Is Healthy Paws The Best Pet Insurance?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Dog's paws in sandHealthy Paws pet insurance is our #1 pick for best pet health insurance. Healthy Paws took the gold medal because it has a history of great customer service, annual deductible (vs per incident) and unlimited lifetime benefits. You get to choose how you want to pay by deciding your annual deductible and the percentage of the vet bill that you’ll be reimbursed for when you sign-up for your initial plan.

Healthy Paws also likes to give to those in need. Each time you get a quote from Healthy Paws, it donates money to a homeless pet in need. Healthy Paws will continue covering your pet if you are unable to care for them or if you die. This is extremely rare in the industry and we think it’s awesome!

Visit Healthy Paws Website

Article Overview

How Does It Work?

After you pay for your dog’s treatment at the vet, use the mobile app (download the iOS app for free via this link or the Android app here) to take a photo of your itemized vet invoice to submit your claim instantly. If you prefer pencil and paper, there is a claim form that you can print out and complete as well. Healthy Paws will process your claim and send you a reimbursement check.

Key Features

  • Underwriter: ACE Property & Casualty (Chubb)
  • Exam period:
    • Dog less than 6-years-old must have visited the vet within the last 12 months or within 15 days of policy issuance
    • Dogs older than 6-years-old must have been to the vet within the last 30 days or within 15 days of policy issuance
  • Pre-existing conditions defined by Healthy Paws:
    • a. illness or the recurrence of any illness or condition which first occurred or displayed any signs and/or symptoms consistent with the stated illness or condition prior to the pet policy effective date;
    • b. an injury or recurrence of an injury that occurred prior to the pet policy effective date;
    • or c. any condition or complication resulting from an illness or injury that occurred prior to the pet policy effective date 
  • Has one bi-lateral exclusion: pre-existing cruciate ligament problems to one leg as respects to the cost of future treatment for problems of the other leg
  • 99% of claims are processed within 2 days (reimbursement checks are generally issued within 24 hours of processing)
  • Policyholders can opt for direct deposit instead of a hard copy check
  • Option to pay vets directly, so you don’t have to pay a hefty vet bill in advance and wait for reimbursement (not available everywhere)
  • Will continue coverage for a pet if the pet parent becomes unable to care for the pet or dies. This works by transferring the policy to someone else without a lapse in coverage. The new policyholder will pay the same amount and there will be no newly added pre-existing conditions.
  • No waiting periods in Maryland or New Hampshire
  • 30-day free look period (similar to a money back guarantee)

Healthy Paws Review

4.65 / 5
Healthy Paws Review
Policy Coverage 4.3
Customer Service & Reputation 4.8
Timeliness of Claim Payment 4.8
Price of Policy 4.8

Pros

  • Annual deductible (not per incident)
  • Unlimited lifetime coverage so no annual or per incident limits on claims
  • Pricing is generally the best value vs competition
  • Your pet is covered when they travel with you in the United States or Canada
  • High customer satisfaction
  • Easy to submit a claim on the Healthy Paws app for quick claim reimbursement
  • BBB rating: A+
  • Great email response time
  • Good CCL (ACL) coverage
  • Direct deposit or check reimbursement

Cons

  • Veterinary exam fee and behavioral therapies are not covered
  • Excludes hip dysplasia in animals enrolled after age 6, so this might not be the best option for large breeds that are older than 6. There is also a 12-month waiting period.
  • There are age restrictions (if pet is older than 6, you must have vet exam within past 30 days for enrollment or within 15 days of policy issuance)
  • Pets older than 8 years old are restricted to 60% reimbursement and a $750 annual deductible
  • 15-day waiting period for accident and illness
  • No wellness plan
  • Charges a one-time $25 fee

Services Covered By Healthy Paws

Here is a list of services that HealthyPaws covers and does not cover (as of April 2018). Services included are not limited to this list and are subject to change.

CoveredNot Covered
SurgeriesPre-existing conditions
HospitalizationVeterinary exam fees
CancerPreventative care (vaccines, flea control, heartworm medication, dental health care, grooming, anal gland expression, spay and neuter)
Prescription medicationsBehavioral modification
Diagnostic treatment and testing (x-rays, blood tests, ultrasounds, etc.)
Accidents
Illnesses
Congenital conditions
Hereditary conditions
Specialty Care
Emergency care
Alternative treatment

Coupon Code

Use this link and you will automatically receive up to a 10% discount. The actual discount varies based on individual state regulations. You can also visit our dedicated HealthyPaws promotions page to discuss current offers.

Is My Dog Eligible For Healthy Paws?

All dog breeds are eligible for Healthy Paws’ unlimited lifetime benefits. Dogs between the ages of 8 weeks and 14 years are eligible to enroll. Once enrolled, your dog is protected for the lifetime of the policy.

Healthy Paws has some restrictions on the reimbursement and annual deductible amounts for your pet depending on the age at enrollment.

  • Dogs and cats 5-years and under:
    • 90%, 80% and 70% reimbursement
    • $100, $250 and $500 deductible
  • Dogs and cats 6 and 7-years-old:
    • 80%, 70% or 60% reimbursement
    • $250, $500 or $750 deductible
  • Dogs 8-years and older: 
    • 60% reimbursement
    • $750 deductible

Below is a table showing examples of quotes from Healthy Paws. You can put your pet’s information directly into its site to get a better estimate for your pet (use our link above for the best discount).

BreedLabrador RetrieverEnglish Cocker SpanielGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
Boy or GirlBoyBoyGirlGirlBoyGirlGirl
Age2 years8 years4 years6 years2 months2 months2 years
LocationFlorida
(zip code: 33601)
Illinois
(zip code: 60290)
California
(zip code: 90001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
Florida
(zip code: 33601)
Washington D.C.
(zip code: 20001)
Price Per Month$41.58$52.44$61.04$57.37$37.46$31.87$20.19
Reimbursement Level80%60%90%80%80%80%80%
Annual Deductible$200$750$500$250$250$200$250

What If My Dog Gets Hip Dysplasia?

Healthy Paws covers expensive hereditary and congenital conditions under the condition that your veterinarian has not noted these clinical symptoms prior to obtaining Healthy Paws’ pet insurance. You must enroll your dog for Healthy Paws pet insurance before the age of 6 for you to take advantage of this coverage. Healthy Paws DOES NOT cover hip dysplasia for dogs who are enrolled after the age of 6.

It’s important to know that there is a 12-month waiting period for hip dysplasia coverage from when you sign up with no related medical history to when your pet can be treated for it. Check out our hip dysplasia article to learn more about this condition, if your dog is likely to suffer from it and possible treatments for your pup.

Waiting Periods

  • 15-days: Illnesses and accidents
  • 15-days: Cruciate ligament events (bi-lateral exclusion for pre-existing cruciate ligament injuries)
  • 12-months: Hip dysplasia

Opinions On Healthy Paws

We found real Healthy Paws customers’ reviews. Not only the good but also the bad so you could see both ends of the company. Since the dogs couldn’t share their thoughts, we asked the pet parents 😉 .

Positive Reviews

We have had policies for both of our dogs for a few years with HealthyPaws and they have never failed us. We just filed multiple claims for our 9-year-old rescue mix that totaled over $2,100 and they paid them quickly and without any fuss. I recommend this company to anyone with a beloved fur-baby. It is better to have pet insurance from a reliable company and not need it than chance it when the time comes that you do need it. We will remain loyal customers because HealthyPaws stayed true to their word when we needed the policy most. – Monica B., BBB 4/17/2018

This was my first experience with pet insurance, and after meticulous research I chose Healthy Paws. And I’m so glad I did!! My very special cat needed surgery for the second time in a month. (I’m still mad at him.) I enrolled him in pet insurance right after his first surgery, and I’m so glad I did. 2 weeks after his waiting period ended, he needed surgery again. I maxed out my care credit with this second surgery but then needed it for my own dental care. So I called to request my claim be expedited. Ryan answered the phone and he was so warm and friendly. He even asked how my cat was doing! Then he asked me to submit some documents and told me he would follow up immediately. And he did!! I uploaded the documents and got a call shortly after saying he’s processed the claim and I should get a confirmation of benefits on that same day, if not the next morning!! I was SO impressed!! All this happened within a short span of an hour! My other 2 cats are also on healthy paws and I know they’re well protected with this amazing company!! Thank you Ryan for your prompt service and your caring attitude! – Lydia P., Yelp 3/18/2018

Baxter’s Story

Cancer is the highest disease-related cause of death for pets each year making up almost 50% of the total. Unfortunately, Baxter was diagnosed with cancer and his owners needed help financially. See how Healthy Paws helped this family in a time of need.

Negative Reviews

BEWARE outrageous policy increases every year. Typical insurance company will lure you in with an affordable option that will quickly turn into an outrageous expense. You are better off banking the money into a savings account that relying on them. The language from their website reads “your rates will increase slightly each year. These manageable annual increases” – If you consider 15% per year “slight” or “manageable” then maybe it’s for you, but when you’re paying $100 month, and will still be out of pocket a considerable amount for anything major, you really should ask yourself if it’s worth it. – Todd M., BBB 4/24/2018

Horrible customer service and in general horrible policies. It is absolutely worth the extra $10 a month to go with any other insurance agency other than this one. We were a member for about 2 months when we submitted our first claim. Our puppy had been peeing in our office and we wanted to bring her in to make sure it wasn’t a medical related issue before signing her up for training lessons. My mother called and made the appointment and they did a urinary test which ran us around $300.  After 12 days of waiting for our claim to be processed, I emailed Healthypaws about when our claim would be reviewed.  No response. About 4 days later I emailed again about our claim.  Again no response.  Then I finally called after roughly 18 days had passed and they began to process our claim that day.  3 hours after I called in to request they review our claim, I get an email saying our claim was denied. When I asked why, they said there was a note on my dogs health records stating that we were bringing her in to check for recurring UTI’s and since she had had two over the last year they were considering it a pre existing condition and would not pay. When I spoke with my vet they let me know that the note on our medical records were actually just notes the receptionist jotted down from a conversation she had had with my mother about the vet visit.  I told healthypaws that these were just notes and not a diagnosis and was not the real reason we brought our dog to the vet. Healthypaws then told me verbatim “The official diagnosis does not affect coverage for a claim. Your own testimony regarding your pet’s health is taken into account when determining the start of signs and symptoms, since you know your pet best.” Apparently I have no need for a vet anymore since my mothers diagnosis means more than a vets.  Good to know! In conclusion, if you want a company that isn’t trying to gauge you of your money and takes weeks to tell you your claim is denied after taking 3 hours to review – find a different agency. – Leah M., Yelp 2/12/2018

What Are Your Healthy Paws Reviews?

Have you read our Healthy Paws review but still not sure if it’s the right pet insurance provider for you? That’s ok! You’ve got lots of options and you should always get at least two quotes to compare coverage and cost to find the best value for your family.

Our Best Pet Insurance Reviews article compares Healthy Paws against many other providers to help you determine the best fit for you. If you’re thinking about getting pet insurance but still have some unanswered questions feel free to ask us! We’re here to help you and your pets live a better, less stressful life.

Do you have any questions about Healthy Paws plans and what they cover?

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Disclaimer: The information provided through this website should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, you should consult your health care provider.

Disclaimer: This website contains reviews, opinions and information regarding products and services manufactured or provided by third parties. We are not responsible in any way for such products and services, and nothing contained here should be construed as a guarantee of the functionality, utility, safety or reliability of any product or services reviewed or discussed. Please follow the directions provided by the manufacturer or service provider when using any product or service reviewed or discussed on this website.

Growing up, Kimberly used to get the sniffles when she was around dogs. Thankfully, she grew out of her allergy and is now able to play and snuggle with dogs as much as she wants! She and her husband adopted Sally, a four-year-old hound mix, in early 2017, and she has brought so much joy into their lives. Life as pet parents has been very rewarding.

201
Leave a Reply

avatar
newest oldest most voted
Jane
My experience was as good as I could’ve hoped for under the conditions. I lost my fabulous two-year-old border collie pup to a freak internal tear. I would have paid anything to have her recover, but to face her loss followed by the $6000 vet bill would have been intolerable. Healthy Paws was fast, efficient and the gal who handled my claim was gentle, supportive and sympathetic. The check arrived amazingly fast. I couldn’t have asked for anything more. I can only give them my best recommendation.
Bonnie Belk
I appreciate very much Healthy Paws’thoughtful customer care, and
the efficiency of their claims process. I have never had anything but the best experience with Healthy Paws, and I wouldn’t even think of having an animal companion without them. I have had pet insursnce with other companies, but nothing comes close to Healthy Paws. I recommend them every chance I get. They are a great company with terrific people making it that way.
Federico Galarraga
Healthy Paws has gained a customer for life from me, with my current pet and any other pet I may have in the future. I cannot thank them and recommend them enough for the amazing service they are running. Last year has been a bit rough for my Maltese, from neutering to bilateral hernias, but the ease and speed in which Healthy Paws handle claims made it invaluably easier. There aren’t many things in life anymore that I would say are worth every penny, but this is.
Jan Hilzenrath
When we got our new puppy and had his first vet exam, the vet encouraged us to buy pet insurance. We’ve had four previous dogs and each had expensive and extensive medical conditions, so buying insurance this time seemed like a no brainer. After doing my research, we chose Healthy Paws. Are we glad we did! You get to pick the amount of kind of coverage and depending on cost, how big a deductible. When our dog was about a year old, he showed signs of some kind of allergies. Soon after several vet visits, it was recommended to us to take him to a specialized dermatology veterinary hospital. There they did testing and sadly, we found out he is allergic to many outside elements as well as mold and dust mites. So, with the testing, continuing prescription meds, and bi-annual blood testing, having Healthy Paws has been a huge help. Claims are just as easy as taking a photo of your bill and response time is immediate and a settlement within a week. We’ve also had emergency vet visits and just recently he had surgery to remove a growth near his eye. The majority of those expenses were taken care of and even got an email from Healthy Paws asking how Mac was doing after his surgery!
This is why you purchase pet insurance for the unseen illnesses and emergencies that can happen and often will. We are so happy we chose Healthy Paws!
Erika Perez
My dog is thankfully healthy but recently had a accident that required a pretty serious surgery. He is family so we would have done whatever it takes to get him well but without Healthy Paws the financial burden would have been great. His insurance plan is worth every penny! They processed the claim without delay. We received reimbursement less than 2 weeks after his surgery AND they checked in to see how his recovery is going.
Wonderful customer service, I wish human health insurance worked this great! I am thankful I chose Healthy Paws!
Stephanie Ferrato
I can’t even began to thank Healthy Paws. Our dog is here with us today thanks to them. It’s been a blessing to have this insurance from the beginning and I highly recommend every pet owner to have it.

Healthy Paws thank you for always being there for us and for checking on our fur baby to see how he is doing.

Victoria Chaney
I am so grateful to Healthy Paws for the unwavering support they have given me with my dogs. I have four Golden Retrievers, two of which have ongoing life-threatening illness. Ivy, who is 10.5, was diagnosed with GME at 6.5 years old. This disease can NOT be cured, it can only be managed with medication. She takes two different daily medications, one of which has a cost of $140.00 per month. She also must have Chemo therapy once a month at a cost of over $300.00 per month. Because of Ivy’s illness, any medical condition is an emergency and must be tended to immediately regardless of the time of day or night. NEVER, not once, has Healthy Paws given me one ounce of grief over these costs or treatments. NEVER, not once, have they rejected my claims. To the contrary, they have paid every one of them in an expedient and caring manner.

Hayley is 6 years old. At age 2, she was diagnosed with Refractory Epilepsy. She takes 5 different medications every 8 hours, one of those medications comes at a cost of $222.00 per month. The others come to around $150.00. She has also had to be hospitalized twice for seizures that would not stop without intravenous medication. NEVER, not once has Healthy Paws rejected any of the claims submitted for her care. Healthy Paws has stood behind their promise to pay ALL legitimate claims. I used to worry that Healthy Paws would eventually cut me off, as the cost of my two dog’s monthly health care is HUGE, but to the contrary they have NEVER even hinted at such a thing!

Without Healthy Paws keeping their word, standing behind their promises, I would have to let my two girls go as I could not afford the immense cost of their medical care. Thank you from the bottom of my heart Healthy Paws.

Also, I just wanted to say, Healthy Paws does NOT pay for the vet visit charge, or consultation charge in emergencies or when you see specialists, nor should they; they tell you this UP FRONT. They DO pay for ALL other charges involved in your pets care, that is more than fair and a HUGE blessing when you need that support!

Happy Customer
I’ve been using Healthy Paws since I adopted my puppy 4 years ago. They offer a number of coverage options, and the claims process is simple and straight froward. It really is a breeze working with Healthy Paws!

Recently, my little guy had to recieve back to back surgeries. The first for an obstructed intestine, then again for a post surgery infection. As you can imagine, the bills piled up.

Healthy Paws reviewed and settled both claims so quickly, I didn’t even have time to be stressed! I can’t say enough how nice it was to be able to focus on my pets recovery. It was such a seamless experience, I mention how much Healthy Paws helped me every time someone asks about my pets recovery. If only Health Insurance for people was this easy!

Richard
This review site casually mentions that Healthy Paws doesn’t cover “Veterinary exam fees”. This is a HUGE exclusion. I’m not talking about wellness exams or routine physical exams… Healthy Paws DOES NOT COVER THE VETS EXAMINATION OF YOUR SICK OR INJURED PET!! This is the exam where the Vet diagnoses the problem, prescribes meds and otherwise takes care of your sick or injured pet. This charge is often the biggest single charge on a vet bill. I took my puppy in with a severe cough. The vet examined her and prescribed antibiotics. Healthy Paws covered the minor cost of the pills but not the larger charge for the Vets services. A Healthy Paws Manager said to me, ‘It would cost too much if we covered the veterinarians exam charges’. What kind of “Health Insurance” doesn’t cover the doctor?????

SO BEWARE, Healthy Paws is cheap Insurance from a cheap company.

Tim
Richard – we’re sorry that your baby was having coughing issues. We do our best to be transparent throughout our website, during the enrollment process and in the policy documents available to each client in their online Healthy Paws account regarding the limited exclusions of our policy. Those exclusions are pre-existing conditions, preventative/routine care and the office visit fee. Anyone visiting our website can see this information on our “Benefits, Coverage and Exclusions” page. By making the office visit fee (vet exam, emergency exam, recheck or consultation) part of the pet parent’s financial responsibility, it allows us to offer a complete accident and illness plan at an affordable monthly premium. Our policyholders value comprehensive accident/illness coverage and unlimited benefits at reasonable rates, which is why they choose to assume the responsibility of paying for those costs. We sincerely hope your girl is feeling better!
Vicky Moon
I had my share of personal health issues and zero health insurance most of my life, so when it came to my animal companion, I didn’t want finances to ever hinder his chance in getting the best medical care and keeping him healthy. I bought pet insurance hoping I would never really need it but liked the idea of having a “just in case” kind of thing for my boy Watson.I frequented my vet quite often as I would worry about my little guy but every time we left with Watson with a clean bill of health..

Then one night Watson started to breath with difficulty and off to the ER vet we went. I was hoping he was having an allergic reaction or something but instead we were told the most heartbreaking news and he was diagnosed with congestive heart failure.
Since the time he was diagnosed (10/16/18) until his passing (11/26/18), we had multiple vet visits, cardiologist visits, and ER vet visits. Watson had to go through many tests and xrays and was put on medication. I was fortunate enough that Watson was covered under Healthy Paws and I didn’t have to worry about how much everything would cost and instead I was able to focus on just being with him.

The time I could have spent worrying about his bills, I was able to worry about him– I was able to keep my mind focused on him and not worry how I would pay to keep him alive…
I remember filing my first claim and I thought there was no way it would be as easy as taking a photo of my invoice and then waiting for reimbursement. Surprisingly, it was as easy as that.
I know some people are reluctant for Healthy Paws because ‘exams’ are not covered but in a sense the exam fee is the equivalent to paying a copay when you have human health insurance, so I don’t understand why so many people complain about it. The fact is
they cover what really matters— They cover the things you will not always be able to afford and give you peace of mind knowing that you can not focus on your furbaby rather than how you will pay for whatever treatment.

I remember after my numerous ER visits I received an email from Healthy Paws checking in on Watson and I thought that it must be one of those automatic messages they send to everyone, but I figured I would write back to them since I was going through such a difficult time of watching my best friend’s health decline. And again, to my surprise, it wasn’t an automatic message but an actual, real human being checking in on him. It was comforting to know that real people were behind me and Watson and real people were there for us.

To anyone that has/has had an animal companion diagnosed with a terminal disease, we know how hard it is to feel so alone of losing our furry soul mates.. Not many people understand that a dog is more than “just a dog” or a cat is more than “just a cat.”
Healthy Paws showed so much kindness and compassion for me, but especially for Watson, I was awestruck. When Watson unexpectedly passed due to multiple valve ruptures I was beyond devastated… Actually, I’m still beyond devastated.. in fact my heart is still broken beyond repair… hence why it’s taken me so long to write this review, but I digress.

A week or two after Watson’s passing I received a card from Healthy Paws filled with hand written messages for me and Watson that made me sob uncontrollably but in a good way, not in despair like usual. These real people wrote such heartfelt and touching things that were more meaningful than the card I received from the ER vet where Watson had passed… To some you might think, big whoop, a card? But if you have never lost your good boy/girl, you will never understand how much a simple card can ease your broken heart, even if it’s just a little bit.

The main point is that Healthy Paws was there for me and Watson. They made the claim process so unbelievably easy that you might think there’s a catch or you’re doing something wrong, but trust me, it’s that easy. They gave me a sense of relief in which I could spend all my time being there for Watson and not worrying about how I would pay to keep him alive. And what I feel really sets them apart is they are filled with real, caring people who have so much compassion and will make you feel less alone when you feel most broken. 


I still have Healthy Paws for my other little one and should my heart ever heal from the pain of losing my one and only heart dog Watson, I know if/when I adopt another furbaby I will be signing up for Healthy Paws again and for the rest of my life. They truly are exceptional and go above and beyond compared to all other pet insurance companies.

And to that I must say, thank you Healthy Paws for being there for me & Watson.

Nikki
We have Healthy Paws and absolutely love it. The first year of coverage we did not submit any claims because as others have stated their policies do not cover office visit fees, preventative medications (tick & heartwood medications), or dental cleanings.
Unfortunately Salvatore started having allergy and skin/ear issues. Healthy Paws has been wonderful. We have taken Sal to several specialists (in and out of state) and his claims have always processed without issue. In the past year alone Sal’s bills have totaled over $10,000. All of his laboratory, medications, surgical and diagnostic procedures have been covered. We chose the $250 deductible with 90% reimbursement. There are no claim or benefit limits (ie no limit to the number of times Sal can be seen for ear issues or a cap on the spending costs for his ear issues). Anytime I have ever had a question…the team at a Healthy Paws has always been so helpful and compassionate. I really wish they would consider branching into human health care.
We have had coverage since 2015, this is the first year his premium has increased, and the increase was minimal. He just turned 8yrs old this August.
Drew
When looking for health insurance for my two new puppies I looked at all the options. When I contacted Healthy Paws with some questions they were very helpful and answered all my questions. I liked the ease of the signup process and the usability of their phone app. It was not until a year later that I needed to actually use the insurance and when that time came I was pleased to find that the upload process and claim process was so easy. I uploaded the records that I received from my Vet and then snapped a picture of the bills and in a week Healthy Paws had reviewed all the records and reimbursed me for the covered procedure. My Dog ended up having bone cancer and lost her leg. Having Healthy Paws insurance allowed me to be able to afford the surgery and get a second chance with my beloved dog. The best part was that after the surgery I got a personal email from one of their employees asking how my dog was and if there was anything else I needed. They also took the time to look at the rest of my policy to see that I had another dog and asked about him as well. I felt like they really cared and I am glad I went with Healthy Paws. I would recommend Healthy Paws to any pet owner.
Annika S.
I can’t say enough positive things about Healthy Paws. I first purchased insurance when my boy Teddy was a puppy, and I’m thankful every day that I did. I carry the maximum level of insurance (90% coverage after a $200 annual deductible) on Teddy and it’s worth every penny. The first year of Teddy’s life we were at the vet every 2 weeks for chronic skin issues, & more than one emergency visit when he’s ingested things that he shouldn’t have. We have spent thousands of dollars over the last couple years on procedures, medications, and skin related medical care and the majority of that money spent has been refunded by Healthy Paws (90% to be exact!). His most recent issue was an ER Vet visit that alone cost me roughly $1,000…. I received almost $900 in refund checks for that ER visit. When a $1,000 bill essentially turns into a $100 bill, I have been able to focus on what matters most- my boy’s health – and not have the added financial stress. I had no qualms about choosing to provide the needed care for him because I didn’t have to choose between spending the money on appropriate care and taking a chance on his health. Looking to the future, as the owner of a giant breed dog one expects to eventually run into some sort of hip/joint problems (though I take excellent care of my boy through nutrition, supplementation, and appropriate exercise). I have peace of mind knowing that heaven forbid that does occur, cost of care won’t be an issue.

While my boy has had many visits to the vet and we have unfortunately had to take advantage of our coverage with Healthy Paws frequently, I would still consider this coverage worth it for any household pet- even those who seem to never have health issues. The peace of mind it brings is easily worth the cost per month (which is more than reasonable in my opinion). We use the Healthy Paws app to submit claims, which makes it super easy, fast, and convenient to do. I will be using Healthy Paws for any future pets we have. If you have a puppy, get pet insurance early, it’s the smartest thing I have done. There have been no negatives to our experience, and any interaction we’ve ever had with any Healthy Paws staff has been pleasant, professional, and genuinely caring for my boy. I can’t say enough good things – thank you Healthy Paws!

Chris
I have had Healthy Paws for one of my dogs, Teddy, a 5 year old German Shepherd mix since I got him in 2015. He has the 90% coverage and $100 annual deductible plan. Last October he was diagnosed with a Mast Cell Tumor (cancer). I had it surgically removed and all is well with him now. I get him checked out every 6 months now by the cancer specialists to make sure hes still cancer free. They do various tests and ultrasounds of his belly etc. Healthy Paws has not once been a issue in any claim process. One time they forgot to reimburse a blood test and all it took was a simple phone call to get it corrected. Healthy Paws allows me to treat his cancer (or any possible future issue) much more aggressively rather than worrying about potential money issues.

Only complaint (and a minor one) is that the premiums have gone up since I enrolled him but I understand that is part of the cycle. After having Healthy Paws help treat his cancer, its a small price to pay for having a friend and family member in good health. Highly recommended!

Kathleen
I truly loved Healthy Paws from the moment we enrolled our first dog with them over 5 years ago. Since then we’ve added 2 more dogs & are now in a bind as to whether we can continue paying the insane rising premiums. We should not have to raise our deductible and lower our coverage just to be able to afford the same policies due to the alleged rising costs in veterinary care. We live in Southern California in the city & our veterinarians have definitely not raised their prices as drastically as Healthy Paws claims.

Our dogs are our children as many of you in the forum feel the same about your own & would do anything for them. Unfortunately Healthy Paws has made me realize pet insurance and being able to provide for the health of a pet is a luxury meant only for the wealthy. Heathy Paws is an insurance business just like any other and they don’t have a pets’s life and best interest at heart. If they did, they wouldn’t be gouging pockets with insane premium increases.

In 2014 our rates increased from $176 to $185. Since 2015 it went up from $185 to $285 and now the updated increase for 2018-2019 for so-called rise in veterinary expenses… $285 to $363. In four years the monthly premium went up $187. From $2112 a year to $4356. It has more than doubled in 4 years. Really… to keep up with rising veterinary costs?

Tim
Kathleen,

Thank you for your kind words – we are so happy that Healthy Paws has been able to play a part in assuring that your babies have access to the best available medical care. We realize that premium increases can be a stress financially and that this increase was larger than normal. Our management team works hard to keep our premiums as low as possible while still providing comprehensive coverage. New technology, advancements in veterinary treatments, and overall claim costs are taken into consideration when assessing our rates. We have recently seen a rise in high value claims due to an increase in the availability, use and cost of emergency/specialty care. During the past year there was an overall increase in the frequency of high-value treatments such as anterior cruciate ligament surgeries, cancer treatments including chemotherapy, and foreign body exploratory surgeries performed by veterinarians. These are some examples of procedures performed during the last 12 months that ranged anywhere from $3,000-$16,000. Rest assured, we will never penalize you with higher rates for making claims. All pet insurance companies, no matter how they market their benefits, will raise rates to keep up with the rapidly rising cost of veterinary care. Please give your babies big hugs for us!

The Healthy Paws Team

Bria
My cat, Cheese, recently ate a ribbon and needed a lot of medical care. I was SO thankful to have him covered by Healthy Paws! He had experienced some health difficulties previously, before I had him insured, and it was just awful. Every procedure I had to think about money, and it was terrible to be in the position of weighing the cost against my pet’s life. I am a student, and I ended up spending literally all of my savings to pay for his care. This time when he was ill, I could just focus on making decisions that were best for Cheese, without having to worry that I would bankrupt myself in the process.

I will agree with the negative reviews that the premiums do go up SUBSTANTIALLY each year. My pets are both still fairly young, so it’s still worth it. Even if it gets to $100/month, I will probably continue the policies, just so that if/when they get sick, I can avoid worrying about money and focus on my pet’s health.

Also, I have had great experiences with customer service every time I’ve called. I don’t think they are quite as responsive by email, but I’ve never had to wait on hold for a long time and everyone I’ve spoken to has been very helpful and friendly. I recommend Healthy Paws to all of my friends!

Happy customer
My dog Tinkerbell was recently diagnosed with Leptospirosi causing her kidneys to be in danger of failing. She was rushed to an emergency vet for a week where they were unable to get her levels to drop. Essentially we were told her best chance to live was to be transferred to an animal hospital that could preform dialysis. It is scary enough worrying if my little girl was going to survive let alone the financial burden. Fast forward over two additional weeks at a new hosptial and Tinkerbell is finally showing improvement. In addition healthy paws has covered all of her treatment which so far had been close to $15,000. Without the coverage I dont know what we would have done, I am so thankfull for healthy paws.
Mary R
I’m another really enthusiastic fan of Healthy Paws. My Golden was diagnosed a year ago with bilateral elbow dysplasia requiring surgery when she was not quite 11 months old. During the time it took to book her for surgery at a veterinary college hospital, the CrCLs in both rear legs ruptured. She had her first surgery at the end of March and the second at the end of August. Healthy Paws has been amazing. It’s incredibly easy to file a claim online and to upload documentation. They interfaced directly with my local veterinarian and the veterinary college hospital to get any records I didn’t have. Within a week of filing my first claim, it had been approved. It has taken just a couple of days to get approval for subsequent claims. I received reimbursement really quickly. I’ve also been impressed with their customer service. I received a follow-up email after my dog’s most recent surgery asking how she was doing. From start to finish, Healthy Paws has made a really stressful time a lot easier. I can’t recommend them enough to anyone looking for a pet insurer they can rely on.
Chris
I’ve had to file a few small claims with Healthy Paws in the past, and all were handled quickly (reimbursement received within 2 weeks), and easily through their app. However, 2 weeks ago our family had to experience a costly near-tragedy with our furry child. Our 3 year old bulldog went in for surgery to open up his airways to help him breathe more freely, but complications from the surgery resulted in him not being able to breathe at all. A planned overnight visit turned into six. Twice during the week the vet called me to caution they were concerned he would die soon. For all the pain it put him through, it was an emotional nightmare for us. Each step of the way good news was followed by bad and of course the vet requires upfront payment for everything they do before they do it. In the end, he was transferred to another hospital where a second procedure cleared his airway and saved his life. The vet bill accumulated to $11,000, which we had to draw down our savings, borrow money from family, and open a new credit card to cover. Honestly, we didn’t have the financial ability to handle that expense, and the only reason we did was because of our confidence in our policy with Healthy Paws. And sure enough, less than a week after filing a claim it was approved, and our policy reibursed nearly 90% of the bill. What they cover and what they don’t is very clear from the start, and customer service is incredible. Representatives seemed genuinely concerned for the wellbeing of our dog in follow up calls and email. Our policy with Healthy Paws saved our dog’s life- we never could have considered the life saving procedure s that were necessary without it.
Michelle
This is the best company I have ever had for pet insurance!! Not only do they respond quickly to my questions, they pay promptly and always have a very caring attitude!! We love Healthy Paws and have been with them for almost 10 years. As a very selective breeder of Golden Retrievers, I refer all our new puppy families to Healthy Paws and I always get very positive feedback from everyone!
Mike
Hi Michelle,
As someone who has used it for years, what has your experience been regarding yearly increases? Have they been small….large? My wife and I are looking for a dog to rescue and we are considering pet insurance. Thanks!
Joe
We have been with Healthy Paws for five years now and they are simply amazing. Having this coverage has allowed us to provide levels of care to three different dogs that we wouldn’t have been able to do financially otherwise. Today’s veterinary hospitals have much of the same capabilities and equipment that human hospitals do. However, it is scary how quickly things add up when you need care. Years ago we ended up having to make somewhat financially-based decisions for two of our other dogs and we decided then “never again”. I cannot describe how great it is to be able to walk into the emergency vet, or more recently, specialists’ offices knowing that Healthy Paws has our babies covered. Our 7-month-old labradoodle developed a strange mass on the roof of his mouth at 12 weeks. We realized we were in for a bit of a roller coaster ride when it started baffling our very experienced family vets. The ride continued after three separate opinions by some of the country’s most experienced veterinary minds. Just being able to seek multiple “second” opinions knowing Healthy Paws would have our backs was more than worth the premiums. Then we were told to get a CT scan at an oncologist’s office. That estimate alone came it at over $2,300. I’m happy to say the Healty Paws reimbursement hit my back account today covering almost $2,000 of that. So far, we are over $3,000 into our little guy’s case it’s only been diagnostic so far – meaning no treatment has actually begun. We are maybe $500 out of pocket on that total, making all of this possible. We are currently scheduled for surgery with the best doggie dentist in town in a couple of weeks to finally get this removed and get him healed up. We know Healthy Paws will be there for us through it all and I just can’t say enough good about them!
Holly
After a scary incident, Healthy Paws sent me an email to check up on Ellie’s progress. They have really helped tremendously. It’s tough when you adopt bulldogs, or any breed, that were rescued from puppy mills as you don’t know the health conditions you may encounter. Ellie is the first dog that I decided to look into insurance for as my others were seniors when I adopted them so I didn’t think it was an option. She seemed healthy with no obvious issues early on but we’ve had a couple scares in the 9 or so months I’ve had her. Having insurance makes the decision to give her the best care that much easier. I would never NOT do everything I can for my dogs but I’m thankful to not be maxing out my credit cards to do it now.
In short, I’m glad I did my research and went with Health Paws 🙂
Wong
totally understand, just found out they increased my premium around 25% after annual review. my pet is still in the middle age, and never file a claim. they just want the money, and they increased whatever they want to. when I called, no clear explanation about the increase.
Tim
Wong – Unfortunately, we cannot find your account in our system with any degree of certainty using the limited information you provided in your review, but we’ll reply to your issue the best we can.

We understand this increase was larger than normal. Our management team works hard to keep your premiums as low as possible, but there continues to be an overall increase in the frequency of high-value treatments such as anterior cruciate ligament surgeries, cancer treatments including chemotherapy, and foreign body exploratory surgeries performed by veterinarians that ranged anywhere from $3,000-$16,000 in cost. Due to these increasing costs of new technology and advances in veterinary care, rates were adjusted. These increases provide you the opportunity to offer your pet the best medical and diagnostic options available today. Rest assured, we will never penalize you with higher rates for making claims. All pet insurance companies, no matter how they market their benefits, will raise rates to keep up with the rapidly rising cost of veterinary care. We do our best to be transparent regarding annual premium increases by including this information on the “Frequently Asked Questions” page of our website.

Lisa W
I just looked at your FAQs to see what exactly is said about premium increases. Couldn’t find anything. ??
Tim
Lisa – you can find the information here under the section titled “Billing”.

https://www.healthypawspetinsurance.com/frequent-questions

Mike
Very disappointing insurance = seems like Its only good if your pet doesn’t require specialist visits, treatments and consultations as that is not covered and is in the 100s of dollars each time, they just cover meds and tests , finding out before i signed up would be nice as it turns out i would be better off just putting 50 dollars a month in a cup at my house and would have come out ahead so far – i guess the racket is you wont read the very fine print
Tim
Mike – We regret that you are not satisfied with our plan. We do our best to be transparent throughout our website, during the enrollment process and in the policy documents available to each client in their online Healthy Paws account regarding the limited exclusions of our policy. Those exclusions are pre-existing conditions, preventative/routine care and the office visit fee. Anyone visiting our website can see this information on our “Benefits, Coverage and Exclusions” page. By making the office visit fee (vet exam, emergency exam, recheck or consultation) part of the pet parent’s financial responsibility, it allows us to offer a complete accident and illness plan at an affordable monthly premium. Our policyholders value comprehensive accident/illness coverage and unlimited benefits at reasonable rates, which is why they choose to assume the responsibility of paying for those costs.

In regards to our coverage, if a pet needs treatment for an accident or illness, and it’s not a pre-existing condition, they’re covered. This includes x-rays, blood tests, ultrasounds, surgery, hospitalization, prescription medicines, etc. and any reimbursement is based on the deductible/reimbursement level a client chooses at the time of enrollment.

The Healthy Paws Team

Aimie B
For years, I tried to determine whether pet insurance was worth it and if so, which company to go with. And, now, I’m singing from the mountain tops that Healthy Paws is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made! For the last 2.5 years, we’ve been overjoyed with their customer service, responsiveness and ease of submitting claims. Even our old dog has sterling coverage that just recently saved his life as he was in and out of the hospital. Today, he is curled up at my feet snoring thanks to Healthy Paws. I cannot say enough good things about this company; they truly prioritize your furry family above all else.