Nationwide Pet Insurance Reviews: The Grandfather of Pet Insurance

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Dog wiht owner in backgroundDid you know that Nationwide sells pet insurance, and that it sold its first policy to Lassie? We don’t know about you, but we think it’s pretty cool that Lassie’s pet parents loved her enough to have pet insurance for her. This first sale by Nationwide (formerly known as VPI) quickly grew into multiple sales throughout California and now the rest of the United States. While researching Nationwide pet insurance, we found ourselves a little overwhelmed. They display things differently than other companies. For example, they list exact illnesses that are or aren’t covered, which can be good if your dog’s breed is prone to a specific illness. After digging a little deeper, we unraveled the complexities and offer up a thorough review to help you learn about this product.

Nationwide logoVisit Website

Nationwide Pet Insurance Review

2.5
Nationwide Pet Insurance Review
Policy Coverage 2.0
Customer Service & Reputation 2.0
Timeliness of Claim Payment 2.0
Price of Policy 4.0

Pros

  • Whole Pet with Wellness Plan is in all 50 states
  • Track claims in real-time online and submit them through your smartphone
  • Unlimited claims for Major Medical and Whole Pet with Wellness plans
  • One of the only pet health insurance companies to offer exotic pet insurance
  • Among the lowest monthly cost options
  • Hip dysplasia coverage in the Major Medical and Whole Pet with Wellness plans

Cons

  • Wellness Only plans are not available in NH and FL
  • High number of complaints overall (finding negative reviews is not difficult)
  • 12 month waiting period for CCL (ACL) surgery for Major Medical plan
  • 14-day waiting period for Whole Pet with Wellness and Major Medical plans. 24-hour waiting period for Pet Wellness plan
  • Nationwide BBB page has an alert about fraudulent checks
  • Major Medical Plan has annual limits per condition
  • $2 transaction fee

VPI Pet Insurance Is Now Nationwide Pet Insurance

Get 3 Free Pet Insurance Quotes

VPI insurance (Veterinary Pet Insurance) started selling pet insurance in 1982 as a brand under the Nationwide umbrella of products. In 2014 all of Nationwide’s insurance companies joined under the one brand. This article therefore covers both Nationwide pet insurance reviews and VPI pet insurance reviews since it is such a new product under the Nationwide brand name.

Nationwide Pet Insurance Review

Nationwide pet insurance has an entire page dedicated to what is excluded from their plans. Take a look at this page for a full listing.

Pricing

Below is a table showing an overview of what each plan offers at each price. Pricing can vary based on pet, age, breed, location and more.

Pet WellnessMajor MedicalWhole Pet with Wellness
starting at $18/monthstarting at $35/monthstarting at $65/month
Flea/heartworm preventionAccidents and illnessesAccidents and illnesses
VaccinationsSome hereditary conditions (after 1-yr waiting period)Hereditary conditions (no waiting period)
MicrochippingBenefits renew in full each yearNo maximum benefit
Wellness examChronic conditions covered at no extra costChronic conditions covered at no extra cost
No age restrictions
Wellness exams and treatments
90% back on veterinary bills*

*Grooming, tax, waste disposal, boarding, or pre-existing conditions are not eligible for coverage (read complete contract for full list of exclusions).

Coupon Code

There are not any active Nationwide Pet Insurance coupon codes at this time.

Exotic Pet Insurance

Nationwide offers pet insurance for exotic pets including birds, rabbits, reptiles, rodents or other exotic pets. The plan covers accidents and illnesses in addition to exams, lab fees, x-rays, hospitalization, prescriptions and more. For more information on this plan, checkout their page here.

Nationwide Pet Insurance Quotes

We’ve compiled some quotes from Nationwide to give you an idea of what your Nationwide dog insurance may cost. You can go directly to Nationwide’s site to get a better estimate of what your specific price would be.

BreedLabrador RetrieverEnglish Cocker SpanielGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat (Medium Hair)
Age28466 months6 months2
LocationIowa (zipcode: 50125)Illinois (zipcode 60604)California (zipcode: 90001)New York (zipcode: 10001)New York (zipcode: 10001)Iowa (zipcode: 50125)Ohio (zipcode: 44101)
Annual MaximumUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Major Medical Price Per Month ($250 annual deductible)$26.65$70.96$42.81$61.50$35.55$25.85$15.57
Whole Pet with Wellness Price Per Month ($100 annual deductible)$91.85$202.07$97.97$125.80N/AN/A$36.87
Major Medical + Wellness Plus (with no deductible)N/AN/AN/AN/A$53.55$43.95N/A

Customer Reviews

Positive Nationwide Pet Insurance Reviews

I’m currently a Risk Manager for a large real estate investment trust and was formerly an insurance broker for 20 years prior to my current role. I know how difficult insurance companies can be to deal with for accounts large and small and I have to say I’ve been extremely impressed with the coverage and service provided by Nationwide (formerly VPI). I’ve used them for my 1 year old boxer and have had no issues with recovery under the policy. Their portal is user-friendly and I’ve been impressed with their customer services. I find them to be communicative from the day a claim is submitted through receiving reimbursement and details of that calculation. Even after having several claims in year 1, my premium did not change upon renewal. Overall, I would recommend Nationwide to help you and your family protect your pet and include a full coverage plan for any unforeseen medical costs.  Hopefully, you never need them, but its nice to know they are there. – Jason B., Yelp 2/11/2016

I have been reading the reviews and I have to tell you I have had only great experiences with this insurance. I started with VPI (veterinary pet insurance) when my puppy was 4 months old and they changed to Nationwide sometime back. (My dog is now 2). I have to file 5 or 6 claims in this amount of time and I have ALWAYS been reimbursed! I have met my deductible (easy to do on one visit alone!) and the reimbursement in my last 3 visits has been 100% within 2-3 weeks. I am hoping this letter will not jinx me, but so far so good! I actually have no complaints! – Fran, Consumer Affairs 12/31/2016

Negative Nationwide Pet Insurance Reviews

Any review higher than 1 star is either FAKE or from a customer prior to 6/2014. PERIOD NO EXCEPTIONS. VPI is a full on SCAM. Pays nothing, Hit our 500 deductible, only to have a new medication given to our dog for Hip Pain. Total of 130 a bottle. Every 30 days. VPI Cover it? Nope claims it’s pre-existing?? We’ve been with VPI 5 years she was 8 months old when we joined. Can they show me anywhere in the 5 years she’s ever had hip problems? NOPE, nothing rep says pre-existing and nothing can be done. SCAM SCAM SCAM. Happily I paid our $585 premium with my AMEX, Just filed a dispute as services not rendered. Thank god for AMEX. – Scott, Yelp 1/7/2016

I enrolled in Nationwide (then VPI) when I adopted my beagle 9 years ago; she’s healthy and has only had wellness visits, for which I was reimbursed some percentage. In December 2016, she had surgery (at age 10, her first surgery) to remove a perianal adenoma — Nationwide reimbursed me $480 on a $1,487 bill. I’m stunned. Very disappointed. – Carol, Consumer Affairs 1/24/2017

Finding Bumps on Your Dog

Cancer is one of the most common illnesses among dogs. By being proactive and searching your dog regularly you could catch it sooner. Here are some tips from Nationwide Pet Insurance. Not every lump is cancerous, so read our article if you are trying to figure out whether to worry about your dogs bumps and lumps.

What We Don’t Like

We hope you’ve made your own decision on Nationwide pet insurance. Our opinion? We feel they strong arm you into purchasing the Whole Pet with Wellness plan because it’s the only package that offers both prevention and illness coverage. The lower packages are reasonably priced for the amount of coverage you are getting but does it cover enough to justify having pet insurance at all? Then, the price for the Whole Pet with Wellness plan can be pretty high. We feel there are better options available, unless you are seeking exotic pet insurance. To learn more about your other choices, take a look at our Dog Insurance Reviews.

Why are you considering getting pet insurance from Nationwide?

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Growing up, Kimberly used to get the sniffles when she was around dogs. Thankfully, she grew out of her allergy and is now able to play and snuggle with dogs as much as she wants! She and her husband adopted Sally, a four-year-old hound mix, in early 2017, and she has brought so much joy into their lives. Life as pet parents has been very rewarding.

Leave a Reply

14 Comments on "Nationwide Pet Insurance Reviews: The Grandfather of Pet Insurance"

newest oldest most voted
Sandra
Nationwide pet insurance was offered through my employer so I bought the policy. My dogs were healthy but when one of them had gotten sick it was ridiculous to get reimbursed. My vets office faxed three claims with medical detailed information.
Nationwide continued to ask repeatedly for medical records which had been faxed three times by my veterinarian hospital. It went on for two months then I just decided to Cancel and they continue to deduct from my check . I called and asked why I was told because it’s a fee for canceling the plan early. This company does not care about animals just how much money they can get from clients. Don’t waste your money and time it’s not worth it.
Jasty
I can’t find any evidence that they will cover a dog under their Whole Pet with Wellness plan. I have a cat under that plan and it is fantastic – she has zero pre-existing conditions because she started as a kitten. They reimburse 90% over my deductible and it’s great. But why can’t we pay for dogs to be covered the same way?? Their major medical + pet wellness plan for dogs is a JOKE with so many exclusions and so many ways to deny coverage (if your dog is diagnosed with, say, hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, that is usually considered an INHERITED form of myopathy with is on their exclusion list!!). They also have a benefit schedule that’s ridiculous. NOT IMPRESSED with their coverage for dogs!!!
Laura
DO NOT FALL FOR PURCHASING THIS INSURANCE! I l had used their wellness policy for a couple of years and then upgraded my policy last year to the Whole Pet with Wellness so that I could rest assured that my fur baby was completely covered. I was sold on this policy my the mere fact that it included dental where other companies did not. Unfortunately I discovered that the dental coverage offering is just a big lie. Basically if you take you pup in for their first routine dental cleaning they are not going to cover it because if there is any tarter it is considered a pre-existing condition!!! I just spent $900 at the vet only to find out the hard way that none of it was covered!! My vet, who also had this insurance, was appalled because she said ALL dogs have tarter! Needless to say, I believe neither of us will be using this fraudulent insurance company any more!!! Don’t be fooled!
Steven Opdyke
I finally cancelled our Nationwide pet insurance because it never covered anything. No matter what I put in for in the way of coverage, it was denied because one time – before I took out the policy our dog had an operation. What I found out over several years that no matter what our dog was operated on the claim was denied because in whatever way the company could come up with, it was somehow related to the pre-existing condition. That condition, folks, never goes away, and is used no matter the relationship to deny future claims. This is why obamacare got rid of pre-existing conditions. Insurance companies, especially Nationwide, use them to deny any future claims. Don’t waste your money buying a policy from Nationwide. Nationwide is bad for you!! I learned the hard way and hope I can save you from the same disappointment.
LuvOurPetz
We are VERY pleased with Nationwide They have been paying very quickly on our claims. Their new electronic payments make it even faster – and no lost/misplaced checks. We have an older dog on an older policy so our reimbursements for her are based on a schedule but have generally been good and quite timely. She had a pre-existing condition but because she went a long time without a flare up they actually reimbursed us for her most recent treatment after we submitted her records to show the time span. We were very pleased. Our almost 2-year old cat is on the newer policy and they’ve paid well on it, also. Of course, she hasn’t needed very much so it SEEMS a bit expensive but since we’re in it for the long haul we expect it to pay off eventually. The only complaint we have is that prescription foods are not covered now. (We heard they did cover them at one time.) Nationwide was wonderful when our previous dog died after complications from Kennel Cough. (He’d been vaccinated against it but the Kennel Cough strain was bad that year). Their payments for the treatment and tests were good and, again, very timely. That same year we also lost our young cat due to several factors including renal disease and cardiovascular shock. These were all covered minus the deductible which was a great help and comfort. We also appreciated the notes of sympathy we received on their passings.
Stephanie
We paid for a superior dog plan with a cancer rider. For15 years we paid and every year. The premiums increased. Our beloved Westie became ill at the age of 13. At first it was thought his cough was due to bronchitis. Frisky had cancer! Nationwide was not on his side. Every time the Vet gave them additional information Nationwide requested more. Bottom line, we were not reimbursed as stated on the contract. Nationwide made thousands of dollars from us and did nothing to help out dog. Please be very careful before you enter into a contract with Nationwide Pet Insurance. Nationwide is only on their side! Watch out on social media for remembering Frisky!
Denise
Stephanie, we had the same exact problem with our pet. We got reimbursed practically no money. And for years we faithfully paid them a premium every month. So sorry to hear about your pet. Nationwide is heartless.
Kelli
Very unsatisfied with the responses to submitted claims. Everything we submit request additional information or medical records. Everything is on a medical receipt and includes an itemized receipt. We have no “additional” medical information, as Hitchcock is a rescue dog that we adopted in October 2016. Each and every bit of medical records we have have been submitted.

We are seriously reavaluatig whether the cost of this insurance is worth the cost. They sell themselves to us, then all we get for our money are more requests for more information. Trust me, we do not hold back any information and if the expenses come from our vets office and are itemized, they are legit. My husband and I both work at major teaching institutions and you can trust that we have discussed this issue with many colleagues who agree that our experience has been very negative.

We have carried Nationwide Pet Insurance for several years. We are not happy with the constant review of each and every charges and the constant request for additional information. You do not feel as if a partner in the care of our family pet, but an adversary. Our claims are thorough and complete and all requests have been met with information, yet we are still barraged with additional requests.

Denise
Kelli.. I agree with you, as my experience is the same. Started with Nationwide Nov. 2016. Will give them two more weeks to honor my claims. If no results, it is wiser to self insure. I will end it with Nationwide.
Denise
Nationwide is a rip-off. Their premiums are high and they reimburse you practically no money. Please read all the fine print on their policies. They are very deceiving. Purchase your pet insurance with someone else.
Stephen Reese M Ferguson
I purchased pet insurance for our dog (AKC Registered Doberman with 4 blue ribbons) who is a pure breed and just about perfect dog. We purchased this insurance knowing in the future he may have hip or joint issues. Or heaven forbid he get into an accident or eat poison or whatever issues could arise. So we adopted our dog on 4/16/2016 from a reputable breeder and she shows all of her dogs. On 4/21 we bought the pet insurance and on 4/25 our account was debited the money. We had to attest that there were no per-existing conditions on our pup. We even sent every medical record from the previous owners vet. He was eating Fromm Dog Kibbles (really good food) and we continued with the Fromm brand, just changed the type of kibbles he was eating. On 4/26 he was getting a rash all over his body and was getting pustules on his hind legs. I called the vet and we got him in. The vet was not 100% sure if it was the food or environmental allergies. (We live in Central Florida and this year was a bad year for dog allergies supposedly.) So I knew our insurance would not cover this, but I thought it was important to have him looked at and I will just pay out of pocket. The vet said she was not 100% sure but there have been a lot of dogs coming in the last few weeks with allergies. So I told her I thought it may be the food since we changed it a week ago. She went ahead and started him on prednisone and an antibiotic. I left out of there paying $185.00 (got his physical since it was his first visit). No biggie, I did not send that in to the insurance as I knew he was not covered. His rash went away as we went to another food. Fast forward to July 2016, we noticed he had skin bumps starting on his belly and a growth (tumor) on his right side of his rib cage. The vet did some scrapping and found the bumps to be either allergies or bug bites (he is on flee and heart worm meds as well, that I did not send it to the insurance company). So they put him on another drug and said he will be fine in a few days. Come to find out the growth was a benign tumor and needed to be removed as he would not leave it alone and kept licking and scratching it. So we had it removed. I sent forward the paperwork with all of the vet notes, just to be told they will not pay as this is a PRE EXISTING condition. WHAT? So I called and escalated to a manager (Alesia) and she said since we took him in before the insurance policy date started, the diagnosis of “allergies” was documented and they will not pay for per-existing conditions. I attempted to argue the point that it was food allergies and they told me it was allergies, so all allergies fall under that. I was completely shocked. After being in medicine for 20 years, I had never heard of that garbage. So at the end of the day, we have shelled out $892.12 for vet bills (tumor removed and spayed as well) and have received only $72.39 in return. They will NOT reimburse us for the others. I know I can get legal representation and fight this and get it ALL back but will end up spending $5k to get $800 back is not logical. They are banking on this I am sure. I am going to post this on EVERY FORUM out there for others to be cautious of this rip off scam. DO NOT BUY PET INSURANCE FROM NATIONWIDE! You have been warned!
Denise
Stephen, this is a great review. People really need to know how Nationwide works. My poor dog needed surgery and I thought he was covered for $7,000 per year. Well, because I did not read all the fine print in their policy, it turns out the $7,000 has to be SPLIT BETWEEN 150 different illnesses. So for a surgery that cost $4,300, Nationwide will only reimburse me $155. YOU HAVE TO READ THE FINE PRINT IN NATIONWIDE’S POLICY. I was so blindsided by this. So paying a $60 per month premium for years got me absolutely nowhere. STAY AWAY FROM NATIONWIDE. The managers also told me (in other words) to go screw myself. So sad.
elcid07
I first enrolled my bulldog Abby with VPI about 8 years ago when she was a few months old (before Nationwide took over). I had mixed feelings about the value, but after a couple of TPLO procedures later in her life I finally hit the break even mark and decided pet insurance was a worthwhile investment (especially with bulldog breeds).

I was optimistic when Nationwide took over and I signed my new puppy Bleu (French Bulldog) up for their Whole Pet With Wellness plan. Around the time I signed Bleu up, we started to notice his paw turning outwards, got xrays, and consulted with an Orthopedic Specialist who diagnosed him with Congenital (likely) Angular Limb Deformity. Per the specialist, there were no prior signs of injury or infection (aka pre-existing condition) which meant he very well could have been born with it (congenital).

The surgery cost about $2,500. I filed my claim, provided ALL medical records, and waited more than TWO MONTHS with this open payable on my Care Credit account before I finally heard back from Nationwide with the disappointing news that they would not cover a dime. Even though congenital disorders ARE COVERED, since we OBSERVED the resulting symptoms as they worsened (the curved paw got worse as he began to grow) before my policy started they said it is a pre-existing condition.

They stopped just short of accusing me of getting insurance because of this issue when I have been a long time pet insurance holder with them through my original VPI contract. I will likely not renew insurance for either of my dogs with them once up for renewal. I had a very competitive quote with Healthy Paws that I should have stuck with.

Morgan Jean Young
I have Nationwide on my side for car insurance but had no clue that they also sold pet insurance. And really glad to hear they also offer exotic pet insurance because I have a snake that is very expensive to get treated when he gets sick so will look into that too. Thanks Kimberly!

Send this to a friend