Banfield Wellness Plan Reviews: Is It Worth It?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Banfield Pet Hospital logoAlthough sometimes referred to as Banfield Pet Insurance, Banfield isn’t actually pet insurance — it’s a wellness membership plan (whose logo suggests it’s a vet’s office). Despite all this confusion, the major question we have — is Banfield wellness care worth it? Its plans don’t cover illness or injury, only preventative care.

If you are looking for a more comprehensive insurance plan to cover accidents and illness in addition to preventative care, you may want to consider pet health insurance.

Visit Banfield’s Website

Article Overview

How Does Banfield Wellness Plan Work?

Banfield Wellness Plans require you to visit a Banfield Pet Hospital, which are located in almost 1,000 PetSmart stores across the country. Its plans offer packages of preventive care, which include bi-annual comprehensive wellness exams that can cover vaccinations, parasite control, dental, nutrition and behavioral consultations. It requires a one-time sign-up fee and monthly payments that start at $12.95.

Pros

Cons

  • Widely available across the U.S.
  • Unlimited office visits
  • Weekend and evening hours
  • $15 discount on membership fee for additional pets
  • Personalized plans available
  • Annual contract required
  • No illness or injury coverage
  • Contract automatically renews
  • A number of Banfield reviews online complain about upselling while at appointments so it rarely ends up being free
  • Plans can become more expensive than competitors’ wellness plans
  • Must visit a Banfield location

Pricing

Banfield Wellness Plan prices start at $12.95 per month and vary by species, location and services. It offers 3 plan levels for each type of pet: dogs, puppies, cats and kittens. Its basic plan for dogs includes:

  • Comprehensive physical exam, 2 per year
  • Vaccinations
  • Diagnostic Testing
  • Fecal Exams, 2 per year
  • Deworming, 2 per year
  • Unlimited office visits
  • 10% off other Banfield services and products

Higher level plans include such services as urine testing, dental cleaning and preventative care x-rays, as well as higher discounts on their services and products. Optional add-ons include: parasite control, spay/neuter, additional dental, chronic care and a canine DNA test.

Banfield User Reviews

Typically we post 2 positive and 2 negative reviews that we’ve found online when we do an individual review like this. However, our readers have been so helpful that we encourage you take a look at our comment section for the most up-to-date customer reviews that we have.

Do You Need A Pet Wellness Plan?

We think the primary questions to ask yourself if you are considering this are the following.

  1. Do I have a local Pet Smart store and is it close enough that I would go there over my current vet’s office?
  2. Have I met the vets that work there and do I feel comfortable with them caring for my pet?
  3. Can I budget on my own for wellness care for my pet or would a plan like this help me be more financially prepared for the regular vet needs of my pet?

Before you sign up with Banfield, here are some other pet wellness insurance options you should consider.

What Canine Preventative Measures Are Most Important?

Check out this video by Banfield that highlights what you should be doing as your puppy transitions into adulthood.

Are Banfield Wellness Plans Worth It?

Visit Banfield’s Website

It really depends on several factors. First, some Banfield animal hospital locations are better than others — ask your neighbors/friends/coworkers and do your research online to see if your local Banfield pet hospital is up to par. After all, the kind of veterinary care your dog will receive is the most important factor.

Second, if your pup is healthy and young but finished chewing everything it finds, a Banfield plan may be all you need for preventative care. If you have a new puppy who is constantly in trouble, your dog is older with greater health concerns but few preexisting conditions, or if your pet has chronic health problems, you may want to consider pet insurance, which covers illness and injury.

Another major factor to keep in mind? Pet emergency visits aren’t covered by Banfield plans, whereas they are with pet insurance. Pet insurance can come with a higher monthly price tag, but it could be your better option in the long run.

If you’re considering pet insurance, be sure to check out our Pet Insurance Reviews comparison article. Many of the pet insurance companies offer wellness plans as add-on products to their health insurance. And yet another option would be to purchase a Banfield Wellness Plan in addition to pet insurance. This would provide coverage for both your routine pet exams as well as unexpected illnesses and accidents.

What experiences have you had with your Banfield Wellness Plan or at a Banfield Pet Hospital?

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Sally grew up in a feline-only home, but cat allergies in her early 20’s made it an easy transition to dog ownership. And she couldn’t be happier with her canine shadow, who’s been at her side (literally) for years. No longer a cat person for obvious reasons, Sally is now a true bone-ified dog lover.

44
Leave a Reply

newest oldest most voted
Chelsea
I feel like a lot of people don’t actually understand what the plan is, which is odd to me because after my vet thoroughly explained everything to me and enrolled my two dogs on the active plan I have a decent understanding. Maybe some people just don’t know how to explain it right and aren’t thorough. They don’t receive anything from “tricking” People into a plan. They take the whole sum of what you would pay a year for what you get done, I know mine was a dental, all vaccinations, bloodwork and a few other things, and divide that onto monthly payments. So last time I had bloodwork done, if I were to cancel today I wouldn’t just get to get away with getting that done for my monthly payment, you have to pay for the difference. Makes sense, or you could cancel at any time and essentially get everything you had done for free or very little money. I started going to banfeild because it was cheaper than anything local. Their office visit fee was way less than the small town vet I went to. Yes I still pay for meds and tests if my dogs get sick, but my meds are discounted and I don’t pay for the office visit. I like that I can give my dogs what they need to be healthy and regularly checked on just like people are, instead of just taking them in when they are sick and doing the bare minimum.
Rich Matyskiel
Just a couple comments regarding the Banfield Wellness Plan. First although the care given is mostly positive, you will find that it depends on the vet working on any particular day. On occasion we met with a vet who we found totally unacceptable, while on other visits the vet was fantastic.

Second if your pet should die, before your contract date is up, you are basically out of luck, and must continue paying the monthly fee for you deceased pet.

Nice and compassionate! Gotta love this business plan.

RT3
The staff at front desk at Jackson,MS location is very rude and unprofessional. Got a call for appointment scheduled and the person mentioned that the appointment was scheduled for today instead of tomorrow.
I was surprised but quickly changed my plans and took the pet there. They refused to accept the pet and did not accept the mistake they made in scheduling. I was delayed by more than hour at work and had to drive extra 45 miles just because of this miscommunication. The least they could do is keep the pet (who is on their Early Care Plus plan) for few hours so that I could report for work and pick during lunch.
Very unsatisfied.
When I tried to cancel the plan, after half an hour wait on phone, they told me I owe them more than I would have paid in installments anyway (what a scam). They tell you that there are no commitments and you can cancel any time.
Reason of review: Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy.
Monetary Loss: $380.
Preferred solution: Full refund.
I didn’t like: Wellness plans, Staff, Customer service.
Sam
It clearly states in the paperwork when you first sign up that you are signing a CONTRACT for one year. No you can’t just cancel whenever you want, it’s been like that for a very long time. Please read before you sign anything next time.That is solely your responsibility. Good luck with your pet.
Jim
Atually, I notified banfield that I would not be renewing my plans and I continued to make the monthly payments for six months until the expiration date. Then they continued to deduct the monthly fee from my account. They told me even if I completed the entire plan year, I would still have to pay the difference between the “services” I used and the amount I payed over the entire 12 months. So it is not really insurance, just a deferred payment plan with a balloon payment at the end. May be a good plan if you like it, you just can never cancel it without paying a substantial fee. Find a good vet who is always there for your pet and just pay as you go.
Michael
I do not recommend this plan for your pet. It’s a complete rip off! I was inquiring about cancelation the plan because of my relation to Park City, Utah where their no Banfield facilities. I spoke to a representative in regards of canceling the plan, but was informed if I cancel my plan today I owe them $350.00 because of the yearly check-up visit my pet recently had three days ago. That I will need to maintain the plan until the end of the year so that I won’t receive any charges. I paid in this whole year you haven’t used! She said when your plan renews if you didn’t use the money paid in on the year before it goes away. Goes away? Wth does it go to???? It’s complete bull crap is what it is. They are ripping off tons of people who work hard for a living. Well to their surprise it won’t be there because I have no money in my account when they go to try to collect. I don’t have a job. They should’ve listened.
Patrick Carlson
Absolutely criminal. These plans are a joke. Do not buy one of their plans. Absolute waste of money. I paid it off just to get out of it.
Juanita Gable
DO NOT ENROLL IN THE PLAN! They list all of the services that they provide and say that you’ll save money but that’s only compared to their own jacked up pricing. I looked into other vets in my area and their prices were substantially less for the same services. Furthermore, you have to “opt in” to receive notifications about when you are eligible for services and I couldn’t find that “opt in” through the website when I started looking for what services were available to me since I started questioning what it was that I was paying for. And if you try to cancel, they’ll charge you an OUTRAGEOUS amount of money for services you have received if you’ve been unfortunate enough to take advantage of any of them. RIP OFF! Don’t do it!
Eric A.
I have never had a problem canceling. After all my services were completed once, I canceled, and I didn’t have a problem disenrolling. Getting the right doctor does make a difference in the Banfield experience. I will say that I live in a very populated area, so they are ALWAYS busy. Lake Ridge, Virginia. Making an appointment had to be done a couple of weeks in advance. I don’t even know if walk-ins exist at my location. Overall, it’s better than going to your local Vet where they can be rude and have unorthodox practices. Would not have it any other way.
Robin Webster
Reading all of the reviews makes me wonder why anyone signs up for this. My daughter just had to have her 14 1/2 yr old lab put down. She contacted Banfield to stop the insurance and they have pro-rated an amount that she still owes . This is over and above the cost of euthanizing the dog. When you have paid as much as she has over the years I am speechless that she would have to pay anything at this point. The reviews would probably be better if Banfield would be fair to their customers and take into account how much they are getting from people. BAN BANFIELD!
Sam
First of all I am very sorry for your loss. Also reading this makes me realize how little you understood when you first signed up your pet, Nowhere does it state that the plans are “Insurance” They are called Optimum Wellness Plans for a reason. You have to pay for services rendered to your pet while he/she was alive, These plans helped YOU spread payments over a year instead of having to pay for it all upfront(this is why you still owed money from past services along with euthanasia which is not included in the plans). Your pet used the services, you can’t just expect to get things for free because your pet passed away. Unfortunately our pets can not be with us forever,but you as a responsible owner decided to provide the best care for your pet financially and keeping up with good health whether it is for humans or pets is expensive.Medicine is expensive. Banfield is fair to customers that’s why they provide monthly payment options. You probably did not have a problem when vaccines,bloodwork,tests,physical exams, professional advice office visits, were not charged to you all in one visit, this is how your typical Veterinarian office works ranging from 300-500 dollars just for one visit. If you complain about expenses of taking care of an animals health you should not have one.
Chris
Sam, are you just a troll? Have you read the full contract, front to back and back to front? To cancel services you give them a phone call and you have two options 1) pay for remaining years contract or 2) pay regular prices for services rendered. And for the record, most insurances these days are called plans.
Zane
I’ve never written an online review, but these guys should be looked at by law makers. Ditto on nearly everyone’s experience in this thread. In my case, I was lied to about what the plan provides. Say one thing, but fine print says another. It’s more expensive to cancel than keep it. I feel like such a sucker. Not giving Banfield or PetSmart my money anymore.
Jennifer
I enjoy the service given at Banfield Vet Clinics but they always seem to find SOMETHING to bill for that isn’t covered by insurance so I rarely walk away without spending around $100 even for just a well checkup. My biggest gripe is the people in charge of the wellness plan refuse to let me cancel the plan. I don’t find it worth the $ anymore and have tried multiple times to cancel it. I know it has to be cancelled before it auto-renews. Last year I called on the renewal date and they wouldn’t let me cancel because it was set to renew that day and they told me it was too late. Fast forward a year…I called twice the month before it was supposed to renew and told them to cancel. Knowing I did this in plenty of time and more than once, I expected it to cancel. It did not. I cancelled my cc and now am getting letters demanding payment. RIDICULOUS!!! I urge everyone to think twice before getting sucked into their wellness plans. I see a real nightmare on the horizon but haven’t felt like calling and yelling at them….yet.
Crystal Plemons
Wow! Some of you have some big problems with Banfield and the Wellness Plans. I’m sorry you have those issues, but I can say that I have had a total opposite experience! I have been two different Banfield clinics in my area and I have been nothing but pleased with the level of care my dogs have received. I’ve been with Banfield and had a Wellness Plan for over 17 years and this covered 3 dogs. One dog I adopted at 8 weeks old and she was on a Banfield plan for all 14 years of her life. Her vet was amazing and saw us from puppyhood to saying goodbye. Her wellness plan saved me a small fortune over the years. I also adopted a 14 year old dog in very rough condition. Banfield checked her out and their recommendations for improving her health were the exact same thing the vet for the rescue organization recommended in his vetting. They took great care of her for her final 3 years and her plan again saved me a small fortune. My current do has been seen by Banfield since hew as 10 weeks old and over the last 3 and a half years, he’s received nothing by great care. I’ve NEVER once been upselled or pressured into anything. When my senior dogs passed away, I did continue paying out their monthly fee for the wellness plan until the plan ended, but I had no problem doing that, because I was under contract and because I had used the plan on both of them multiple times that year and had saved a fortune. I had no problem continuing to pay the amount I agreed to pay in order to save money on all of my other visits. If you choose to cancel the plan and not fulfill your contract, then you are required to pay a fee. They are very upfront about that and will explain to you why that is the case if you speak to them. I hate seeing Banfield trashed all of the time, because there are some really good vets out there working at Banfield. I know, because my dog goes to them.
Susan
Yes and no. I had it with my last dog, and it was totally worth it for teeth cleaning and anal gland expressions. My dog had her teeth cleaned once a year and it only cost me a fraction of what it would have at a local vet.
I just adopted 2 puppy mill rescues. One needs her teeth cleaned and 1 extraction. A local vet just gave me a quote for the cleaning and extraction. It is over $600.00!!! The same vet charged me $48.00 for anal gland expression.
When I had the Banfield Wellness plan for my other dog, it only cost me $27.00 for the anal glands, and about $150.00 for the teeth cleaning.

The major problem I had with Banfield was there inability to hold on to Vets. My local Banfield location, closed 3-8 days at a time last year simply because they did not have a full time vet working there! They must not treat the Vets very well. It’s pretty awful when you have to wait 3-4 weeks for an appointment because they don’t have doctors…
Some thing is wrong there.

I need to keep searching for a place that doesn’t charge so much money. I’m retired too, and every penny counts.

May God bless us all!

Ladylou
My Westie is 14 in March and we’ve had such a good relationship with our vet UNTILL EVIL BANFIELD came on board with their “insurance” but don’t call it that !! We are on social security and the vet used to break up my appts so I could pay for services. Not the last time in May 2017. I am on Xanax & Adderall and am 65. The rep and the nurse were so pressuring about the wellness plan I was overwhelmed. After signing what I thought was for vet service and paying 217.00 that I did not have I FORGOT about stupid Banfield. No calls, no mail asking me whats the prob. (I had changed banks a month after the appt) so they could not debit account. Needless to say when they did contact me my bill is over 400. !!!! I am not returning to my vet, it saddens me that big companies take over small neighborhood businesses and the clients are the ones left holding the bag.
Delilah
I no longer have my puppy for reasons that couldn’t be helped ( he was born very sick) and in two weeks and one wellness check up and one shot i am having to pay over $300 to cancelled. Please Please be careful with this company.
Holly andrews
Do NOT do this !!!!! If you try to cancel because your daughter needs a wheelchair they say you owe the $400 for one visit!!!!! Plus you still have to pay something when you take them in! Biggest con EVER!!!!!!!
Maris Mitchell
Beware. Auto renew commits you to another complete year of payments. You’re brought in on a comprehensive exam and charged for a physical exam. They upscale services mot covered by your discount plan. I’ve never left paying less than 75. Bucks and still pay almost 360. A year. Where’s the savings. Save your money in case of an actual emergency. You can purchase your vaccinations from your dog groomer for 20 dollars and at least there’s a relationship there.
They say theyre not insurance but to me is a lot like auto or gome insurance. You pay the premiums and still have to pay for your service. Geez
Robert
Do not join this because it is a total scam…they bring you in once a month to milk you out of money and if your pet dies you still owe them! Check out Embrace for real pet insurance….it works and they are Johnny on the spot when it comes to paying out!
Mykensie
I had the same experience of Sandy below. I called to cancel my contract and they said then I owed $250 for PAST services. Not worth it. My last experience at the vet there was terrible. I requested my dog’s blood be drawn in the room. The vet tech said that my dog would become aggressive around me and we couldn’t do that. So what ended up happening is they worked my dog up into a panic attack and had to come back into the room to do a very difficult veni-puncture with me as he was all worked up. It didn’t have to happen like that if the tech had simply listened to me in the first place. Obviously they don’t hire the best staff.
Sandy
Do not sign up for the Plan. It is a complete rip off. I had to leave my job due to my husbands relocation, and tried to cancel my plan. They told me I owed them $350 + because my plan had just renewed and it was for services owed on my cat. I said what about the over $400 I paid in this whole year you haven’t used! She said when your plan renews if you didn’t use the money paid in on the year before it goes away. Goes away? Wth does it go to???? It’s complete bull crap is what it is. They are ripping off tons of people who work hard for a living. Well to their surprise it won’t be there because I have no money in my account when they go to try to collect. I don’t have a job. They should’ve listened.
Martha
that is true, my Yorkshire puppy had an accident and broke his leg, I called my local banfield hospital and since I didn’t have $ to pay at the time, they told me they couldn’t help my puppy, he was in so much pain, I tried to check local vet hospitals but they all denied the services unless I paid at the time. I also called another place and they told me that the only way to treat my puppy was if I surrender him…. but first they asked me what kind of breed was my puppy before they told me I had to surrender him… I broke my heart but He needed to be treat.. every since I’ve been so sad….. Banfield is a rip off…. ah I couldn’t canceled my plan since my puppy got neutered just 3 weeks before the accident….
Angie
They’re very upfront about the fact that it doesn’t cover accidents like this. I’m sorry about your dog but just because you didn’t read the contract you signed doesn’t make them a terrible company…You should’ve maybe opted into actual pet insurance because wellness plans don’t cover accidents. They also are very clear that is is a CONTRACT and if you cancel there is a fee, I don’t see how that is such a surprise. It sucks if you lose your job or something happens but you signed up for it and they still have a business to run.
Anonymous
DO NOT EVER TAKE YOUR BELOVED PET TO BANFIELD. The vets and techs are nothing more than salespeople with huge quotas on Non-Core Vaccines and other products including their Wellness Plan. If they don’t meet or refuse their quotas they are summarily fired! The PetSmart salespeople are more knowledgeable than the Banfield Veterinarians. PetSmart PLEASE SEVER THIS PARTNERSHIP AND KICK BANFIELD OFF YOUR PROPERTY!! Beware of what you think are independently owned vet practices and hospitals as the Banfield name has become so disreputable, they or their parent company are buying up vet practices and hospitals to sell their vet products, BUT leaving the name alone. HOWEVER, same rules apply: if the vet refuses to meet what he believes is a dangerous quota, not in the best interest of the health of the animals he treats, he gets fired. STAY AWAY FROM BANFIELD!!
7734
Anonymous…thank you for your statement. You said exactly what I’m feeling. Banfield is a ripoff. They should be investigated and shut down until they git it together.
Vlado
This is a big company scam!!! We singed up in April and our cat passed away after 1 month. We have visited Banfield only once and when I wanted to cancel the plan they said that we have already used $496.66 and that needs to be paid.
Sarah
I may be the only one who chimes into say it’s worth, IF…..

I have had a wellness plan for my pets for the last few years. Here’s the thing…IF you just take your pet once a year for an exam/vaccines/bloodwork (which by the way some are only needed every three years), it’s not worth it. IF you have a pet with chronic illness or a pet who gets sick from time to time, I have always found it worth it. JUST to WALK IN THE DOOR, it costs you $52.00. It always seems that at least one or two things come up each year. You have to do the math. IF you have a healthy animal who rarely gets sick then I would say the wellness plan isn’t worth it. IF you have a pet who needs to be seen a couple of times outside of their exam, it’s worth it. I have had times where my dog had diarrhea…took them in and did not pay a cent for an exam, but did walk home with medication which was actually discounted because we have a wellness plan.

It has been worth it for us…I had a pet with cancer and a pet with addisons disease. Every office visit is free…discounts on meds, their vaccines were included (if needed), and there were discounts on tests.

c.oneill
Don’t do it!!! After having the Optimum wellness plan for over 10 years, my dear pet passed away. When I called to cancel the plan, they told me I owed them nearly $200 to cover the expenses I used ‘over’ the plan that year. A total rip off!!!
Jill
I do not recommend Banfield. I thought I would save money and gain convenience (walk-in services, multiple locations across the country) by using the Wellness plan. What I gained was a distrust and a fear for my dogs health.

It is general policy that the wellness exam is a drop off service which means your pet sit in the “back room” in a crate until the vets have time do an exam sometime during the day. In this case, you the owner are not present to observe the exam and ask questions. You CAN schedule an exam with your pet in an exam room, but the clinic I used still took my dog to the back for shots, draw blood, etc. Apparently, the brief back-room experience qualifies for a $25 “hospitalization fee” because that is what I was charged and that is the explanation I was given by a front desk staff (after not getting an answer as to the fee when asking other staff).

I question their practices. While in the “back room”, my dog was administered three optional vaccines without my consent. The injection site swelled up like a golf ball and the vaccines caused my dog to be extremely sedated for three days. I never understood the philosophy of this practice. Since the cost of vaccines are included in the Wellness plan, Banfield did not make more money by giving the vaccines. Instead, they lost money on the cost of the vaccines all the while giving my dog vaccines I did not want given.

My dog died of unknown causes at age 9.

L Mays
Omg that happened to me. I said I wanted to be in
the room for my dogs vaccines but they took my pup
to the back and administered the shots!
Mary Baniak
Learn from our costly mistake. DO NOT take your pet to Banfield Hospital. Big rip off company!!
We purchased the $420 plan which was to include neutering and puppy shots and so much more. Each time we spent additional money. At least $50 to $94 every time he needed shots.
Well, we took our puppy in on December 26, 2016 to be neutered.
They called and said his liver enzymes were high. They suggested they run a second more comprehensive blood test which would cost $70 extra. I gave them the okay to proceed.
Again they call saying my puppy has a liver problem and they can’t operate. I said our puppy is so lively and energetic how could he have a liver problem. They said that is typical not to show signs of liver problems.
They prescribed a $98 bag of dog food, and called a lab across the street for an ultrasound and other additional test. The cost was going to be around $700.
My husband said no.
I said let’s get a second opinion. We took our puppy to Webster Animal Hospital. Sure enough there is nothing wrong with our sweet puppy. Webster neutered our puppy and our puppy is completely fine.
I asked Banfield to stop charging us $35.00 a month since they didn’t do the neutering.
They said if we cancel the agreement we will have to pay $643.00 for all the shots we did receive. Keep in mind the plan is $420.00.
We called the main office and got the same line of garbage.
What an unethical company!!! They care more about their bottom line than they do about the animals they are treating or the clients they are taking advantage of.
They should be ashamed of how the operate.
Candy
Mary
I recently signed up for the wellness plan at banfield, I sure wish I had seen these reviews before hand. I’m going through the almost exact thing you had. Took my new pup in for exam and shots and they told me his liver count was high. I I I Want to get him neutered but the blood test said his liver count was not only still high but higher then befor. Now they want me to put him on a supliment for a few months and check it again to see if it’s any better. The supplement is super expensive and he just doesn’t seem to me to be ill in any way. I’m REALY considering a second opinion also. Something just seems off. And the doc I took him to just REALY doesn’t seem lagitamatley concerned and seem a little stressed. I walked out with nothing and they had given him an extra dose while there of dewormer which he had already had when I got his shots. To me this is a red flag that maybe they aren’t the best place for my little fur baby.