Petplan Insurance Reviews: Is Price Everything?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Pug with bone in mouthPetplan was our #1 pick for pet insurance for several years in a row due to its outstanding customer service, excellent coverage and low prices. However, competitors stepped up and offered more coverage for less money, pushing Petplan down to third place. In 2016, Petplan changed its underwriter, which caused a whirlwind of complaints from existing customers. Complaints revolve mainly around premiums increasing drastically and in some cases even doubling for existing customers. Why do we think Petplan still deserves your consideration as a pet insurance provider? Read our review to see why you should still consider Petplan, especially if you are a new customer.PetPlan

Visit Petplan’s Website
Call: 800-237-1123

Petplan Review

3.9
Petplan Review
Policy Coverage 4.8
Customer Service & Reputation 3.5
Timeliness of Claim Payment 4.0
Price of Policy 3.3

Pros

  • There is a 5% discount for users purchasing their insurance plan online
  • Customizable plans (monthly cost adjustable based on coverage amount, deductible and reimbursement selections)
  • No lifetime or per condition claims limit
  • BBB accredited with an A+ rating under their incorporated name, Fetch, Inc.
  • Claims are typically paid within 5-14 days although they allow up to 30 days
  • App available to support claims via iOS and Android

Cons

  • Complaints from existing customers of premium increases being drastically higher than competitors
  • In order for coverage to apply you must take your dog to the vet within 48 hours of noticing symptoms of an illness or injury
  • A number of policyholders complain that Pet Plan delays payment on claims (often due to a short upfront waiting period as a new customer) and requires extensive proof of treatment documentation
  • Dogs must have annual health and dental check ups in order for coverage to be applied. Failure to do so may mean your dog won’t get insurance coverage until that check up is done.
  • Only covers CCL (ACL) on a second leg if the first leg remains healed for 12 months
  • Customers state (and our sample quotes show) it is more expensive than Healthy Paws for unlimited annual claims
  • No wellness plan
  • $3 transaction fee and $25 one time fee

Petplan Changed Underwriters

In the insurance world, a third-party underwriter ensures the policies are financially sound and can be fulfilled should a claim be filed. Petplan is underwritten by XL Specialty Insurance Company (XL Catlin), a global casualty and property insurer group with a great reputation and an A+ rating from S&P Global Ratings. This new relationship (launched June 1, 2016) allows for more flexibility in creating policies that are unique for each pet and pet parent’s needs and budget. However, premium pricing has climbed since this introduction of these new policy options.

In previous years, Petplan was among the least expensive pet insurance providers. Now, Petplan is priced more toward the middle. This isn’t as big of an issue for customers who are new to Petplan, however, existing customers were hit pretty hard. If you skim the comment thread below, you’ll read numerous complaints about premiums increasing drastically for existing customers. Why don’t these customers just change insurance carriers? Unfortunately, many of these pets have pre-existing conditions, so if they changed insurance providers their illnesses would not be covered. This has put pet parents in a tough situation financially.

What is Covered by Petplan?

Here is a list of services that Petplan does and does not cover as of April 2017.

Covered by PetplanNot Covered by Petplan
Injuries & accidentsWellness & routine care
IllnessPre-existing conditions
Non-routine veterinary exam fees & visits, including specialists & emergency careTeeth cleaning
Imaging (MRI, CAT scan, ultrasound)Vaccinations
Diagnostic treatmentNeutering/spaying
Prescription medications
Cancer
Dental (non-routine) treatment
Surgery & rehab
Alternative therapies
Referral & specialist treatment
Hereditary & chronic conditions

Should I Insure My Pet with Petplan?

With so many pet insurance providers available it can be difficult to distinguish one from another. Let’s look at why Petplan might be the right insurance solution for you and your furry family members. But, before you choose just one company, be sure to run price quotes with our top three companies or ALL companies that meet your criteria to find the best coverage for the best price.

Hip Dysplasia Coverage

Hip dysplasia is one of the most common hereditary conditions found in nearly 100 breeds of dog (from little Pugs to large Labrador Retrievers) but it is most common in large breed dogs, affecting 1 in 5. This common ailment can cost pet owners anywhere from $1,200 (yearly) to $15,000 to treat depending on the severity and course of treatment selected. Petplan covers hereditary conditions such as hip dysplasia as long as there were no signs or symptoms prior to the policy or during the 15-day waiting period.

Pet Exam Fee Coverage

In the event of an accident or illness your veterinarian will want to perform an exam to fully assess the health of your pet. Depending upon the pet insurance plan you have in place for your pet, this exam fee may or may not be covered. In the case of Petplan, vet exam fees for unexpected emergencies are covered by policies. This Pet Plan insurance feature also ensures that exams performed by veterinary specialists are covered under the policy.

Petplan Enrollment & Transaction Fees

Pet Plan has an enrollment fee of $25 (in most states) and backs it up with a 30-day money back guarantee, so long as no claim has been filed in that 30-day period. Only a few companies in this category charge a one-time enrollment fee. Additionally, Petplan charges a $3 transaction fee. Other pet insurance companies have no transaction fees or it is lower than $3.

Coupon Code

Use coupon code CanineJournal to receive an additional 5% discount (10% total if you sign up online). Alternatively, if you call 800-237-1123 you will automatically get the additional 5% discount! You can also visit our dedicated Petplan promotions page to discuss current offers.

The Cost of Petplan Pet Insurance Policies

The cost of your Petplan pet insurance policy varies depending on a variety of factors such as the plan you select, the deductible you choose and the reimbursement percentage of your plan. As a client of Petplan you are able to customize your Petplan coverage to suit your needs.

Annual Coverage Allowances

As mentioned, there is an option to choose from a wide range of coverage offerings by Petplan. Your annual coverage limit can start as low as $2,500 but the upper limit is truly unlimited. The higher the limit, the higher you should expect your price to be for the premium. Keep in mind this is the max amount that Pet Plan will pay out to you for any vet bills in any given year so make sure it is high enough to cover the financial and physical risks you are hoping to insure against.

Reimbursement

As with human insurance plans, Pet Plan pet insurance plans come with a variety of reimbursement options. Depending upon your financial means as well as your pets overall health, you may choose a higher or a lower deductible plan. Currently, Petplan offers 70%, 80% and 90% reimbursement plans. A plan with an 80% reimbursement means that the insurance plan will cover 80% of the cost of an incident and the policyholder will pay the remaining 20%. Please keep in mind that with all pet insurance plans, the current norm is for pet owners to pay the full vet bill but then submit your claim to the insurance company to be paid back at your policy’s reimbursement level.

Deductibles

Regardless of which of the Petplan Insurance coverage and reimbursement rates you select, you will also have the option to select your deductible. There is a range of deductible amounts to choose from, ranging from $100 to $2,500. These deductibles can be applied on an annual or per condition basis for your pet. This means that if your pet has two veterinary visits for the same condition within the policy year you will pay the deductible for your policy only once for this condition – even if you file three claims for the same condition. Deductibles are taken after your policy co-pay has been applied.

An Example of a Petplan Insurance Claim

Assuming that you purchase a plan for your dog with a $10,000 annual coverage limit, $100 deductible and 90% coverage, let’s take a look at a potential claim filing.

Your dog has just broken his tooth and requires dental surgery. Under your plan your dog is entitled to $10,000 in reimbursement, but this does not mean that if your dog’s tooth extraction costs $10,000 that you will receive this amount. Specific conditions under your plan receive policy limits—the maximum your dog’s policy will pay out for a particular condition or procedure. Let’s assume your dog’s tooth extraction costs $400 and under your policy that full amount is covered. Petplan will pay 90%, after you pay your $100 deductible and the 10% that you are responsible for over an above the 90% deductible insured by Petplan. In this example, Petplan will reimburse you $270 for the tooth extraction.

Compare Pet Insurance Costs

Get personalized price quotes from three companies when you fill out just one short form or visit our Pet Insurance Quotes page to see how the cost of Petplan stacks up against the competition. Below are some sample quotes we’ve obtained from Petplan. Quotes are from April 2017.

BreedLabrador RetrieverEnglish Cocker SpanielGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
Age2 years8 years4 years6 years2 months2 months2 years
LocationFlorida
(zipcode: 33134)
Illinois
(zipcode: 60290)
California
(zipcode: 90001)
New York
(zipcode: 10001)
New York
(zipcode: 10001)
Illinois
(zipcode: 60290)
Washington D.C.
(zipcode: 20001)
Price Per Month$87.73$105.98$53.69$85.78$36.02$27.12$34.05
Reimbursement Level80%70%90%90%90%80%80%
Annual Deductible$250$500$500$250$250$250$250
Annual LimitUnlimitedUnlimited$2,500$15,000$15,000$5,000Unlimited

Petplan Insurance Reviews

Want to know what real customers think? Read these positive and negative Petplan reviews to give you a better understanding of their customer service.

Positive Reviews

PetPlan had the best reviews when we decided to go with their plan when we got our Lab puppy last year. Our local vet was skeptical, saying that the only people in our part of rural Vermont that had pet insurance were owners with show dogs. We haven’t had to use the insurance– hope we never have to– but when the rates changed this year, they made sure we were properly informed by mail and Blair G., our PetPlan agent, worked with us to craft a new policy that was right for us. There are lots of pet insurers out there but customer service is always important to me and PetPlan, so far, as provided the best. – Christine D., Yelp 4/4/2017

hi we r fairly new to the petplan ins. i had lots of questions. and we have adopted and rescued many dogs. we now have 3 and we have realized we need petplan more than ever. i want to give a big shout out to BLAIR! she has been so helpful with our decisions on the ins that best fits our dogs now. its people lime Blair who truly make this ins co. work! GOD BLESS you Blair, marion and john castroff – Marion C., Trust Pilot 4/20/2017

Negative Reviews

Be careful pet lovers when you get insurance for your beloved 4-legged baby. All of them will claim they give the best coverage, convenience in payment etc,etc… Be very careful and diligent when you have the monthly payment scheduled for them to collect thru your bank. Been with GOPETPLAN for years only been paid back for 2 measly claim, but found out I’ve been charged 3 times for a particular month. Now I’m trying to check all my bank statements going back as far as I can get. Their excuse, computer glitch. UNACCEPTABLE !!!! They have the guts to tell you, if you cancel now, you wont be able to re instate …w/o condition this, condition that…. – C.D., BBB 10/26/2016

They are responsive via chat but my first experiences with claims have been awful.  It took weeks for them to decide to deny my claim, and the reason they gave was completely wrong.  When I rescued my dog, he was up on all shots and de-worming and had a clean bill of health. Weeks after I purchased my PetPlan Insurance, I noticed a worm in his stool. We went to the vet and he got medication for it, and the worms went away. Great.  So I submitted the claim for the meds and it was denied for “pre-existing condition”???  Hugely disappointing.  Starting to think that these guys are just like every other insurer – happy to take premium payments and then will do anything to not payout anything even when submitted honestly and in good-conscience. – TJ G., Yelp 4/17/2017

Which Pet Insurance Plan Is Right for You?

Although there are only three coverage plans available to pet owners via Petplan for their pet’s insurance coverage, there are also three options for co-pay and three options for deductible cost. This combination provides a much larger number of possibilities when it comes to providing for your pet’s medical needs. There are a number of factors to take in to consideration when deciding which Petplan health insurance policy is the best for you and your dog.

Consider Cost & Coverage

When talking pet insurance, the question we most often hear is, “How much does that cost?” Yes, pet insurance is an added monthly expense, but one that can save you significantly in the event of a major health issue. Chances are, over the course of a pet’s average 7-12 year lifespan, your pet will have at least one medical incident or health issue. (Consider that many dogs and cats now live well into their teens!) The right question to ask yourself: “Are you getting the right amount and kind of coverage for your pet within your budget?”

The Maximum Benefit

While customer satisfaction rating is a big selling point for many pet owners when it comes to pet insurance, it is also important to consider which provider and which plan provides the maximum benefit for cost. If, for example you have a dog that is fairly young and generally healthy with few hereditary concerns, you may feel comfortable with a lower coverage plan with a higher deductible and a lower co-pay percentage. If, however, you have a dog with a chronic condition such as skin allergies or diabetes, you may find that the higher coverage plans are worth your investment based on the number of medications or treatments your pet requires.

Veterinarian Acceptance

While human medical insurance companies only work with certain practices or doctors, pet insurance works differently. There are no “in-network” or “out-of-network” issues to worry about, and you don’t need a referral or approval to see the licensed veterinarian of your choice. The client (you) pays up front for the full cost of the veterinary services and then files a claim directly with Petplan. This claim is processed and the client is reimbursed directly by Petplan. If you have questions about your coverage, call Pet Plan to see if you’re covered before a (non-emergency) procedure or treatment is done on your pet. Bottom line, aside from providing you itemized receipts to file claims, your vet’s office will probably have very little to do with your pet insurance provider.

What is Your Dog Eating?

Worried about what your dog is eating when you’re not looking? Perhaps Petplan can help you feel more protected. Check out this video below, this dog loves to try everything!

Why You Should Get Pet Insurance for Your Dog

Visit Petplan’s Website | Call: 800-237-1123

Ultimately, whether you choose to use Petplan for your dog is up to you; however, here at Canine Journal we always advocate some form of insurance. Did you know 41% of pet owners are worried they wouldn’t be able to pay for their pet’s emergency medical bills? Pet insurance helps to reduce out-of-pocket expense when any significant medical event occurs in your dog’s life. None of us ever plan for these unexpected events to occur but pet insurance offers a peace of mind when they do happen.

Do you have pet insurance today? Why are you considering Petplan?

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Growing up, Kimberly used to get the sniffles when she was around dogs. Thankfully, she grew out of her allergy and is now able to play and snuggle with dogs as much as she wants! She and her husband adopted Sally, a four-year-old hound mix, in early 2017, and she has brought so much joy into their lives. Life as pet parents has been very rewarding.

Leave a Reply

157 Comments on "Petplan Insurance Reviews: Is Price Everything?"

newest oldest most voted
Jenn Cavaliere
I have nothing but positive things to say about Petplan. Unfortunately, in Roscoe’s 6 years, we have had to put in 4 claims and all have been approved without question or issues. I truly appreciate knowing that when I ask our vet how she would treat Roscoe if he were her dog, I can follow through with her advice knowing that I have Petplan insurance. It’s been a blessing to be able to provide Roscoe with the best care during his GI bouts, which have led to multiple overnight stays at the vet. Thank you Petplan for helping me follow through with my promise to Roscoe to do everything in my power to help him live a long, healthy and fun life!
Colin
So thankful for petplan and keeping our minds at ease. Everyone has been so helpful. Spoke with Heather very early last week. She answered all of my questions so thoroughly and even emailed my wife to check in on our pup later.

Thanks again petplan

Jill
Petplan has just been amazing! I went through some major claims with one of my cats and they were there with me every step of the way and the reimbursement process was quick! All 3 of my pets are covered with Petplan and the peace of mind is worth it! You can always get someone 24/7 if you have questions or concerns! Thank you Petplan!!!
Keyai - Petplan Community Manager
Thank you Jill for taking the time to share your personal experiences with Petplan, we really appreciate you sharing your kind words about the service we’ve provided you over the years.
Susanne Kahle Keene
I love Petplan because it does exactly what it says it will do in the contract. My dog had several pre-existing co diction’s that weren’t covetable but when my fog had a serious, first time occurrence, they covered very well. I’ve also found all the customer service folks very polite, compassionate, intelligent and helpful. Needless to say, I’m renewing my plan!
Keyai - Petplan Community Manager
Thank you Susanne for continuing to choose Petplan to protect your pup, we’re honored.
BubbasMom
We have insured our babies with PetPlan for years. This is our second significant emergency using coverage.
First time even though our baby passed we could without worry do all the proper MRIs and scans to understand what path our Fidget needed. This was an amazing comfort and peace of mind. I was in a horrible place after losing him and dealing with insurance or claims wasn’t on my list. After a while I got my claim in (this was the old claim method) and one of the vet offices wasn’t sending the info to the proper fax. When the agent at Pet plan heard my stress (I was crying as I explained this vet issue and having to open his file) the agent realized Fidge had passed and immediately said “close that file and have a tea WE will get this done”. They did….
The second time just recently happened it was our little Bubba who out of no where lost use of his rear legs and screeched in pain. Immediately we rushed him to the best neurologists in South Florida and within 3 hours he was in an MRI.
We pre approved surgery knowing that most likely IVDD (1 or 2 ruptured disk) was the culprit & didn’t want to have to anesthetize him twice.
That MRI saved a major surgical procedure!
The type of injury was not a ruptured disk but a “missile” disk (IVDD 3) that bruised his spinal cord causing the paralysis. Normally only seen in large breeds, years ago without an MRI blind surgery would have just taken place and for this situation would have had nothing to fix internally with surgical intervention.
Instead it’s 6-8 weeks of heavy movement restriction & our Bubba is now fully healed with a very positive long term prognosis.
Once again, at a time of great stress with a need for quick decision making we could focus our choices on the only things that counted, our baby and his treatment.
THANK YOU PET PLAN!
For all the years of coverage given them in premium payments those two instances have paid for itself PLUS the invaluable peace of mind every day he’s covered.
Keyai - Petplan Community Manager
We’re so happy that we’ve been able to be there for you and Bubba have needed us the most. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment.
Keyai - Petplan Community Manager
Thank you for taking the time to share your personal experiences with Petplan. We’re so glad we could be there for you and your furry best friends when you’ve needed us the most.
Rosie
DON’T EVER THINK ABOUT IT!!!!!
PETPLAN IS A LEGAL SCAM!!!!!
If your pet had ever got into any issues before you purchase this insurance, you are never going to be covered.

If you think your pet’s emergency situation is getting covered by the insurance, you are totally wrong!!!

You will be ending up paying every single penny of the emergency situation AND the expensive policy fee.

They will use EVERY POSSIBLE DETAIL of your previous record to deny your claims, no matter how they are actually unrelated.

I strongly suspect that their people are not qualified for any diagnoses. They will always come up with a conclusion benefit to them so that you don’t get covered by them.

I’m feeling like they are not a pet insurance company, but a scam company who wants to steal money from people who really care about their pets.

They said all the nice words before you got the policy and leading you to trust them that they are being generous when they are actually extremely stingy.

They totally do not care your feeling as a customer, from the beginning to the end, not a single time.

Keyai - Petplan Community Manager
Hi Rosie, we understand your frustration regarding your recent claim that was not reimbursed. We would like the opportunity to speak with you over the phone to allow us to explain in more detail our ruling of your recent claim. We also have an appeals process that we would like to review with you regarding this recent claim. Please email us at socialmedia@gopetplan.com and let us know a time that we may speak with you at your convenience.
Germaine
It was comforting to know I had Petplan when my dog ruptured her CCL/ACL and required surgery. I received my reimbursement within a few weeks of filing my claim. Jordyn S did a great job explaining how my coverage worked. You always feel there is genuine concern about your pet when you call.
Keyai - Petplan Community Manager
Hi Germaine, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with Petplan. We’re so glad Jordyn was able to provide you with excellent service.
Callielouthecavapoo
We love our puppy girl Callie and wanted the peace of mind to never have to think twice about bringing her to the vet and getting her the best available treatments in case of emergency. So far, we’ve been lucky to only have minor issues, but even with just those (e.g. her last two puppy teeth needed to be pulled, she had her sinuses drained cause a big booger was causing her eyes and nose to tear, and she once got kennel cough), our PetPlan policy has already paid for itself! The claims process is super easy and it is clear why your claim is approved or partially approved. Customer service has been great. I’m so glad we are PetPlan Protected!
Keyai - Petplan Community Manager
We’re so happy Callie is part of our family! Thank you for choosing Petplan to protect your sweet pup.
Varisiri Methachittiphan
We own the post popular cat on instagram. We also own a kitty cancer survivor. We chose Petplan over anyone else because of their customer services and amazing policies. We truly appreciate you!
Keyai - Petplan Community Manager
We love your sweet kitty Varisiri! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Petplan.
Shannon Ellis
We love Petplan! Thank you for being there if we need you. Thankfully we haven’t, but we find comfort knowing you’re there if we need you!
Kelley Burkhouse
PetPlan is such an amazing insurance. All 3 of dogs are Petplan covered. My oldest dog, Sam, has been the major recepient of the wonderful service Petplan has to offer. Over the past 11 years Petplan has seen him through bladder stone surgery and a left ACL repair. This year has been the toughest year for him. He was diagnosed with diabetes. Within 2 weeks he lost his vision as a diabetic side effect. If that wasn’t bad enough, he tore his right ACL. Petplan saw us through eye surgery in order to remove his cataracts. Sam now has his vision back, and I received my reimbursement of over $3700.00 within just weeks of submitting my claim. Sam just had his right ACL repaired, and I am so thankful to know that Petplan has us covered for that also. I can’t put into words how thankful I am for this insurance plan. It takes the stress out of times that are so stressful. Also it is nice not to worry about how I will afford to make sure my dogs have the healthiest and happiest lives possible.
Keyai - Petplan Community Manager
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment about your experiences with Petplan, we really appreciate your kind words.
Stephanie R
I have been so thankful to have Pet Plan on my side. I am a vet tech so, I get a small discount at the emergency center. Despite that discount, services are still expensive. When my pup gets into something she shouldn’t have, I don’t have to worry about wether or not to take her in because I don’t have to worry about cost. We have had a few trips to the emergency vet this year and all of my claims have been put through in a timely manor. Customer service is always impeccable. I recommend Pet Plan to the clients at my clinic.
Keyai - Petplan Community Manager
Thank you Stephanie for the very nice comments about Petplan, we really appreciate it.
Stephanie E.
So relieved to have Petplan insurance!!! My puppy had to have emergency surgery for ingesting several foreign objects! The surgery was over $2200. But what a relief to know that the out of pocket cost to me was going to be greatly reduced because of having the pet insurance! I received a reimbursement check for over $1500 of that surgery expense which helps immensely! Even with my $300 deductible, my expenses are only 1/3 of the total cost without insurance! Great investment in my precious pup! He’s worth every penny and I appreciate not having to make a hard decision on what to do just because of the cost! Thank you Petplan!
Janet Levy
I have been with Pet Plan going on 8 years now and they are always so helpful. I have not had to use them latetly, thank goodness.
Myka
I’ve been a happy PetPlan customer for 7 years and needed to look at changing benefits and deductibles due to a recent move. [Name redacted] was beyond helpful and able to walk me through the process, thinking a step ahead of any questions/concerns I would have had. After a stressful move, it was a gift to have such an easy transition with my plan. Thanks [name redacted]!
Justin
My cat Loki has been determined a medical mystery, and I am so thankful that I got PetPlan to cover all of the unexpected expenses that have come up with him since January. Loki is just a year old and presented with swollen lymph nodes, he has been on several medications and undergone 2 lymph node biopsy all with the goal of trying to determine or a least rule of what his aliment is. So far we have been unsuccessful and are sending samples out to Colorado State for a second opinion. PetPlan has been there every step of the way they have worked directly with the multiple vets that we have been through to make sure all of his claims are processed in an expedient manner. They even were able to find a way to pay the vet directly so that I did not have to pay the vet upfront. They do everything in there power to make things easy for you, because they know that anytime you have to reach out to them things are not alright with your fur baby. If it wasn’t for Petplan I would not have been able to afford all of these test and medications for Loki and this process is still on going, to date I believe we have spent a little over $2,500 and we still aren’t sure what is going on. PetPlan is a great company and I recommend them to everyone I meet who has a fur baby, the amount of money you have should not be the determining factor in if you can provide your pet with the best possible care.
Elizabeth
I’ve been researching pet insurance companies and a recent experience of a friend of mine has convinced me to go with Petplan. She has two cats and a pit bull, and Petplan has covered the vet bills for her furry family members time and again. A couple weeks ago she had to bring her eldest kitty into the vet’s office because she was acting sluggish and had unusual abdominal swelling. Sadly, it was diagnosed as cancer. In the thick of all the testing, office visits, and medications, my friend kept saying how grateful she was to have Petplan, especially during this hard time. From customer service, to claims filing, this company makes it easy to put pets first.
Heather was absolutely AMAZING! She answered every single one of my questions with such enthusiasm not matter how many I asked. By far the best customer service I have received. Thank you so much!
Denise Pinto
Thank Goodness my Sam has PetPlan!! He had a Bowel Obstruction that landed him in the Emergency Hospital, and Thankfully he passed the NYLABONE that was lodged in his small bowel. He missed having surgery by a nose. Still the total bill for his overnight stay and treatment came to nearly $1500 dollars. As soon as PetPlan received all they needed from the hospital my reimbursement check came. A word of advice to all though. If your dog has not had any pre-existing illness or had any claims RAISE your coverage. Even with PetPlan my part of the bill was over $900. Raise your coverage and lower your Deductible if you are financially able because once you make any claim you are not permitted to make any changes to you coverage again.
Thank you PetPlan….

I just recently posted this comment on PetPlan’s Facebook page and I sincerely mean it. I realize now that it would have been a lot better to have my dog “over insured” thank counting pennies. My last beloved Lab Buddy who passed in 2011 had to have a TPLO when he was 7 years old. The cost was close to $4,000. I knew when I got a dog again I would most definitely have him/her insured. Now I have learned another valuable lesson, just as you don’t skimp on quality food for your dog, don’t skimp on your insurance coverage of your fur-babies.

I have paid premium insurance with this company for my dog since I got him. I recently had my dog diagnosed with separation anxiety. I have taken all the necessary steps with them to make sure everything is running smooth so he can get the help he needs, or so I thought.

I have been passed on from one customer service agent to the next, with no advocate for my dog, I realize this company does not stand by its integrity and values promoted. I called the company the day the first claim was put through, I was reassured that my dog Sami would get the help he needs. I asked the agent to put a request for his medical history to expedite the process for his medical coverage. The next day I called and AGAIN reassured that he will be taken care of. The following day I take my dog to the vet, having them to process all the necessary paperwork for Sami is coverage. I called Pet plan again to not only have them once more reassure me that everything was going smooth but to also inform me that I should know if he is covered by a certain day. The following day I called, I was told by an agent who insinuated that he is an RCMP officer who mentioned it in a form of intimidation that his premium went up when I changed his bread, which I didn’t, he informed me that his colleague was told that he is a pure breed when he is a mixed breed and that is why my premium went up. That being said, he apologises for the miscommunication and told me once more not to worry, that he will take care of it. Today I call after receiving an email saying that additional records are required to assist my dog who is still suffering from anxiety. I had asked all the agents I spoke to, to assist my dog in getting the help he needs, that all that was necessary for them to do is simply request his records and they failed to do so. I pay my fee on time each month and never did my dog go to the vet since we had this insurance made and now that he needs the help, they are being inconsistent and not advocating for this poor, helpless animal. Everything is being miscommunicated and it seems like they don’t have a strong team as they are constantly apologising for their mistakes. Here I am cornered as I can not afford to leave my pet at all and having to pay tons of money that I thought I was covered for. When I spoke to the agent today I was told that not only did the records get requested today, which is a week later. but also still they have to wait for the office to respond to their request instead of following up and not sure how they will process the request I quote, ” I don’t know how they will process it, a form of mail, fax, how many pages” basically his telling me that my dog might get covered next year because of their inconsistency, laid-back service and lack of organized professionalism. I am looking at others reviews and I see I am not the only one facing these awful circumstances, in the end, my dog still needs help and in the end, I am paying tons of money that is not going towards his medical needs. THIS IS AN AWFUL COMPANY!!! I AM GETTING A LAWYER!!

Keyai - Petplan Community Manager
Hi JES, I would like to escalate your complaint to a senior level team member here at Petplan so we can get this resolved. Please email me your policy number so I can have a Petplan team member contact you today. Email: socialmedia@gopetplan.com
Joan G
Petplan Insurance’s underwriter (since late 2016) has no integrity. My dog’s 2017 policy (then 7 yo ) was renewed at a premium increase of 39%. Our 2018 premium has increased an additional 24%. It used to be a great company. Without going into stories, now only its legally binding commitments seem to be honored. it’s really too bad. I used to refer all my friends..would never do so now.
Christina S
Petplan calculates the co-pay percentage BEFORE taking off the deductible… (which makes no sense as I am paying 100% of the deductible) so they have much less to pay at the end. Petplan uses creative accounting to avoid paying the amount they are obligated to pay. Not to mention the premium increases, and the months it can take to process a claim. I would 100% NOT recommend them.
Bret Friedrich
I think this review is highly misleading. Petplan is a gret insurer while they are collecting premiums but as soon as the time comes to honor a policy and make a payment on a claim they become what we in the industry call a bad faith insurer. They fail to communicate, stall and delay and then make up phantom pre existing conditions that leaves your veterinary team scratching their head. You are doing your readers a great disservice recommending in anyway such a dishonest insurer. I urge you to reconsider this review and talk to actual policy holders that have had to go through Petplan’s nightmare claim process.
Robert Z
PetPlan has a Plan!

Been member of PetPlan for 4 years and have had opportunity to use it 4 times. This is what i experienced;

1 = If the form is correctly filled in and all the i’s are dotted and the t’s crossed; and it is not an excluded procedure than you will get a refund of up to but no more than 80% or less depending what is included and excluded. BUT;

2 = The refund will be in the form a cheque which means;
– it has to be ‘raised’
– than it needs to be posted
– than it needs to be delivered
– than it needs to be taken to the bank
– than it needs to clear
Although PetPlan withdraw the monthly payment from your account the categorically refuse to refund electronically. So no matter what, after the stress of your puppy or pussy needing medical attention than you have all the extra work of having the vet fill in a special form and than you fill out more info and than all the running about with the cheque. I avoid going to my bank like a bad cold; the only time i do is to go to the teller machine to deposit my PetPlan cheque.

3 = PetPlan believe that they can increase your payment by over 85% without explanation or due process. Our two pets cost us monthly each $67.92 that is a total of $125.84 per month making it $1510.08. They increased the regular deduction to $126.89 per pet per month making a total yearly cost of $3045.28. That is an increase of 201.66%. Not even our politician would allow themselves such a pay raise. No explanation, no reason.

Shame PetPlan, Shame!

Donald F DeLany
Petplan Pet Insurance will gladly take your money, but if you have a claim it is highly unlikely to pay. Had a insignificant mole on my dog 5 years ago. Decided to have a biopsy on it due to changes, then Vet said we should remove it since it had some spindle cells. Thankfully it was benign. But Petplan did not allow the claim saying it was a pre-existing condition, even though the Vet sent a letter letting them know that when it was examined 5 years ago there was no reason to believe it was a problem. Do not buy their insurance, you are better paying it out of packet then the $1300+ per year I paid for 3 years.
Keyai - Petplan Community Manager
Hi Donald, I understand why you would be frustrated with a denied claim. I’m not sure if you already appealed the initial denial of your claim to allow us the chance to take a closer look at all of the medical records for your pup. If you would like to speak to a Petplan team member to review this claim again, please email us at socialmedia@gopetplan.com with your phone number and policy number so we may review and then follow-up with you.

Send this to a friend