Trupanion Reviews: What Makes This Pet Insurance Unique?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Girl and dog running through yardAlmost any kind of insurance is notorious for being difficult to decipher – from inclusions and exclusions to complicated deductibles and premiums. Trupanion, however, claims to set itself apart from the pack. Does Trupanion live up to its promise to provide a straightforward and transparent pet insurance experience? Or it is just hype to get your business?

Visit Trupanion’s Website

Article Overview

Trupanion

3.55 / 5
Trupanion
Policy Coverage 4.3
Customer Service & Reputation 3.5
Timeliness of Claim Payment 3.3
Price of Policy 3.3

Pros

  • 90% reimbursement with no payout limits
  • Offers optional benefits for additional expenses that cover acupuncture, physical therapy, hydrotherapy and behavioral modification training and therapy
  • Hip Dysplasia has no age restrictions
  • BBB rating: A+
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Pet is covered in the U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico

Cons

  • More expensive
  • One-time $35 administration fee
  • Policies have 5-day waiting period for injuries and 30-day waiting period for illnesses
  • Up to a 20% increase in premiums from year to year (based on the state you live in)
  • Pets aren't eligible for enrollment after their 14th birthday
  • No wellness plan
  • Does not cover exam fees

Key Features

  • Underwriter: American Pet Insurance Company (same as Pets Best)
  • Trupanion has a per-incident deductible instead of an annual deductible; this means you’ll have to meet the deductible multiple times for every new emergency your pet encounters instead of one annual deductible, which means all claims go toward one deductible (annual deductibles are usually less costly to the policyholder)
  • No exam period
  • Pre-existing conditions defined by Trupanion:
    • I. Illnesses or Injuries for which signs or evidence of their potential manifestation existed within the 18 months prior to the Policy Enrollment Date.
    • II. Illnesses or Injuries masked or controlled by treatment or Medication at any time during the 18 months prior to the Policy Enrollment Date. SAMPLE 14 Medical Insurance for Your Pet – TRU 00001 (v09.201601) SECTION 9 CONTINUED
    • III. Illnesses or Injuries that occurred or began within the 18 months prior to the Policy Enrollment Date and would have been observable or reasonably known to be present by You or Your Veterinarian or that are evidenced by the presence of typical signs, even if they are not noted in Your Pet’s medical records.
    • IV. The Actual Cost of Treatment for the following if signs or evidence presented on either side of Your Pet during the period 18 months prior to the Policy Enrollment Date through to and including the 30 days after the Policy Enrollment Date: luxating patella, glaucoma, entropion, ectropion, elbow dysplasia, cataracts, prolapse of the tear gland of the third eyelid (cherry eye), and disease, weakness, instability, tear, partial tear or rupture of the cranial cruciate ligament.
    • V. Hip dysplasia if there was any sign or evidence of the potential manifestation of the Condition any time prior to the Policy Enrollment Date or if the Condition was reasonably known to be present by You, even if not noted in Your Pet’s medical records.
    • VI. Illnesses or Injuries that arise from a repetitive and specific activity that leads to medical or surgical treatment of Your Pet (e.g., ingestion of foreign materials and bite wounds) if the same or similar activity occurred two times within the 18 month period prior to the Policy Enrollment Date.
    • VII. The Actual Cost of Treatment for any cutaneous or subcutaneous mass if cutaneous or subcutaneous mass(es) of the same type (determined by diagnostic testing or medical records descriptions) are present during the 18 months prior to the Policy Enrollment Date through to and including the 30 days after the Policy Enrollment Date.
    • VIII. The Actual Cost of Treatment relating to intervertebral disc disease if there was any sign or evidence of the potential manifestation of it in any part of the spine prior to the Policy Enrollment Date or during any applicable waiting periods.
  • No bilateral exclusions (a condition or disease that affects both sides of the body)
  • Claim repayment is within 60 days and averages 14 days
  • Must submit claims within 90 days of the treatment date via mail, email or fax
  • Option to have Trupanion pay vets directly, so you don’t have to pay a hefty vet bill in advance and wait for reimbursement (not available everywhere but ask your vet, and they may be able to call to set up Trupanion Express)
  • 30-day free look period (similar to a money-back guarantee)
  • Trupanion offers optional dental coverage
  • Continues coverage for a pet if its policy transfers to a new owner
  • Customer service hours:
    • Email, phone and SMS: 24/7

What Does Trupanion Cover?

Covered by TrupanionNot Covered by Trupanion
IllnessesExam fees
InjuriesSales tax where applicable
Hereditary conditionsWellness and preventive care (parasite control, spay/neuter, vaccinations)
Congenital conditionsPre-existing conditions
Diagnostic tests
Surgeries
Hospital stays
Medications
Veterinary supplements
Herbal therapy
Prosthetic devices and carts

Pet Owner Assistance Add-On Package

The Pet Owner Assistance package costs $4.95/month in addition to the core plan premium.

  • Boarding fees in the event you’re hospitalized
  • Liability coverage for third-party property damage
  • Holiday vacation cancellation costs
  • Cremation or burial for deaths due to an accident
  • Advertising and rewards for lost pets

Recovery & Complementary Care Rider

The price of this plan can vary from a couple of dollars up to $30 and is in addition to the core plan premium.

  • Acupuncture
  • Chiropractic
  • Homeopathy
  • Hydrotherapy
  • Physical and rehabilitative therapy
  • Behavioral modification
  • Naturopathy

Is Hip Dysplasia Covered?

Trupanion covers hip dysplasia in its core policy. There is a 30-day waiting period, and it has an exclusion, which states the following.

Hip dysplasia (is covered) if there was any sign or evidence of the potential manifestation of the Condition any time prior to the Policy Enrollment Date or if the Condition was reasonably known to be present by You, even if not noted in Your Pet’s medical records.

Pricing Quotes

Trupanion has a set 90% reimbursement with the option of a $0 to $1,000 deductible and unlimited annual limit.

The cost of each policy is unique to your pet and depends on many variables, including your pet’s age, breed, location, health conditions and more. Below are some example monthly premiums for various pets from December 2018.

BreedLabrador RetrieverGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
Age4 Months2 Years6 Months4 Years
Male/FemaleFemaleMaleFemaleMale
LocationNew York City (Zip code: 10005)Los Angeles (Zip code: 90010)Chicago (Zip code: 60604)Miami (Zip code: 33114)
Reimbursement Level90%90%90%90%
Annual Deductible$200$200$200$500
Price Per Month$125.57$119.54$58.97$51.13

You can get personalized price quotes for your pet(s) from reputable companies when you fill out just 1 short form. You can also visit our Pet Insurance Quotes page to see how the cost of Trupanion stacks up against the competition.

Coupon Code

There are not any active Trupanion coupon codes at this time.

Waiting Periods

Trupanion Customer Reviews

Positive Reviews

I have my dog Frosty insured with Trupanion for 5 years and never needed to file a claim until 4 weeks ago when he was diagnosed with a tumor on his spleen which had ruptured and caused internal bleeding and needed lifesaving surgery. The whole procedure came at $9240 which I had prepaid out of pocket and while waiting for the claim to be processed, I looked up some of the reviews online and got really worried. Fortunately my experience was different and very positive, the agents on the phone were very caring, understanding and knowledgeable and after about 20 days I received an email stating my claim was approved and 90% of the cost will be covered by Trupanion (minus the deductible). They also informed me the reason why it took 20 days to process was due to that being our first claim. Thank you Trupanion. – Tobias M., Yelp 4/24/2018

For years, I had my previous dog insured with Trupanion and I never had any issues with their coverage. I read my policy prior to enrollment (a common error I can see many people making when they complain about coverage). Prior to enrollment, my dog had about one UTI every year so I just never made claims for those. But when she developed a cancerous lung tumor, Trupanion was there every step of the way covering her care and allowing me to give her the best last 18 months I could. Over the 5 years I had her insured, there was never a dramatic premium increase and one year, her premium went DOWN! How often does that happen? They base their premiums on actuary data about pets with similar breed, age, and postal code so if the cost of care is high in your areas, you can see increases. I see it as a fair trade off for such comprehensive coverage at 90%. I have since gotten a new elderly dog a few months ago and a new kitten just a few days ago! Once again invested in a Trupanion policy for both of them. The dog I adopted came with some allergies and while I know those are pre-existing and not eligible for coverage, it is a comfort to me to know that Trupanion is there for us when we need them for future accidents or injuries. – Courtney P., BBB 4/7/2018

Negative Reviews

Kesa, I don’t have any questions. I have already wasted HOURS of my lunch breaks, weekends, and precious time on the phone with Trupanion to no avail. My concerns were trivial, but you dug your heels in and made this the worst experience in the many tough times. Unless there is anything you can do to repay me AT ALL, I will NEVER recommend your company and absolutely not waste another minute on the phone. There is no point with arguing when you clearly don’t want to help but just profit off technicalities that were not explained anywhere in your site or paperwork. Like I said in previous reviews, even my vet, a loyal recommender of Trupanion was very upset to hear of my experiences with you. You response was clearly a ploy to look decent and try to resolve issues; until I’m on the phone and you couldn’t care less. – Allison P., Yelp 4/20/2018

This pet insurance company is awful. They barely cover anything! My kitten had a toxic exposure and they wouldn’t cover calling animal poison control or her bath which was all necessary with the exposure. I was told that I would receive a call regarding the bath dispute, they never called, emailed me a new invoice with no explanation on anything. We use a different company for our older kitty and are switching back. Also you must pay a deductible for each different issue, not a calendar year! – Emily L., BBB 4/12/2018

Why Get Pet Insurance?

Need a better understanding of why you should consider purchasing pet insurance for your pup? Check out our video below.

Compare Trupanion To Other Leading Pet Insurance Providers

Trupanion’s policy choices are less complicated than many other pet insurance providers, which may be appealing for some consumers. Of course, this also means fewer options. It’s also on the expensive side compared to similar coverage from other companies, and its underwriter is unrated by A.M. Best.

Visit our Best Pet Insurance comparison to see a comprehensive review of the leading insurance providers for your four-pawed family members. See how Trupanion stacks up against the competition and if they’re the right pick of the litter for you.

Are you considering pet insurance through Trupanion?

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Disclaimer: The information provided through this website should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, you should consult your health care provider.

Disclaimer: This website contains reviews, opinions and information regarding products and services manufactured or provided by third parties. We are not responsible in any way for such products and services, and nothing contained here should be construed as a guarantee of the functionality, utility, safety or reliability of any product or services reviewed or discussed. Please follow the directions provided by the manufacturer or service provider when using any product or service reviewed or discussed on this website.

Kimberly received her Bachelor of Arts in multimedia journalism from Simpson College. She has been writing about dogs since 2014, covering subjects such as dog insurance, training, health, accessories and more. Her natural curiosity helps her research as she seeks the truth when learning about, comparing and personally testing canine products and services. With every piece she writes, her goal is to help our readers find the best fit for their unique needs.

Kimberly grew up in a family that loved Labrador Retrievers and remembers running and playing in the yard with them as a child. In 2017, she and her husband adopted their Coonhound mix, Sally, from a local shelter. Kimberly's research was put to good use since Sally faced some aggression issues with other dogs and needed some training to be an inside dog. She worked daily with Sally and sought help from professionals to help Sally become the happy pup she is today.

One of Kimberly's favorite pastimes is spoiling Sally with new toys, comfy beds and yummy treats (she even makes homemade goodies for her). She tries to purchase the safest products for Sally and knows that each canine has their own specific likes and dislikes. Kimberly is passionate about dogs, and knows the bond between humans and canines is like no other.

25
Leave a Reply

avatar
newest oldest most voted
Jackie
One thing people need to remember is that most people tend to post poor reviews (esp. on Yelp) since they’re angry about the way they were treated, etc. I would like to share a positive story. We’ve had Trupanion for our Golden Retriever for 8 years and our daughter’s cat for 5 years. This past January, Sydney (the cat) became ill and we went to our local vet. After they couldn’t figure out what was wrong (after about 10 days and $2K), they referred us to a local specialty/emergency vet. Sydney spent 5 days in Critical Care, underwent numerous lab tests, ultrasounds, a blood transfusion, and eventually got an E-tube for feeding (diagnoses were acute pancreatitis, anorexia, anemia, lack of reproduction of RBC, among others). He kept losing weight even with the feeding tube, and underwent a bone marrow biopsy. His feeding tube became infected and he was transferred back to Critical Care (this is about a month later). Finally, at the end of March, his little body just couldn’t take the trauma any longer (still not definitive dx, either), and my daughter had to make the painful decision to euthanize (he was down to 2.1 KG by this time). The total cost of our various bills for this illness was approximately $22K! After paying the $100 deductible, and the various doctor & exam fees (wish they’d cover exam fees for emergencies, etc., but it’s right in the policy no exam fees are covered), they paid approximately $20K, including special food for his e-tube. If not for the insurance, there is no way we would ever be able to pay that kind of bill and we would have had to euthanize much earlier. Trupanion was supportive through all this, and sent a nice card and note from the staff after Sydney passed. Furbaby owners should never have to worry about cost when taking care of our pets, so this was definitely a lifesaver! Yes, the policy fee has gone up every year, but we were paying $113/month for both our dog & cat which doesn’t seem very unreasonable. As you can see, we more than made up for our premium payments. I would recommend this company to anyone.
Tom
Read the 1* Yelp reviews. Trupanion is crap and borderline scam. They deny coverage and claim the most obscure pre-existing condition terms. Pet owners pay thousands in insurance and then one day realize Trupanion won’t cover the bill. Read Yelp is all I can suggest.
Kathie Young
During the past 5 years we have had Trupanion pet insurance for our 4 pets, premiums have totaled approximately $6000.00. I recently had my first significant claim when our basset hound developed glaucoma. Since we have $1000 deductible, I submitted all the receipts totally approximately $1250.00. I was told by their representative that evaluations and diagnostics were covered, but Trupanion disallowed all these claiming that these were merely “exams”. My dog has had over 13 appointments to diagnosis his eyesight and adjust his medications, and Trupanion did not pay for a doctor’s’ appointment even when an ophthalmologist was involved!

The representative advised me to appeal and have the doctors code the visits as diagnostic evaluations. I did so and asked my veterinarian to send me an email as soon as this was faxed to Trupanion. I ACTUALLY RECEIVED TRUPANION’S DENIAL OF THE APPEAL BEFORE I RECEIVED OUR VET’S EMAIL. I called my vet to save the records and advised them to NEVER recommend Trupanion again. Trupanion took my $6000, but refused to pay for any diagnostic evaluations done in a doctor’s office. Attorneys: I recommend class action.

Joe Miranda
Scam company, avoid at all costs!! Go with Figo or Healthy Paws. Trupanion only has customers because of the free month sign up program they have in vets offices. Well guess what, I signed up for that, sure enough my puppy needed to go to the ER 3 weeks later, I submitted the claim (mind you ONLY FOR $300) and they declined all of it! The reasons they provided were completely FALSE and fabricated dates, I had proof which I responded back with. THEY DID NOT EVEN ANSWER MY EMAIL AFTER MULTIPLE FOLLOW UP ATTEMPTS.

Horrendous, horrendous experience. Stay as far away as possible.

s. Furr
SO, now there’s a heavy pitch on pet insurance. Just look at all the pluses and minuses. . .MOSTLY MINUSES. A total RIPOFF, DON’T DO IT!!
Jay Blakensfall
Terrible Experience! Lawsuits all over the place! Trupanion is a nightmare and a BIG scam.
Chris Manno
terrible experience with this company. incredibly devastated. i have paid them for years under the guise that they would cover my dog. well when the time came- they denied all claims and stated “sorry we changed our policy now and you should have read the small print.” please be aware- this company is a scam- very sad.
vasile r verdes
Sadly I just found that a surgery done in Japan (is not available in USA, Canada) is not covered. It’s about mitral valve surgery. They are compassionate and kind and sorry but not helpful. Found out in the Facebook group that Embrace and Nationalwide will cover this. Really disappointed after 10 years with them.
M K
From what I can tell most of the complaints about Trupanion are the result of people who are not taking the time to understand what is and what is not included in their plan. I have a year old kitten who has been enrolled in Trupanion since I got her and she has some serious digestive issues. Over the course of the last six months they have reimbursed me over $1500. After the initial claim they can process a claim and pay your vet directly in less than five minutes. As someone who has worked in the veterinary industry for many years and has dealt with many different insurance companies I can say that Trupanion is definitely worth the money as long as you have the common sense to read through the very easy to understand summary of your benefits. The company is definitely more expensive than others, but their coverage is among the most comprehensive that I’ve seen. In addition to this, their per-condition deductible saves a lot of money on chronic illnesses such as diabetes, hyper/hypothyroidism, allergies, IBD, arthritis, Cushing’s disease, and many more. However, for people that are looking for a cheaper company and who are willing to pay an annual deductible instead of a per-condition deductible, Healthy Paws is a great choice. Just keep in mind that NO pet insurance company is going to cover preexisting conditions so, if that is what you’re looking for, consider checking out Neverland, Narnia, Atlantis or one of those other places that doesn’t exist.
Linda
Trupanion was very compassionate when our dog died. They quickly paid the claims associated with our dog’s illness, and the euthanasia. They pro-rated our premium for that month and issued a partial refund, which was back in our checking account within three days. About a week later they sent a sympathy card, not only signed by about five employees, but each wrote a heartfelt message! Thank you Trupanion for having a heart. When we find our next dog he or she will be insured by Trupanion.
m d
Trupanion has been the worst to deal with. They will find the tiniest issue as far back in your vet records as they can and use it to their advantage to claim pre-existing conditions and not cover your claim! Steer clear of this money-grabbing company! When you call to cancel, they will guilt you and make you feel like a bad pet owner for not having an insurance policy anymore. Absolutely ridiculous!
shaun
Could not disagree with many of you on this post my Boston Terrier just passed away and over the last 4 years trupanion has paid out over 45k in my dogs vet bills and all of his medications and never questioned me one time or jacked up the price of his premium or deductible . And a week after I cancelled his policy I received a sympathy card from them signed with notes from every person I ever spoke to on the phone . I’m sorry many of you didn’t receive the service I did but this company made my dog comfortable and extended his life 2-3 years and to me that is priceless . And they also paid the vet directly .
myna
I’m in the process of looking for a different plan. Trupanion has been a waste of money. My rescue had skin problems when I got her so any treatment for this is excluded even if it’s a different skin problem. Any other issues have only contributed to the deductible for that condition. Basically I will only get money back if she has a specific issue requires treatment over the deductible. I could spend over $1000 for 4 different conditions but receive no return as the $1000 would only got towards the deductible.
Julie
OMG! what a rip off company. I have been paid since 2014, my dog just pass away due to illness and submit 3 claims – this is just a joke. They won’t even reimburse me because apparently my deductible has not pass the membership I choose. So not only I have to deal with the sadness of loosing a member of my family but I have to deal with them from all the amount I spend trying to save my dog and regardless of what happen they don’t refund you. Then don’t choose cremation on the clause because even if you think they will refund you – they won’t. If I knew what I know now – I would never spend on a monthly basis the money. This is a rip off – This is not like your benefits dental or any benefits you have. They have so many clause which at the end of the day you are loosing more money then gaining…Run away from this company…not good
JERRY MIXON
If I could give this company 0 stars I would. Before setting up our policies (by the way the highest on the market $79/month each dog) I went through my dogs medical records throughly with the company rep. She ensured me that no of my concerns were pre existing medical issues and that my dog would be covered if any injury occurred. Well low and behold my dog was injured and everything was pre existing. Not covered, not even close!
Take note if you have time read the article in the ny times about pet insurance its worth the read, its all a hoax, big money making opportunity for the insurance company. 10-20% of all injuries are really covered. We invested a ton on money into trupanion insurance to only be denied our claims. Take the money you were going to pay for insurance and put in into a pet emergency savings and you will come out way ahead. We would have actually had money left!
Phil
Our 8-year old German Shepherd required a TPLO procedure for a torn ligament. This medical procedure was done by a specialist in Ketchum, Idaho. The total cost of this procedure was $2600. Three weeks prior to the procedure, right after I had gone to my vet to ascertain the reason why my dog was limping, I called Trupanion. They provided me the claim forms immediately. Two days after the TPLO procedure, I filed the claims. Three weeks to the day of filing the claims, we received our reimbursement (90% of the medical costs less the $400 deductible). The diagnosis at my local vet was applied to the deductible without any additional paperwork on our part. And these three weeks were over Christmas and New Year’s

The monthly premiums may cost a bit more than other companies, but I tell you it is very well worth it. Trupanion is wonderful.

Jordan
Scam! Signed up with Trupanion May 2015. Noticed my monthly payment kept increasing. Went from $77 and, $89 a month to $89 & $107. I called in to be told they increase yearly due to vet prices increasing (funny the vets in the city have increased their prices). I was upset that they didn’t let me know (told me they sent a email in April which I definitely don’t have.) If I knew they increased their rates yearly I would of never signed up. How much does it increase? Every year for how long? I’ve never even made a claim! What a waste of money. Scam.
Min
Trupanion is one of the worst pet insurance companies in the world. They do have a lot of paid reviewers though. The truth is that the company does not cover a single known and valid pet health concerns including things like Giardia or sickness. The company itself is fraudulent and terrible to deal with. I have proof of constant rejection, false advertisement. Please don’t trust the comments posted here and save your money today.
Deborah
It is true what you are saying they spend most of their time rejecting paying these people must be fak
Faye
Look up the definition of pre-existing. Signs or symptoms that show prior to getting a policy with any company will be denied. How can hundreds of thousands of customers with that company get reimbursement for medical conditions but yet they singled you out to not pay your claims? Not the case. Dogs get small signs and symptoms that can be the start of a serious issue, that’s why you don’t wait to get insurance.
Brynn Delaney
I’ve used Trupanion for 3 years now and I’ve never been disappointed with their coverage. Their customer service is some of the best I’ve dealt with in any industry—you get to talk to a real live human!

Working at a vet hospital myself, I’ve seen first hand how having insurance can make all the difference in what a family is able to do for their pet. Originally I bought the insurance for my older cat primarily, who was 8 at the time, and getting it for my then 2 year old cat was an afterthought. Mostly, I just thought I wanted to be covered “just in case” and to have things set up to avoid issues with pre-existing conditions (my older cat has asthma, which was pre-existing to our coverage). Man, I’m glad I did.

Two years later I find out in a routine dental that she has extra teeth with fused roots, which required a trip to a specialist. Then, a mysterious progressive weight loss turned out to be IBD—in a 4 year old cat. Enter in another specialist and way more money than I could have managed out of pocket.

My boss was so impressed at how Trupanion handled things that she made it part of our employee benefits package. A $0 deductible for 2 cats (now 5 & 11) runs $102 a month. It is more expensive than other plans, but I find it to be far more comprehensive w/o a need for riders. We had been paying about $70 a month for a $250/deductible, but now that it’s a work benefit, we’ve dropped it to zero.

The big difference between the plans I think is missed in this article is that Trupanion does it’s deductibles by incident/illness/injury. Once you meet the deductible for a single issue, you never have to meet it again. It does not refresh at the end of the year; so not really a “yearly” deductible as listed above. That, more than anything has been worth it for us in the beginning.

Kathleen
This may seem like a odd question. If there is a deductible by incident/illness/injury would you have to pay this more than once a year. Lets say your pet is having a really bad year. It breaks it leg, eats something it shouldn’t have and needed stitches. Would you have to pay the deductible in each case?
L Austin
Got Trupnaion after researching others. Rescued as GSD in July. Limping in October. Thought it was hips – went to vet – it was the back. Bill to exclude flea meds was about $100 to apply to deductible. Then vet suggested pills were $75 off of Amazon. Completed paperwork. Both denied. Called in November to cancel. Talked me into appealing – which guess what takes until you pay your next payment. Visit denied because it was precautionary – no it wasn’t – went there because it looked like he was hurting. Called to cancel. Next day they emailed that the meds were approved on appeal. So the visit to diagnose the problem is not approved, but the medication is approved. Sounds strange. Filed a BBB complaint, but they are covered with a warm and fuzzy blanket because of insurance lobby.
Ellie
Trupanion’s policy is written in such a way that any symptom or behavior can be manipulated into a pre-existing condition. Look at this sentence: pre-existing conditions per Trupanion are “9.B.i Illnesses or injuries for which signs or evidence of their potential manifestation existed within the 18 months prior to the policy enrollment date.”

Did you get that? “Potential manifestations” gets them out of paying anything unless your dog was insured the day you got him and before he ever visited a vet’s office.

My schnauzer had been insured for a little over 3 years when he started having severe rashes on his abdomen. He couldn’t sleep they were so bad. He just cried. So multiple vet visits later, my dog was diagnosed with atopy, I actually met my $500 deductible, and I filed a claim for the first time. Trupanion ordered records from every vet my dog had visited and found two mentions of him chewing his paws and an ear infection in the year prior to coverage. (The ear infection was caused by his ear hair trapping moisture, and the vet clearly wrote that he was not scratching his ears.) Trupanion said these vet notations showed that his current abdominal atopy was a pre-existing condition.

I’ve had good experiences speaking with representatives on the phone before this point. There’s always someone available. But now that I have a legitimate grievance, representatives are unhelpful, and they won’t let me speak to someone in claims. There is no one available to explain how paw chewing from 4 years ago is definitively the same condition as his current abdominal atopy. But I guess they don’t have to be certain. They just need to find “potential manifestations.”

I have zero faith now that Trupanion will ever honor their contract. They’re engaging in deceptive business practices and protecting themselves with a sneaky policy. I’m going through the appeals process right now, so if I’m pleasantly surprised I’ll let update my review.

The only treatment that’s worked so far for my dog is an expensive immune modulator. Now I wish I’d just opened a savings account for him 3 years ago. I would have $1,500 dollars in there by now.