Pet Insurance Reviews 2021: The Best Companies And Plans Reviewed By A Licensed Professional

Our pet insurance experts (including a licensed professional) review the industry’s most reputable companies, conduct extensive research, and analyze customer feedback. In addition, our pet insurance reviews are regularly updated throughout the year as providers undergo changes to their policies, premiums, payout limits, reimbursements, customer service experience, and more. Who are the best pet insurance companies this year? Let’s find out.

Top 3 Pet Insurance Companies

Figo Healthy Paws Pets Best
Visit Website Visit Website Visit Website
Ranking 1st 2nd 3rd
Total Score 4.55 4.30 4.25
Policy Coverage 4.90 4.30 5.00
Customer Service & Reputation 4.40 4.90 4.30
Claim Repayment 4.50 4.70 2.60
Price Of Policy 4.00 3.90 4.40
Plan Customization 5.00 3.80 5.00
Read Review Read Review Read Review

Total Score, Policy Coverage, Customer Service & Reputation, Claim Repayment, Price Of Policy, and Plan Customization are all on a scale of 0 to 5.

Article Overview

Top 3 Companies Reviewed

Without further ado, here are our top three winners for the best pet insurance company for 2021. We highlight a brief snapshot of each company, your options for deductibles and reimbursement amounts, and what stands out in terms of coverage and exclusions compared to the competition. We also encourage you to get a quote and compare rates from at least three companies and read our in-depth reviews of those you are interested in.

Winner – Figo Review

Figo pet insurance logo #1

Visit Website | Compare Rates

Our Experts’ Rating: 4.55/5.00
Figo has some of the lowest prices in the industry without sacrificing coverage.

Key Features

Plan & Cost Options

Coverage

Exclusions

  • Pricing: among the lowest, on average
  • Waiting periods: 14 days for illnesses, 1 day for accidents (depending on the state), and 6 months for cruciate ligament, knees, and hip dysplasia
  • Claim repayment: averages 4 days, but 50% are closed within 24 hours
  • BBB rating: B
  • Deductible: $100, $200, $250, $500, $750, $1,000, $1,500
  • Reimbursement: 60%, 65%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 100%
  • Payout: $5,000, $10,000, $20,000, unlimited
  • Limit term: annual
  • Transaction fee: $2/month (can be waived if you pay annually)
  • One-time fee: $15
  • Multi-pet discount: 5%
  • Behavioral therapies
  • Exam fees for an extra fee
  • 2 optional wellness plans
  • Prescription medications
  • Alternative/holistic therapies
  • Pet is covered within the U.S., Canada, and Puerto Rico
  • Bilateral conditions (conditions or diseases that affect both sides of the body)

Promo Code

Our readers have access to an exclusive 5% off a new Figo pet insurance policy – just use this link to get started. You can also visit our dedicated Figo promotions page.

Learn More About Figo In Our Full Review

2nd – Healthy Paws Review

Healthy Paws logo with tagline (pet insurance and foundation) #2

Visit Website | Compare Rates

Our Experts’ Rating: 4.30/5.00
Healthy Paws offers unlimited payouts for all of its plans, making it an excellent option for those of you who want no limits to your benefits.

Key Features

Plan & Cost Options

Coverage

Exclusions

  • Pricing: among the lowest for unlimited payouts
  • Customer satisfaction: high
  • Waiting periods: 15 days for illnesses, accidents, and cruciate ligament and 12 months for hip dysplasia
  • Claim repayment: averages 2 days
  • Restrictions: pets enrolled after 8
  • BBB rating: A
  • Deductible: $100, $250, $500, $750
  • Reimbursement: 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%
  • Payout: unlimited
  • Limit term: annual
  • One-time fee: $25 (not applicable in all states)
  • Prescription medication
  • Pet is covered within the U.S. or Canada (up to 3 months)
  • Pre-existing cruciate ligament problems excludes coverage for both knees
  • Behavioral therapies
  • Exam fees
  • Wellness care
  • Alternative/holistic therapies
  • Pets enrolled after age 6 aren’t eligible for hip dysplasia coverage
  • Pets enrolled after 4 in NY

Promo Code

Use this link to receive the best price we can offer you and get a quote for your pet from Healthy Paws. You can also visit our dedicated Healthy Paws promotions page.

Learn More About Healthy Paws In Our Full Review

3rd – Pets Best Review

Pets Best with tagline (pet health insurance) #3

Visit Website | Compare Rates

Our Experts’ Rating: 4.25/5.00
Pets Best offers excellent coverage, an “accident-only plan,” and has no upper age limits.

Key Features

Plan & Cost Options

Coverage

Exclusions

  • Pricing: among the least expensive, on average
  • Waiting periods: 14 days for illnesses and hip dysplasia, 3 days for accidents, 6 months for cruciate ligament, and 1 day for wellness
  • Claim repayment: averages 25-40 days
  • BBB rating: A+
  • Deductible: $50, $100, $200, $250, $500, $1,000
  • Reimbursement: 70%, 80%, 90%
  • Payout: $5,000, unlimited
  • Limit term: annual
  • Transaction fee: $2/month
  • Multi-pet discount: 5%
  • Behavioral therapies
  • Exam fees for an extra fee
  • 2 optional wellness plans
  • Prescription medication
  • Pet is covered in the U.S., Canada, and Puerto Rico
  • Bilateral conditions (conditions or diseases that affect both sides of the body)
  • Alternative/holistic therapies

Promo Code

Pets Best offers two discounts that you may be eligible for when you use this link:

  • 5% multi-pet discount
  • 5% discount for military members and their families

You can also visit our dedicated Pets Best promotions page.

Learn More About Pets Best In Our Full Review

Pet Insurance Plans Comparison Chart

The table below shows some of the deductible, reimbursement, and payout options for each company.

Please know that not all deductible, reimbursement, and payout limits are available for every dog in every state.

Company Ranking Review Deductible* Reimbursement** Payout Options*** Limit Term
FIGO logo 1st Read Review $100, $200, $250, $500, $750, $1,000, $1,500 60%, 65%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 100% $5,000, $10,000, $20,000, Unlimited Annual
Healthy Paws logo 2nd Read Review $100, $250, $500, $750 60%, 70%, 80%, 90% Unlimited Annual
Pets Best logo 3rd Read Review $50, $100, $200, $250, $500, $1,000 70%, 80%, 90% $5,000, Unlimited Annual
Embrace logo 4th Read Review $200, $300, $500, $750, $1,000 70%, 80%, 90% $5,000, $8,000, $10,000, $15,000, $30,000, Unlimited Annual
PetPlan logo 5th Read Review $250, $300, $500 70%, 80%, 90% $5,000, $15,000, Unlimited Annual
ASPCA logo 6th Read Review $100, $250, $500 70%, 80%, 90% $3,000, $5,000, $7,000, $10,000 Annual
Spot Pet Insurance logo 7th Read Review $100, $250, $500, $750, $1,000 70%, 80%, 90% $2,500, $4,000, $5,000, $7,000, $10,000, Unlimited Annual
Lemonade Pet Insurance logo 8th Read Review $100, $250, $500 70%, 80%, 90% $5,000, $10,000, $20,000, $50,000, $100,000 Annual
Nationwide Pet Insurance logo 9th Read Review $250 50%, 70%, 90% Limited Per Condition, Unlimited Annual & Per Condition Annually
Trupanion logo 10th Read Review $0-$1,000 (in $5 increments) 90% Unlimited Lifetime

*Deductible: The amount of money you must pay for vet treatment before your policy will begin to reimburse you and after coinsurance has been applied. For most companies, you must pay this deductible annually rather than per incident. Be sure to understand your policy, as the annual vs per-incident deductible can vary greatly.
**Reimbursement: The percentage of a claim that you’re eligible for repayment by the pet insurance company after you’ve paid the coinsurance.
***Payout Limit Options: The highest amount a pet insurance company will reimburse during the policy period. A lower payout limit means you may be responsible for more costs if your pet experiences expensive vet treatment(s).

Cost And Coverage Comparisons

We’ve compiled a couple of comparison tables that address cost and coverage issues:

Dog At Vet: Is Pet Insurance Worth It?If you’re unsure where to start, you may want to read our experts’ take on whether pet insurance is worth it. It addresses common questions such as how pet insurance works, what it covers, statistics, reimbursement stories, whether it’s worth it for everyone, and more.

†You should expect annual increases on your premiums from most pet insurance companies. These rates and increases will vary based on your location, changes in vet costs, and more.

Free Pet Insurance Quotes

Pet Insurance Quote Form WidgetOur coverage comparison is relatively straightforward, but pricing comparisons can get complicated. Why? Pricing quotes are unique because they’re based on a pet’s age, breed, geographic location, and several other factors.

For this reason, we encourage you to get quotes from multiple companies before deciding on a pet insurance provider. We’ve made this easy for you by creating a free quote form that pulls quotes from top pet insurance companies when you fill out your pet’s details. By entering your pet’s specific characteristics, you can get a better understanding of the coverage needed.

More Companies Reviewed (4th – 10th Place)

The companies listed below didn’t rank in our top three, but with the exception of two very popular new entrants (Lemonade and Spot), they’ve been in business for at least five years and have established a solid history (this is a requirement to be eligible for our top three – here’s why). We review these companies with just as much scrutiny as our top-rated providers. Every pet and every situation is different. So you may find the best fit for your unique furry friend with one of these companies rather than our top recommendations.

Why Are New Companies Not Eligible For Our Top 3?

In the past, we’ve seen new companies enter the pet insurance space at meager prices. However, after some time in business and paying some claims, these companies increase rates to make ends meet. This hurts the customers because their premiums increase drastically — and if they submitted a claim, their pet now has a pre-existing condition. So, if you change providers, that condition won’t be covered by another pet insurance provider. In the end, you may have been better off going with a different, more well-established company.

Because of these issues, we’ve decided only to rank pet insurance companies in the top three that have at least five full years of national experience. We think this approach gives companies time to establish a consistent pricing system and reputation, giving customers and our team a better idea of what to expect. That being said, our experts will still cover new entrants (subject to reader demand) and bring you everything we can find on these companies in our reviews, so you have all the options at your disposal.

4th – Embrace Review

Embrace logo

Visit Website | Compare Rates

Our Experts’ Rating: 4.20/5.00
Embrace has an excellent reputation and thorough coverage; however, you can almost always find a more affordable plan with excellent coverage from one of our top three providers.

Key Features

Plan & Cost Options

Coverage

Exclusions

  • Reputation: excellent
  • Pricing: can be high or low
  • Waiting periods: 14 days for illnesses, 2 days for accidents, 6 months for orthopedic conditions (can be decreased to 14 days with an orthopedic report card*)
  • Claim repayment: averages 8-9 days
  • BBB rating: A+
  • Deductible: $200, $300, $500, $750, $1,000
  • Reimbursement: 70%, 80%, 90%
  • Payout: $5,000, $8,000, $10,000, $15,000, $30,000, unlimited
  • Limit term: annual
  • One-time fee: $25
  • Transaction fee: $1/month
  • Multi-pet discount: 10% (5% in NY)
  • Behavioral therapies
  • Exam fees
  • Optional wellness plan (not available in RI)
  • Up to $1,000/year for dental illness
  • Prescription medication
  • Alternative/holistic therapies
  • Hydrotherapy
  • Pet is covered worldwide
  • Bilateral conditions (conditions or diseases that affect both sides of the body)
  • Pets enrolled after 14 for illness

*An orthopedic report card is a veterinary exam and waiver process designed to assess any bone or muscle deformities in your dog. To reduce the six-month waiting period for orthopedic conditions, take your dog to the vet and have an orthopedic exam conducted after your policy is purchased. Your vet will record any health findings for your dog’s hips, legs, shoulders, forelimbs, spine, joints, and bones. You can learn more about Embrace’s orthopedic exam and waiver process for dogs.

Promo Code

Embrace offers a few different discounts:

  • If you have multiple pets, each one gets 10% off (5% in NY).
  • Pay annually and get 5% off in NY.
  • USAA customers are eligible for a discount of up to 15% off.

No discount code is needed – click here to take advantage of these offers. You can also visit our dedicated Embrace promotions page.

Learn More About Embrace In Our Full Review

5th – Petplan Review

Petplan logo

Visit Website | Compare Rates

Our Experts’ Rating: 3.95/5.00
Petplan offers the most thorough coverage compared to other companies, but it may mean paying a higher price for coverage that may not be as important to you.

Key Features

Plan & Cost Options

Coverage

Exclusions

  • Covers curable pre-existing conditions: after 365 days free from treatment and symptoms
  • Pricing: more expensive, on average
  • Claim repayment reputation: excellent
  • Waiting periods: 15 days for illnesses and accidents and 6 months for cruciates, patellas, and hip dysplasia
  • Claim repayment: 12-22 days
  • Policies of $15,000 annual payout or more include additional coverage: cost of advertising and paying a reward for a stolen or lost pet, cost of boarding your pet while you’re in the hospital, reimbursement for the price you paid for your pet if your pet dies or has to be euthanized due to injury or illness, and more
  • BBB rating: A (via Fetch, Inc.)
  • Deductible: $250, $300, $500
  • Reimbursement: 70%, 80%, 90%
  • Payout: $5,000, $15,000, unlimited
  • Limit term: annual
  • Transaction fee: $1.50 or $3.50
  • Up to $1,000 in VirtualVet visits over video chat, call, or text
  • Behavioral therapies
  • Exam fees
  • Prescription medication
  • Alternative/holistic therapies
  • Hydrotherapy
  • Pet is covered within the U.S. and Canada
  • Pre-existing cruciate ligament problems excludes coverage for both knees
  • Wellness care

Promo Code

There are no Petplan promo codes at this time. Sign up online to receive the best possible price from Petplan. Alternatively, call 800-237-1123 if you prefer to speak to a person.

Learn More About Petplan In Our Full Review

6th – ASCPA Pet Insurance Review

ASPCA Insurance logo

Visit Website | Compare Rates

Our Experts’ Rating: 3.95/5.00
ASPCA Pet Health Insurance offers accident-only plans and accident and illness plans with the option of adding on wellness coverage.

Key Features

Plan & Cost Options

Coverage

Exclusions

  • Covers curable pre-existing conditions: after 180 days free from treatment and symptoms
  • Customer satisfaction: complaints of low reimbursements
  • Waiting periods: 14 days for illness, accidents, cruciate ligaments, and hip dysplasia
  • Claim repayment: slower than average
  • BBB rating: A+ (via C&F Insurance Agency, Inc.)
  • Deductible: $100, $250, $500
  • Reimbursement: 70%, 80%, 90%
  • Payout: $3,000, $5,000, $7,000, $10,000
  • Limit term: annual
  • Transaction fee: $2/month
  • Multi-pet discount: 10%
  • Behavioral therapies
  • Exam fees
  • Optional wellness plan as an add-on
  • Prescription medication
  • Alternative/holistic therapies
  • Pet is covered within the U.S., Guam, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, and Canada
  • Pre-existing cruciate ligament problems excludes coverage for both knees

Promo Code

Are you looking for an ASPCA Pet Insurance promo code? Click here for the best deal we could find.

Learn More About ASPCA In Our Full Review

7th – Spot Review

Spot pet insurance logo (Caption: We've got them covered)

Visit Website | Compare Rates

Our Experts’ Rating: 3.90/5.00
Spot is newer to the pet insurance industry, and its chairman is Cesar Millan from “The Dog Whisperer.”

Key Features

Plan & Cost Options

Coverage

Exclusions

  • Pricing: higher than average
  • Waiting periods: 14 days for illnesses, accidents, cruciate ligaments, and hip dysplasia
  • Claim repayment: average 10-14 days
  • BBB rating: A-
  • Deductible: $100, $250, $500, $750, $1,000
  • Reimbursement: 70%, 80%, 90%
  • Payout: $2,500, $4,000, $5,000, $7,000, $10,000, unlimited
  • Limit term: annual
  • Transaction fee: $2/month
  • Multi-pet discount: 10%
  • Behavioral therapies
  • Exam fees
  • 2 optional wellness plans
  • Prescription medication
  • Alternative/holistic therapies
  • Pet is covered within the U.S., Canada, Puerto Rico, and other U.S. territories
  • Pre-existing cruciate ligament problems excludes coverage for both knees

Coupon Code

Are you looking for a Spot Pet Insurance promo code? Click here for the best deal we could find.

Learn More About Spot In Our Full Review

8th – Lemonade Pet Insurance Review

Lemonade Pet Insurance logo

Visit Website | Compare Rates

Our Experts’ Rating: 3.60/5.00
Lemonade has an AI-driven claims process, and although it’s new to the pet insurance space, it’s not new to insurance since it’s been offering homeowners and renters insurance for a few years.

Key Features

Plan & Cost Options

Coverage

Exclusions

  • Pricing: lower than average
  • Waiting periods: 2 days for accidents, 14 days for illnesses and hip dysplasia, and 6 months for cruciate ligament
  • Claim repayment: no timeline promised
  • Availability: only in 34 states and DC
  • Restrictions: for breeds, once they reach a certain age
  • BBB rating: C
  • Deductible: $100, $250, $500
  • Reimbursement: 70%, 80%, 90%
  • Payout: $5,000, $10,000, $20,000, $50,000, $100,000
  • Limit term: annual
  • Exam fees for an extra fee
  • Optional wellness plan
  • Prescription medication
  • Bilateral conditions (conditions or diseases that affect both sides of the body)
  • Coverage for physical therapy, acupuncture, and hydrotherapy must be purchased separately
  • Behavioral therapies
  • Pet isn’t covered outside of the U.S.

Promo Code

Are you looking for a Lemonade promo code? Click here for the best deal we could find.

Learn More About Lemonade In Our Full Review

9th – Nationwide Pet Insurance Review

Nationwide logo

Visit Website | Compare Rates

Our Experts’ Rating: 3.35/5.00
Nationwide offers pet insurance policies similar to the other companies in this comparison and benefit schedule policies.

Key Features

Plan & Cost Options

Coverage

Exclusions

  • Customer satisfaction: many complaints
  • Waiting periods: 14 days for accidents and illnesses, 1 day for wellness, 12 months for cruciate ligament (6 months in GA), 0-12 months for hip dysplasia (depending on your plan)
  • Claim repayment: 30 days
  • Restrictions: for pets older than 10
  • BBB rating: A+
  • Deductible: $250
  • Reimbursement: 50%, 70%, 90%
  • Payout: limited per condition, unlimited
  • Limit term: annual & per condition annually
  • Transaction fee: $2/month
  • Multi-pet discount: 5% for 2-3 pets or 10% for 4+ pets
  • Behavioral therapies (Whole Pet Plan)
  • Exam fees
  • Optional wellness plan can be purchased on its own as an add-on
  • Prescription medication
  • Alternative/holistic therapies
  • Pet is covered worldwide
  • Optional exotic pets
  • Major Medical Plan (benefit schedule):
    • Certain orthopedic conditions
    • Hereditary disorders
    • Congenital anomalies
    • Behavioral therapy

Promo Code

Are you looking for a Nationwide Pet Insurance promo code? Click here for the best deal we could find.

Learn More About Nationwide In Our Full Review

10th – Trupanion Review

trupanion

Visit Website | Compare Rates

Our Experts’ Rating: 3.20/5.00
Trupanion stands out with its per condition and lifetime deductibles, meaning that once it’s paid, you never pay the deductible again for that condition.

Key Features

Plan & Cost Options

Coverage

Exclusions

  • Pricing: among the most expensive, on average
  • Plan customization: limited
  • Waiting periods: 30 days for illnesses, cruciate ligament, and hip dysplasia and 5 days for accidents
  • Claim repayment: averages 14 days
  • BBB rating: A
  • Deductible: $0-$1,000 (in $5 increments)
  • Reimbursement: 90%
  • Payout: unlimited
  • Limit term: per-condition & lifetime
  • One-time fee: $35 ($25 in WA, $0 in MD and MI)
  • Offers enrollment from birth (sooner than competitors)
  • Prescription medication
  • Pet is covered within the U.S., Canada, and Puerto Rico
  • Coverage for physical therapy, acupuncture, hydrotherapy, and behavioral modification training and therapy must be purchased separately
  • Exam fees
  • Wellness care
  • Pets enrolled after 14

Promo Code

Are you looking for a Trupanion promo code? Click here for the best deal we could find.

Learn More About Trupanion In Our Full Review

Don’t See Your Company?

Didn’t see the company you were looking for? Wondering what happened to 24PetWatch, Bivvy, Companion Protect, Hartville, ManyPets, Odie, PetFirst, PetPartners, PetPremium, Prudent Pet, Pumpkin, Toto, Wagmo, or policies offered by Allstate, American Family, Farmers Insurance, Geico, MetLife, Progressive, State Farm, USAA, Waffle, or Walmart? Don’t worry, we’ve got you covered. We have stats and full reviews on all of these companies on our pet insurance companies’ listing page.

Why Trust Our Reviews?

We know choosing the right pet insurance policy for your pet is a personal decision. That’s why we value your trust in us to provide all the objective information you need to make an informed choice. Here is a quick comparison table showing what we can offer you compared to the competition.

Canine Journal Pawlicy Advisor Pet Insurance Review Reviews.com
Website Launched 2007 2018 2005 2013
Website’s Focus Covers Everything Dog-Related Sells Pet Insurance Policies Aggregates Pet Insurance Consumer Reviews Reviews Insurance, Home Security, Internet & TV
Number Of Pet Insurance Companies On Website 40 6 21 10
Number Of Pet Insurance Comparison Articles 15 X X 2
Number Of Individual Pet Insurance Company Reviews 20 6 X 6
Personalized Quote Form Checkmark Checkmark Checkmark X
Expert Assistance Choosing A Plan Checkmark Checkmark X X
Pros & Cons Checkmark X X Checkmark
Discounts For Readers Checkmark X X X
Pet Insurance Company Directory Checkmark X X X
Coverage Comparison Table Checkmark Checkmark X X
Plan Customization Comparison Table Checkmark X Checkmark X
Waiting Period Comparison Table Checkmark X X X
Licensed Insurance Agent On Staff Checkmark Checkmark X X
Licensed Veterinarian Consultant On Staff Checkmark X X X
Compare Two Providers Side-By-Side Checkmark Checkmark X X
Real Customer Reviews Checkmark X Checkmark X
Engage w/ Companies To Generate Improvements Checkmark X X X

What Is (And Isn’t) Covered By Pet Insurance?

Please know that none of the pet insurance providers in our comparison cover pre-existing conditions, cremation and burial costs, pregnancy and breeding, or unnecessary cosmetic procedures.

All of them cover the following items when deemed medically necessary: emergency care, surgery and hospitalization, specialized exams and specialty care, x-rays, blood tests, ultrasounds, cat scans, MRIs, rehabilitation, cancer, chronic conditions, euthanasia, hereditary conditions, congenital conditions, and non-routine dental treatment.

However, there may be limitations to this coverage, so please check your policy. Our experts have put together a comprehensive guide to what pet insurance covers. You’ll also find cost and reimbursement examples, criteria to consider, alternatives to pet insurance, wellness plans, and more.

Which Pet Insurance Company Is Best For You?

The number of pet insurance companies to choose from is overwhelming. People often decide to go with the largest, most well-known company, failing to spend the essential time needed to consider their options fully. But if you take the time to do some research, you may find a provider that’s a better fit for your particular breed and health concerns. We recommend that you first and foremost consider these factors:

  1. Your biggest concern as a pet parent should be the reputation of the pet insurance provider. Have you heard of them? Do family and friends use them? What has their experience been when they’ve had to file a claim? Getting a pet insurance policy is useless if it doesn’t cover what you expect it to cover or if you can’t afford the monthly premium. Remember, although the monthly cost is important, it’s not the most crucial factor when choosing insurance. The whole point of any insurance policy is to ensure that you have the coverage to pay for otherwise unaffordable bills in emergencies.
  2. Decide what type of coverage you want for your dog and which additional perks may be negotiable to lower your costs. If you’d like to learn more about what some of the commonly referenced terms in pet insurance mean, check out our terminology 101 section that breaks the lingo down into laymen’s terms for you.
  3. Don’t hesitate to contact potential providers with any questions before signing up. And pay close attention to that experience — it may be a reflection of customer service quality down the road.

Picking a pet insurance plan is a personal choice, and no one knows what your dog needs better than you. Take the time to make an informed decision, and know that it’ll be worth having the added protection in the long run. We’re here to help in any way we can, so don’t hesitate to ask any outstanding questions anywhere on this site.

How To Pick Pet Insurance Infographic

Here’s a handy graphic we made to reference when shopping for pet insurance.

How To Pick The Best Pet Insurance Infographic

Best Pet Insurance Providers By Category (Need)

In addition to our comprehensive reviews of the most popular pet insurance providers (this article), we also review providers based on value and special needs. Head to our best pet insurance article to see providers ranked based on value factors, including price, a healthy pet discount, multiple pets option, and reimbursements. You’ll also see that we review coverage based on special needs, including the best pet insurance for older dogs, dental health, wellness coverage, and bilateral conditions.