Trupanion Review: What Makes This Pet Insurance Unique?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Girl and dog running through yard (text in image: Trupanion pet insurance review)Almost any kind of insurance is notorious for being difficult to decipher — from inclusions and exclusions to complicated deductibles and premiums. Trupanion, however, claims to set itself apart from the pack. Does Trupanion live up to its promise to provide a straightforward and transparent pet insurance experience? Or it is just hype to get your business?

Visit Trupanion’s Website

Article Overview

Trupanion

3.55 / 5
Trupanion
Policy Coverage 4.3
Customer Service & Reputation 3.5
Timeliness of Claim Payment 3.3
Price of Policy 3.3

Pros

  • 90% reimbursement with no payout limits
  • Offers optional benefits for additional expenses that cover acupuncture, physical therapy, hydrotherapy and behavioral modification training and therapy
  • Hip dysplasia has no age restrictions
  • BBB rating: A+
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Pet is covered in the U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico

Cons

  • More expensive
  • One-time $35 administration fee
  • Policies have 5-day waiting period for injuries and 30-day waiting period for illnesses
  • Up to a 20% increase in premiums from year to year (based on the state you live in)
  • Pets aren't eligible for enrollment after their 14th birthday
  • No wellness plan
  • Does not cover exam fees
  • No multi-pet discount

Key Features

Trupanion Key Features icons

  • Underwriter: American Pet Insurance Company (same as Pets Best)
  • Trupanion has a per-incident deductible instead of an annual deductible; this means you’ll have to meet the deductible multiple times for every new emergency your pet encounters instead of one annual deductible, which means all claims go toward one deductible (annual deductibles are usually less costly to the policyholder)
  • No exam period
  • No bilateral exclusions (a condition or disease that affects both sides of the body)
  • Claim repayment is within 60 days and averages 14 days
  • Must submit claims within 90 days of the treatment date via mail, email or fax
  • Option to have Trupanion pay vets directly, so you don’t have to pay a hefty vet bill in advance and wait for reimbursement (not available everywhere but ask your vet, and they may be able to call to set up Trupanion Express)
  • 30-day free look period (similar to a money back guarantee)
  • Continues coverage for a pet if its policy transfers to a new owner
  • State Farm offers pet insurance through Trupanion
FLORIDA RESIDENTS: The plan reviewed here is not available for new customers in Florida. Contact Trupanion to learn more about what is available in your state and read the policy carefully for details.

Pre-Existing Conditions

Defined by Trupanion as:

I. Illnesses or Injuries for which signs or evidence of their potential manifestation existed within the 18 months prior to the Policy Enrollment Date.
II. Illnesses or Injuries masked or controlled by treatment or Medication at any time during the 18 months prior to the Policy Enrollment Date. SAMPLE 14 Medical Insurance for Your Pet – TRU 00001 (v09.201601) SECTION 9 CONTINUED
III. Illnesses or Injuries that occurred or began within the 18 months prior to the Policy Enrollment Date and would have been observable or reasonably known to be present by You or Your Veterinarian or that are evidenced by the presence of typical signs, even if they are not noted in Your Pet’s medical records.
IV. The Actual Cost of Treatment for the following if signs or evidence presented on either side of Your Pet during the period 18 months prior to the Policy Enrollment Date through to and including the 30 days after the Policy Enrollment Date: luxating patella, glaucoma, entropion, ectropion, elbow dysplasia, cataracts, prolapse of the tear gland of the third eyelid (cherry eye), and disease, weakness, instability, tear, partial tear or rupture of the cranial cruciate ligament.
V. Hip dysplasia if there was any sign or evidence of the potential manifestation of the Condition any time prior to the Policy Enrollment Date or if the Condition was reasonably known to be present by You, even if not noted in Your Pet’s medical records.
VI. Illnesses or Injuries that arise from a repetitive and specific activity that leads to medical or surgical treatment of Your Pet (e.g., ingestion of foreign materials and bite wounds) if the same or similar activity occurred two times within the 18 month period prior to the Policy Enrollment Date.
VII. The Actual Cost of Treatment for any cutaneous or subcutaneous mass if cutaneous or subcutaneous mass(es) of the same type (determined by diagnostic testing or medical records descriptions) are present during the 18 months prior to the Policy Enrollment Date through to and including the 30 days after the Policy Enrollment Date.
VIII. The Actual Cost of Treatment relating to intervertebral disc disease if there was any sign or evidence of the potential manifestation of it in any part of the spine prior to the Policy Enrollment Date or during any applicable waiting periods.

Trupanion waiting period

Customer Service Hours

  • Email, phone and SMS: 24/7

Waiting Periods

What Does Trupanion Cover?

Services included are not limited to this list and are subject to change.

Covered by TrupanionNot Covered by Trupanion
IllnessesExam fees
InjuriesSales tax where applicable
Hereditary conditionsWellness and preventive care (parasite control, spay/neuter, vaccinations)
Congenital conditionsPre-existing conditions
Diagnostic tests
Surgeries
Hospital stays
Medications
Veterinary supplements
Herbal therapy
Prosthetic devices and carts

NOTE: This plan is not available for new enrollments in Florida. See policy for details.

Pet Owner Assistance Add-On Package

The Pet Owner Assistance package costs $4.95/month in addition to the core plan premium.

  • Boarding fees in the event you’re hospitalized
  • Liability coverage for third-party property damage
  • Holiday vacation cancellation costs
  • Cremation or burial for deaths due to an accident
  • Advertising and rewards for lost pets

Recovery & Complementary Care Rider

The price of this plan can vary from a couple of dollars up to $30 and is in addition to the core plan premium.

  • Acupuncture
  • Chiropractic
  • Homeopathy
  • Hydrotherapy
  • Physical and rehabilitative therapy
  • Behavioral modificationDog in wheelchair on beach: Canine Hip Dysplasia
  • Naturopathy

Is Hip Dysplasia Covered?

Trupanion covers hip dysplasia in its core policy. There is a 30-day waiting period, and it has an exclusion, which states the following.

Hip dysplasia (is covered) if there was any sign or evidence of the potential manifestation of the Condition any time prior to the Policy Enrollment Date or if the Condition was reasonably known to be present by You, even if not noted in Your Pet’s medical records.

Pricing Quotes

Trupanion has a set 90% reimbursement with the option of a $0 to $1,000 deductible and unlimited annual limit.

The cost of each policy is unique to your pet and depends on many variables, including your pet’s age, breed, location, health conditions and more. Below are some example monthly premiums for various pets from December 2019.

BreedLabrador RetrieverGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
Age4 Months2 Years6 Months4 Years
Male/FemaleFemaleMaleFemaleMale
LocationNew York City (10005)Los Angeles (90010)Chicago (60604)Miami (33114)
Reimbursement Level90%90%90%90%
Annual Deductible$200$200$200$500
Price Per Month$125.57$142.10$66.80$51.13

You can get personalized price quotes for your pet(s) from reputable companies when you fill out just 1 short form. You can also visit our pet insurance quotes page to see how the cost of Trupanion stacks up against the competition.

Coupon Code

Use this link to get the best deal we can offer from Trupanion.

Reimbursement Story

Vet with clipboard

  • Dog: Maelee
  • Condition: Spay complications
  • Trupanion Reimbursed: $34,401.80

A few days after a healthy spay procedure, Maelee had a horrific accident while recovering at home. Within 24 hours she went from the veterinarian’s to the overnight emergency clinic, then on to the emergency hospital. Trupanion was covering Maelee’s bills at 90%. Maelee had better health insurance than me! – Elizabeth S.

Customer Reviews

Positive Reviews

I rarely have to contact Trupanion. I had log on issues which were resolve promptly by Pamela. She was incredibly helpful and resolved the problem right away. I received a standard customer service survey shortly thereafter. The first question was, why did I rate customer service a 10. Here is the text of my response… Because there isn’t an 11. Trupanion has been wonderful. Our pups have had coverage since they were born. This is the first time we have ever had to use our coverage, and thank God we have it! Claim submission and processing are so easy and fast. When I have had to contact directly, your team has been so helpful and kind. I have recommended multiple times to family and friends – even my vet’s office. You are wonderful, thank you so much. – Ken W., Yelp 11/12/2019

In the 8 years I have been using Trupanion, they have always been cheerfully helpful and quick to respond whenever I have had to make a claim or just simply had a question. I am very happy with the services they provide. ****** *. – Sandra B., BBB 5/19/2019

Negative Reviews

Beware of trupanion! In 2009, I decided to get this insurance for my 2 month old puppy that I had adopted. I paid $31 monthly with $1000 deductible for “lifetime” of coverage. Sound good on paper, but I am now finding out that this insurance is useless and it is the worst insurance out there. In Sept 2019, my now 10yr old dog had a surgery to remove a lump on his paw, neck, and stomach area that cost $811. I also filed a claim for his eye and skin allergy bills worth $450. I thought I had met the $1000 deductible right?, but NO! they categorized the lumps into two different lumps meaning my deductible was $2K and another $1K deductible for the eye/skin allergy. So for a $1261 claim, I had a $3k deductible in total. I was disappointed to say the least. To make matters worst, a week ago I received an email that they are increasing my monthly fee from $31 to $38. I asked why and I was told that it was based of their data report. BS! this insurance is a SCAM! After 10 years of having this insurance, I have yet to see a penny and now they want more money? Trupanion is a joke! – Ena O., Yelp 11/9/2019

Buyer beware, you’ll be charged an extra $35 when you sign up: I enrolled my kitten in Trupanion based on an article in the *** **** *****’ **********  newsletter. I received my quote online and signed up. Today I checked my bank balance and they deducted $35 for an administrative fee. Notice of this fee was not included in the total quote. When I called, the customer service rep assured me it was included on another page. I guess I should have gone hunting for it. At the outset of this relationship, subterfuge is not a good look, Trupanion. What other hidden fees can I expect? – Patricia A., BBB 9/12/2019

Why Get Pet Insurance?

Need a better understanding of why you should consider purchasing pet insurance for your pup? Check out our video below.

Trupanion vs Other Companies

See what the key differences are between Trupanion and other leading pet insurance companies.

Trupanion vs Healthy Paws

  • Trupanion has a shorter 30-day waiting period for hip dysplasia, while Healthy Paws is 12 months.
  • Healthy Paws has a better customer service reputation and pays out 99% of its claims within 2 days as opposed to the 60 days Trupanion allows.
  • Trupanion is consistently more expensive than Healthy Paws in the quotes we ran.

Compare Trupanion and Healthy Paws

Trupanion vs Petplan

  • Trupanion has a shorter 30-day waiting period for hip dysplasia, while Petplan is 6 months.
  • All Trupanion plans include unlimited claim limits, while Petplan offers claim limits ranging from $2,500 to unlimited.
  • Petplan pays out claims within 5 to 14 business days on average as opposed to the 60 days Trupanion allows.

Compare Trupanion and Petplan

Compare Trupanion To Other Leading Pet Insurance Providers

Visit Trupanion’s Website

Trupanion’s policy choices are less complicated than many other pet insurance providers, which may be appealing for some consumers. Of course, this also means fewer options. It’s also on the expensive side compared to similar coverage from other companies, and its underwriter is unrated by A.M. Best.

Visit our best pet insurance comparison to see a comprehensive review of the leading insurance providers for your four-pawed family members. See how Trupanion stacks up against the competition and if they’re the right pick of the litter for you.

Are you considering pet insurance through Trupanion?

About The Author:

Kimberly received her Bachelor of Arts in multimedia journalism from Simpson College. She has been writing about dogs since 2014, covering subjects such as dog insurance, training, health, accessories, and more. Her work has appeared in many notable brands, including The New York Times' Wirecutter, Reader's Digest, Forbes, People, Woman's World, and Huffington Post.

Kimberly's natural curiosity helps her research as she seeks the truth when learning about, comparing, and personally testing canine products and services. With every piece she writes, her goal is to help our readers find the best fit for their unique needs. Kimberly grew up in a family that loved Labrador Retrievers and remembers running and playing in the yard with them as a child.

In 2017, she and her husband adopted their Coonhound mix, Sally, from a local shelter. Kimberly’s research was put to good use since Sally faced some aggression issues with other dogs and needed some training to be an inside dog. She worked daily with Sally and sought help from professionals to help Sally become the happy pup she is today. One of Kimberly’s favorite pastimes is spoiling Sally with new toys, comfy beds, and yummy treats (she even makes homemade goodies for her). She tries to purchase the safest products for Sally and knows that each canine has their own specific likes and dislikes. Kimberly is passionate about dogs and knows the bond between humans and canines is like no other.

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Disclaimer: The information provided through this website should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, you should consult your health care provider.

Disclaimer: This website contains reviews, opinions and information regarding products and services manufactured or provided by third parties. We are not responsible in any way for such products and services, and nothing contained here should be construed as a guarantee of the functionality, utility, safety or reliability of any product or services reviewed or discussed. Please follow the directions provided by the manufacturer or service provider when using any product or service reviewed or discussed on this website.

Subscribe
Notify of
44 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mo Robinson
June 19, 2020 9:54 am

We experienced what Tim did. Everything deemed pre-existing. Totally a scam company. I would guess they are in financial distress. My vet wrote a long letter explaining that in no way was our situation pre-existing. There are other companies out there that are reputable. Do not be fooled by their claim to pay 90%. Buyer beware…move on to another pet insurance carrier. This one is a total bait and switch situation with their claims of ease and percentage of payment of claims.

Lauren
July 23, 2020 4:56 pm
Reply to  Mo Robinson

I had the same experience. When I tried to fight my denied claim, I was told they go by symptoms, not the diagnosis. Animal symptoms can be incredibly vague. Vomiting can indicate anything from dietary indiscretion to cancer. So now any time my pet is vomiting that is automatically a preexisting condition, because I’ve taken her in for vomiting before? Even if she has a contrary diagnosis? Absolutely absurd.

I also tried to call them to talk to a person and the operator said she couldn’t transfer me to claims because their voicemail box was full…not a great sign!

Tim
May 20, 2020 1:54 pm

Trupanion Pet Insurance – Everything is deemed pre-existing

You can be assured that, even with the full support of your pet’s own veterinarian, your claim will be labeled a “pre-existing condition”, based on minor “symptoms” or even a mention of what conditions could befall your specific breed of dog in the pet’s previous records. The Trupanion vets and diagnosticians completely dismissed the medical opinions of my pet’s own veterinarian. Her letters and communications were rational, logical, ethical, and requested that my claim be honored (for a one time surgery which will cost many two thousand dollars) – only I can’t afford that so he will continue to suffer and fight to breathe. He’s only two years old. They will continue to take $60.00 a month from you (until they increase it as your pet gets older) with no problem though.Trupanion’s policies are crafted and worded to support denial of many claims. Trupanion review sites where customers can offer transparent reviews contain overwhelmingly bad reviews, many stating the same issues over and over.

They are selling not only pet insurance, but the assurance for pet owners that expensive chronic conditions will be covered (at 90%). This allows many of us to afford a pet or a rescue pet even if we don’t have thousands of dollars extra per month to pay for vet bills. The assurances are false. Trupanion generates framed “success stories” which veterinarians display in exam rooms. These include one that touts payment for a brachycephalic stenotic nares surgery. Obviously this a pre-existing condition that the puppy was born with, and Trupanion advertises full coverage for corrective surgery for this patient. These ads influenced my decision to purchase Trupanion pet insurance. Brachycephalic surgeries (including soft palate reduction and stenotic nares elargement is regularly and successfully treated by vets, but it costs a lot of money. Since I am not wealthy, this is exactly the type of situation I buy pet insurance for. My little boy will now live a short and somewhat painful life due to the Trupanion appeal denial, when he could have easily lived a long and painless life if Trupanion had approved any type of treatment. Trupanion is flooding the market with assurances and evidences of coverage, when this isn’t going to happen. Their mission isn’t providing necessary medical coverage for chronic pet conditions, but simply making money.

nick
April 14, 2020 10:56 pm

Trupanion is a scam insurance company. when I signed up they told me that my policy would remain the same price every month and not increase every year. today they send me an email saying they would increase it because of my zip code and other claims they had by other people. i never even had one claim. What a joke they are. Make sure you do not waste your time with them.

Liz
March 27, 2020 7:46 am

Do all pet insurance companies increase their premiums annually? I have a nine-year-old Shih Tzu that I would like to purchase insurance for. I am finding that the rates at nine years old are reasonable, but they go up significantly every year. I have read that Trupanion does not increase their premiums ever. However, despite my nine year old dog being healthy, she has been to the vet many times for minor ailments, and based on reviews, it sounds like Trupanion could turn many of them into pre-existing conditions. Trupanion is probably not the best choice for a senior dog. What insurance companies would you recommend for senior dogs?

Yoon
January 27, 2020 9:29 pm

trupanion-pet-insurance-sample-policy-510.pdf says
CONDITIONS NOT COVERED
(1) Illnesses for which any evidence and/or symptoms of their
potential manifestation already exist at, or prior to, the policy
enrollment date;
(2) The cost of treatment for bilateral conditions presenting on one
side of the body, if that condition was a pre-existing condition on
the other side of the body (such as luxating patella or anterior
cruciate ligament (ACL) weakness);

it is said that the cost of treatment for bilateral conditions presenting on one side of the body is not covered under the system of Trupanion. However, in your article it says “No bilateral exclusions (a condition or disease that affects both sides of the body)”

What is right one?

Brad
January 22, 2020 5:31 pm

A COMPLETE RIP-OFF! I would think twice before giving this company even a penny because they do not honor and follow their own policies and will lie to make sure they don’t have to cover a claim.

My dog injured her ear a little over a week after we enrolled in Trupanion. We kennelled her and came home after going out for a bit. When we came back she had (what we learned) a hematoma forming under her ear. It got worse over the next couple of days because she began scratching at it because it was obviously bothering her.

We took her to the vet and learned it was a hematoma from hitting her ear on the kennel wire. She was thoroughly checked for any underlying causes like an infection or something else, and the doctor found nothing. The dr even noted in the medical record that there was no sign of infection or other underlying causes besides the trauma.

Trupanion denied our claim based on their 30-day illness waiting Period stating that a hematoma can be caused by an underlying ear infection. They never called, they never spoke to the vet before denying the claim. Mind you, they also have a 5-day injury waiting period. And my dog’s ear injury was caused by trauma. NOT an illness.

We appealed the claim because the ear hematoma was caused by trauma and not an illness. The vet we took her to called Trupanion and explained that there was no underlying illness and that the ear hematoma was caused by trauma.

And after waiting and waiting to learn if the claim would now be honored…I received an email informing me that they would still not cover the claim and they were still holding to the explanation that it was during the illness waiting period.

In my opinion, Trupanion operates under deceitful business practices and do not honor their own policies. Don’t have an injury waiting period and an illness waiting period that are different if you are going to have to lie when a claim is received so you don’t have to cover it.

And then when I called Trupanion to cancel because I refuse to give a dishonorable company my business. Christine answers and can’t do anything because she’s not licensed in Utah. So she somehow works in a call center that not 1 person is licensed in Utah and she will have to open a file and have someone call me in a few days.

I wish I had never trusted Trupanion. You can bet they collected their money every month, but that is where their service ends.

Thomas Cripps
January 16, 2020 3:38 pm

Trupanion literally slapped a pre-existing condition of ‘ingesting’ on our puppy. In Trupanion’s own words, two claims made before the policy became ‘live’ (beware of this, they have a grace period whereby they will collect information for prior 18 months on your dog to claim pre-existing conditions before the policy goes live). Once a pre existing condition is set it lasts for the lifetime of the policy. So any claim I ever make that is in some way related to my dog eating something is deniable. In Trupanion’s own words, the claims that triggered the pre existing condition were for “Diarrhea and Vomiting”, and then when my dog ate raisins and needed urgent monitoring for potential renal failure under “Ingesting Toxic Foreign Material”, they denied the claim, and they will deny similar claims forever more. Reading other reviews about Trupanion, they seem to have blocked other similar claims even without claiming pre existing conditions. I would recommend another pet insurer. These guys are bandits.

Ashley Murphy
January 14, 2020 7:44 pm

I made a claim 6 months ago and still have not received my money. Do yourself a favor and find a better insurance company. This company sucka!

BaxterDad
December 30, 2019 7:24 pm

I visited the Trupanion website, got a quote and was really surprised at their high cost. It was at least four times what I would expect to pay. And, given that they don’t even cover exams or pre-existing conditions, their costs seem way too high for what you get. I’m not even going to consider buying their insurance.

Lucky's Mom
November 12, 2019 6:03 pm

Should I be concerned that Trupanion offers Vets free software in exchange for “recommending” Trupanion health insurance to pet owners? In the words of their CEO, the software allows vets to “submit claims and get paid within seconds!” So can I really trust a vet who is hawking this insurance? Are they going to subject my dog to unnecessary tests and procedures because a)it’s that easy for them to get paid b)they don’t feel bad because it’s not a single mom paying out of her pocket for that “better safe than sorry” blood test or biopsy. These vets who are in cahoots with Trupanion should be ashamed. It was even worse up until 2016 when Trupanion was rewarding Vets with rewards ranging from $50 gift cards for iTunes, Home Depot, IHOP, Dunkin’ Donuts and the like; to vacations in destinations such as Napa, Miami, New York City and Jackson Hole. The gift cards required 650 points and the trips required upwards of 36,000 points, according to an investigation conducted in Washington State. Just awful!

Alexis Nelson
October 20, 2019 10:28 am

I normally don’t write bad reviews ever, however, my bad experience with Trupanion must be shared to help future buyers. When we first got our puppy we were moving to a rural area known for fleas and ticks, so we went to the vet to start preventative care of a flea and tick medication. When we signed up for Trupanion they deemed that vet visit as a result of allergies and proceeded to deny every claim thereafter due to allergies being a pre-existing condition.

Here are the specifics: Our puppy had heat rash – denied due to allergies. Then he got pink eye from the neighbor’s dog – denied due to allergies. Then he got pink eye again from the same neighbor dog – denied again due to allergies. Then he had a puncture wound – that too was denied due to allergies. And then when I said I wanted to cancel and move to another company they threatened me that they will share their findings of allergies with the other company and it will always remain a pre-existing condition. When my dog has NO allergies to anything, ever. We feed him every kind of human food (except for the ones all dogs are not aloud like gapes, garlic, onions, etc) and all dog treats. He has never shown signs of allergies once, and the vet agrees he has never had allergies either.

I bought the insurance for peace of mind. I am thankful for this experience because now I have confidently canceled all insurance for our dog. I’ll be putting my monthly money into a savings plan to use for future vet bills. Possibly without this experience, I wouldn’t be so confident when future vet bills come up. I hope this honest bad review of how Trupanion is a scam will help future animal owners.

Future buyer suggestion – If you do buy insurance be sure to do it before you ever take them to the vet and don’t share any information on issues that arrived before the policy is out of the waiting period. That seems to be the only approach for them to not irrationally denying every claim. Good luck and I wish you the best with your little one.

Maria Posada
October 6, 2019 7:06 pm

What a scam of a company. Doesn’t really care about the wellness of your pets. Every. Single. Claim. Denied. They don’t cover office visits, they don’t cover vaccines, they don’t cover de-worming, they don’t cover when your pet gets sick. Period. How are you supposed to keep your pet healthy if the insurance company your pay hundreds for a month denies every claim? How can you say you care about pet health if your company doesn’t even cover basic wellness? Don’t ever get Trupanion insurance. It’s a total waste of your money.

Neil Olmstead
September 16, 2019 2:13 pm

Insurance companies are difficult to deal with in any scenario but Trupanion is one of the worst of the worst and this is coming from an almost 6 year long loyal customer. My first experience with them was when my dog tore an ACL and had to have TPLO surgery. Trupanion was great through the start of the process approved all claims leading up to the surgery even pre-approved the almost $4000 surgery. That’s when it all started to go bad. Surgery went great we payed the vet assured we would get reimbursed by Trupanion. 30 days go buy and receive notification our claim was denied with no other reasoning other than they said it was a pre-existing condition (yes, after it was already pre-approved!!!). This started a very long battle with Trupanion, the vet(which was great), and ourselves going through the appeal process. After many iterations and the vet going way above and beyond on our behalf we were successful in the appeal. Much to Trupanion’s dismay. They tried everything they could to continue to deny but ulimately had no grounds continue non-payment.

Fast forward 5 years later and the dog has had a very healthy life so no new claims. He ended up with a foot infection from something he had stepped on and cut his paw. after all the treatment and medicine we were out almost $1000. No problem though we have insurance and Trupanion has our back right?, Wrong!!! Submitted the claim and waited the 30 days for them to make a determination and to my surprise CLAIM DENIED!!!! The reason, ha you’ll love this, this claim was also denied because once upon a time the vet noted he had redness in his ears(not an infection, just redness). The redness in the ears was in July 2014, infection in the paw August 2019. Called and spoke with Karin and she said it must be related to allergies so you can go through the appeal process again if you want to try to overturn it. WHA WHHAAAT!!! My dog possibly had an ear infection over 5 ears ago so now all skin related issues can not be covered, WHAT THE? They never contacted the vet or myself for clarification just seems it is policy to deny all claims then put the extraordinary burden of appeal on the customer to try to get reimbursement. Sound like a good company to you? I am no longer a customer of Trupanion and would recommend all others to be very careful before putting your trust in them like i did. If you do be ready for a fight with every claim.

Jackie
May 7, 2019 9:16 am

One thing people need to remember is that most people tend to post poor reviews (esp. on Yelp) since they’re angry about the way they were treated, etc. I would like to share a positive story. We’ve had Trupanion for our Golden Retriever for 8 years and our daughter’s cat for 5 years. This past January, Sydney (the cat) became ill and we went to our local vet. After they couldn’t figure out what was wrong (after about 10 days and $2K), they referred us to a local specialty/emergency vet. Sydney spent 5 days in Critical Care, underwent numerous lab tests, ultrasounds, a blood transfusion, and eventually got an E-tube for feeding (diagnoses were acute pancreatitis, anorexia, anemia, lack of reproduction of RBC, among others). He kept losing weight even with the feeding tube, and underwent a bone marrow biopsy. His feeding tube became infected and he was transferred back to Critical Care (this is about a month later). Finally, at the end of March, his little body just couldn’t take the trauma any longer (still not definitive dx, either), and my daughter had to make the painful decision to euthanize (he was down to 2.1 KG by this time). The total cost of our various bills for this illness was approximately $22K! After paying the $100 deductible, and the various doctor & exam fees (wish they’d cover exam fees for emergencies, etc., but it’s right in the policy no exam fees are covered), they paid approximately $20K, including special food for his e-tube. If not for the insurance, there is no way we would ever be able to pay that kind of bill and we would have had to euthanize much earlier. Trupanion was supportive through all this, and sent a nice card and note from the staff after Sydney passed. Furbaby owners should never have to worry about cost when taking care of our pets, so this was definitely a lifesaver! Yes, the policy fee has gone up every year, but we were paying $113/month for both our dog & cat which doesn’t seem very unreasonable. As you can see, we more than made up for our premium payments. I would recommend this company to anyone.

Tom
April 25, 2019 9:32 pm

Read the 1* Yelp reviews. Trupanion is crap and borderline scam. They deny coverage and claim the most obscure pre-existing condition terms. Pet owners pay thousands in insurance and then one day realize Trupanion won’t cover the bill. Read Yelp is all I can suggest.

Kathie Young
March 4, 2019 7:50 pm

During the past 5 years we have had Trupanion pet insurance for our 4 pets, premiums have totaled approximately $6000.00. I recently had my first significant claim when our basset hound developed glaucoma. Since we have $1000 deductible, I submitted all the receipts totally approximately $1250.00. I was told by their representative that evaluations and diagnostics were covered, but Trupanion disallowed all these claiming that these were merely “exams”. My dog has had over 13 appointments to diagnosis his eyesight and adjust his medications, and Trupanion did not pay for a doctor’s’ appointment even when an ophthalmologist was involved!

The representative advised me to appeal and have the doctors code the visits as diagnostic evaluations. I did so and asked my veterinarian to send me an email as soon as this was faxed to Trupanion. I ACTUALLY RECEIVED TRUPANION’S DENIAL OF THE APPEAL BEFORE I RECEIVED OUR VET’S EMAIL. I called my vet to save the records and advised them to NEVER recommend Trupanion again. Trupanion took my $6000, but refused to pay for any diagnostic evaluations done in a doctor’s office. Attorneys: I recommend class action.

Sheila
June 6, 2019 3:55 pm
Reply to  Kathie Young

Hi, have you thought about contacting the insurance commissioner? If things don’t turn around for my dog, l will!

Joe Miranda
February 15, 2019 4:15 pm

Scam company, avoid at all costs!! Go with Figo or Healthy Paws. Trupanion only has customers because of the free month sign up program they have in vets offices. Well guess what, I signed up for that, sure enough my puppy needed to go to the ER 3 weeks later, I submitted the claim (mind you ONLY FOR $300) and they declined all of it! The reasons they provided were completely FALSE and fabricated dates, I had proof which I responded back with. THEY DID NOT EVEN ANSWER MY EMAIL AFTER MULTIPLE FOLLOW UP ATTEMPTS.

Horrendous, horrendous experience. Stay as far away as possible.

s. Furr
November 5, 2018 5:28 pm

SO, now there’s a heavy pitch on pet insurance. Just look at all the pluses and minuses. . .MOSTLY MINUSES. A total RIPOFF, DON’T DO IT!!

Jay Blakensfall
October 26, 2018 6:36 pm

Terrible Experience! Lawsuits all over the place! Trupanion is a nightmare and a BIG scam.

Chris Manno
October 26, 2018 6:35 pm

terrible experience with this company. incredibly devastated. i have paid them for years under the guise that they would cover my dog. well when the time came- they denied all claims and stated “sorry we changed our policy now and you should have read the small print.” please be aware- this company is a scam- very sad.

vasile r verdes
October 21, 2018 4:02 pm

Sadly I just found that a surgery done in Japan (is not available in USA, Canada) is not covered. It’s about mitral valve surgery. They are compassionate and kind and sorry but not helpful. Found out in the Facebook group that Embrace and Nationalwide will cover this. Really disappointed after 10 years with them.

M K
October 11, 2018 10:58 pm

From what I can tell most of the complaints about Trupanion are the result of people who are not taking the time to understand what is and what is not included in their plan. I have a year old kitten who has been enrolled in Trupanion since I got her and she has some serious digestive issues. Over the course of the last six months they have reimbursed me over $1500. After the initial claim they can process a claim and pay your vet directly in less than five minutes. As someone who has worked in the veterinary industry for many years and has dealt with many different insurance companies I can say that Trupanion is definitely worth the money as long as you have the common sense to read through the very easy to understand summary of your benefits. The company is definitely more expensive than others, but their coverage is among the most comprehensive that I’ve seen. In addition to this, their per-condition deductible saves a lot of money on chronic illnesses such as diabetes, hyper/hypothyroidism, allergies, IBD, arthritis, Cushing’s disease, and many more. However, for people that are looking for a cheaper company and who are willing to pay an annual deductible instead of a per-condition deductible, Healthy Paws is a great choice. Just keep in mind that NO pet insurance company is going to cover preexisting conditions so, if that is what you’re looking for, consider checking out Neverland, Narnia, Atlantis or one of those other places that doesn’t exist.

Linda
September 26, 2018 12:09 am

Trupanion was very compassionate when our dog died. They quickly paid the claims associated with our dog’s illness, and the euthanasia. They pro-rated our premium for that month and issued a partial refund, which was back in our checking account within three days. About a week later they sent a sympathy card, not only signed by about five employees, but each wrote a heartfelt message! Thank you Trupanion for having a heart. When we find our next dog he or she will be insured by Trupanion.

m d
June 17, 2018 8:39 pm

Trupanion has been the worst to deal with. They will find the tiniest issue as far back in your vet records as they can and use it to their advantage to claim pre-existing conditions and not cover your claim! Steer clear of this money-grabbing company! When you call to cancel, they will guilt you and make you feel like a bad pet owner for not having an insurance policy anymore. Absolutely ridiculous!

shaun
September 22, 2017 8:16 am

Could not disagree with many of you on this post my Boston Terrier just passed away and over the last 4 years trupanion has paid out over 45k in my dogs vet bills and all of his medications and never questioned me one time or jacked up the price of his premium or deductible . And a week after I cancelled his policy I received a sympathy card from them signed with notes from every person I ever spoke to on the phone . I’m sorry many of you didn’t receive the service I did but this company made my dog comfortable and extended his life 2-3 years and to me that is priceless . And they also paid the vet directly .