of accidents or illness with age. Below is a table showing examples of quotes from Healthy Paws. You can put your pet’s information directly into their site to get a better estimate for your pet (use our link above for the best discount).

BreedLabrador RetrieverEnglish Cocker SpanielGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
Age2 years8 years4 years6 years2 months2 months2 years
LocationFlorida
(zip code: 33601)
Illinois
(zip code: 60290)
California
(zip code: 90001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
Florida
(zip code: 33601)
Washington D.C.
(zip code: 20001)
Price Per Month$38.84$53.08$57.84$55.55$31.55$28.02$19.30
Reimbursement Level80%60%90%80%80%80%80%
Annual Deductible$200$750$500$250$250$200$250

As shown above, things like location can change the price per month. In four columns we changed one thing to show how your monthly payments can vary depending on your reimbursement level, annual deductible, location, and age.

What If My Dog Gets Hip Dysplasia?

Healthy Paws covers expensive hereditary and congenital conditions under the condition that your veterinarian has not noted these clinical symptoms prior to obtaining Healthy Paws’ pet insurance. You must enroll your dog for lifetime hip dysplasia before the age of 6 for you to take advantage of this coverage. It’s important to know that there is a 12-month waiting period for hip dysplasia coverage from when you sign up with no related medical history to when your pet can be treated for it. Although there are some conditions that must be met to obtaining hip dysplasia coverage, it is a rare and great advantage that few pet insurance providers offer. Check out our hip dysplasia article to learn more about this condition, if your dog is likely to suffer from it and possible treatments for your pup.

Healthy Paws’ Every Quote Gives Hope Program

Healthy Paws donates toward a homeless pet’s medical care each time you get a pet insurance quote with their Every Quote Gives Hope™ grant program. Cash grants are given to pet rescue and adoption organizations for life-saving vaccines, medical treatments, and spay/neuter surgeries. By caring for these homeless pets, they are made more adoption-read since they are in good health and ready to go.

Healthy Paws’ Mobile App

The Healthy Paws app lets you take a photo of your pet’s veterinary invoice and submit your claim on the app. There’s no need for paper forms anymore. This is a faster and easier way to submit claims. The claims get processed quickly and a reimbursement is sent. You can download the iOS app for free via this link or the Android app here.

Opinions on Healthy Paws

We found real Healthy Paws customers’ reviews. Not only the good but also the bad so you could see both ends of the company. Since the dogs couldn’t share their thoughts we asked the pet parents 😉 .

Positive Reviews

I have 2 dogs insured with Healthy Paws since about 3 years ago. Fortunately, only submitted a couple of claims but their staff is always super helpful and understanding. The claim process was smooth and easy, and they were very clear on what they would/would not cover. I have no complaints. – J.W., BBB 4/19/16

From the first time we looked into the eyes of our new French bulldog puppy, I knew we needed pet insurance because we would do whatever our vet said she needed to keep her healthy. I researched several pet insurance companies and found Healthy Paws to be the best out there.
Five years later, I am so glad that we signed up with Healthy Paws!  We thought our little girl was having seizures a few weeks ago. After 3 visits to our local vet, they recommended that we travel to an animal neurologist for further evaluation. They did an MRI which revealed a herniated disc in her neck that we are treating with meds & limited activity. We racked up thousands in vet bills that Healthy Paws not only paid 90% of, they also followed up to see how she’s doing! To get reimbursed, all you do is take a photo of the vet bill on your smart phone, hit submit, and you get a check in about a week! If they would only insure us too!!! – Greg W., Yelp 3/5/2017

Baxter’s Story

Cancer is the highest disease related cause of death for pets each year making up almost making up almost 50%. Unfortunately, Baxter was diagnosed with cancer and his owners needed help financially. See how Healthy Paws helped this family in a time of need.

Negative Reviews

Definitely would NOT recommend Healthy Paws. The customer service was beyond awful. They canceled my pets policy claiming a payment did not go through which I did not find out until I was investigating a claim i’d placed. No one reached out to me to correct the error and now they are requiring that my dog be placed back on a 15 day waiting period although they are reading her policy over the phone and verbalized that she does not have a preexisting condition. IF YOU CARE SO MUCH ABOUT THE HEALTH OF YOUR CLIENTS LOVED ANIMALS YOU SHOULD SHOW THAT INSTEAD OF JUST COLLECTING MONEY LIKE ALL OTHER INSURANCE INSTITUTIONS! AWFUL!! I If I could give less then one star I absolutely would. My policy was clearly canceled because I filed a claim! Thank you Healthy Paws for absolutely nothing! – R.S., BBB 1/26/2017

Pet parents please be aware- stay away from healthy paws. Every claim we have filed has been denied due to pre-existing condition!! Do you know that allergy is a pre-existing condition? Think of us human-being, we all have some type of allergies but does our health insurance denies coverage because of allergy? Not to mention that they try to link every sickness my dog has had due to allergy!! Bleeding paws, bug bites, you name it!! NOTHING IS COVERED Because EVERYTHING IS DUE TO PRE-EXISTING!!! Did your claims representative get trained as a vet?? If not, please DO NOT diagnose my puppy!! This company is a total SCAM! Stay away! I want my money back !!! – Daphne W., Yelp 1/2/2017

What Are Your Healthy Paws Reviews?

Read our Healthy Paws review but still not sure if it’s the right pet insurance provider for you? That’s ok! You’ve got lots of options and you should always get at least two quotes to compare coverage and cost to find the best value for your family. Our Pet Insurance Reviews article compares Healthy Paws against many other providers to help you determine the best fit for you. If you’re thinking about getting pet insurance but still have some unanswered questions feel free to ask us! We’re here to help you and your pets live a better, less stressful life.

Do you have any questions about Healthy Paws plans and what they cover?

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Growing up, Kimberly used to get the sniffles when she was around dogs. Thankfully, she grew out of her allergy and is now able to play and snuggle with dogs as much as she wants! She and her husband adopted Sally, a four-year-old hound mix, in early 2017, and she has brought so much joy into their lives. Life as pet parents has been very rewarding.

159
Leave a Reply

114 Comment threads
45 Thread replies
10 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
129 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Susan Smith
Our 10 month old puppy, Leo was recently diagnosed with a very serious condition requiring him to have surgery on his skull and spine. Within 24 hours of submitting our claim, we had an answer regarding our coverage. Within a few days, we received our payment. During a very stressful time for our family, Healthy Paws helped alleviate some of our worries with kindness and efficiency. I highly recommend Healthy Paws for your pet’s medical insurance!!
Joe Stuetelberg
Healthy Paws is absolutely the best. Amok has had a few pretty costly medical expenses including the Bloat surgery he just had. They have never given me a hard time on anything and reimbursed in 2 days on claims of all shapes and sizes. I highly recommend looking into them if you haven’t already. They have been a literal life saver.
Dina
So far Healthy Paws has not covered any medical bills. I am seriously doubting it is worth it.
LRowe
I have had a horrible experience with Healthy paws. They repeatedly asked for medical records that were already sent to them twice or more. They never processed a claim or communicated what was going on but when I would call and ask them did they receive everything they needed they said oh yes we have everything then they would do nothing, this happened 3 times! Now they have denied the claim for what sounds like a different dogs symptoms. Run don’t walk from these people!
Tim
Linda,

The records we received from your veterinarian did include your pet’s name and date of birth, which matched the information you entered when you enrolled your pet and where identical to the records you recently sent to us.

We apologize for the delay in the processing your claim. All claim decisions are based off of your pet’s medical records and the signs/symptoms that are noted by your veterinarian. We use a pet’s medical records and notes written by the attending veterinarian to determine if there are any pre-existing conditions which would keep us from approving a claim. As you stated in your review, we did receive your pet’s records, but our team had contacted you in regards to earlier records from another hospital your pet had been to. Once you clarified that there were no more records, we were able to process your claim. Unfortunately, since your pet’s condition was noted prior to enrollment and therefore a pre-existing condition, we could not provide coverage. We’re sorry to lose you as a client and hope you and your pet stay well.

The Healthy Paws Team

Dorothy
I have a cat that acts more like a dog! My 12 year old tuxedo cat was recently diagnosed with Feline lower urinary tract disease (FLUTD). His treatment included catheterization to clear his bladder, numerous vet visits, blood and urine tests, frequent monitoring at the Vet’s office and 2 weeks of meds for after care at home. I submitted all the bills for his treatment using the HealthyPaws app, which is amazingly easy to use. My claim was reviewed and approved the next day and the funds were in my account within days.

HealthyPaws understands how stressful it is to have a sick pet and worry about the cost of care. The monthly premium I have paid is well worth the peace of mind it gives me.

Lynnette M Frary
I love Healthy Paws!!! They have the best customer service, they have never denied any services needed for my pup (soon to be two) and he’s had a bunch of minor problems, but they’ve never given me any problem. I normally get reimbursed within two weeks of claim submission.

I used a different insurer for my other dog, and they canceled her after a bait and switch scheme, but unfortunately she’s un-insurable with Healthy Paws due to allergies, otherwise she’d be hooked up too.

Kimber Bear
Oakley, my 65 pound lab mix, had an unfortunate condition called patella luxation in both knees that he was diagnosed with when he was 1. Although it’s not a completely uncommon condition, its pretty unusual in larger dogs. The vet explained if Oakley did not have the surgery, due to his size, he would be quite miserable when he got older as he would develop arthritis, likely be bow-legged and his knees might slip out of their grooves permanently. I was forewarned the cost of the surgery, hospitalization, medications, X-Rays, exams, IV’s, etc. would total about $3,000 per surgery. Since he was covered through Healthy Paws, having the surgeries was a no brainer. I had already chosen the plan with the $200 annual deductible which would cover 90% of covered expenses. Healthy Paws was true to their word. For example, one of my most costly individual statements was $2,487.81. After my $200 deductible, I received a check within days, no hassles, no questions asked, for $2.039.03. This is the least stressed I’ve ever been about a pet’s health as I know that now I can afford to take care of him and still pay my electric bill. One of the best investments I’ve ever made!
Kathleen
Healthy paws has been fantastic to deal with! Their customer service is wonderful. My 4 legger needed to have an extensive leg surgery. They covered everything other than my deductible and kept in email contact with me the whole time. I even got a follow up email asking how my dog was feeling and recovering. I don’t have human children so my little 4 legger is my son, and I truly feel like healthy paws understands that. They show compassion and respect, as well as enthusiasm and knowledge in every communication I’ve had with them. I would highly recommend!
KIM WILSON
This is a great company! When we got our puppies 6 years ago I was thinking I should get insurance but was afraid the whole claim process would be too complicated. However, with two puppies I figured chances were good it would come in handy. So glad I chose Health paws. I was able to pick a plan to fit my needs and budget. The claim process is so easy. I just scan/email the invoice and they let me know within a few days the claim status and I have a check a few days after that. Also they truly care about my girls. I get informative email newsletters with tips that can keep my girls out of harms way and stay healthy.
Donna
This company is awesome!! They truly care about you and your pet… they process claims as quick as 3 days from submission and paid within 5 days of that… their staff is friendly, kind, concerned for your pet and many have talked me through tears when my baby girl was sick. The plan i have is VERY affordable. And the best out there.. i’ve had them for over 5 years and they will always be my pet insurer. Great company!!!
Deborah Ketchen
When I got my dachshund I did the research on the different insurances out there and finally decided on Healthy Paws because of their reviews and their coverage. My friends and family thought I was silly for getting insurance on a dog….but I had a dachshund and they had a history of having IVDD. Last week my dog became paralyzed. I brought him to the nearest neurosurgeon and he underwent surgery. I contacted Healthy Paws and they told me not to be worried about my coverage a andbd to concentrate on my dog. I even received texts from them inquiring on his health. He is 5 days post op and his claim has been paid. I have never been treated so well.This is the best money I have ever spent.
Brett
Amazing pet insurance. I recommend them to friends and family. They check in on ourdog when they noticed she was having a lot of medical care. They handle the claims quickly and easily–with no issues. They were easy to contact and cared about the dog’s health just as much as they did paying us back their portion of the claim. i would highly recommend them to anyone
Michelle
Before signing up for Healthy Paws, I did some pretty careful research on Pet Insurance to try to find the best insurance for my Papillion. I had previously purchased pet insurance for our other dog, a Chihuahua, and was disappointed with the coverage. I realized choosing the best pet insurance for my Papillion from Day 1 would be advantageous so I would not be stuck with “pre existing” conditions if I chose to switch insurance down the road.
Nearly four years went by before I needed to utilize my pet insurance from our Papillion. I had been traveling abroad and while I was gone, my Papillion had swallowed a foreign body and it became lodged in her small intestines. At the same time, her stomach had also filled with fluid. She needed emergency surgery to have this foreign body removed, and a nasogastric tube was placed to empty the fluid that had built up in her stomach.
I submitted my claim to Healthy Paws for my dog’s extensive and expensive surgery, plus after care in the ICU. Given my past experience with other pet insurance for my Chihuahua, I was not really expecting any reimbursement. However, within a week, Healthy Paws had issued a claim reimbursement check and covered everything exactly as spelled out in my plan. I feel very fortunate that my Papillion has made a full recovery and that Healthy Paws fulfilled their commitment to pay reimbursement for my claim. Thank you Healthy Paws.
sharon
When we got our little Dewey, someone mentioned that we may want to look into getting pet insurance because small dogs can have accidents. Well Healthy Paws Pet Insurance had one of the highest rankings, so I went with them, never dreaming we would need it.
But our little fella did indeed have an issue with one of his legs and required quite an extensive surgery to fix it. Healthy Paws put us at ease immediately, with the assurance that the surgery would be covered.
But it goes way beyond that, the people at Healthy Paws were so concerned about Dewey and always asked how he was doing. Even two weeks after his surgery and we had received our check, they were so kind to send an email checking to see how he was doing. Who does that anymore? Well Healthy Paws Insurance people do, they genuinely take their job serious and they know how important our fur babies are to us.
They are even fur baby owners themselves.
If you want great and affordable worry free coverage for your babies, look no further.
Sincerely,
Dewey’s Mom
Dani
Getting my dog was the best decision I have ever made. Choosing Healthy Paws was the next best decision!! I’m so thankful that I chose Healthy Paws. They have been amazing. They have a great app which you can easily submit your claims through. They keep you posted on the progress of your claim, and the turn around time has always been quick. Their customer service is EXCEPTIONAL! They even sent me a follow up email to ask me how my dog was feeling after her surgery. I highly recommend Healthy Paws
Tony T
I really can’t say enough good things about Healthy Paws Pet Insurance. I did a lot of research before deciding to go with Healthy Paws and I am certainly glad I did. From the ease of filing a claim to the superb customer service, they have exceeded my expectations to date. The stress of a pet that’s in need of medical attention coupled with the financial burden that a significant episode can create will really exacerbate anxiety and worry. The peace of mind that Healthy Paws has provided has alleviated that burden. One word that I believe sums up my experiences with Healthy Paws is genuine. I have yet to speak with anyone at Healthy Paws who hasn’t been genuinely interested and concerned with what I was calling about. 5 stars for Healthy Paws!
David W Sparkman
Healthy Paws not only provided exactly what they said they would, but did so in an extremely efficient, courteous and kind manner, well exceeding expectations. Our friends recommended Healthy Paws to us, and it’s been the best decision we’ve made for our pet. Their rates seem very fair, their service above and beyond, and I only wish I could find health insurance this good for humans–I’d happily work with Healthy Paws and my own local vet for any accidents I personally had, and definitely for any of my pets. Overall I highly recommend pet health insurance as it can take the financial stress away from an already stressful situation of having to help your pet in an accident, illness or injury–I haven’t had any experience with any other agencies, but I can’t imagine anything better than our experience with Healthy Paws has been.
Tony
Healthy Paws provided amazingly caring, prompt, and efficient service for my dog’s emergency room care. I can’t imagine a better service and I highly recommend Healthy Paws for anyone interested in purchasing insurance for their pet. I wish all companies could be this efficient and friendly!
Rebecca
Healthy Paws has been absolutely amazing. We signed up our dog when he was only a year old and have had continuous coverage for 8 years now. We originally signed up because my husband and I were both grad students (read: very limited funds!) and while we could afford the necessary day-to-day care for our new dog, we knew that an unexpected and large vet bill could easily bankrupt us! In the 8 years we’ve had coverage, we have had 4 occasions to file a claim (we only use it for the big stuff). Every time, Healthy Paws has covered everything they agreed to cover and turned the claim around within only a few days. It is so amazing to have that peace of mind that no matter what happens, we’ll be able to make the best choice for our dog without worrying too much about what it will cost – for example, when he tore his knee ligament and needed it repaired, we could have a serious discussion about which repair technique would be most appropriate for him and which surgeon we should see without feeling pressure to go with the cheapest option. I recommend HP to every single pet owner I meet – I really can’t say enough about them and I’m so glad I made that decision 8 years ago!
Jessica E
Healthy Paws Pet Insurance is awesome! For everything they do and everything they have done for my last rescue girl Sadie and for my current rescue Millie! While I sadly lost Sadie to lymphoma- they were with me every step of the way and it’s why I’ve continued to trust in their support and superior service for Millie!! Healthy Paws rocks – Jessica
Kyle McHenry
I mirror what everybody else has said, literally the easiest interaction i have ever had with an insurance company.

They covered the expenses of the surgery exactly as their benefit booklet suggested they should. Love you guys.

L. Thorne
Absolutely the best Pet Insurance out there. Can’t say enough good things about them. Claims are processed quickly and your reimbursements are received within 2 weeks if not sooner. My Fox Red Lab Shotgun has Copper Storage Disease, if it weren’t for Healthy Paws Insurance, we would not be able to afford his monthly meds and quarterly labs. He was given approximately 2 years to live after the diagnosis; he’s almost 6 now and very healthy. He’s a very active Lab, and just recently tore his knee; so he had a TPLO Procedure 2 weeks ago. Healthy Paws inquired to see how their client was doing! He is a working dog. He volunteers as a Therapy Dog at MD Anderson Children’s Cancer Hospital and TIRR in the Texas Medical Center. He is also a Canine Ambassador at Houston Intercontinental Airport as well as a Crisis Response Canine. We will do anything for our pooch and have only the BEST insurance for him, and that’s Healthy Paws.
N Lee
I have been very pleased and impressed with Healthy Paws insurance. Both of my dogs are insured by Healthy Paws, and I have found their claim reimbursements to be fair and fast. The reimbursement checks usually arrive within 2 weeks of claim submission. The customer service reps that I have spoken to are polite, courteous and professional. It’s so great to be able to make medical decisions for my dogs without having to base those decisions on finances. I wish Healthy Paws would offer insurance to humans; I’d switch my own coverage to them in a second!
Marianne Kuhns
I am writing this to encourage any pet parents looking for pet insurance to go with Healthy Paws. There are no words to express how grateful we are for this insurance and the simplicity of their process.
In September of last year, during our workday, my parents picked up our pups for a playdate at Grandma and Papa’s house. This was not out of the ordinary, my parents live four houses down from us and our pups absolutely adore their grandparents. On my way out to lunch I received a call from my dad saying that something was wrong with Barkley and that my mom had rushed him to the animal hospital. My dad did his best not to panic me but the fact that my mom didn’t even have a moment to call me to tell me herself only indicated that it was serious.
Without hesitation I headed for the Animal Hospital; it was fortunate that I was already in my car on my way to lunch. When I arrived one of the vet technicians was waiting to take me into the exam room, another sign it was very serious. The technician in with my mother explained to me that Barkley was in the back being worked on and that when he came in he wasn’t even able to hold his head up, he was horizontal and unresponsive. She then proceeded to ask questions about what he was doing at the time this occurred, asked me what food he’s been eating, asked about his recent behavior, etc. It was hard to focus when I was so panicked. After the technician finished with her questions I immediately asked if I could see him, she said she would ask.
Another technician came in to update me that he was responsive now and on an IV and oxygen and that I could go back and see him. I was heartbroken when I saw him, truly one of the saddest moments of my life. Barkley under normal circumstances is the happiest, funniest, and sassiest dog that I, or anyone else who encounters him, has ever known. They told me they had run some tests and that the doctor would be in to see me soon. I stayed with him as long as they would let me and then returned to the exam room.
Finally, the doctor came in to the exam room and proceeded to tell us that Barkley had zero platelets and was likely in DIC. She said he would need a blood transfusion, which would need to take place at the emergency clinic since they were not set up for that treatment. She advised me that I may need to prepare myself that he would probably not make it through this. I was devastated. Barkley, at the time of this event, was only 2 ½ years old. I could not bear the idea of losing him ever, yet alone so young. I called my husband and he immediately left work and came to the animal hospital.
Hours later, once he was stable and the emergency clinic was open, we transported him there. It was 6 days of transferring him from the animal hospital during the day to the emergency clinic at night. The pain of what felt like abandoning him twice a day was very difficult to endure. We desperately wanted him to recover.
For the first few days it was touch and go, he didn’t seem to be getting much better, but we kept on with every treatment plan the doctors tried.
About a week after the incident it was finally safe to take him home. He was still recovering and there was still a ton of care to be administered but he was on the mend!
Since then we’ve had routine checkup visits to ween him off medications and make sure his levels are staying normal. He is officially off all prescription medications, although, he is now on prescription dog food for life. We still have a little bit of a road ahead; routine checkups, until a year of good bloodwork. However, for the most part he has made a full recovery and is 100% back to his normal, hilarious self.
We still don’t know what caused this to happen. He was going to the bathroom in the backyard at my parent’s house and was moseying around. When he came back to come in the house he suddenly began vomiting repeatedly. We don’t know if he ingested something in the backyard, or what. What we do know is that he will never be allowed unsupervised again!
I share with you this long story to hopefully convey what a traumatic experience this was, which made having Healthy Paws in our corner that much more meaningful. Needless to say his care was, and continues to be very expensive. And while I’d like to say there’s no amount of money I wouldn’t spend to save my pups, the reality of life doesn’t work that way. We could not have gotten through this without knowing that we could afford his care because Healthy Paws would be there. The simplicity of their plans, claims process, and timely reimbursement gave us one less thing to worry about and allowed us to fully focus on taking care of Barkley.
Dixon and Barkley are our babies, since we have no desire to have human babies, we consider them our children and members of our family. So in our eyes Healthy Paws made it possible for us to save our baby and keep our family whole. We could never thank them enough!
Lori Garzio
Healthy Paws has been a lifesaver for our family. We signed up for their health insurance for our dog Bruno (now 5 years) when we got him as a puppy. Bruno has had several health issues – bladder stones, ripped-off toenail, shoulder muscle detatching from the bone, and lumps on his back and tail that needed to be removed. These issues required ultrasounds, CT scans, physical therapy, surgeries, and tail amputation. Healthy Paws has covered all of the diagnostic tests and treatments Bruno has needed, the claims process is very quick and easy, and we receive our reimbursements promptly. We have had the confidence to get Bruno the treatments he needed because we knew Healthy Paws would always be there for us. There is no way we would have financially been able to get him the care he needed if we didn’t have Healthy Paws insurance. His health issues have been very stressful for us, and it has made a world of difference that we don’t have financial stress to worry about on top of it. I would (and often do) highly recommend Healthy Paws to any pet parent looking for health insurance for their pet.