Best Dog DNA Tests 2020: DNA My Dog vs Wisdom Panel vs Embark vs HomeDNA & More

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

1st
Embark logo
2nd
3rd

Have you been dying to know what breeds make up your one-of-a-kind pup? Are you concerned about certain hereditary diseases your dog might develop one day?

DNA dog tests are a fun and informative way to get to understand who your pooch is — and to help you develop a better health plan for their future.

How Does Dog DNA Testing Work?

A dog DNA test is easier than you might think! All you have to do with at-home dog DNA tests is order the test online, take a simple cheek swab from your dog, place the swab in the provided container and mail it back in a prepaid envelope.

In a few weeks, you’ll receive a report that includes your dog’s DNA results. Depending on the company, you’ll see the percentage breakdown of your dog’s breeds and risks for developing some hereditary diseases. Some companies also offer parentage testing and purebred and designer dog testing.

Article Overview

What’s The Best Dog DNA Test?

We’ve reviewed several dog DNA tests currently on the market and given you detailed information about what you can learn from each one. All of these are at-home cheek-swab tests, but the type and depth of results you’ll receive can vary.

Embark Review

Embark Dog DNA Test breed box#1

Visit Website

Embark DNA is a comprehensive dog DNA test that screens for breed identification, traits, ancestry and genetic disease risk (for 175+ known canine genetic health problems).

Your test results include a detailed vet report to help you and your veterinarian plan the best care for your dog. Embark partners with scientists from Cornell University’s College of Veterinary Medicine to conduct ongoing research into dog genetic testing — and you have the option to include your dog’s DNA data in their research.

We also like that Embark contributes funding and genetic testing to animal shelters in the U.S. and Nepal. The downside? Embark’s dog DNA test cost is higher than competitors, but we feel that the results outweigh the higher price. It is also the official dog DNA test of the Westminster Kennel Club.

Embark also offers a Whole Genome Sequencing kit, which is helpful for those of you who are science fans. This is the only dog DNA company to sequence the entire genome. You will continue to receive updates on your results after they’ve been processed and stored, as Embark extends their research and continues to learn more about dog DNA.

Personal Experience

Kimberly, a writer for Canine Journal, tested Embark on her dog, Sally, and this is her experience.

I tested Embark in 2017, and it took more than 6 weeks to get Sally’s results. At the time, they had a 1-2 month timeline for having results back to pet parents. Today, their turnaround time is much faster (1-3 weeks).

Sally’s results said she was 47.5% Coonhound, 24.5% Mastiff, 14.2% Labrador Retriever and 13.8% German Shepherd. I loved being able to read more about her breed makeup, including breed descriptions and behaviors. Embark goes above and beyond with the detail it provides in its reports giving information about related breeds to the breeds that make up Sally.

Pros

Cons

  • Tests for 350 breeds, types & varieties
  • Offers 100 times more genetic information than other tests
  • Genetic mutation testing for 175+ canine health conditions
  • Results back in 1-3 weeks
  • Free replacement swab if yours gets damaged
  • Includes a relative finder, matching your dog’s DNA to possible family members
  • Charitable work with animal shelters
  • Live chat or email available if you need help interpreting test results
  • Positive customer feedback that Embark is the most accurate dog DNA test
  • Website has blog, FAQs and newsletter signup
  • Ability to get raw DNA data
  • Health test and genome sequencing upgrades are relatively expensive

Pricing

  • Breed Identification Kit – $129
  • Breed + Health Kit – $199

Coupon

Embark is having a Summer Sale: Get $50 off Breed + Health Kits with CODE: CAMP50 through JULY 31, 2020 (Excludes Breeder and Breed ID kits). Use this link to take advantage of this offer. Have multiple pets? Bundle and save when you buy additional Embark Kits:
  • Save 10% when you buy 2 Breed + Health kits with Coupon Code: MULTIPACK2
  • Save 15% when you buy 3 Breed + Health kits with Coupon Code: MULTIPACK3
  • Save 20% when you buy 4+ Breed + Health kits with Coupon Code: MULTIPACK4
Use this link to take advantage of these offers and get the best possible pricing from Embark.

Read Our Embark DNA Review

Wisdom Panel Health DNA Test Review

Wisdom Panel Health DNA Test Box

#2

View on Chewy

Wisdom Panel has two main DNA tests: Wisdom Panel Essential and Wisdom Panel Premium.

  • Essential tests for more than 25 medical complications, 350+ breeds and more.
  • Premium tests for everything the Essential tests for in addition to 200+ health risks and carrier status.

There are also a couple of other tests we’ve included in the pricing section below that are no longer offered directly through Wisdom Panel’s website, but you can purchase them through third-party vendors. These are older versions of the test that consider fewer dog breeds. (The first is the Wisdom Panel Health Canine Breed + Disease Detection, which is comparable to Wisdom Panel Premium. The other test is Wisdom Panel 3.0 Canine Breed Detection, which is similar to Wisdom Panel Essential.)

Personal Experience With Wisdom Panel 3.0

Kimberly, a writer for Canine Journal, tested Wisdom Panel on her dog, Sally, and this is her experience.

We purchased this 3.0 DNA test to conduct this product test (not a free trial).

It took only 2 weeks to get Sally’s results back from Wisdom Panel. I was thoroughly impressed with the quick turnaround.

Sally’s results said she was 37.5% Treeing Walker Coonhound, 25% Mastiff, 25% Beagle and 12.5% German Shepherd. Wisdom Panel’s information was thorough in the detail it gave on her genetic makeup and displayed it in an easy to read format. The website is easy to navigate, and I enjoyed learning more about each of these breeds.

Pros

Cons

  • Tests covers 99% of 350 breeds, types & varieties (250 for older tests)
  • Comes with 2 swabs, and they’ll replace for free if damaged
  • Charitable partnerships with animal rights groups
  • Genetic mutation testing for over 200 canine health conditions (Premium test)
  • Results back in 2-3 weeks
  • Phone, email customer service for any questions
  • Good website resources about canine DNA testing
  • No relative finder option available
  • Genetic marker testing is much less detailed and in-depth vs. Embark (100x more genetic info from Embark vs. Wisdom Panel)

Pricing

  • Wisdom Panel Premium DNA Test (350 Breeds + Disease & Trait Detection): $159.99
  • Wisdom Panel Essential DNA Test (350 Breeds): $99.99
  • Wisdom Panel Health Canine Breed + Disease Detection (250 Breeds & Disease Detection): $149.99
  • Wisdom Panel 3.0 Canine Breed Detection (250 Breeds): $84.99

Coupon

Wisdom Panel is often offered at a discount from the MSRP price at Chewy.

Read Our Wisdom Panel Breed Detection Test Review

HomeDNA Orivet Dog DNA Tests Review

HomeDNA Dog DNA Tests#3

View on Amazon

HomeDNA offers two dog DNA tests, one for mixed-breed identification and the other for health screening. Each test comes with a personalized life plan that you can share with your vet.

Because of the cost of each test, it makes the most sense to choose one of the two (otherwise we suggest Embark for the all-in-one test). If you only want health screening, however, HomeDNA’s Dog DNA Health Screen is a better value than Embark or Wisdom Panel.

If you’re only looking for breed information, you should consider HomeDNA’s Mixed-Breed Dog Identification DNA Test. Although pricier than DNA My Dog, it is far more accurate due to their huge database of recognized and developing breeds.

Pros

Cons

  • Health screening test is a good value
  • Genetic mutation testing for over 150 canine health conditions
  • 220 recognized and developing breeds in their database
  • Health risks classified based on likelihood and impact
  • Consumers report excellent customer support
  • Results are emailed within 3 weeks
  • Expensive (for both tests)
  • You have to order two separate tests to get both breed and health results

Pricing

  • $100.69  for Dog DNA Health Screen and Life Plan
  • $84.99  for Mixed-Breed Dog Identification DNA Test and Life Plan

Coupon

Home DNA is often sold for less than MSRP on Amazon.

Other Dog DNA Tests Reviewed

Although the following tests didn’t make our top 3 this time around, they’re popular options you may want to consider as well.

DNA My Dog | OncoGuarDx | Paw Print Genetics

DNA My Dog Review

DNA My Dog box

View on Chewy

The DNA My Dog breed identification test just doesn’t have the bark for your buck to make our top 3. Although you get a report on your dog’s dominant breeds, personality traits and health concerns (based on breed only), DNA My Dog is mediocre compared to the breed and trait information you get with our top picks.

DNA My Dog has far fewer breeds in its database, meaning you’re not going to get the level of accuracy you would with Embark, Wisdom Panel or HomeDNA’s Orivet tests. And many reviewers agree that their test lacks accuracy. But if you’re on a budget, DNA My Dog is the least expensive alternative.

Pros

Cons

  • Least expensive test we reviewed
  • Comes with two swabs and free replacement if they get damaged
  • Charitable shelter program donates funds to U.S. and Canada shelters
  • Phone and email customer service for any questions
  • Get results in 2 weeks
  • Only 96 breeds in their database
  • Many customer complaints about their dog DNA testing accuracy
  • Several consumer complaints about delayed results
  • Minimal website resources about dog DNA testing

Pricing

  • Breed Identification Test: $68.99
  • NEXTGEN Breed Identification and Genetic Age Test: $99.99
  • Breed Test PLUS Wolf: $88.99
  • Deceased Dog DNA Breed Testing: $167.00
  • Breed Identification Test PLUS Full Genetic Screening: $188.99
  • Breed Identification Test PLUS Health Plan: $99.99
  • Full Genetic Health Screening: $139.99

Coupon

DNA My Dog often has discounts off of MSRP at Chewy.

OncoGuarDx Review

OncoGuarDx boxVisit Website

OncoGuarDx is an at-home dog cancer detection test that measures the thermodynamic stability of DNA. Simply swab your dog’s nose and transfer it to one of the specialty treated plates provided. In just 3 minutes, the app will give you the results:

  • Score < 50, Normal Stress Level STEADY HEALTH STATE
  • Score = 50–60, At-Risk Stress Level SUB-OPTIMAL HEALTH STATE
  • Score = 80-90, Cancer Stress Level EXACERBATED HEALTH STATE

You don’t have to send in the test or wait weeks for your dog’s results. If you get bad news, you can share the results quickly with your vet and discuss the best course of treatment.

Pros

Cons

  • No waiting period; get results at home in 3 minutes
  • Helps detect cancer
  • Relatively expensive
  • Only tests for cancer (no breed identification or other health-related information)

Pricing

  • $199.99 for 1 kit (contains 2 tests)
  • Subscription: $299.95 for 2 kits (4 tests) every 6 months

Paw Print Genetics Review

Paw Print Genetics logoVisit Website

Paw Print Genetics is an excellent choice for breeders or people with purebred dogs who want to test for breed-specific diseases. You can order a single test or a panel of tests to assess the risk of your dog developing or passing on the diseases. Their website allows you to search by breed, disease/trait or symptom.

They also offer parentage tests and a DNA profiling test you can use to ID your dog in the event he gets lost or stolen. Paw Print Genetics has a very limited number of mixed-breed tests, and they don’t do breed identification.

Pros

Cons

  • Analyzes each mutation with two independent methods to provide you the highest accuracy
  • Offers 155+ genetic mutation tests for health conditions
  • Genetic counseling available and excellent customer support
  • Includes Pedigree Report and Genetic Health Certificate
  • Partners with many dog clubs and associations
  • Results available in 2 weeks
  • Can get expensive if testing for multiple diseases (but they offer discounts)
  • No breed identification tests
  • Very limited mixed breed tests
  • Can be confusing to figure out which test(s) to order for your dog

Pricing

  • Starts at $80 for 1 disease test with discounts for each additional test disease ordered
  • Starts at $80 for 1 coat color/trait test with discounts for each additional coat color/trait test ordered
  • $49 Paw Print DNA Profiling test
  • $30 Paw Print Parentage test (puppy, dam or sire)
  • $19 Paw Print Clear by Parentage test
  • View all options

DNA Health Testing & Vet Care

Caution: Do Not Make Healthcare Decisions Based On Dog DNA Test Results

We want to warn you that whatever health results you receive in your dog’s DNA test should be taken with a grain of salt. Some pet parents are making life and death decisions based on what could be overstated or misleading health indicators.

For example, research may show that a specific gene mutation may be associated with cancer in Boxers, but that may not mean the same mutation will cause cancer in a Coonhound. However, the mutation would likely still show up on the Coonhound’s report, suggesting that your dog is at risk for cancer.

Any health issues that are raised by your DNA test and cause you concern should be discussed with the DNA company for clarification. The top companies all have geneticists and vets on staff who can help and likely set your mind at ease about the true risks for your pet.

Just because your dog has a genetic mutation, does not mean your dog will acquire a disease. You can also speak with your veterinarian about your dog’s DNA results but be careful making any major medical decisions based on the health indications from a pet health DNA test. The vet who has examined your dog in person knows more about your pet’s health than a DNA test taken by mail.

Are There Any Reasons Not To Test My Dog’s DNA?

Finding out your dog’s breed can lead to you learning about what diseases he is predisposed to. This may cause some anxiety for you. You know what you are capable of handling better than we do, but this is something you’ll want to consider.

In some areas, certain breeds may be restricted from being owned. If you conduct a DNA test on your dog and that breed is in your dog, you may be in a difficult situation. This could lead to you not being able to buy or rent a home in the area or you may need to relocate. It could even increase your homeowner’s insurance in some situations.

You could also get false information. Whether the DNA sample wasn’t the best or there was a mix up in the lab, it is unlikely but possible to obtain inaccurate information which could lead you to adjusting your dog’s lifestyle unnecessarily.

Pet Insurance Can Help Cover Health Conditions

If you find out your dog is predisposed to a health condition (or multiple), you may want to consider purchasing pet insurance now to help out financially in the event of your dog becoming ill.

So if your dog is diagnosed with an illness, pet insurance reduces the chance of having to choose between his life and your wallet (a.k.a. economic euthanasia). But, you should sign your dog up now before he is diagnosed because if you wait until diagnosis, the insurance company won’t cover it because it will be considered a pre-existing condition.

Read our pet insurance comparison to see which companies we recommend and find out what they cover.

How Can A DNA Test Benefit My Dog’s Health?

Knowing your dog’s breed mix can help you and your vet devise a better health plan for your dog. If you get genetic mutation testing, you’ll know your dog has a genetic predisposition for certain diseases he could develop in the future.

Even knowing what breeds are in his mix can inform you about genetic health concerns associated with each breed. Then you’ll know to look for early warning signs, and you can take precautionary measures before it’s too late.

If you are interested in a DNA test for yourself, check out our review of the best human DNA ancestry tests on our sister site, Exploring Life’s Mysteries.

Discover any surprises from your dog’s DNA test?

About The Author:

Sally holds a BA in English from James Madison University and began her 25-year writing career as a grad student at the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Journalism & Mass Communications. She’s been a pet parent since college years (and spent her whole childhood with pets).

Now as a parent of two teenagers, she’s made sure to raise her daughters to learn how to love and care for pets (and other animals) in the most responsible and loving ways. As a result, she and her daughters now have 5 rescued dogs and cats who essentially rule their home! Sally has also volunteered over the years to help raise funds for various animal nonprofit organizations.

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Disclaimer: The information provided through this website should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, you should consult your health care provider.

Disclaimer: This website contains reviews, opinions and information regarding products and services manufactured or provided by third parties. We are not responsible in any way for such products and services, and nothing contained here should be construed as a guarantee of the functionality, utility, safety or reliability of any product or services reviewed or discussed. Please follow the directions provided by the manufacturer or service provider when using any product or service reviewed or discussed on this website.

Subscribe
Notify of
72 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Murrty
December 29, 2019 11:14 am

Does anyone have experience or comments on Darwin’s Ark?

xxx
December 14, 2019 9:52 pm

The code JOY30 does not work on Embark’s website through the link provided.

WAdoodleMom
December 18, 2019 4:30 pm
Reply to  xxx

I agree, it didn’t work for me either. 🙁

Lynz
November 21, 2019 7:45 am

hi there is it possible to take a swab of 2 dogs and be able to determine if they are brothers?

(Admin)
Kimberly Alt
November 21, 2019 10:48 am
Reply to  Lynz

Great question! You’ll need to purchase DNA tests for each of your dogs. We’d recommend you purchase Embark DNA tests for your dogs. Embark has helped connect many siblings with one another through their Relative Finder. We’ve even helped connect siblings ourselves!

JDog
June 21, 2019 4:10 pm

If you’re considering dog DNA kits DO NOT buy IDENTIBREED! It is 100% scam. I did two of my dogs. One is a pug mix, and the other is a lab/red heeler and who knows mix. The pug mix came back with 0% pug despite her shortened snout, pug ears, pug eyes and double-curled pug tail (impossible). The lab/heeler mix came back 1/8th lab, no heeler when her mother is 1/2 lab, 1/2 heeler. Identibreed also “tests” for genetic illnesses and food allergies. Both of my dogs have confirmed food allergies, yet their test showed 100% clean bill of health.

The red flags were all there even before the result. When you register your kit they require you to upload a picture, and the weight of your dog. Then they ask you all these optional things including 4 more pictures, what breeds you suspect your dog to be, and what the dogs personality is like. Of course, I didn’t fill those out because I suspected they were fishing to make a better guess. My pug mix came back with 1/4 boxer and 1/4 dachshund on one side, then 1/4 black mouth cur, 1/8 rat terrier, and 1/8 german shepherd on the other side. The photo I used didn’t give away her tail or shortened nose, so the breeds were reasonable guesses if you were to look at the single photo I sent.

Don’t waste your money on Identibreed, they just look at your dog’s photo and guess.

andrew
April 11, 2020 8:37 am
Reply to  JDog

All of these tests lack any relevance. They are simply a commercial venture. If you purchase them with your eyes open and have a bit of fun trying to guess the breed results they will come up with and they can be wildly varied then enjoy your light entertainmnet. Dont expect any real health benefits though . The health screen just tests for what can be tested for not necessarily anything particulaly common in your breed. Ie have a look at allergic skin in staffy‘s 9% have it yet even though it is genetic and a serious life long medical issue you cnat test for it , Heart disease in Cavalier Kingg Charles, roughly 40% have it yet again no test in their health profile. Keep your money in your pocket to spend on the problem should it unfortunately arise

Pato
April 21, 2019 10:54 am

Thank you very much for the article! I started doing sone research and came across it. You saved me a lot of time. I know what my dog breed is, a labradoodle but would be nice to know the %. Mainly I am doing the test for possible diseases, knowing is the best way I can try to help him. Seems embark tests for most, so I will go with them. Thanks again!

Debbie Malone
April 3, 2020 2:24 pm
Reply to  Pato

I was doing the test for health as well because I knew I had a cavachon..well not so fast..I have a cockerchon..so there is that..

Skip
April 16, 2019 6:25 pm

You stated that Wisdom Panel was confusing; not really…I went on to the Wisdom Panel website and it appears that the 4.0 test is a newer version and they seem to have discontinued the 3.0 version. Yet, Amazon still offers the 3.0 version for the same price as the 4.0 on Wisdom Panel’s site. The site states the 4.0 can identify 350+ breeds. The newer Wisdom Panel Health also uses the newer 4.0 technology.

Needless to say, I purchased the one from Wisdom Panel’s site. Also, I Googled “Wisdom Panel Health discount coupon” and was able to find a code for $10 off, which made my cost $139.99.

Tee-Ree
April 16, 2019 11:24 am

So, we decided to have our little “mutt” tested just to see what she was. My husband was going through a DNA himself, since he’s adopted, and we thought why not test the little mutt too. We chose Wisdom Health as our DNA provider. Note we were NOT asked for a picture, we were NOT asked to identify what breed we thought she was, the only thing they asked for was the code number they provided on the website and two swabs from her cheekies, her age and her weight. Well we just received her information back today and were pretty much SHOCKED by her results. Now at first we thought no way in He double hockey sticks that she was a pure bred and she certainly wasn’t a Chihuahua pure bred as they noted on her paperwork. We contacted them immediately to find out if they had mixed up her results with another dog, they assured us that doesn’t happen and to get a purebred reading is pretty rare and isn’t something that generally up for debate as it is with the mixed breed notifications. Our pup is an “offshoot” of her breed called a deerhead and she does look like these type of dogs although we could have sworn she was a dachsund, or something close to that, who would have thought purebred dog from a rescue that told us she was a street pup and probably a Heinz 57 mix. So we are pleasantly surprised by our results we were okay with the timing it took to have the tests done just a few weeks. While we really do want to try the other group Embark to see if these results are really accurate we can’t see paying for another test as these are quite expensive for a dog. Just thought we would give our two cents on the subject here since we came to this site to get some clarity about the tests. Thank you for reading

Thomas
April 2, 2019 8:21 pm

Why are number 1 and number 2 swapped further down in the page. At the beginning Embark is shown as number 1 and Wisdom Panel is number 2. Then further down the page in a graphic Wisdom Panel has a 1 beside it and Embark has a 2 beside it where it is labeled WHAT ARE THE BEST DOG DNA KITS? Although the graphic doesn’t necessarily label these as in order.

Thanks for the info!

(Admin)
Kimberly Alt
April 3, 2019 8:52 am
Reply to  Thomas

Sorry about the confusion and thank you for pointing out our error! The rankings in the article are the current rankings. The ones in the infographic are not up to date. We will work on updating that. Thanks again!

Edward
February 17, 2019 5:07 pm

Has anyone ran back to back tests using the same sample collected at the SAME TIME? That would help determine accuracy and repeatability. But, it would be expensive to do that. Do any of them state their accuracy and repeatability of the tests? I’m not seeing much information on the matter.

(Admin)
Kimberly Alt
February 18, 2019 11:42 am
Reply to  Edward

I conducted a Wisdom Panel and Embark test at the same time for my dog. You can read about my experience here.

Brenda Mayberry
February 17, 2019 12:28 am

Has anyone had good results from HomeDNA?

Grumpi
February 3, 2019 4:34 am

The biggest CON isn’t that it’s more than twice as expensive as a DNA teat for Humans. That is a bit ridiculous.

Kathleen
February 2, 2019 10:17 am

the Wisdom Panel and the Royal Canin Genetic Health Analysis are both owned by MARS, but I was under the impression that they operated independently? Any insight into whether the two tests would yield different results?

(Admin)
Kimberly Alt
February 5, 2019 4:31 pm
Reply to  Kathleen

We haven’t done any research on Royal Canin Genetic Health Analysis, so we cannot say one way or the other how it performs. Sorry we can’t be of more help.

Julita
December 24, 2018 5:07 pm

Reading all these posts, I’ve come to the conclusion that ignorance is bliss. My dog looks like a pit. That’s good enough for me.

Angie in Houston
November 20, 2018 9:57 pm

A commenter below said something about a questionnaire including a question about suspected breed and an uploaded picture. Is this the standard among your top 3 picks? I would be afraid the results might be a little biased at that point. What happens if you choose not to provide that information, and is that even an option?

Heather Duncan
February 19, 2020 10:50 am

The “DNA my breed” Test asks for suspected breeds and a photo “to attach to the results certificate”
Immediately rang alarm bells in my head.
I have a Maltese (without paperwork) so I wanted to know if she is pure Maltese as was said when I bought her.
On the test I put my suspected breeds as Coton de Tulear / Havanese/ Maltese. Leaving Maltese last to put them off the scent
Guess the results……
Pure Coton de Tulear on her fathers side and cross Havanesse/Maltese by her mother.
Do I believe the results – no.

I intend to use another test, but one where they don’t ask for clues.

(Admin)
Kimberly Alt
November 21, 2018 8:49 am

A photo is not part of the DNA testing process. I have tested Wisdom Panel and Embark personally and was never asked to submit a photo of my dog.

Carrie Tangenberg
May 10, 2019 9:57 pm
Reply to  Kimberly Alt

With Embark (I’m a customer who received a report on my dog Feb 2019), the photo is encouraged in some cases after you receive test results. In the report, they mentioned a specific case for my dog to the effect that if your dog has traits that don’t match what its gene markers are supposed to dictate, say, for coat color or approximate size, then you can provide a photo to add to ongoing research that may lead to discoveries of currently unknown genetic processes, unknown genes involved, and so forth that affect that trait’s expression. (I think his was for size b/c he had all the wrong alleles–of those they’re aware of–for his smallish-medium size.) The photo is supposed to help them gather additional data for future study.

But this detail is not obvious, not included in the contact email linking your report, for instance. I found this by being very curious about all the details and clicking on the Learn More link for every aspect of every trait specified for my dog. However, they also provide a Research section of the registered account where customers can complete several surveys on different topics about their dog, to supplement genetic testing results.

The research is ongoing, and it’s unclear how informed Embark plans to keep contributing customers about eventual discoveries. Again, this is after or separate from but related to DNA testing itself.

Marge
November 6, 2018 2:28 pm

I just got the results back from a puppy that has joined our family. I was told that he was 50% Great Dane and then, 30% Neapolitan Mastiff and the rest English Mastiff. Wisdom Panel found that he is 50% English Mastiff, 25% Neapolitan Mastiff and 25% Unsigned Guard dog going back 3 generations. When I contacted the breeder, she said she was surprised by the results since the female is AKC registered Great Dane. Any ideas on what happened?

Donna
December 6, 2018 11:21 am
Reply to  Marge

Don’t blame the test results or even the breeder. AKC does not require proof (other than -you have once had papers on a certain dog at one time)that the dog is what it said to be. The breeders great Dane may have had a mastiff mixed in her parents/grandparents history. Buying a dog that has more than one breed also increases your chances that you are not getting what you think. There are a lot of breeders that appear to care about the dogs but actually just care about the dollar. A reputable breeder wants to know where their dogs go and will take them back in a heartbeat!

(Admin)
Kimberly Alt
November 7, 2018 9:08 am
Reply to  Marge

Hmmm that’s odd. I’d contact Wisdom Panel and speak to them about this.

Fran Cilley
September 27, 2018 9:40 pm

Little Man is a black pariah dog from India rescued from the street. He looks like a black lab with a curly tail. We got his dna some time ago and there was no Lab. He had a small amount of dashhound and nothing else identified. So I guess he is mostly a “natural dog”. He is about 40 pounds and a real sweetheart. We have three street dogs from India ….one looks like part whippet, the other like Carolina, which is the American natural dog and recognized by the AKC, The pariah dogs have been looked down upon but are gaining favor.

Judy T
September 23, 2018 9:53 am

We just received results from Wisdom Panel on our two very different dogs. Femaile is white/tan 45-50 lbs, male is solid black 120-125 lbs & no similar characteristics. WP says both dogs are predominantly AmAtaff & Chow Chow & then lesser breed indicators. Our male looks Labrador/Great Dane,female looks huskey/cattle dog. After reading the reviews of others, it looks like these DNA websites are saying most breed results are AmStaff. I think we just wasted a bunch of money!

Manchini
February 16, 2019 11:20 am
Reply to  Judy T

Wow,wow..Here another victim of Wisdom panel. They aslo sent me 67% American Staffordshire and 12% Britany…and 25% some more breeds.
Now amstaff do not weight above 67lb adult size. My puppy is 11 wk and is 33 lb, making it 50%of an adult size in just 11 week in his world!?!?!
My rescue puppy was told by the shelter had mom half dogo argentino half american bulldog, which fits qith hos growth of final qeight over 100 lb adult size.
Basically my 10 y.o. daughter woud have guessed the breed much muh more accurate than these scam of WP.
And I sent them email requesting for a refund. I know…better take a cold shower and dont wait on refund.
MY POINT IS- LOVE UR DOG AND DONT GIVE A DARN ABOUT THE BREED….BCS YOU WILL BE SCREWED.

Pato
April 21, 2019 10:44 am
Reply to  Manchini

It is not about loving our dogs. Of course we all do, it is about preventing and being aware of their health risks based on their breed. Because we love them so much!

Stacey G
September 16, 2018 11:13 am

My 15 yrs old chihuahua service dog died recently and I have a new dog claiming to be Chi but has extremely long legs and body with a Shiba inu tail, curls over his back. Never saw a chi with curly tail. I am thinking chi/min pin or is chi Shiba possible? He is very stubborn. What DNA kit test min pin and shiba inu breeds since they are not very common?

(Admin)
Michelle Schenker
September 17, 2018 1:42 pm
Reply to  Stacey G

We would suggest that you contact both Embark and Wisdom Panel to see if they cover the breeds you suspect before you buy to be sure you will get feedback on the breeds you are most interested in.

Michele
July 26, 2018 1:11 pm

I’ve used Wisdom Panel and DNA my Dog. I felt DNA My Dog gave the better results for my dog. I adopted my dog at about 6mos – she was lanky and I was pretty sure lab/whippet mix. I did the blood test with Wisdom Panel and the results came back “mixed breed” and one grandparent was a golden… everything else was mixed. I did DNA my Dog later and felt they were more on it. I sent them 2 cheek swabs and if those swabs didn’t match they’d send another kit. They came back with her being mostly husky and then the rest a mixture of pit, springer spaniel and cavalier king Charles. After much research, I do believe she’s mostly husky. She just happens to have a short coat, but her eyes are very husky and her coat is the texture of but not fluffy. Expecting her husky background, helped my vet figure out an inability to eat certain foods and the need for a fish based diet. At the end of the day, it’s for fun and the dogs heart and spirit is what really matters.

Jim Ewert
July 20, 2018 9:20 pm

The Google earth view of their street address shows not a lab but a tiny, vacant storefront, no signage, in a dive looking neighborhood

Sue
October 22, 2018 12:41 am
Reply to  Jim Ewert

There are a lot of human labs that are in dive-looking neighborhoods, and they don’t have a lot of signage. The money spent on laboratories goes mainly toward equipment, not aesthetics.

Jim Ewert
July 20, 2018 8:48 pm

We received our result from DNA my Dog today. After reading reviews on here, I feel I’ve been swindled. The questionnaire asked what breed was suspected. The rescue agency informed us he came from an Indian reservation and was Mar Emma cross. We did not submit a photo with the kit. The results claim 23-37% Great Pyrenees and 16-23% German Shepherd. Our dog is 40 lbs, white coat(like a Pyrenees) but short hair, Amstaff head & face, brindle spots, terrier tail, brindle spots. I predict a frustrating, evasive response from this company which is either a fraud, or incompetent,and as they are located in Canada, both contingencies are possible. I urge dog owners not to use this service, but rather one of the other reputable services listed here.

Tee-Ree
April 16, 2019 10:39 am
Reply to  Jim Ewert

We sent in NO pictures, and no breed information what so ever to Wisdome Health and we were not asked to do so either. We were SHOCKED by our dogs results. We just assumed our dog was some rescue mutt as we adopted her from a shelter and she’s a complete purebred. She’s an “offshoot” a victim of overbreeding so she’s considered a victim of that. I went to a number of websites and images files and found dogs that do look exactly like our dog, I would have never thought our rescue would be a purebred. I called the company and since our tests were freshly sent they did offer to redo the testing, but that coming up with a purebred listing was pretty much a sure deal since she is 100% in their testings going back to great grandparents. I don’t think a country location would make a company illegitimate, there are plenty of scam artists in many countries, I would actually think being in Canada would be a bonus and I am not Canadian nor do I live there.

Rachel
February 14, 2019 9:51 pm
Reply to  Jim Ewert

Maremmas and Great Pyrenees are of the same type, livestock guardian dogs, and look somewhat similar. Great Pyrs are much more common in the US than Maremmas. It makes sense for a mixed breed to have the more common breed in her makeup; it goes against common sense to think that there would be a lot of mixed breeds that have rare breeds in their genetic makeup, there just aren’t that many Maremmas going around mating with random other dogs. Rescue people are almost just as bad as most humans at guessing what breeds go into an individual dog’s makeup (From the MuttMix project asking humans to guess dogs’ breed mixes: “Overall accuracy of all participants averaged at 25% correct for all guesses made. Dog professionals surpassed that accuracy by only a narrow margin, averaging at 28% correct guesses for all guesses made”), so I would take the breed information from the rescue with a grain of salt. The way you describe your dog sounds like the DNA test was spot on, so I’m not sure why you think you’ve been swindled.

Angie in Houston
November 20, 2018 9:54 pm
Reply to  Jim Ewert

Did you seriously just suggest that the company is either a fraud or incompetent, simply because they’re located in Canada. Wow. That’s some next-level idiocy right there.

Kiki
July 13, 2018 12:33 pm

So we did the Wisdom panel and results were 50% Lab and 50% Amer Staff Terrier. It occurred to me, especially after having read comments on this site, that bc testing only goes back 3 generations that perhaps recessive genes going back farther in time cld account for anomalies being expressed by dog owners. Our results didn’t entirely surprise us BUT since he is also a lot taller than AST and Lab combo and his paws are very thick and he is extremely mellow (most of the time) … the vet felt he has Dane somewhere in his ancestry … those factors iprompted us to have him tested. So, is there a test that can peer farther back than 3 generations?
Thanks
Kiki

(Admin)
Kimberly Alt
July 16, 2018 10:54 am
Reply to  Kiki

Great question! If you read this article you’ll see that Embark goes back 3 generations as well. Since Embark and Wisdom Panel are the “big players” in this category, I’d assume that others don’t go back farther than 3 generations. However, you know what assuming does 😉 I suggest reaching out to other companies and asking if they go back further than 3 generations. Best of luck!

Dan
May 13, 2018 11:02 am

I found out that both of my dogs are pure breeds. They are 100% dog

Arya
April 15, 2018 1:51 pm

This was updated February 2018,and yet you still do not include the review of Wisdom Health, which is both the breed and disease detection similar to Embark (at a cost of $150 vs. Embarks at $200). Wondering how they stack up against each other?

(Admin)
Kimberly Alt
April 18, 2018 9:44 am
Reply to  Arya

Great question! We’ll consider looking into that during our next audit!

Julie M Pollock
April 7, 2018 3:47 pm

If you’re going to test your dogs, you have to use Embark. After reading everyone’s responses I am totally sure that Embark is the best DNA testing out there and I am so happy I didn’t opt for one of the others or I would have been screwed. I breed Havanese and was really interested in health genetics and their color dna…what colors my dogs can reproduce. Their testing is awesome…plus, because I couldn’t understand some of the Allele information, one of the scientist set up a phone appointment and called me. She spent well over an hour giving me instruction on how to read some of the testing. One of my dogs testing came back in one area a tiny bit low so when my vet got the report, she called me so we can double check with blood work. By knowing my dogs pedigrees and the colors of their ancestors, I can tell you that Embark is very accurate. I did 3 of my dogs and I plan to do 3 more in the next month. I’m now a genetics believer!!