Is Healthy Paws The Best Pet Insurance Provider?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Dog's paws in sandHealthy Paws is committed to helping homeless pets — so much so, it’s donated nearly $600,000 in grants to animal shelters and rescues across the U.S. A great selling point for a pet insurance company, for sure.

But is Healthy Paws worthy of insuring your beloved pet? How does its coverage, service and cost compare to other top pet insurance companies?

Visit Healthy Paws Website

Article Overview

Healthy Paws

4.65 / 5
Healthy Paws
Policy Coverage 4.3
Customer Service & Reputation 4.8
Timeliness of Claim Payment 4.8
Price of Policy 4.8

Pros

  • Annual deductible (not per incident)
  • Unlimited lifetime coverage so no annual or per incident limits on claims
  • Pricing is generally the best value vs competition
  • Your pet is covered when they travel with you in the United States or Canada
  • High customer satisfaction
  • Easy to submit a claim on the Healthy Paws app for quick claim reimbursement
  • BBB rating: A+
  • Great email response time
  • Good CCL (ACL) coverage
  • Direct deposit or check reimbursement

Cons

  • Veterinary exam fee and behavioral therapies are not covered
  • Excludes hip dysplasia in animals enrolled after age 6, so this might not be the best option for large breeds that are older than 6. There is also a 12-month waiting period.
  • There are age restrictions (if pet is older than 6, you must have vet exam within past 30 days for enrollment or within 15 days of policy issuance)
  • Pets older than 8 years old are restricted to 60% reimbursement and a $750 annual deductible
  • 15-day waiting period for accident and illness
  • No wellness plan
  • Charges a one-time $25 fee

Key Features

  • Underwriter: ACE Property & Casualty (Chubb)
  • Exam period:
    • Dogs younger than 6 must have visited the vet within the last 12 months or within 15 days of policy issuance
    • Dogs older than 6 must have been to the vet within the last 30 days or within 15 days of policy issuance
  • Pre-existing conditions defined by Healthy Paws:
    • a. an illness or the recurrence of any illness or condition which first occurred or displayed any signs and/or symptoms consistent with the stated illness or condition prior to the pet policy effective date;
    • b. an injury or recurrence of an injury that occurred prior to the pet policy effective date; or
    • c. any condition or complication resulting from an illness or injury that occurred prior to the pet policy effective date. 
  • Has one bilateral exclusion (a condition or disease that affects both sides of the body): pre-existing cruciate ligament problems to one leg as respects to the cost of future treatment for problems of the other leg
  • Must file claims within 90 days of the date of service, and they process 99% of claims within 2 days
  • Policyholders can opt for direct deposit instead of a hard copy check
  • Option to have Healthy Paws pay vets directly, so you don’t have to pay a hefty vet bill in advance and wait for reimbursement (check with your vet — not available everywhere)
  • Continues coverage for a pet if the pet parent becomes unable to care for the pet or dies. This works by transferring the policy to someone else without a lapse in coverage. The new policyholder will pay the same amount, and there will be no newly added pre-existing conditions.
  • No waiting periods in Maryland or New Hampshire
  • Submit claims through the app (download the iOS app for free via this link or the Android app here) or online customer center
  • 30-day free look period (similar to a money-back guarantee)
  • Customer service hours:
    • Email: 24/7
    • Phone: Monday – Friday from 6am to 6pm PST and Saturday – Sunday from 8am to 5pm PST

What Does Healthy Paws Cover?

Here’s a list of services that HealthyPaws covers and does not cover (as of December 2018). Services included are not limited to this list and are subject to change.

CoveredNot Covered
SurgeriesPre-existing conditions
HospitalizationVeterinary exam fees
CancerPreventative care (vaccines, flea control, heartworm medication, dental health care, grooming, anal gland expression, spay and neuter)
Prescription medicationsBehavioral modification
Diagnostic treatment and testing (x-rays, blood tests, ultrasounds, etc.)
Accidents
Illnesses
Congenital conditions
Hereditary conditions
Specialty Care
Emergency care
Alternative treatment

Is Hip Dysplasia Covered?

Healthy Paws covers expensive hereditary and congenital conditions if your vet hasn’t noted associated clinical symptoms prior to purchasing a policy. Still, you must enroll your dog for Healthy Paws pet insurance before the age of 6 for you to take advantage of this coverage. Healthy Paws DOES NOT cover hip dysplasia for dogs enrolled after the age of 6.

Healthy Paws also has a 12-month waiting period for hip dysplasia coverage from the date you sign up, as long as there’s no prior related medical history for this condition. Check out our hip dysplasia article to learn more about this condition.

Is My Dog Eligible For Healthy Paws?

All dog breeds are eligible for Healthy Paws’ no-caps-on-claim payouts. Dogs between the ages of 8 weeks and 14 years are eligible to enroll, and your dog has coverage for the lifetime of the policy.

Healthy Paws has some restrictions on reimbursement and annual deductible amounts depending on your pet’s age at enrollment.

  • Dogs and cats 5 years and under:
    • 90%, 80% and 70% reimbursement
    • $100, $250 and $500 deductible
  • Dogs and cats 6 and 7 years old:
    • 80%, 70% or 60% reimbursement
    • $250, $500 or $750 deductible
  • Dogs 8 years and older: 
    • 60% reimbursement
    • $750 deductible

Pricing Quotes

See the table below for examples of quotes from Healthy Paws. You can put your pet’s information directly into its website to get a better estimate for your pet (use our coupon code link below for the best discount).

BreedLabrador RetrieverEnglish Cocker SpanielGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
Boy or GirlBoyBoyGirlGirlBoyGirlGirl
Age2 years8 years4 years6 years2 months2 months2 years
LocationFlorida
(zip code: 33601)
Illinois
(zip code: 60290)
California
(zip code: 90001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
Florida
(zip code: 33601)
Washington D.C.
(zip code: 20001)
Price Per Month$41.58$52.44$61.04$57.37$37.46$31.87$20.19
Reimbursement Level80%60%90%80%80%80%80%
Annual Deductible$200$750$500$250$250$200$250

You can get personalized price quotes for your pet(s) from several top-ranked companies when you fill out just one short form. Also visit our Pet Insurance Quotes page to see how the cost of Healthy Paws stacks up against the competition.

Coupon Code

Use this link and you will automatically receive up to a 5% discount. The actual discount varies based on individual state regulations. You can also visit our dedicated HealthyPaws promotions page to discuss current offers.

Waiting Periods

  • 15-days: Illnesses and accidents
  • 15-days: Cruciate ligament events (bilateral exclusion for pre-existing cruciate ligament injuries and lameness)
  • 12-months: Hip dysplasia

Customer Opinions On Healthy Paws

Positive Reviews

We have had policies for both of our dogs for a few years with HealthyPaws and they have never failed us. We just filed multiple claims for our 9-year-old rescue mix that totaled over $2,100 and they paid them quickly and without any fuss. I recommend this company to anyone with a beloved fur-baby. It is better to have pet insurance from a reliable company and not need it than chance it when the time comes that you do need it. We will remain loyal customers because HealthyPaws stayed true to their word when we needed the policy most. – Monica B., BBB 4/17/2018

This was my first experience with pet insurance, and after meticulous research I chose Healthy Paws. And I’m so glad I did!! My very special cat needed surgery for the second time in a month. (I’m still mad at him.) I enrolled him in pet insurance right after his first surgery, and I’m so glad I did. 2 weeks after his waiting period ended, he needed surgery again. I maxed out my care credit with this second surgery but then needed it for my own dental care. So I called to request my claim be expedited. Ryan answered the phone and he was so warm and friendly. He even asked how my cat was doing! Then he asked me to submit some documents and told me he would follow up immediately. And he did!! I uploaded the documents and got a call shortly after saying he’s processed the claim and I should get a confirmation of benefits on that same day, if not the next morning!! I was SO impressed!! All this happened within a short span of an hour! My other 2 cats are also on healthy paws and I know they’re well protected with this amazing company!! Thank you Ryan for your prompt service and your caring attitude! – Lydia P., Yelp 3/18/2018

Negative Reviews

BEWARE outrageous policy increases every year. Typical insurance company will lure you in with an affordable option that will quickly turn into an outrageous expense. You are better off banking the money into a savings account that relying on them. The language from their website reads “your rates will increase slightly each year. These manageable annual increases” – If you consider 15% per year “slight” or “manageable” then maybe it’s for you, but when you’re paying $100 month, and will still be out of pocket a considerable amount for anything major, you really should ask yourself if it’s worth it. – Todd M., BBB 4/24/2018

Horrible customer service and in general horrible policies. It is absolutely worth the extra $10 a month to go with any other insurance agency other than this one. We were a member for about 2 months when we submitted our first claim. Our puppy had been peeing in our office and we wanted to bring her in to make sure it wasn’t a medical related issue before signing her up for training lessons. My mother called and made the appointment and they did a urinary test which ran us around $300.  After 12 days of waiting for our claim to be processed, I emailed Healthypaws about when our claim would be reviewed.  No response. About 4 days later I emailed again about our claim.  Again no response.  Then I finally called after roughly 18 days had passed and they began to process our claim that day.  3 hours after I called in to request they review our claim, I get an email saying our claim was denied. When I asked why, they said there was a note on my dogs health records stating that we were bringing her in to check for recurring UTI’s and since she had had two over the last year they were considering it a pre existing condition and would not pay. When I spoke with my vet they let me know that the note on our medical records were actually just notes the receptionist jotted down from a conversation she had had with my mother about the vet visit.  I told healthypaws that these were just notes and not a diagnosis and was not the real reason we brought our dog to the vet. Healthypaws then told me verbatim “The official diagnosis does not affect coverage for a claim. Your own testimony regarding your pet’s health is taken into account when determining the start of signs and symptoms, since you know your pet best.” Apparently I have no need for a vet anymore since my mothers diagnosis means more than a vets.  Good to know! In conclusion, if you want a company that isn’t trying to gauge you of your money and takes weeks to tell you your claim is denied after taking 3 hours to review – find a different agency. – Leah M., Yelp 2/12/2018

How Did Healthy Paws Help Baxter And His Pet Parents?

Cancer is the highest disease-related cause of death for pets each year making up almost 50% of the total. Unfortunately, Baxter’s cancer diagnosis meant his owners needed help financially. See how Healthy Paws helped this family in a time of need.

Our Final Verdict On Healthy Paws

Healthy Paws pet insurance is our #1 pick for best pet health insurance. Healthy Paws took the gold medal because it has a history of excellent customer service, an annual deductible (vs per incident) and unlimited lifetime benefits with every policy. When you sign up for your initial plan, you choose your yearly deductible and the percentage of the vet bill that you’ll be reimbursed for.

Healthy Paws also likes to give to those in need. Each time you get a quote from Healthy Paws, it donates money to a homeless pet. Healthy Paws also will continue covering your pet if you’re unable to care for them or if you die. This is rare in the industry, and we think it’s fantastic.

How Does Healthy Paws Compare?

Still not sure if Healthy Paws is the right pet insurance provider for you? You’ve got lots of options, and you should always get multiple  quotes to compare coverage and costs, finding the best value for your family.

Our Best Pet Insurance article compares Healthy Paws against many other providers to help you determine the best fit for you. If you’re thinking about getting pet insurance but still have some unanswered questions, feel free to ask us. We’re here to help you and your pets live a better, less stressful life.

Do you have any questions about Healthy Paws and what they cover?

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Disclaimer: The information provided through this website should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, you should consult your health care provider.

Disclaimer: This website contains reviews, opinions and information regarding products and services manufactured or provided by third parties. We are not responsible in any way for such products and services, and nothing contained here should be construed as a guarantee of the functionality, utility, safety or reliability of any product or services reviewed or discussed. Please follow the directions provided by the manufacturer or service provider when using any product or service reviewed or discussed on this website.

Kimberly received her Bachelor of Arts in multimedia journalism from Simpson College. She has been writing about dogs since 2014, covering subjects such as dog insurance, training, health, accessories and more. Her natural curiosity helps her research as she seeks the truth when learning about, comparing and personally testing canine products and services. With every piece she writes, her goal is to help our readers find the best fit for their unique needs.

Kimberly grew up in a family that loved Labrador Retrievers and remembers running and playing in the yard with them as a child. In 2017, she and her husband adopted their Coonhound mix, Sally, from a local shelter. Kimberly's research was put to good use since Sally faced some aggression issues with other dogs and needed some training to be an inside dog. She worked daily with Sally and sought help from professionals to help Sally become the happy pup she is today.

One of Kimberly's favorite pastimes is spoiling Sally with new toys, comfy beds and yummy treats (she even makes homemade goodies for her). She tries to purchase the safest products for Sally and knows that each canine has their own specific likes and dislikes. Kimberly is passionate about dogs, and knows the bond between humans and canines is like no other.

234
Leave a Reply

avatar
newest oldest most voted
Marie Perez Navarro
I’m a year late writing this review, but oh well. Last year, my then-4 yo chihuahua terrier completely tore his ACL and because of his breed and knee structure, the surgery was complicated and costly. My family did not have $5,000+ to pay for the surgery, and the vet doesn’t do payment plans. Luckily, Lucas (the dog) had been serviced by Healthy Paws for over a year and we felt comfortable with the claim process. Usually these insurances are reimbursement based, but because it was such a large amount, I talked to a HPPI representative and was able to get them to pay their part up front (90%!) and I ended up paying only $500 for my dog’s pre-surgery consult, surgery, and post-surgery check! And, because of their unlimited lifetime claims (unlike other providers) i have no worries that I am going to run out of insurance money as he ages (since he’s just a pup). Overall wonderful service.
LEANNE BAKER
I couldn’t be happier with HealthyPaws! I have all 3 of my pooches insured through them and they have been by my side through illnesses and ailments big and small including foreign body surgeries, toenail surgeries, knee surgeries, skin conditions, aches/pains, you name it!
Pet issues are stressful enough to deal with, nevermind the financial burden. HP allows you to focus less on the stress of vet bills and more on your pet’s diagnosis and recovery.
Submitting claims via the app is a cinch and I can always count on HP to process them quickly and accurately. The direct deposit to your bank account feature is an added bonus.
I recommend Healthy Paws anytime I can. They’re a must for any pet owner.
Frederick Gault
We weren’t sure pet insurance was a good idea, but we went ahead, “just in case”. Well, unfortunately our poor Border Collie mix Diggity developed a bad stomach bug, and we thought we were going to lose him! He was in and out of the vet, and the bills . . . well, you know. We didn’t have time to worry about the costs, we just wanted our boy healthy. Insurance? Well, we would see. To our delight, Healthy Paws had an easy-to-use web site, the vet knew all about them and said good things. Then, voila, a check appeared, and then another without any fuss! Then, another minor disaster, our doggie needed dental surgery after breaking off a cainine tooth. Another strasopheric bill, another insurance claim. Surly they would push back on such an quick second medical expense. But, again, to our delight, no fuss at all, just another paid claim. Thank you Healthy Paws, and Diggity says thanks too.
Kathy Houlihan
Healthy Paws paid for my fur baby’s torn CCL and allowed me the time to focus on her recovery instead of the cost of her surgery! I have been with them since 2012 and I have 4 dogs covered with them. I highly recommend them to any looking for pet insurance!
Liz Cary Blum
Our cat Mo has had two major health incidents and Healthy Paws has stood by him (and our family) 100%. The first was an accident where his tail needed to be amputated, and the second he became hyperthyroid and was going into cardiac failure and needed I-131 radioiodine treatment. I was telling a friend about the I-131 treatment and the cost, and she replied she would have had to put her cat down because she would have never been able to afford the treatment – Healthy Paws allowed us to focus on our cat and what he needed and not worry about finances. I find their customer service staff to be very helpful, and they always email to ask how my cat is doing after a procedure which is really appreciated. I have convinced several friends to get Health Paws and we all have nothing but gratitude!
Christopher D'Addario
Last year, our new German Shepherd Scout needed surgery to clear an obstruction (she managed to eat a couple rocks) as a young puppy which cost several thousand dollars out of pocket (and of course all the stress we went through before and during surgery).

I figured it was time to look into pet insurance after this, and settled on Healthy Paws after looking at other options due to reviews and what was covered. Over the year various check-ups and medications were submitted (most which counted towards the deductible, and where others were not covered there was a specific reason provided as to why).

Fast forward to about a year later, Scout suffered a very bad leg fracture and couldn’t use her front leg as a result, and required serious surgery. Our worrying about her pain and well-being was bad enough, but when we were hit with the estimated bill ($5,000-$7,000) for surgery it was another punch to the gut.

After surgery I submitted a claim to Healthy Paws, thinking in my head “I’m sure this will get rejected for some reason and I won’t see a dime” and hoping to get at least something to help cover the cost of the operation and subsequent recovery costs.

To my surprise, the FULL amount of my plan (80% of the surgery after deductible, over $4,500) was covered and promptly sent as a check. No arguing on the phone, no other action needed by me after sending the claim in…it was hassle-free and let me concentrate on our dog getting better (let alone helping us sleep at night due to the costs).

Representatives also checked in with us to see how Scout was doing shortly after the surgery (yes, real people and not automated emails) and wishing us the best for recovery. This was very appreciated and made us feel much less of a ‘number in the system’ with an actual connection to the people handling our claims.

I can’t say enough what a huge relief this was financially and mentally. I hope to never be in this situation again but am so glad that we had the foresight to purchase pet insurance for Scout for just this kind of “what if” scenario.

Previously I always thought pet insurance was some kind of scam, and maybe some people aren’t as fortunate to have their fur-babies’ conditions and problems covered, but I am so happy to have gotten coverage for Scout when I did.

David Bartmess
My Pug Mattie was diagnosed with a gall bladder issue, and without Healthy Paws, I couldn’t afford the treatments. Healthy Paws was easy to put in a claim, and quick to settlement the claim. I couldn’t have asked for more, except that they inquired later how Mattie was doing. No other insurance company would do that!
Wendy Garff
Our dog had a fox tail embedded in his foot and needed to be sedated to have it removed. I was only expecting it to go toward the deductible but even that was a fight. I was very discouraged with healthy paws and how they seem to fight everything. It is not at all work the money.
Tim
Wendy,

We’re sorry your dog had that run in with a Foxtail – those are no fun. All claim decisions are based off of your pet’s medical records and the signs/symptoms that are noted in those records. Most pet insurance companies including Healthy Paws use a pet’s medical records to determine if there are any pre-existing conditions which would keep us from approving a claim. Since we knew the Foxtail incident was an accident and not a preexisting condition, we were able to cover that claim based on the reimbursement level and deductible you chose at enrollment. Since your other claims are older and not related to the Foxtail incident, we need those medical records to make our determination. We hope your baby makes a complete recovery.

The Healthy Paws Team

Anna & Merlin
Our Merlin had to have emergency surgery for some ruptured discs. I called Healthy Paws on the way to the vet hospital, and asked if they would talk directly with the billing office, and they were happy to do that. Even after the surgery and during recovery process, I got an email from them asking about how Merlin was doing. Even my personal health insurance people don’t do that! Very pleased with Health Paws and recommend them on regular basis.
Mallory Manke
There have been no surprises with Healthy Paws. They keep you in the loop on the status of your claim, every step of the way. You’re able to submit & forget – focus on your pet’s health and then a check arrives in the mail! I am SO glad I signed our Bella up for Healthy Paws and I would do it over and over again in the future! Thank you Healthy Paws!!
Dana F.
One year ago, our 3-year old Pitbull was diagnosed with T-Cell Lymphoma. We were devistated. Our sweet boy, Chappie, has gone through many sessions of extensive chemotherapy and is now in remission for the second time. Healthy Paws has made this treatment for our pet possible. They are absolutely amazing! They are the best choice for your pet insurance! They care about the health of our pet and show us by checking in and paying all claims prompty! We love and appreciate you Healthy Paws! Thank you for taking great care of our Chappie!
Dana F. – Las Vegas, Nevada
Ashley
Soo easy to sign up! Submit claims! Received my refund in days! Easy website! Will be a life long healthypaws customer!
Andrea
I have had nothing but great experiences with Healthy Paws and have recommended to all pet owners I encounter. They have always made me feel assured that my dogs have access to the best care possible. My newest member of the family has had major tummy issues and an upper respiratory infection and Healthy Paws has made the process so smooth. They even followed up to see how he was doing! Couldn’t ask for a better pet insurance for my fur babies 🙂
Deb Jaremba
Our Golden Retriever, Molly, had an emergency vet visit on Saturday night just over 2 weeks ago. She was diagnosed with a ruptured tumor on her spleen that was bleeding into her abdomen. A splenectomy was required but the doctor cautioned us that 67% of these tumors are cancerous. We have had Molly for over 8 years and have always had insurance for her but never have had to use it. We decided to opt for the surgery and deal with the cancer if and when that was confirmed. It turns out that the tumor was benign and Molly is fine and acting as if nothing was wrong with her. Healthy Paws was easy to work with. Uploading Molly’s paperwork was easy and the people at Healthy Paws kept us informed of the progress and asked how Molly was progressing. We have already received the reimbursement check for 80% minus the annual deductible. If we had chosen direct deposit, it probably would have been in the bank several days earlier. Thank you Healthy Paws!! Our daughter just got a dog and I have recommended Healthy Paws to her and will continue to recommend it to any else.
Tracy Baxter
Healthy Paws Pet Insurance review
I love Healthy Paws- my 6 year old lab had to have ear surgery at Texas A&M due to chronic ear infections and the cost was covered 100%- it truly can help pet owners take the financial aspect out of having to make difficult decisions regarding care for their pets.
Ginny Kirkendall
Healthy Paws pet insurance has been top notch. My dog has always been healthy up until recently. It’s been one thing after another with numerous, costly different vet visits including specialists. He’s had X-Rays and blood work multiple times, an ultrasound, and eye surgery. It’s very stressful to go through this with my beloved animal but Healthy Paws took that financial worry away. It is extremely easy to submit a claim on the app. You simply take a picture. Your reimbursement can be set up to get directly deposited into your bank account. It takes hardly any time at all. They update you throughout the process and the best part is that the money has always been in my account by the time my credit card bill is due. They have truly been a life saver!
Annie Medina
My 7 month old Goldendoodle, Quincee, wouldn’t eat breakfast one morning, only grass, and I knew something was wrong. My regular vet had no openings so I took her to the emergency vet. X-rays showed what appeared to be rocks in her intestine, which she passed, but an ultrasound the following day revealed an obstruction she could not pass. Emergency surgery was performed and a piece of rubber toy she had dug up in the yard along with all that grass she ate to try and throw up were removed. Through this 4 day or so process I only worried about Quincee and not how much it was costing. As soon as I could I had insured her with Healthy Paws and I am so thankful I did. After my $250 annual deductible, they paid 90% of Quincee’s $5,400 bill. Healthy Paws let me know when the vet filed the claim for me (my choice), kept me up to date on the progress, checked up on Quincee’s recovery, and sent my reimbursement checks within, I believe, seven days. Quincee’s older brother has also been insured with Healthy Paws since he was a baby. I now know what a wise decision it was and I really do recommend them to all the fur parents I know.
Carrie Cimperman
I have been a customer of HealthyPaws for over 3 years, for both of my dogs. I am thankful for this insurance! I feed my dogs very healthy, clean diets and they are not overweight. They get so much love, exercise and are so happy. BUT, emergencies do occur. And for all of their emergencies, Healthy Paws has been there. ER is expensive…and medication can be too. Healthy Paws sent us a get well card for my Ryder when he was in ER 3 weeks ago. They sent multiple emails checking on him. AND they are so quick with claims processing, that, I received the check, in less than a week after submitting it!!!! I will be able to pay off my credit card bill before any interest accrues. I highly recommend them. The cost is affordable. I think you can choose from 3 payment plans. I spend about $35 per month per dog. AND I spend more than that for coffee each month! So, there is no excuse that you cannot afford it! Their lives are worth it!
Emily Ruby
Five years ago I adopted a small terrier mix who had been a stray, so the shelter had no idea what her age or history was. I immediately got healthy paws, which turned out to be one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Over the years they covered various vet visits, emergency visits, specialists, imaging, etc. Last fall after multiple specialist visits, extremely expensive diagnostic studies, and diagnostic surgery, she was diagnosed with bladder cancer (TCC) and given a few months to live. She began chemo the day after thanksgiving. Since then there have been two different chemo meds (1st was monthly for 5 months then switched to current which is every two weeks), numerous x-rays and ultrasounds, bi-weekly labs, a hospitalization, and a LOT of prescriptions. Every visit the vet emails me the invoice, I screenshot it and upload it to healthy paws app, and within two weeks get the reimbursement direct deposited and a very simple, easy to understand one page explanation of benefits. Never been denied, never any surprises, never asked for additional documentation, etc. With all there is to worry and stress about, knowing that I’ll be able to afford her treatment and not have to fight with the pet insurance makes a world of difference. Still doing chemo, and my pup is as happy and energetic and cute as ever thanks to healthy paws 🙂 I’ve recommended them to all my friends and family who’ve gotten new dogs, and they’ve all had great experiences as well
Blair
When I first got my frenchie Beau I knew they were high risk dogs. After a couple of scares I researched and compared pet insurance. Healthy Paws was the best out there hands down. Over the years they have really been relevant in saving Beau. We recent had a huge health scare and (knock on wood he seems to be getting better) , but without healthy paws I am not sure how I could have handled everything financially! They fast at paying the claims back and even reached out to check on how he was doing! I would not choose any others health insurance out there. Thanks again HP!
Tracy MI O'Connell
I have had my dog enrolled with Healthy Paws since 2011 and its amazing. My dog has had quite a few medical issues and Healthy Paws has been there every step of the way. Every time i would call with a question or concern about something i would get the nicest reps that truly seemed to care about what my dog was going through and it really made us feel like family. They have a very fast turn around time with claims which also is a huge help. I would and always recommenced Healthy Paws to everyone!
Clare Mix
Some of these reviews must be fake. I am now on year 2 with Healthy Paws, the math is not correct in the reviews. The insurance does not pay 70/80/90% of the bill as they make it seem, they DO NOT COVER THE ACTUAL VET EXAM FEE. I took my vet to the dermatologist for a foot growth. The bill was $250. $200 of that was vet exam fee. So they only covered PART OF THE $50 REMAINING, AFTER DEDUCTIBLE! so 80% of $50. I got $40 back on a $250 vet bill. Plus I paid my $100 deductible (per year). THEY HAVE ALSO RAISED MY RATES EACH YEAR. I am a pet sitter and I was recommending them, but, they say “oh you submitted a mixed breed dog on your info, so actually your rate should be higher for your 2nd year. But that’s not correct, because they receive the vet paperwork stating what breed the dog is. They did this to my client too!!!! And they also raised my client’s rates for the 2nd year in a row. We think like all insurance, it’s a scam.
Tim
Clare – We do our best to be transparent throughout our website, during the enrollment process and in the policy documents available to each client in their online Healthy Paws account regarding the limited exclusions of our policy. Those exclusions are pre-existing conditions, preventative/routine care and the office visit fee (veterinary exam fee). Anyone visiting our website can see this information on our “Benefits, Coverage and Exclusions” page. By making the office visit fee (vet exam, emergency exam, recheck or consultation) part of the pet parent’s financial responsibility, it allows us to offer a complete accident and illness plan at an affordable monthly premium. Our policyholders value comprehensive accident/illness coverage and unlimited benefits at reasonable rates, which is why they choose to assume the responsibility of paying for those costs.

We also make every effort to inform our clients on how our reimbursement calculations work. We include this information (including examples) on our website within our “Frequent Asked Questions” page, and on our “For Customers” page within our website. Our process for calculating reimbursements are approved by each state’s Department of Insurance and are based upon the deductible/reimbursement level a client chooses at enrollment. As with any policy with a deductible, the deductible has to be met before any claim reimbursement.

Premiums are based on your pet’s age, breed, and your zip code at the time of enrollment. We rely on information provided by our clients to determine this information. Within the online enrollment application, your pet was noted to be a of a mixed breed type. This information is reflected on each step of the quoting and enrollment process, then provided on your policy declarations page once enrollment is complete. Though we rely on the information provided by you to be accurate, we understand mistakes may be made. Once we received your pet’s medical history for their first claim, these records reflected the breed to be of a purebred type. To ensure accuracy and compliance with insurance regulations, we needed to update the premium for your pet.

We understand that no one likes any form of premium increase. Our management team works hard to keep our premiums as low as possible while still providing comprehensive coverage. New technology, advancements in veterinary treatments, and overall claim costs are taken into consideration when assessing our rates. We have seen an increase in the frequency of high-value treatments such as anterior cruciate ligament surgeries, cancer treatments including chemotherapy, and foreign body exploratory surgeries performed by veterinarians. These are some examples of procedures performed during the last 12 months that ranged anywhere from $3,000-$16,000. Your monthly premium is going up because the increase in claim payments has been faster than the premium increases in your state. As a result, we need to increase the premium level for all pets in your state so you and your pet can have continued access to the best veterinary care.

The Healthy Paws Team

Jeffrey W Haynes
I have had Healthy Paws insurance on three of my dogs for about five years now. Hank has had two ACL and one stomach surgery. Audrey has had one ACL surgery. Frankie is not allowed to get hurt. Healthy Paws has paid each bill quickly and without issue. Using Healthy Paws was one of the best decision I’ve ever made.
Joe VerCammen
So I bought a 8 week old white boxer puppy back in December of 2018. In January I decided to purchase the Healthy Paws insurance for her. In March she started throwing up and wouldn’t eat. My daughter is a Vet Tech at our local VCA so she took her in. Come to find out she had swallowed my nasal pillow for my CPAP mask that disappeared weeks before. It was lodged in her intestines. After 3 days in the emergency room, surgery, meds etc…. the bill was $5,400 after my daughters employee discount the bill came to $3,400. I submitted my bill to Healthy Paws and in 2 days they were mailing me a check for $2,500. After the $250 deductible they covered 80% of the bill. After only making 2 payments on my policy they really came through for me. Best decision I’ve made in a long time.
Sarah Huston
If I could give Healthy Paws more then 5 stars, I absolutely would. They have continue to be there for me and my doggo Larry since day one. Every small, every large claim, I know I have Healthy Paws there to take away any financial stress of veterinary care. I have never felt any limitation to giving Larry the best possible care because of Healthy Paws.

I work as a veterinary nurse at a large university teaching hospital. Almost 2 months ago, Larry was diagnosed with aspiration pneumonia, a very mild case, nothing that required hospitalization. I was in touch with Healthy Paws regarding the diagnosis, and they were there to support every step of the way. Long story short, over a month of diagnostics/rechecks including: 4 sets of chest rads (all 1 week apart), 1 chest CT, multiple panels of blood work, hundreds of dollars of antibiotics (he is a newfoundland, big dog = big cost)… Larry went to surgery for a thoracoscopic lung lobectomy and pericardectomy as well as laparoscopic liver biopsies to remove a migrating foreign body.. something that is just plain bad luck. I was quoted up to $8,000 for this procedure. After 1.5 months of diagnostics, medications, treatments and the surgery… the best part is, I couldn’t even tell you how much it ended up costing. Healthy Paws worked with me and Larry very diligently to ensure that I had no added stress on top of Larry needing this very risky surgery. They helped pay the hospital up front and directly so that I had nothing to do besides pay the remains balance at the end.

After all said and done, I spoke with the business office at the teaching hospital where I work, and they said Healthy Paws was hands down the easiest insurance company they have ever dealt with. Having pet insurance is having a piece of mind – having it, and hoping you never have to use it. But when you need it, your pet will thank you. There should never be any financial restriction on the care you can give your best friend.

Larry did amazing post operatively, and was discharged from the hospital 2 days after surgery.
Thank you so much!!!!!!