Is Healthy Paws The Best Pet Insurance?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Dog's paws in sandHealthy Paws pet insurance is our #1 pick for best pet health insurance. Healthy Paws took the gold medal because it has a history of great customer service, annual deductible (vs per incident) and unlimited lifetime benefits. You get to choose how you want to pay by deciding your annual deductible and the percentage of the vet bill that you’ll be reimbursed for when you sign-up for your initial plan.

Healthy Paws also likes to give to those in need. Each time you get a quote from Healthy Paws, it donates money to a homeless pet in need. Healthy Paws will continue covering your pet if you are unable to care for them or if you die. This is extremely rare in the industry and we think it’s awesome!

Visit Healthy Paws Website

Article Overview

How Does It Work?

After you pay for your dog’s treatment at the vet, use the mobile app (download the iOS app for free via this link or the Android app here) to take a photo of your itemized vet invoice to submit your claim instantly. If you prefer pencil and paper, there is a claim form that you can print out and complete as well. Healthy Paws will process your claim and send you a reimbursement check.

Key Features

  • Underwriter: ACE Property & Casualty (Chubb)
  • Exam period:
    • Dog less than 6-years-old must have visited the vet within the last 12 months or within 15 days of policy issuance
    • Dogs older than 6-years-old must have been to the vet within the last 30 days or within 15 days of policy issuance
  • Pre-existing conditions defined by Healthy Paws:
    • a. illness or the recurrence of any illness or condition which first occurred or displayed any signs and/or symptoms consistent with the stated illness or condition prior to the pet policy effective date;
    • b. an injury or recurrence of an injury that occurred prior to the pet policy effective date;
    • or c. any condition or complication resulting from an illness or injury that occurred prior to the pet policy effective date 
  • Has one bi-lateral exclusion: pre-existing cruciate ligament problems to one leg as respects to the cost of future treatment for problems of the other leg
  • 99% of claims are processed within 2 days (reimbursement checks are generally issued within 24 hours of processing)
  • Policyholders can opt for direct deposit instead of a hard copy check
  • Option to pay vets directly, so you don’t have to pay a hefty vet bill in advance and wait for reimbursement (not available everywhere)
  • Will continue coverage for a pet if the pet parent becomes unable to care for the pet or dies. This works by transferring the policy to someone else without a lapse in coverage. The new policyholder will pay the same amount and there will be no newly added pre-existing conditions.
  • No waiting periods in Maryland or New Hampshire
  • 30-day free look period (similar to a money back guarantee)

Healthy Paws Review

4.65 / 5
Healthy Paws Review
Policy Coverage 4.3
Customer Service & Reputation 4.8
Timeliness of Claim Payment 4.8
Price of Policy 4.8

Pros

  • Annual deductible (not per incident)
  • Unlimited lifetime coverage so no annual or per incident limits on claims
  • Pricing is generally the best value vs competition
  • Your pet is covered when they travel with you in the United States or Canada
  • High customer satisfaction
  • Easy to submit a claim on the Healthy Paws app for quick claim reimbursement
  • BBB rating: A+
  • Great email response time
  • Good CCL (ACL) coverage
  • Direct deposit or check reimbursement

Cons

  • Veterinary exam fee and behavioral therapies are not covered
  • Excludes hip dysplasia in animals enrolled after age 6, so this might not be the best option for large breeds that are older than 6. There is also a 12 month waiting period.
  • There are age restrictions (if pet is older than 6 you must have vet exam within past 30 days for enrollment or within 15 days of policy issuance)
  • Pets older than 8-years-old are restricted to 60% reimbursement and a $750 annual deductible
  • 15-day waiting period for accident and illness
  • No wellness plan
  • Charges a one time $25 fee

Services Covered By Healthy Paws

Here is a list of services that HealthyPaws covers and does not cover (as of April 2018). Services included are not limited to this list and are subject to change.

CoveredNot Covered
SurgeriesPre-existing conditions
HospitalizationAnal gland expression
CancerVaccinations, titer test, flea control, heartworm medication, de-worming, nail trim, grooming
Prescription medicationsDental health care (injury to teeth caused by accident is covered)
Diagnostic treatment and testing (x-rays, blood tests, ultrasounds, etc.)Spay/neuter procedures
AccidentsVeterinary exam fees
IllnessesPre-existing cruciate ligament problems to one leg as respects the cost of future treatment for problems of the other leg
Congenital conditionsParasite control including internal and external parasites
Hereditary conditions
Chronic conditions
Specialty Care
Emergency care
Alternative treatment

Coupon Code

Use this link and you will automatically receive up to a 10% discount. The actual discount varies based on individual state regulations. You can also visit our dedicated HealthyPaws promotions page to discuss current offers.

Is My Dog Eligible For Healthy Paws?

All dog breeds are eligible for Healthy Paws’ unlimited lifetime benefits. Dogs between the ages of 8 weeks and 14 years are eligible to enroll. Once enrolled, your dog is protected for the lifetime of the policy.

Healthy Paws has some restrictions on the reimbursement and annual deductible amounts for your pet depending on the age at enrollment.

  • Dogs and cats 5-years and under:
    • 90%, 80% and 70% reimbursement
    • $100, $250 and $500 deductible
  • Dogs and cats 6 and 7-years-old:
    • 80%, 70% or 60% reimbursement
    • $250, $500 or $750 deductible
  • Dogs 8-years and older: 
    • 60% reimbursement
    • $750 deductible

Below is a table showing examples of quotes from Healthy Paws. You can put your pet’s information directly into its site to get a better estimate for your pet (use our link above for the best discount).

BreedLabrador RetrieverEnglish Cocker SpanielGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
Age2 years8 years4 years6 years2 months2 months2 years
LocationFlorida
(zip code: 33601)
Illinois
(zip code: 60290)
California
(zip code: 90001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
Florida
(zip code: 33601)
Washington D.C.
(zip code: 20001)
Price Per Month$38.84$53.08$57.84$55.55$31.55$28.02$19.30
Reimbursement Level80%60%90%80%80%80%80%
Annual Deductible$200$750$500$250$250$200$250

What If My Dog Gets Hip Dysplasia?

Healthy Paws covers expensive hereditary and congenital conditions under the condition that your veterinarian has not noted these clinical symptoms prior to obtaining Healthy Paws’ pet insurance. You must enroll your dog for Healthy Paws pet insurance before the age of 6 for you to take advantage of this coverage. Healthy Paws DOES NOT cover hip dysplasia for dogs who are enrolled after the age of 6.

It’s important to know that there is a 12-month waiting period for hip dysplasia coverage from when you sign up with no related medical history to when your pet can be treated for it. Check out our hip dysplasia article to learn more about this condition, if your dog is likely to suffer from it and possible treatments for your pup.

Waiting Periods

  • 15-days: Illnesses and accidents
  • 15-days: Cruciate ligament events (bi-lateral exclusion for pre-existing cruciate ligament injuries)
  • 12-months: Hip dysplasia

Opinions On Healthy Paws

We found real Healthy Paws customers’ reviews. Not only the good but also the bad so you could see both ends of the company. Since the dogs couldn’t share their thoughts, we asked the pet parents 😉 .

Positive Reviews

We have had policies for both of our dogs for a few years with HealthyPaws and they have never failed us. We just filed multiple claims for our 9-year-old rescue mix that totaled over $2,100 and they paid them quickly and without any fuss. I recommend this company to anyone with a beloved fur-baby. It is better to have pet insurance from a reliable company and not need it than chance it when the time comes that you do need it. We will remain loyal customers because HealthyPaws stayed true to their word when we needed the policy most. – Monica B., BBB 4/17/2018

This was my first experience with pet insurance, and after meticulous research I chose Healthy Paws. And I’m so glad I did!! My very special cat needed surgery for the second time in a month. (I’m still mad at him.) I enrolled him in pet insurance right after his first surgery, and I’m so glad I did. 2 weeks after his waiting period ended, he needed surgery again. I maxed out my care credit with this second surgery but then needed it for my own dental care. So I called to request my claim be expedited. Ryan answered the phone and he was so warm and friendly. He even asked how my cat was doing! Then he asked me to submit some documents and told me he would follow up immediately. And he did!! I uploaded the documents and got a call shortly after saying he’s processed the claim and I should get a confirmation of benefits on that same day, if not the next morning!! I was SO impressed!! All this happened within a short span of an hour! My other 2 cats are also on healthy paws and I know they’re well protected with this amazing company!! Thank you Ryan for your prompt service and your caring attitude! – Lydia P., Yelp 3/18/2018

Baxter’s Story

Cancer is the highest disease-related cause of death for pets each year making up almost 50% of the total. Unfortunately, Baxter was diagnosed with cancer and his owners needed help financially. See how Healthy Paws helped this family in a time of need.

Negative Reviews

BEWARE outrageous policy increases every year. Typical insurance company will lure you in with an affordable option that will quickly turn into an outrageous expense. You are better off banking the money into a savings account that relying on them. The language from their website reads “your rates will increase slightly each year. These manageable annual increases” – If you consider 15% per year “slight” or “manageable” then maybe it’s for you, but when you’re paying $100 month, and will still be out of pocket a considerable amount for anything major, you really should ask yourself if it’s worth it. – Todd M., BBB 4/24/2018

Horrible customer service and in general horrible policies. It is absolutely worth the extra $10 a month to go with any other insurance agency other than this one. We were a member for about 2 months when we submitted our first claim. Our puppy had been peeing in our office and we wanted to bring her in to make sure it wasn’t a medical related issue before signing her up for training lessons. My mother called and made the appointment and they did a urinary test which ran us around $300.  After 12 days of waiting for our claim to be processed, I emailed Healthypaws about when our claim would be reviewed.  No response. About 4 days later I emailed again about our claim.  Again no response.  Then I finally called after roughly 18 days had passed and they began to process our claim that day.  3 hours after I called in to request they review our claim, I get an email saying our claim was denied. When I asked why, they said there was a note on my dogs health records stating that we were bringing her in to check for recurring UTI’s and since she had had two over the last year they were considering it a pre existing condition and would not pay. When I spoke with my vet they let me know that the note on our medical records were actually just notes the receptionist jotted down from a conversation she had had with my mother about the vet visit.  I told healthypaws that these were just notes and not a diagnosis and was not the real reason we brought our dog to the vet. Healthypaws then told me verbatim “The official diagnosis does not affect coverage for a claim. Your own testimony regarding your pet’s health is taken into account when determining the start of signs and symptoms, since you know your pet best.” Apparently I have no need for a vet anymore since my mothers diagnosis means more than a vets.  Good to know! In conclusion, if you want a company that isn’t trying to gauge you of your money and takes weeks to tell you your claim is denied after taking 3 hours to review – find a different agency. – Leah M., Yelp 2/12/2018

What Are Your Healthy Paws Reviews?

Have you read our Healthy Paws review but still not sure if it’s the right pet insurance provider for you? That’s ok! You’ve got lots of options and you should always get at least two quotes to compare coverage and cost to find the best value for your family.

Our Best Pet Insurance Reviews article compares Healthy Paws against many other providers to help you determine the best fit for you. If you’re thinking about getting pet insurance but still have some unanswered questions feel free to ask us! We’re here to help you and your pets live a better, less stressful life.

Do you have any questions about Healthy Paws plans and what they cover?

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Disclaimer: The information provided through this website should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, you should consult your health care provider.
Growing up, Kimberly used to get the sniffles when she was around dogs. Thankfully, she grew out of her allergy and is now able to play and snuggle with dogs as much as she wants! She and her husband adopted Sally, a four-year-old hound mix, in early 2017, and she has brought so much joy into their lives. Life as pet parents has been very rewarding.

189
Leave a Reply

avatar
newest oldest most voted
Drew
When looking for health insurance for my two new puppies I looked at all the options. When I contacted Healthy Paws with some questions they were very helpful and answered all my questions. I liked the ease of the signup process and the usability of their phone app. It was not until a year later that I needed to actually use the insurance and when that time came I was pleased to find that the upload process and claim process was so easy. I uploaded the records that I received from my Vet and then snapped a picture of the bills and in a week Healthy Paws had reviewed all the records and reimbursed me for the covered procedure. My Dog ended up having bone cancer and lost her leg. Having Healthy Paws insurance allowed me to be able to afford the surgery and get a second chance with my beloved dog. The best part was that after the surgery I got a personal email from one of their employees asking how my dog was and if there was anything else I needed. They also took the time to look at the rest of my policy to see that I had another dog and asked about him as well. I felt like they really cared and I am glad I went with Healthy Paws. I would recommend Healthy Paws to any pet owner.
Annika S.
I can’t say enough positive things about Healthy Paws. I first purchased insurance when my boy Teddy was a puppy, and I’m thankful every day that I did. I carry the maximum level of insurance (90% coverage after a $200 annual deductible) on Teddy and it’s worth every penny. The first year of Teddy’s life we were at the vet every 2 weeks for chronic skin issues, & more than one emergency visit when he’s ingested things that he shouldn’t have. We have spent thousands of dollars over the last couple years on procedures, medications, and skin related medical care and the majority of that money spent has been refunded by Healthy Paws (90% to be exact!). His most recent issue was an ER Vet visit that alone cost me roughly $1,000…. I received almost $900 in refund checks for that ER visit. When a $1,000 bill essentially turns into a $100 bill, I have been able to focus on what matters most- my boy’s health – and not have the added financial stress. I had no qualms about choosing to provide the needed care for him because I didn’t have to choose between spending the money on appropriate care and taking a chance on his health. Looking to the future, as the owner of a giant breed dog one expects to eventually run into some sort of hip/joint problems (though I take excellent care of my boy through nutrition, supplementation, and appropriate exercise). I have peace of mind knowing that heaven forbid that does occur, cost of care won’t be an issue.

While my boy has had many visits to the vet and we have unfortunately had to take advantage of our coverage with Healthy Paws frequently, I would still consider this coverage worth it for any household pet- even those who seem to never have health issues. The peace of mind it brings is easily worth the cost per month (which is more than reasonable in my opinion). We use the Healthy Paws app to submit claims, which makes it super easy, fast, and convenient to do. I will be using Healthy Paws for any future pets we have. If you have a puppy, get pet insurance early, it’s the smartest thing I have done. There have been no negatives to our experience, and any interaction we’ve ever had with any Healthy Paws staff has been pleasant, professional, and genuinely caring for my boy. I can’t say enough good things – thank you Healthy Paws!

Chris
I have had Healthy Paws for one of my dogs, Teddy, a 5 year old German Shepherd mix since I got him in 2015. He has the 90% coverage and $100 annual deductible plan. Last October he was diagnosed with a Mast Cell Tumor (cancer). I had it surgically removed and all is well with him now. I get him checked out every 6 months now by the cancer specialists to make sure hes still cancer free. They do various tests and ultrasounds of his belly etc. Healthy Paws has not once been a issue in any claim process. One time they forgot to reimburse a blood test and all it took was a simple phone call to get it corrected. Healthy Paws allows me to treat his cancer (or any possible future issue) much more aggressively rather than worrying about potential money issues.

Only complaint (and a minor one) is that the premiums have gone up since I enrolled him but I understand that is part of the cycle. After having Healthy Paws help treat his cancer, its a small price to pay for having a friend and family member in good health. Highly recommended!

Kathleen
I truly loved Healthy Paws from the moment we enrolled our first dog with them over 5 years ago. Since then we’ve added 2 more dogs & are now in a bind as to whether we can continue paying the insane rising premiums. We should not have to raise our deductible and lower our coverage just to be able to afford the same policies due to the alleged rising costs in veterinary care. We live in Southern California in the city & our veterinarians have definitely not raised their prices as drastically as Healthy Paws claims.

Our dogs are our children as many of you in the forum feel the same about your own & would do anything for them. Unfortunately Healthy Paws has made me realize pet insurance and being able to provide for the health of a pet is a luxury meant only for the wealthy. Heathy Paws is an insurance business just like any other and they don’t have a pets’s life and best interest at heart. If they did, they wouldn’t be gouging pockets with insane premium increases.

In 2014 our rates increased from $176 to $185. Since 2015 it went up from $185 to $285 and now the updated increase for 2018-2019 for so-called rise in veterinary expenses… $285 to $363. In four years the monthly premium went up $187. From $2112 a year to $4356. It has more than doubled in 4 years. Really… to keep up with rising veterinary costs?

Tim
Kathleen,

Thank you for your kind words – we are so happy that Healthy Paws has been able to play a part in assuring that your babies have access to the best available medical care. We realize that premium increases can be a stress financially and that this increase was larger than normal. Our management team works hard to keep our premiums as low as possible while still providing comprehensive coverage. New technology, advancements in veterinary treatments, and overall claim costs are taken into consideration when assessing our rates. We have recently seen a rise in high value claims due to an increase in the availability, use and cost of emergency/specialty care. During the past year there was an overall increase in the frequency of high-value treatments such as anterior cruciate ligament surgeries, cancer treatments including chemotherapy, and foreign body exploratory surgeries performed by veterinarians. These are some examples of procedures performed during the last 12 months that ranged anywhere from $3,000-$16,000. Rest assured, we will never penalize you with higher rates for making claims. All pet insurance companies, no matter how they market their benefits, will raise rates to keep up with the rapidly rising cost of veterinary care. Please give your babies big hugs for us!

The Healthy Paws Team

Bria
My cat, Cheese, recently ate a ribbon and needed a lot of medical care. I was SO thankful to have him covered by Healthy Paws! He had experienced some health difficulties previously, before I had him insured, and it was just awful. Every procedure I had to think about money, and it was terrible to be in the position of weighing the cost against my pet’s life. I am a student, and I ended up spending literally all of my savings to pay for his care. This time when he was ill, I could just focus on making decisions that were best for Cheese, without having to worry that I would bankrupt myself in the process.

I will agree with the negative reviews that the premiums do go up SUBSTANTIALLY each year. My pets are both still fairly young, so it’s still worth it. Even if it gets to $100/month, I will probably continue the policies, just so that if/when they get sick, I can avoid worrying about money and focus on my pet’s health.

Also, I have had great experiences with customer service every time I’ve called. I don’t think they are quite as responsive by email, but I’ve never had to wait on hold for a long time and everyone I’ve spoken to has been very helpful and friendly. I recommend Healthy Paws to all of my friends!

Happy customer
My dog Tinkerbell was recently diagnosed with Leptospirosi causing her kidneys to be in danger of failing. She was rushed to an emergency vet for a week where they were unable to get her levels to drop. Essentially we were told her best chance to live was to be transferred to an animal hospital that could preform dialysis. It is scary enough worrying if my little girl was going to survive let alone the financial burden. Fast forward over two additional weeks at a new hosptial and Tinkerbell is finally showing improvement. In addition healthy paws has covered all of her treatment which so far had been close to $15,000. Without the coverage I dont know what we would have done, I am so thankfull for healthy paws.
Mary R
I’m another really enthusiastic fan of Healthy Paws. My Golden was diagnosed a year ago with bilateral elbow dysplasia requiring surgery when she was not quite 11 months old. During the time it took to book her for surgery at a veterinary college hospital, the CrCLs in both rear legs ruptured. She had her first surgery at the end of March and the second at the end of August. Healthy Paws has been amazing. It’s incredibly easy to file a claim online and to upload documentation. They interfaced directly with my local veterinarian and the veterinary college hospital to get any records I didn’t have. Within a week of filing my first claim, it had been approved. It has taken just a couple of days to get approval for subsequent claims. I received reimbursement really quickly. I’ve also been impressed with their customer service. I received a follow-up email after my dog’s most recent surgery asking how she was doing. From start to finish, Healthy Paws has made a really stressful time a lot easier. I can’t recommend them enough to anyone looking for a pet insurer they can rely on.
Chris
I’ve had to file a few small claims with Healthy Paws in the past, and all were handled quickly (reimbursement received within 2 weeks), and easily through their app. However, 2 weeks ago our family had to experience a costly near-tragedy with our furry child. Our 3 year old bulldog went in for surgery to open up his airways to help him breathe more freely, but complications from the surgery resulted in him not being able to breathe at all. A planned overnight visit turned into six. Twice during the week the vet called me to caution they were concerned he would die soon. For all the pain it put him through, it was an emotional nightmare for us. Each step of the way good news was followed by bad and of course the vet requires upfront payment for everything they do before they do it. In the end, he was transferred to another hospital where a second procedure cleared his airway and saved his life. The vet bill accumulated to $11,000, which we had to draw down our savings, borrow money from family, and open a new credit card to cover. Honestly, we didn’t have the financial ability to handle that expense, and the only reason we did was because of our confidence in our policy with Healthy Paws. And sure enough, less than a week after filing a claim it was approved, and our policy reibursed nearly 90% of the bill. What they cover and what they don’t is very clear from the start, and customer service is incredible. Representatives seemed genuinely concerned for the wellbeing of our dog in follow up calls and email. Our policy with Healthy Paws saved our dog’s life- we never could have considered the life saving procedure s that were necessary without it.
Michelle
This is the best company I have ever had for pet insurance!! Not only do they respond quickly to my questions, they pay promptly and always have a very caring attitude!! We love Healthy Paws and have been with them for almost 10 years. As a very selective breeder of Golden Retrievers, I refer all our new puppy families to Healthy Paws and I always get very positive feedback from everyone!
Mike
Hi Michelle,
As someone who has used it for years, what has your experience been regarding yearly increases? Have they been small….large? My wife and I are looking for a dog to rescue and we are considering pet insurance. Thanks!
Joe
We have been with Healthy Paws for five years now and they are simply amazing. Having this coverage has allowed us to provide levels of care to three different dogs that we wouldn’t have been able to do financially otherwise. Today’s veterinary hospitals have much of the same capabilities and equipment that human hospitals do. However, it is scary how quickly things add up when you need care. Years ago we ended up having to make somewhat financially-based decisions for two of our other dogs and we decided then “never again”. I cannot describe how great it is to be able to walk into the emergency vet, or more recently, specialists’ offices knowing that Healthy Paws has our babies covered. Our 7-month-old labradoodle developed a strange mass on the roof of his mouth at 12 weeks. We realized we were in for a bit of a roller coaster ride when it started baffling our very experienced family vets. The ride continued after three separate opinions by some of the country’s most experienced veterinary minds. Just being able to seek multiple “second” opinions knowing Healthy Paws would have our backs was more than worth the premiums. Then we were told to get a CT scan at an oncologist’s office. That estimate alone came it at over $2,300. I’m happy to say the Healty Paws reimbursement hit my back account today covering almost $2,000 of that. So far, we are over $3,000 into our little guy’s case it’s only been diagnostic so far – meaning no treatment has actually begun. We are maybe $500 out of pocket on that total, making all of this possible. We are currently scheduled for surgery with the best doggie dentist in town in a couple of weeks to finally get this removed and get him healed up. We know Healthy Paws will be there for us through it all and I just can’t say enough good about them!
Holly
After a scary incident, Healthy Paws sent me an email to check up on Ellie’s progress. They have really helped tremendously. It’s tough when you adopt bulldogs, or any breed, that were rescued from puppy mills as you don’t know the health conditions you may encounter. Ellie is the first dog that I decided to look into insurance for as my others were seniors when I adopted them so I didn’t think it was an option. She seemed healthy with no obvious issues early on but we’ve had a couple scares in the 9 or so months I’ve had her. Having insurance makes the decision to give her the best care that much easier. I would never NOT do everything I can for my dogs but I’m thankful to not be maxing out my credit cards to do it now.
In short, I’m glad I did my research and went with Health Paws 🙂
Wong
totally understand, just found out they increased my premium around 25% after annual review. my pet is still in the middle age, and never file a claim. they just want the money, and they increased whatever they want to. when I called, no clear explanation about the increase.
Tim
Wong – Unfortunately, we cannot find your account in our system with any degree of certainty using the limited information you provided in your review, but we’ll reply to your issue the best we can.

We understand this increase was larger than normal. Our management team works hard to keep your premiums as low as possible, but there continues to be an overall increase in the frequency of high-value treatments such as anterior cruciate ligament surgeries, cancer treatments including chemotherapy, and foreign body exploratory surgeries performed by veterinarians that ranged anywhere from $3,000-$16,000 in cost. Due to these increasing costs of new technology and advances in veterinary care, rates were adjusted. These increases provide you the opportunity to offer your pet the best medical and diagnostic options available today. Rest assured, we will never penalize you with higher rates for making claims. All pet insurance companies, no matter how they market their benefits, will raise rates to keep up with the rapidly rising cost of veterinary care. We do our best to be transparent regarding annual premium increases by including this information on the “Frequently Asked Questions” page of our website.

Lisa W
I just looked at your FAQs to see what exactly is said about premium increases. Couldn’t find anything. ??
Tim
Lisa – you can find the information here under the section titled “Billing”.

https://www.healthypawspetinsurance.com/frequent-questions

Mike
Very disappointing insurance = seems like Its only good if your pet doesn’t require specialist visits, treatments and consultations as that is not covered and is in the 100s of dollars each time, they just cover meds and tests , finding out before i signed up would be nice as it turns out i would be better off just putting 50 dollars a month in a cup at my house and would have come out ahead so far – i guess the racket is you wont read the very fine print
Tim
Mike – We regret that you are not satisfied with our plan. We do our best to be transparent throughout our website, during the enrollment process and in the policy documents available to each client in their online Healthy Paws account regarding the limited exclusions of our policy. Those exclusions are pre-existing conditions, preventative/routine care and the office visit fee. Anyone visiting our website can see this information on our “Benefits, Coverage and Exclusions” page. By making the office visit fee (vet exam, emergency exam, recheck or consultation) part of the pet parent’s financial responsibility, it allows us to offer a complete accident and illness plan at an affordable monthly premium. Our policyholders value comprehensive accident/illness coverage and unlimited benefits at reasonable rates, which is why they choose to assume the responsibility of paying for those costs.

In regards to our coverage, if a pet needs treatment for an accident or illness, and it’s not a pre-existing condition, they’re covered. This includes x-rays, blood tests, ultrasounds, surgery, hospitalization, prescription medicines, etc. and any reimbursement is based on the deductible/reimbursement level a client chooses at the time of enrollment.

The Healthy Paws Team

Aimie B
For years, I tried to determine whether pet insurance was worth it and if so, which company to go with. And, now, I’m singing from the mountain tops that Healthy Paws is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made! For the last 2.5 years, we’ve been overjoyed with their customer service, responsiveness and ease of submitting claims. Even our old dog has sterling coverage that just recently saved his life as he was in and out of the hospital. Today, he is curled up at my feet snoring thanks to Healthy Paws. I cannot say enough good things about this company; they truly prioritize your furry family above all else.
Joe Tesoro
Healthy paws is a top notch company and came through when our dog Mabel ate a squeaker toy. My wife and I are so relieved that she’s safe and happy. Healthy paws has got us through the whole ordeal taking the cost of any medical procedure to help her out of the equation. We were able to make sure she got the best possible care. Paid the claims fast and it’s cut and dry with no confusion for the consumer. Thank you!
Dr. Eileen Fatcheric
My 8 year old lab Rebel has been insured by Healthy Paws since he was 5 years old. Last year he had some neck and back issues and Healthy Paws covered all his chiropractic appointments!
Recently, I found a mass in his mouth. It turned out to be cancer. Melanoma. He has had 3 surgeries and is currently under the continuing care of Cornell Oncology. Healthy Paws has been fabulous throughout this entire ordeal. Invoices are super easy to submit, they keep in touch with you while you’re waiting for your claim to be approved which happens really fast, and reimbursement comes in the form of a check in the mail without delay. They have not disputed a single fee and have been very kind as far as asking how Rebel is doing too!
I am a practicing small animal veterinarian in Syracuse, NY. I elect to have pet insurance for my pets as there is so much advanced specialty care available for pets now, and I want to make sure my pets can get everything they need when it becomes necessary. Thanks to Healthy Paws I’ve been able to focus on making the best medical decisions for Rebel without having to even think about how much things cost, let alone ask.
I researched all the pet insurance companies before making my choice. I have been extremely pleased with Healthy Paws and I recommend them without reservation to any pet owner. I encourage all my clients to consider getting pet insurance while their pets are young, without preexisting conditions. After my recent experience, I will be happily recommending Healthy Paws. They have been absolutely wonderful.
Robert DiPietro
Beware of HEFTY annual premium increases. Mine has gone from $38 in 2014 to $60 now. I haven’t moved or changed vets.
Tim
Robert – We understand that premium increases can be a stress financially. Our goal is to keep our premiums as low as possible while still providing comprehensive coverage. New technology, advancements in veterinary treatments, and overall claim costs are taken into consideration when assessing our rates. We have recently seen a rise in high value claims due to an increase in the availability and cost of veterinary services. This premium adjustment ensures we can continue to provide comprehensive coverage for your pet should an unexpected illness or injury occur.

Rest assured, we will never penalize you with higher rates for making claims. All pet insurance companies, no matter how they market their benefits, will raise rates to keep up with the rapidly rising cost of veterinary care. We do our best to be transparent regarding annual premium increases by including this information on the “frequently Asked Questions” page of our website

We understand that no one likes any form of premium increase not matter how much it is, but our competitors premiums are historically higher overall than your premium with Healthy Paws. We’d be more than happy to send you these comparisons from the other leading pet insurance companies based on what your current deductible and reimbursement level. Just contact our customer care team and ask to have a price comparison emailed to you. Give Jake a big hug for us!

The Healthy Paws Team

Linda
MINE HAS DOULBED FROM 2014 to almost $70. I’m done with them. I can save the money myself, instead of throwing it away.
Mike B
I will say that the premium increase seems like a lot of money. However, I will say that we had to put our 13 year old Labrador retriever down last Christmas after a battle with cancer. At the time I didn’t have this kind of insurance for her and the costs were well over $10,000 dollars. I feel in the long run the cost will be worth it and if our dog never needs it, I can live with that. When you consider the cost of car insurance and the fact that their premiums rise much greater each year, seems like a no brainer to me. Our dog is a member of our family and cost is not a primary concern.
Lisa Wise
“Our dog is a member of our family and cost is not a primary concern.” – I wish that no one had to consider cost as a primary concern, but then, we wouldn’t need insurance if that was the case. I have had my 3 dogs insured with Healthy Paws for 4 years. Last year, when the rate jumped almost 25%, I was unhappy but I still thought like you that it’s a worthwhile purchase. I decided to reduce their coverage level so I could keep our costs about the same and still benefit in case of something major, like the cancer you mention. We’ve also had to make decisions for past pets based on cost, when we didn’t have insurance. But, I just got this year’s renewal with ANOTHER 25% increase. One of the dogs is now over 10, but he’s also a small breed, so why should his rate increase 30%?! The other 2 small, mixed-breed girls are only 5 and 6. Again, I’m faced with the decisions – Do I pay this high rate? Do I cut back coverage again, making it even less helpful if something happens? And, most importantly, should I stay with this company now that I can expect hikes of 25% or more? By the time my dogs are of an age when they’re more likely to need care, I won’t be able to afford to keep this insurance and will have paid them thousands of dollars over the years – for nothing. It looks like I need to do some research into the probabilities and see if it’s worth keeping this expensive safeguard or just roll the dice. Sad that it’s come to that point.
Brittany
My pets have been covered by Health Paws for over 6 years. I never exceeded my annual deductible until about three years ago for one of my pet. I have spent months researching different insurances and I even tried the wellness plan from Bansfield prior to covering my pets with Healthy Paws. I decided that it is much more affordable to pay for the wellness care myself versus paying for illness, emergencies that can run into thousands of dollars. For me, wellness care expenses are much more stable and predictable versus accidents and illness. I do hope they will cover spay and neuter one day because we need to fix the epidemic of homeless pets.

The downside to Healthy Paws coverage is: they do not cover dental care and chiropractor and vet office visits. I am more than happy to pay vet office visit because I consider it a co-pay and I can predict how much it will cost versus medical care costs. It is not a problem for me. However, the dental care in my area is at least 1500. If your area offers non-anesthesia dental cleaning, it is much more affordable if your dog has the right temperament.

They have been awesome to my pet who has had several emergencies and requires ongoing medical care. They have not given me any issues with coverage. There was only one time there was a minor misunderstanding. It was easily resolved with further clarification from the vet in writing and references to our earlier conversations about my pet’s pre-existing documentation. For those of you who want to get a policy with healthy paws, I recommend you to have your pets medical record reviewed upon enrollment and have a conversation to make sure you know exactly what is covered and what is not covered so there are no surprises or any disappointment down the road.

I also read in the article that dogs over 8 is only covered up to 60% with 750 annual deductibles. I am not sure if that is accurate because my dog is 13.5 years old and her policy has not changed for over 6 years except for some increase in premiums ( I don’t like it, but not enough to end the plan). I really hope the article is not correct about older dogs coverage. It will hurt older dogs from being adopted into a good home and their chances to have good golden years.

I tell everyone to get their pets insured and they will be grateful they did! It might feel pointless for a few years until you really need it and you will be grateful they are covered! Thank you Healthy Paws for being good to us!

Susan Smith
Our 10 month old puppy, Leo was recently diagnosed with a very serious condition requiring him to have surgery on his skull and spine. Within 24 hours of submitting our claim, we had an answer regarding our coverage. Within a few days, we received our payment. During a very stressful time for our family, Healthy Paws helped alleviate some of our worries with kindness and efficiency. I highly recommend Healthy Paws for your pet’s medical insurance!!
Joe Stuetelberg
Healthy Paws is absolutely the best. Amok has had a few pretty costly medical expenses including the Bloat surgery he just had. They have never given me a hard time on anything and reimbursed in 2 days on claims of all shapes and sizes. I highly recommend looking into them if you haven’t already. They have been a literal life saver.
Dina
So far Healthy Paws has not covered any medical bills. I am seriously doubting it is worth it.
Tim
Dina – As a company, we value our client’s input, good or bad. We regret that you are not satisfied with our plan. Unfortunately, we cannot find your account in our system with any degree of certainty using the limited information in your post. We would really like to know more about your concerns. If you’re interested in sharing some details, please contact us at 855-898-8991 and ask to speak to a Customer Liaison Manager.
LRowe
I have had a horrible experience with Healthy paws. They repeatedly asked for medical records that were already sent to them twice or more. They never processed a claim or communicated what was going on but when I would call and ask them did they receive everything they needed they said oh yes we have everything then they would do nothing, this happened 3 times! Now they have denied the claim for what sounds like a different dogs symptoms. Run don’t walk from these people!
Tim
Linda,

The records we received from your veterinarian did include your pet’s name and date of birth, which matched the information you entered when you enrolled your pet and where identical to the records you recently sent to us.

We apologize for the delay in the processing your claim. All claim decisions are based off of your pet’s medical records and the signs/symptoms that are noted by your veterinarian. We use a pet’s medical records and notes written by the attending veterinarian to determine if there are any pre-existing conditions which would keep us from approving a claim. As you stated in your review, we did receive your pet’s records, but our team had contacted you in regards to earlier records from another hospital your pet had been to. Once you clarified that there were no more records, we were able to process your claim. Unfortunately, since your pet’s condition was noted prior to enrollment and therefore a pre-existing condition, we could not provide coverage. We’re sorry to lose you as a client and hope you and your pet stay well.

The Healthy Paws Team

Dorothy
I have a cat that acts more like a dog! My 12 year old tuxedo cat was recently diagnosed with Feline lower urinary tract disease (FLUTD). His treatment included catheterization to clear his bladder, numerous vet visits, blood and urine tests, frequent monitoring at the Vet’s office and 2 weeks of meds for after care at home. I submitted all the bills for his treatment using the HealthyPaws app, which is amazingly easy to use. My claim was reviewed and approved the next day and the funds were in my account within days.

HealthyPaws understands how stressful it is to have a sick pet and worry about the cost of care. The monthly premium I have paid is well worth the peace of mind it gives me.

Lynnette M Frary
I love Healthy Paws!!! They have the best customer service, they have never denied any services needed for my pup (soon to be two) and he’s had a bunch of minor problems, but they’ve never given me any problem. I normally get reimbursed within two weeks of claim submission.

I used a different insurer for my other dog, and they canceled her after a bait and switch scheme, but unfortunately she’s un-insurable with Healthy Paws due to allergies, otherwise she’d be hooked up too.

Kimber Bear
Oakley, my 65 pound lab mix, had an unfortunate condition called patella luxation in both knees that he was diagnosed with when he was 1. Although it’s not a completely uncommon condition, its pretty unusual in larger dogs. The vet explained if Oakley did not have the surgery, due to his size, he would be quite miserable when he got older as he would develop arthritis, likely be bow-legged and his knees might slip out of their grooves permanently. I was forewarned the cost of the surgery, hospitalization, medications, X-Rays, exams, IV’s, etc. would total about $3,000 per surgery. Since he was covered through Healthy Paws, having the surgeries was a no brainer. I had already chosen the plan with the $200 annual deductible which would cover 90% of covered expenses. Healthy Paws was true to their word. For example, one of my most costly individual statements was $2,487.81. After my $200 deductible, I received a check within days, no hassles, no questions asked, for $2.039.03. This is the least stressed I’ve ever been about a pet’s health as I know that now I can afford to take care of him and still pay my electric bill. One of the best investments I’ve ever made!