ASPCA & Hartville Pet Insurance Reviews: When A Name Is Just A Name

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Dog running in water with stick in mouth (caption: ASPCA & Hartville Pet Insurance Reviews)You may have come across ASPCA Pet Insurance and wonder if it’s an excellent option since it has a prominent and trustworthy brand name.

Or maybe you’re curious about Hartville Pet Insurance? While this brand may look different from ASPCA Pet Insurance, it is actually the same exact product sold under a different brand name.

Confused? So were we before we took a closer look.

Visit ASPCA Pet Insurance | Visit Hartville Pet Insurance

Article Overview

How Are ASPCA Pet Insurance & Hartville Related?

ASPCA Pet Health Insurance isn’t affiliated with the ASPCA (Crum & Forster (C&F) pays a royalty fee for the use of the ASPCA name). Both Hartville and ASPCA pet insurance is administered by C&F Insurance Agency, Inc., which has been in the insurance business since 1997. ASPCA is serviced under a licensing agreement by C&F Pet Insurance Group along with a few other branded products.

To further clarify, ASPCA and Hartville Pet Insurance offer an identical product and policy sold under two different brand names. ASPCA is the more well-known product thanks to the prominent ASPCA reputation, which may be why Hartville is selling a portion of its insurance under the ASPCA name.

The fact that the ASPCA is putting its name on this Hartville product says a lot about their trust in this pet insurance. Both ASPCA Pet Health Insurance and Hartville Pet Insurance are available to the all consumers, as well as to groups and employers.

ASPCA and Hartville have the same policy details so all info shared in this review applies to both unless stated otherwise.

ASPCA Pet Insurance

3.8 / 5
ASPCA Pet Insurance
Policy Coverage 4.8
Customer Service & Reputation 2.0
Timeliness of Claim Payment 4.8
Price of Policy 3.8

Pros

  • Offers optional wellness coverage
  • Conditions that are free of symptoms and treatment for 180 days are not considered pre-existing conditions
  • BBB rating: A+ (C&F Insurance Agency, Inc.)
  • 30-day money back guarantee

Cons

  • $2 transaction fee, if not paying annually
  • 14-day waiting period for illnesses and accidents, including knee and ligament injuries
  • Can't change/add some items to plan until the next 12 month period begins
  • Low reimbursements reported by customers

Key Features

  • Underwriter: United States Fire Insurance Company
  • No exam period
  • Pre-existing conditions defined by ASPCA/Hartville:
    • Illness, disease, injury, or change to your pet’s health that first occurs or shows symptoms before coverage is effective or during a waiting period. This includes conditions that are related to, secondary, or resultant from a pre-existing condition. A condition will no longer be considered pre-existing if your pet’s condition has been cured and free from treatment and symptoms for a period of 180 days.
  • Claim repayment averages 14-16 days, and direct deposit is an option
  • Must submit your claim within 270 days from the date of service via the mobile app, mail, email, fax or online
  • Option to pay vets directly, so you don’t have to pay a hefty vet bill in advance and wait for reimbursement (not available everywhere)
  • One bilateral exclusion (a condition or disease that affects both sides of the body)
    • From ASPCA: If your pet exhibited symptoms of a knee and ligament condition at any time, prior to enrollment or during a waiting period, all ligament and knee conditions will be excluded. Ligament and Knee are conditions involving a ligament, patella, meniscus or soft tissue disorder of the knee.
  • 30-day free look period (similar to a money-back guarantee)
  • Customer service hours:
    • Email and phone: Monday – Friday 8am – 9pm EST, Saturday 9am – 5pm EST and Sunday 11am – 3pm EST
  • Emergency hotline available for you to find out how much of your pet’s treatment will be covered and get an estimate on the payout

What Do ASPCA & Hartville Cover?

Below is a list of services covered (and not covered) by ASPCA Pet Insurance/Hartville (as of December 2018).

CoveredNot Covered
SurgeriesPre-existing conditions
HospitalizationCosmetic procedures
CancerBreeding costs
Prescription medications
Diagnostic treatment and testing (x-rays, blood tests, etc.)
Injuries & accidents
Illness
Non-routine veterinary exams & visits, including consults with specialists and emergency hospital office visits.
Hereditary conditions
Chronic conditions
Congenital conditions
Emergency care
Alternative treatment
Behavioral therapies
Preventative coverage (additional cost)

Is Hip Dysplasia Covered?

Hip dysplasia coverage is under the Complete Coverage plan subject to the annual deductible, reimbursement percentage and annual limit selected by the customer. There’s a 14-day waiting period.

Pricing Quotes

ASPCA Pet Health Insurance and Hartville offer customization options that allow you to choose your deductible ($100, $250 or $500) and reimbursement percentage (70%, 80% or 90%). The companies also offer five annual limit options: $5,000, $10,000, $15,000, $20,000 or unlimited.

The cost of each policy is unique to your pet and depends on many variables, including your pet’s age, breed, location, health conditions and more. To give you a general idea, we gathered the following sample quotes in December 2018.

BreedLabrador RetrieverGolden RetrieverGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
GenderMaleFemaleMaleFemaleMaleFemaleMale
Age28464 months7 months2
LocationIowa (Zip code 50125)Illinois (Zip code 60631)California (Zip code 92027)New York (Zip code 10012)New York (Zip code 10012)Iowa (Zip code 50125)Ohio (zip code 44108)
Price Per Month$49.70$76.28$46.59$48.75$34.13$32.40$25.98
Reimbursement Level80%70%80%90%90%70%80%
Annual Deductible$250$500$500$250$250$500$250
Annual Maximum$10,000$5,000$15,000$5,000$5,000Unlimited$20,000

You can get personalized price quotes for your pet(s) from reputable companies when you fill out just 1 short form. You can also visit our Pet Insurance Quotes page to see how ASPCA/Hartville’s costs stacks up against the competition.

Coupon Code

There are no active ASPCA Pet Health Insurance coupon codes at this time.

Waiting Periods

ASPCA Pet Health Insurance Customer Reviews

Positive Reviews

We got this insurance a few years ago after our dog spent almost a week in doggy intensive care after a bout of leptospirosis. It was apparent that she was prone to illness and we wanted to avoid another $5000 plus vet bill. She is an older dog with a pre-existing condition so it wasn’t cheap over $1000 per year. In the last six months she’s ended up back in the MSPCA hospital twice, the most recent time several days for severe pancreatitis.Both visits combined racked up a bill of about $6000 of which over $5000 was paid back by ASPCA insurance after deductibles etc. Not perfect but we have been happy with their coverage and response time. – Kevin B., Yelp 4/9/2018

So far, I have been very happy with the service provided through ASPCA. The only mild complaint I do have, is that the turnaround time for claims, is a little long, in comparison to other insurance companies. But, I understand that you guys have a lot to evaluate. The other thing I have had very mild issue with is the fact that prescription diets are not covered unless they are treating a medical condition. I feel like that was not clearly explained when the company advertised that they cover the prescription diets. But those two things are very minor. I really have been super happy with my experiences from the start. The customer service has been very professional and helpful. The online website also is very easy to navigate and understand. I am overall satisfied with my choice for ASPCA insurance. – Danielle, Consumer Affairs 12/18/2018

Negative Reviews

ASPCA acting as a cheap spamming emails company. After I got a quote for my dog – the ASPCA company got crazy with their promo emails! After some time I started getting emails from other companies with their promo insurance offers for my dog. Obviously ASPCA company was trading my emailing address to other companies. Just no need such annoying company which as I can see irresponsible and has negative impressions by the ASPCA company clients. – John, Consumer Affairs 3/27/2018

I added a policy with the ASPCA and thought with their new policies that it was a good choice. That couldn’t be further from the truth, and I have already cancelled after less than 24 hours. They called to “welcome” me to the ASPCA and I proceeded to ask them questions regarding pre-existing conditions. The representative told me that anything even not diagnosed would be considered pre-existing. I asked then, since I had a situation where a dog was diagnosed with hip dysplasia after being x-rayed for a knee problem, how I could know all of the issues my dogs had when that dog didn’t have symptoms. Keep in mind that I was clear during the conversation that the dog I asked about had an accident only policy and wouldn’t qualify for illness coverage. The rep then tells me they record these calls and they would refer back to this call AND review the medical records to determine if my dogs had pre-existing conditions. Her tone was accusatory and it certainly seemed like a threat to me. They refuse to review medical records and tell me what was considered pre-existing, and she just told me I could get a quote from the vet and submit it to see if I was covered. I told her I wouldn’t even have anything to submit when my two dogs covered by illness and hereditary conditions didn’t have issues. They indicate these calls are recorded for quality assurance when they call you or you call them. Quality is not the reason for the recording, it is to try to get out of paying in the future Which by the way makes no sense, because my dogs I was going to insure were fairly healthy. They lost out on insuring three pets that are fairly young for life. and you should be VERY careful dealing with this business. Don’t let the nice reps fool you, this lady was sickeningly nice before her threat during the call. – Samantha S., Yelp 1/25/2018

Why Do I Need Pet Insurance?

If your dog experiences any accidents or illnesses, the vet bills can quickly add up. Not insuring your pup can result in hundreds or even thousands of dollars in bills.

What’s Our Verdict On Hartville/ASPCA Pet Insurance?

Visit ASPCA Pet Insurance | Visit Hartville Pet Insurance

When it comes to coverage, customer service and other features, there’s not much that stands out about Hartville/ASPCA Pet Insurance compared to the competition. However, the plan choices are relatively flexible, so you may be able to find the right fit for you and your pup. Find out how Hartville/ASPCA Insurance compares to other top companies in our pet insurance show-down. Learn more about ASPCA insurance in our interview with Liz Watson.

Are you considering ASPCA or Hartville Pet Insurance?

About The Author:

Kimberly received her Bachelor of Arts in multimedia journalism from Simpson College. She has been writing about dogs since 2014, covering subjects such as dog insurance, training, health, accessories and more. Her natural curiosity helps her research as she seeks the truth when learning about, comparing and personally testing canine products and services. With every piece she writes, her goal is to help our readers find the best fit for their unique needs.

Kimberly grew up in a family that loved Labrador Retrievers and remembers running and playing in the yard with them as a child. In 2017, she and her husband adopted their Coonhound mix, Sally, from a local shelter. Kimberly's research was put to good use since Sally faced some aggression issues with other dogs and needed some training to be an inside dog. She worked daily with Sally and sought help from professionals to help Sally become the happy pup she is today.

One of Kimberly's favorite pastimes is spoiling Sally with new toys, comfy beds and yummy treats (she even makes homemade goodies for her). She tries to purchase the safest products for Sally and knows that each canine has their own specific likes and dislikes. Kimberly is passionate about dogs, and knows the bond between humans and canines is like no other.

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Disclaimer: The information provided through this website should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, you should consult your health care provider.

Disclaimer: This website contains reviews, opinions and information regarding products and services manufactured or provided by third parties. We are not responsible in any way for such products and services, and nothing contained here should be construed as a guarantee of the functionality, utility, safety or reliability of any product or services reviewed or discussed. Please follow the directions provided by the manufacturer or service provider when using any product or service reviewed or discussed on this website.

18
Leave a Reply

avatar
newest oldest most voted
Ashley
This is the worst pet insurance company I have ever dealt with. They will not reimburse you for anything, they consider everything to be “pre-existing”. WTH am I paying $50/month for?? They scammed me good, it is not worth it, please anyone who reads this avoid them at all costs!!
Amy Hamman
here’s my review: Let me you about my experience as a loyal ASPCA Pet Health Insurance policy for 11 YEARS. I was just bullied and threatened by an agent/underwriter. I called asking about coverage benefits for my dog “who is 11, pushing 12, and not getting around as well as normal.” I was told that my dog would have a preexisting condition and therefore ineligible for alternative care. I asked what preexisting condition. The AGENT – NOT the VET – then diagnosed my dog as “arthritic.” I countered and said that the dog has NEVER EVEN been seen for ARTHRITIS. The agent/underwriter then made a threatening statement and said that I had admitted my dog wasn’t moving around as fast as normal and that the underwriters will review this phone call and any veterinary notes. If there is one mention of “arthritis” she told me the animal will not qualify for a comprehensive plan that covers alternative therapy. What a rip. And to think I’ve actually recommended this corporate, monster machine (that preys on the emotions of pet owners) to others. NEVER. AGAIN. ASPCA, I hope your’e recording.
Rocco
They lied to get my business. Long story short, I paid a full year in advance and I have yet to break even. They haven’t covered anything preventive or surgical. All this policy did was make my pet expenses, more expensive. Run!
Blossom McBeath
ASPCA insurance is a waste of money. They should be ashamed of themselves for scamming money from loving pet owners. You’re better off putting that money in a separate bank account every month. I’m embarrassed that I let them scam me out of thousands of dollars over 2 years 4 pets. BTW I received a total of $140(2 @ $70 each) back in benefits. Every other claim there was an excuse as to why they could not cover the claim.
rose harrington
If you are comparing pet insurances PLEASE DO NOT buy ASPCA Insurance. Unfortunately my Daisy had cancer and I was forced to keep this insurance but I will tell you any insurance is better the ASPCA. It is not even affiliated with the ASPCA so no money goes to saving animals. Their coverage is minimal compared to other companies and sometime you have to fight to get what you are due. They will even tell you that they have made many changed to be competitive…dont believe them. This is the worst insurance you can buy
Check out Trupanion.
Olly
Not much detail here for a real complaint why bother.
Charlotte F
Do NOT waste your money with this insurance company! I paid for years for my two dogs, and when one of them got sick they only paid a minuscule amount. The next calendar year they stopped paying altogether, as they then considered it a “preexisting” condition. Biggest rip-off ever!
Ragui
I obtained the insurance in August of 2018. I submitted a claim for bladder stones in November, which my dog did not show any signs of for at least 12 months. They denied the claim for pre-existing condition. My vet actually sent them a letter saying our dog has been symptom and condition free for at least one year, which the policy only requires 6 months. I have appealed the decision to the Washington Insurance Commissioner – don’t fight this alone.
Nick Pagoulatos
I have only been with this company for a couple of months now. On 8/24/2018 I submitted a claim in the amount of $224.00. As of today 9/24/2018 I am still waiting for the claim to be processed. Every time I call I am given a different story as to why it’s taking so long. As soon as this claim is processed I will be looking for another insurance company to go with. I would not recomment these guys to anyone.
Anthony
What I am interested in is telling as many people as possible that ASPCA Pet Health Insurance is NOT their best choice in health insurance for their beloved pet. There are many other companies that offer a much wider, more comprehensive plan that will not leave the pet owner hanging in disbelief, monetarily destitute and questioning their actions to help give their dog the possibility of a better life. The eligible benefits are cleverly disguised in the plan write up for ASPCA and most every health concern can be related to a “pre-existing” condition, which they will NOT cover outside the plan period (1 year). Other consumers of pet health insurance that I have spoken with are shocked by the underhanded way the ASPCA went about not covering what they said they would. I have learned my lesson, however grave the consequences may be. My family will move on from this painful experience and make better decisions on pet health insurance in the future.
Suzanne
My family has had over 11 years of experience with this pet health insurance company and throughout those 11 rollercoaster years they have been less than satisfactory. After doing my research and speaking with multiple pet owners, vets, lawyers and other insurance companies, ASPCA Pet Health Insurance has inadequate and outdated policies which luckily for them, cover very little in your pets health. They conspicuously leave out some of the most important aspects of a pet’s welfare and allow you to pay an exorbitant amount of money for insurance that has a lot of inconsistencies and holes. We will never regret providing the necessary healthcare to our dear boy Hance, no matter what the cost, but we will certainly not be using this company for any further assistance. There are many other pet insurance companies that are honest, forthcoming with information, with better and more complete coverage and are less expensive than ASPCA.
Jenna Howard
My experience with this pet insurance company has been a complete nightmare. I signed my dachshund up with ASPCA in August 1st of 2016. My dog Winston was 9 years old at the time and had no preexisting conditions. In the past two years the plan has gone up in price substantially (I started out paying $36.00 a month and I now pay $56.00 a month). Now get this. It is June of this year when my dog got diagnosed with Lymphoma (a quick growing cancer that has a prognosis of two months). For the first time in Winston’s life he has an illness that is severe and needs significant treatment. At this point I am overjoyed that I have put so much money into a pet insurance company that has a limit of $3,000 dollars in order to help prolong Winston’s life (being that I am a grad school student graduate I have significant student loan debt and this monthly $56.00 of allotted money that I was putting towards my pet insurance was precious and significant). Because of ASPCA’s policy that refuses to provide reimbursement for continued treatment after the renewal date (as in—because I started my pet insurance on August 1st, they refuse to reimburse me should Winstons’ treatment’s continue beyond this date, although the yearly limit they provide that they will reimburse towards is $3,000) This appears to violate the agreement that I and many others might assume to exist in that they will provide reimbursement for bills accrued due to illness, accidents, etc. Their abrupt cancelations for canceling reimbursement for my dogs treatment appeared callous and cold as well as only covered two chemotherapy treatments out of the minimum of five that were recommended. My vet (Dr. Lauren Silverman, DVM) at Healthy Pet’s Veterinary Hospital in the West Portal District of San Francisco (where Winston was diagnosed with lymphoma), as well as my current Oncologist (Dr. Bryan Marker DVM, DACVIM) have expressed their dismay and disrespect for the insurance companies apparent disregard for their abrupt cessation of reimbursement support for vet bills right before a renewal date. Had Winston been diagnosed with cancer in September, he would have had 11 months of reimbursable treatments that could have prolonged his life (as Winston was responding favorably to the chemotherapy). I am extremely disappointed that the massive fine print in the ASPCA pet insurance allows them to feel compelled to not reimburse me for any treatment taking place after August 3rd when my pet insurance is renewed. The vets that have grown to love Winston have decided to stop recommending ASPCA pet insurance to their patients due to the numerous loop holes which allow them to escape responsibility for reimbursing for vet bills. That said, some companies use benefit schedules or “usual and customary” charges to determine how much they’ll reimburse. The issue with these reimbursements is that the company sets a limit for how much they’ll pay based on your pet’s diagnosis. That means if your vet happens to charge more than what they have designated for that condition, you’ll end up footing the difference like I have done all too often with this pet insurance. I have now only been reimbursed $1,038 dollars an entire month after submitting my claim for $1,300. Not only has this pet insurance nickeled and dimed me as much as possible, but they have made it so I am now paying even MORE based on the interest this amount has accrued on my credit card. I too must speak out against this grave injustice that I feel I have experienced at the detriment of my pet’s lifespan. I am crying writing this review, knowing my baby has only about a month left and has already started to decline dramatically due to his cancer tumors returning. I only hope that this review can assist someone who loves their pet the way that I do in making a better pet insurance decision.
Matt
I have been faithfully trying to keep my dog alive and happy since his terminal adrenal gland cancer diagnosis last fall. The vet visits and chemo prescriptions are very expensive and the ASPCA $3,000 per incident coverage limit, while helpful, only covers a portion of the costs. We have been paying into our policy for nearly 9 years, ever since we rescued our pup.

Now I have just been told that his coverage will go DOWN for his “ongoing condition” once the year re-sets on September 1. Yeah, let that sink in a second. It’s not a pre-existing condition, it’s an “ongoing condition” for which we are only entitled $1,000 in reimbursement going forward.

What sense does this make? A dog, or a person for that matter, with a serious incurable condition, does not need LESS coverage as time goes on, they need more.

When I called the company to discuss this I was told that there are newer policies available as of a year or two ago that have better coverage for so-called ongoing conditions, but I was never made aware of those policies and I’m just stuck with what I’ve got.

It seems to me that the ASPCA in theory would share the pet owner’s goal of keeping their animal healthy and happy and well-treated as long as possible. Who would create a policy that diminishes coverage for conditions over time? Only someone worried about the bottom line.

Buyer beware.

Sandy
I am not happy with ASPCA. I have been insuring my pet with them for 9 years. When she was a puppy it was fine as the only claim was for yearly shots. Now that she is older and had a surgery it is a different story. I had to place an appeal as the reimbursement was only a token amount on a $2000.00 bill and also as she gets older they raise the premium every two years. The worst part is that she went for her yearly shots and because there is an appeal in on a surgery from last year they have yet to reimburse me for her shots and wellness and also because they say I have an appeal in so they are not processing any claims till the appeal is settled. My vet has sent everything they requested even operative notes and still today I call and they say they need more info which they never requested from me or my vet. It is just a way to stall payment I am sure. You get a different representative each time who say they understand your frustration but then they say they will check into it and call you back. No one calls. Very frustrated, upset and feel taken by this company. It should not take two months to process a claim. Looking for ways to get out of this company but afraid if I cancel they will not pay me what I am due.
Nick Pagoulatos
8/24/2018 I submitted a claim in the amount of $224.00 dollars. As of today 9/27/2018 that claim is till being processed. Every time I call I am given a different story as to why it’s taking so long to process.
Teresa
I my self have been dealing with this same issue. It’s been almost 2 months I submitted my claim on 8/15 and it’s now 10/6. Has your claim been paid?
Donna
I had a very bad experience with this company, which I consider to be downright unethical. I won’t bore you with the details, but I do think people should be very wary of this company. They rely on the name, which has no affiliation to the very reputable ASPCA.
Jenny P
I recently adopted a pup from the ASPCA but higher premiums and longer wait period? Hopefully they make up for it with good customer service and other benefits or else why would you pay more for the same thing you can get from other pet insurance companies? Still shopping around but not convinced ASPCA is for me!