Petplan Insurance Reviews: Is It The Most Comprehensive?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Pug with bone in mouthPetplan is among the most reputable pet insurance companies due to its outstanding customer service and excellent coverage. However, competitors have stepped up in recent years, offering more coverage for less money.

Why do we think Petplan still deserves your consideration as a pet insurance provider? Read our review to see why you might choose Petplan, especially if you’re signing up as a new customer or adding a new pet.

Visit Petplan’s Website | Call: 800-237-1123

Article Overview

Petplan

4.3 / 5
Petplan
Policy Coverage 4.8
Customer Service & Reputation 4.3
Timeliness of Claim Payment 4.5
Price of Policy 3.8

Pros

  • There is a 5% discount for users purchasing their insurance plan online
  • Covers advertising lost pets, losing your pet, cancelled vacation due to pet illness, etc.
  • No lifetime or per condition claims limit
  • BBB rating: A+ (under its incorporated name, Fetch, Inc.)
  • Claims are typically paid within 5-7 days although it allows up to 30 days
  • App available to support claims via iOS and Android
  • Covers the exam fees for sick visits ($50-$250 on average)
  • No claims credit (2% discount for each consecutive 12-month policy period without a claim, up to 10% max discount)

Cons

  • Complaints from existing customers of premium increases being drastically higher than competitors
  • In order for coverage to apply you must take your dog to the vet within 48 hours of noticing symptoms of an illness or injury
  • A number of policyholders complain that Petplan delays payment on claims (often due to a short upfront waiting period as a new customer) and requires an invoice from your vet
  • Dogs must have annual health and dental check-ups in order for coverage to apply. Failure to do so may mean your dog won’t get insurance coverage until that checkup is done.
  • Only covers CCL (ACL) on a second leg if the first leg remains healed for 12 months (if your pet received treatment for a cruciate or soft tissue injury to one knee before policy inception, then the other knee is automatically excluded)
  • Customers state (and our sample quotes show) it is more expensive than Healthy Paws for unlimited annual claims
  • No wellness plan
  • $3 credit card processing fee for monthly and quarterly payments

Key Features

  • Underwriter: XL Specialty Insurance Company (XL Catlin)
  • Requires vet exams to establish your pet’s baseline of health
    • Must occur within 60 days before or 30 days after enrollment for any age animal
    • If your pet hasn’t had a vet exam within 60 days prior to the policy’s effective date, any medical condition(s) observed or recorded during the next vet exam will be excluded from coverage
    • Pets older than 6 must visit the vet within 1 month of the policy’s effective date to establish a baseline of health
  • 6-month waiting period for cruciate ligaments and patellas can be waived if a vet examines your pet within 30 days of policy issuance and the vet notes explicitly that there’s no indication of any knee problems:
    • From Petplan policy: If your pet has received treatment for a cruciate or soft tissue injury to one knee during the first six (6) months of the policy (where no certification of knee health has been provided as described in Section V.g.) then the other knee is automatically excluded from coverage for a period of twelve (12) months from the date of last treatment to the affected knee.
  • Pre-existing conditions defined by Petplan: A medical condition which first occurred or showed clinical sign(s) before the effective date of this policy or which occurred or showed clinical sign(s) during the policy waiting period.
  • Offers a bilateral exclusion (a condition or disease that affects both sides of the body) for injuries/conditions of cruciate ligaments, if one side were pre-existing the policy would exclude the other if injured
  • Must submit claims within 90 days following treatment via the mobile app, fax, email or mail
  • PetVetDirect reimburses the veterinarian directly
  • Claim repayment may take up to 30 days but are typically paid within 5 to 7 days for complete claims submitted via the app or online
  • 30-day free look period (similar to a money-back guarantee)
  • No claims credit: For each consecutive 12-month policy period that a pet has gone without a paid claim, a 2% credit is awarded at renewal (up to a max of 10%)
  • Petplan covers curable pre-existing conditions after 365 days
    • From Petplan policy: Any such curable medical condition that does not reoccur within the first curable exclusionary period will be coverable provided an annual exam is conducted by a veterinarian dated after the curable exclusionary period and before the first reoccurrence of such curable medical condition.
  • Policies of $15,000 annual limit or more offer additional coverages:
    • The cost of advertising and paying a reward for a stolen or lost pet
    • The reasonable cost of boarding your pet at a licensed kennel or cattery while you’re in the hospital as a result of your own sickness, disease or bodily injury
    • Reimbursement for the price you paid for your pet if your pet is stolen or goes missing during the policy period and is not found
    • Reimbursement for the price you paid for your pet if your pet dies or has to be put to sleep by a vet during the policy period, as a result of injury or illness
    • Reimbursement for any travel and accommodation costs you cannot recover, if you have to cancel or cut short a vacation during the policy period because your pet is injured or shows the first clinical sign(s) of an illness while you are away or up to 7 days before you leave, and as a result requires immediate lifesaving vet treatment
  • Customer service hours:
    • Email, live chat and phone: 24/7

What Does Petplan Cover?

Here’s a list of services that Petplan does and does not cover as of December 2018.

Covered by PetplanNot Covered by Petplan
Injuries & accidentsWellness & routine care
IllnessPreventative care
Non-routine veterinary exam fees & sick visits, including specialists and emergency careProphylactic teeth cleaning
Dental coverage for oral disease and injuries – including periodontal disease, extractions and advanced treatments such as root canal therapyNon-curable pre-existing conditions
Behavioral treatment – including anxiety disorders such as travel and separation anxietyElective treatments e.g., tail docking, ear cropping (not recommended by a veterinarian to treat or diagnose an injury or illness)
Hereditary and chronic conditions
Imaging (Xray, MRI, CAT scan, ultrasound)
Diagnostic treatment
Prescription medications
Cancer treatment
Surgery & rehab
Alternative, holistic and homeopathic treatments
Curable pre-existing conditions

Is Hip Dysplasia Covered?

Petplan covers hereditary conditions, such as hip dysplasia, as long as there were no signs or symptoms before the policy or during the required 15-day waiting period.

Price Quotes

Petplan has annual coverage limits of $2,500, $5,000, $10,000, $15,000, $20,000, $25,000 or unlimited. The lower the limit you select, the lower your monthly premium will be. However, we always recommend getting unlimited or the highest level possible within your budget because you never know what illnesses or injuries your pet may experience in one year.

Petplan offers $250 to $1,000 annual deductibles and 70%, 80% and 90% reimbursements. The higher your deductible and the lower your reimbursement, the lower your monthly premium will be. There may be more options available based on your unique circumstances so be sure to reach out to Petplan by phone at 800-237-1123 to explore possible customized plan options.

The cost of each policy is unique to your pet and depends on many variables, including your pet’s age, breed, location, health conditions and more. Below are some sample quotes we’ve obtained from Petplan. Quotes are from December 2018.

BreedLabrador RetrieverEnglish Cocker SpanielGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
Age2 years8 years4 years6 years2 months2 months2 years
LocationFlorida
(zip code: 33134)
Illinois
(zip code: 60290)
California
(zip code: 90001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
Illinois
(zip code: 60290)
Washington D.C.
(zip code: 20001)
Price Per Month$87.73$110.00$65.67$95.84$40.04$24.28$34.05
Reimbursement Level80%70%90%90%90%80%80%
Annual Deductible$250$500$500$250$250$250$250
Annual LimitUnlimitedUnlimited$2,500$15,000$15,000$5,000Unlimited

You can get personalized price quotes for your pet(s) from reputable companies, including Petplan. You can also visit our Pet Insurance Quotes page to see how the cost of Petplan stacks up against the competition.

Transaction Fees

Petplan charges a $3 transaction fee for every monthly or quarterly payment. The quote given online includes this fee. There is no transaction fee for annual payments.

Coupon Code

Use coupon code CanineJournal to receive an additional 5% discount (10% total if you sign up online). Alternatively, if you call 800-237-1123 you will automatically get the additional 5% discount! You can also visit our dedicated Petplan promotions page to discuss current offers.

Waiting Periods

XL Specialty Insurance Company issues all new Petplan policies. Below are the waiting periods for these policies.

  • 5 days: Accidents
  • 15 days: Illnesses
  • 6 months: Cruciates and patellas

Petplan Customer Reviews

Want to know what real customers think? Read these positive and negative Petplan reviews for a better understanding of its customer service.

Positive Reviews

I found the solution to the healthcare crisis. Health insurance needs to use the Petplan model. Car insurance should follow suit. Seriously our puppy would not still be kickin’ if we did not have Pet Insurance. It’s a great feeling to not have to worry about the $ and concentrate on his care. The freedom to make choices without considering cost. The ability to save for a wedding while Zuul is sick. So anyway I’m totally sold on it. Wouldn’t leave home without it. If you’re considering it just pull the trigger. – Justin B., Yelp 3/31/2018

I am a happy member of the Petplan insurance family! Anytime I have a claim, I’m always treated with respect, kindness, and concern for both me and my pitbull Pippy. I want to commend [name redacted] today for being able to quickly and efficiently update my payment information (fraudulent charges had forced me to close my existing one). Because I am so pleased with Petplan, I certainly did not want there to be an issue for my premiums to them!!! Thanks, Petplan, for always being here to help me get through tough situations with a smile! – Robin H., Trust Pilot 4/27/2018

Negative Reviews

Total rip off company. When you make claims they take several weeks to scrutinize and then find way to deny claim. They also raise rates for arbitrary reason, such as moving. – Bob B., Yelp 3/8/2018

Their phone staff is either poorly trained or dishonest. I hope the former. I asked what do you pay after meeting the deductible? I was told 80? Of everything else. The correct answer is ” after meeting the deductible for each illness or occurrence ” we pay 80%. So I rushed to have some growths removed before the end of the year when my dog was still recovering from an allergic reaction to some medication..Because of this misinformation, I rushed to have growths removed that turned out to be malignant before the end of the year while he was still recovering from an allergic reaction to meds. It could have waited three weeks. Do not rely on anything they tell you. Read ALL the writing. BUT you can’t even rely on that… My renewal letter said my premium would be $ 644.00 but they charged my credit card $210.00 which makes my premium $820.00. When I called they said their March 8th letter to me was wrong so they charged me the right amount because they made an error and my premium should have gone up. I am stuck with these disreputable people now because we now know that what my dog has been struggling with since the beginning of December is Valley Fever. I am waiting to see how they try to deny the claim. So is my Vet. So be careful with these people. I was cautioned early on by by a tech at a different vet’s office about their unwillingness to pay claims. We will see this coming year. Last year they disallowed some and really hiked up my premiums so just ck with some vets. – Anne S., Trust Pilot 3/22/2018

Do I Really Need Pet Insurance?

Pet insurance helps reduce out-of-pocket expenses when any significant medical event occurs in your dog’s life. None of us ever plan for these unexpected events to occur, but pet insurance offers peace of mind when they do happen.

Worried about what your dog’s eating when you’re not looking? Perhaps Petplan can help you feel more protected. Check out the video below; this dog loves to try everything!

What’s Our Final Verdict On Petplan?

Visit Petplan’s Website | Call: 800-237-1123

Although Petplan’s pricing is higher on average compared to several top pet insurance providers, we think Petplan’s unlimited annual coverage is tough to beat and certainly worth considering. We’re also impressed with its stellar claim repayment reputation, which averages 5-7 days.

Ultimately, whether you pick Petplan for your pet is up to you; however, here at Canine Journal we always advocate some form of insurance. See how Petplan stacks up against other pet insurance companies in our comparison article.

Are you considering Petplan?

About The Author:

Kimberly received her Bachelor of Arts in multimedia journalism from Simpson College. She has been writing about dogs since 2014, covering subjects such as dog insurance, training, health, accessories and more. Her natural curiosity helps her research as she seeks the truth when learning about, comparing and personally testing canine products and services. With every piece she writes, her goal is to help our readers find the best fit for their unique needs.

Kimberly grew up in a family that loved Labrador Retrievers and remembers running and playing in the yard with them as a child. In 2017, she and her husband adopted their Coonhound mix, Sally, from a local shelter. Kimberly's research was put to good use since Sally faced some aggression issues with other dogs and needed some training to be an inside dog. She worked daily with Sally and sought help from professionals to help Sally become the happy pup she is today.

One of Kimberly's favorite pastimes is spoiling Sally with new toys, comfy beds and yummy treats (she even makes homemade goodies for her). She tries to purchase the safest products for Sally and knows that each canine has their own specific likes and dislikes. Kimberly is passionate about dogs, and knows the bond between humans and canines is like no other.

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Disclaimer: The information provided through this website should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, you should consult your health care provider.

Disclaimer: This website contains reviews, opinions and information regarding products and services manufactured or provided by third parties. We are not responsible in any way for such products and services, and nothing contained here should be construed as a guarantee of the functionality, utility, safety or reliability of any product or services reviewed or discussed. Please follow the directions provided by the manufacturer or service provider when using any product or service reviewed or discussed on this website.

210
Leave a Reply

avatar
newest oldest most voted
Sarah
Well Canine Journal, it took you a while, but you finally moved Pet Plan off the top of your list. I have pet plan and though there are some positives, I just feel like we are with a company we cannot trust. Their huge premium increases were crazy and as a pet parent you feel trapped when your pet has a pre-existing condition. I have had a couple of claims that were denied. The first one took a couple of months but they finally overturned it and paid. The second one they denied only took a few days to resolve and they ended up paying on that too. You want peace of mind knowing your pet is covered. I don’t want to wonder “will they pay this? Will it be covered? Will they try to deny it?”.
Trish Ryan
I have no idea how this has high reviews. I had this insurance for a couple of years. The price/cost automatically goes up after a year, by the way. My German Shepard got injured and was limping badly and his breathing was really fast. This went on for days so I took him to the vet. They suggested checking his heart and xrays on his leg and hip. Nothing could be found on the xrays, so I was told to go to a doctor to check his ligaments. But I first decided to send in a claim to Pet Plan. They were horrible. They kept asking for more records and doctor notices. Then finally they denied my claim stating that my dog had a prior heart condition. THAT WAS A FLAT OUT LIE. … AND THEY READ THE DOCTOR’S REPORT WRONG. My vet gave my dog a complete exam and said he was in perfect health. Then they continued to ask for more information on my dogs legs… I gave them everything. What I realized is that they would do this every time in the future so as to NOT PAY A CLAIM.. THEY ARE HORRIBLE.. SAVE MONEY EVERY MONTH FOR EMERGENCIES BECAUSE PETPLAN WILL REFUSE TO REIMBURSE YOU!
Cheryl R.
I I have been with petplan for nearly 15 years. But in the last several since the new underwriter petplan is not a company of choice today. If your pet stays healthy you will be fine. But with an older dog and increasing health issues my insurance premiums have tripled. They may not cancel you but they will raise you so that you need to cancel them as you basically just can’t afford the coverage and then you are without coverage. The exact opposite reason you got pet insurance. My insurance premium went from 1542 to 3600 in one year. Beware of this company. They give you a lot of benefits for not having claims. The more claims you have the more they will raise your insurance plus they look at age yearly. I recently got two new puppies and have found a different Insurance Company. You need to ask if they raise your rates based on age and number of claims as this is very important.
Beatrice Greenberg
My West Highland White Terrier, was insured with PetPlan for many years. At age 2 1/2 she had surgery for luxating patellas and crashed. After several months of trying to figure out what was going on, she was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease that resulted in IBD and arthritis. We were so happy to have PetPlan to help us keep her healthy and happy. As she aged her issues necessitated a lot of medical care including physical therapy to keep her muscles from atrophying. PetPlan continued to be there to cover her many expenses. Prior to her 14 th birthday they let us down in a shocking change in coverage. The PetPlan policy we paid for had unlimited coverage, $100 dedicate per illness and 10% co-pay. In August, 2019, the new policy went into effect and limits coverage to $15,000 per year, $750 per illness deductible and has a 30% co-pay. While the premiums went down significantly, it was in no way proportional to the drastic change in coverage. They gave us no choice in what coverage we could purchase – it was this lousy coverage or nothing. I suppose they hoped we would walk away. This from a company that told us that we could keep the coverage we purchased as long as we paid our premium. In a recent chat with this company as prospective client, they continued to provide what appears to be deceptive information about coverage for aging pets. The following statements are from the chat:

Me:
So, I can keep the coverage I purchase throughout the life of my pet, regardless of any health issues or the amount of money PetPlan has had to pay out?

Pet Plan Response

Yes. Per our terms and conditions, the coverage can be changed but you would be notified before that occurred. It would be in a very rare circumstance, like a change of underwriter for example.

In the current situation, there was no change in underwriters. So, as when I purchased the policy they are still letting consumers believe that they will let you keep the policy you purchased for the life of the pet – except for “very rare” circumstances, which according to the chat would not include high claims.

You be the judge and jurying and decide if you want this company to protect your pet. Ask a lot of questions and force yourself to read through the policy. If you need a lawyer to read the policy I suggest you go elsewhere.

Nancy
If you try to put a claim in Pet Plan does everything in their power not to pay. My dog had surgery and need to go to ER per his regular vet’s instructions less than 48 hours later. He was having complications due to surgery/medications his primary vet and I believed. Petplan insists that since they found a UTI in addition to side effects from post-surgery meds that the deductible must be met again. It is all tied together as were the tests but again they are screwing their customers. If my dog was not so old I would change companies. The new underwriters have made this one of the worst companies to buy insurance from. For those of you who have not started with this company USE ANOTHER COMPANY. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY.
Casey Leonard
Had 90% 250 deductable. 2 years i paid them, dog required cataract surgery because his eyes became inflamed and blind in one eye surgery was $6200 they denied claim. Modern day snake oil salesmen only its paper and a promise. Total scam use illegal insurance tactics that have been outlawed for humans just using it for pets. Don’t use save your money start a go fund me account for help from friends. This will only cost you money and maybe your pets life cause they won’t be there as they should morally and wait they advertise for. Small print is everything and who’s got time for that. Viking days would have taken care of these people long ago.
Cheryl Ross
Do not buy PetPlan Pet Insurance. I recently had to have a gallbladder removed on my 14 years old dog. There were alot of complications but my little guy pulled through. His insurance was $1642 yearly. When I got my new premium for the following year, PetPlan raised his rate to $3660. PetPlan is only good for people who plan to have healthy pets. They will not cancel you, but will raise your premium (or change your coverage) in hopes you cancel the policy. I also had a friend who’s 3 years old now has back issues. Petplan changed her policy from $200 deductible, 10% CoPay to $750 Deductible and 30% Copay. So if you want peace of mind….don’t get Petplan.
Trish Ryan
I went through the same thing. Paid for this for over 2 years and then they wouldn’t pay a simple claim, stating my dog had a pre-existing condition. They read the doctors report wrong too because he said my dog was in perfect health. PetPlan had already claimed he had a pre-existing heart condition… COMPLETELY LYING!
Valerie Lancaster
I wished I would have done my due diligence and homework when it came to buy pet insurance . . . I did not.
So only in the world of PetPlan Insurance would a previously broken bone (Jaw) that was broken well over two years prior the policy inception date be considered preexisting condition.
What they said was: We were not able to offer coverage for your claim because the condition was found to be pre-existing. There is an exam from 6/4/18 which is before an active policy was in place, medical records note that Chao’s mandible was previously fractured & repaired – but still skewed to the left.
This jaw was fractured the first time January 1, 2017. And through a goofy accident on April 23, 2019 was fractured again …. the policy inception date was 7/20/2018. Note the fact that PetPlan notes that the jaw was previously repaired. So essentially they can deny ANYTHING and EVERYTHING because it may have happened before with your pet.
In the Pet World … the usual definition of a pre-existing condition is: A pre-existing condition is a disease, a problem that your pet may be suffering from, or showing symptoms of, before purchasing an insurance policy. A condition that may surface or be diagnosed during the waiting period, usually one year from the date of signing up, is also considered a pre-existing condition. A broken bone/jaw does not fit that …. especially one that was REPAIRED prior to the policy inception period.
Pet Plan dragged the claim out for almost 50 days only to deny the claim. THIS IS A BUYER BEWARE. GO ONLINE …. read the reviews of ALL the pet insurance companies – this company does everything it can NOT TO PAY CLAIMS.. and on the same day they denied my claim – they sent me a renewal letter … isn’t that funny!!!! DO YOUR HOMEWORK-I wished I had.
I cancelled my policy – What is the point to pay them $$ if they aren’t going to stand by all the stuff they say they will do. AGAIN – DO YOUR HOMEWORK. READ THE REVIEWS.
DOROTHY TITUS
I have a 10 month old GR
She has only been to the vet for shots and her spay until
3 weeks ago I took her in for a skin condition
Petplan is denying this claim as a preexisting condition
Doesn’t make sense I am appealing their decision
I had Healthy Paws for my last dog should have gone back to them but Petplan was cheaper
I highly recommend Healthy Paws
fast claim processing and great customer service
Keyai - Petplan Social Team
Hi Dorothy, thank you for taking the time to post your experience working with Petplan. I am glad that you are appealing the decision since you feel we have declined your recent claim in error. Often what we need is additional information to approve payment for a claim.
Pippa Nutt
I completely disagree with this article. I’m on my third dog and have had pet insurance for all of the, it’s changed a lot over the years. When doing research last year I came down to Pet Plan and Trupanion, I went with Pet Plan because the monthly premium was lower, and it was a total mistake. They say they don’t increase premiums after a claim and it’s a complete lie. I have proof based on having taken out insurance on two different dogs the same age in the same area (even though they say premium adjustments are tied to your area, both dogs were in same area). Also, they reduce your coverage by dropping you from a 90% reimbursement to 70%, increasing your deductible to $750, and lowering the annual limit you signed up for and there is nothing you can do about it – not even if you pay a higher premium (and tough to switch after an incident because it will be considered pre-existing with another insurer). If you have to submit a claim, they give you the run around about needing more detailed medical records meanwhile the Veterinary Emergency Hospital (best in class in Toronto) has supplied a full medical history and even they think they are being ridiculous. Payments on claims take >3 weeks and they look for every reason not to pay. In the end, I should have chosen Trupanion, and when Pet Plan dropped my coverage limits I ended up getting secondary coverage through TruPanion. Learned a lesson but not an easy one when your dog still has 10+ more years to go.
Sally
Petplan is a complete waste of money. Healthy puppy until he had vomiting and diarrhea one night. Repeatedly asked for more documentation. Took months to get a denial, which meant months of continuing to pay premiums. Avoid. Avoid Avoid.
Keyai - Social Media Manager
Hi Sally, I hope your puppy is doing better now. If you feel we denied your recent claim incorrectly, we offer an appeals process. Please email us at socialmedia@gopetplan.com your policy number so I can have a supervisor review and then follow-up with you directly.
Marie
I recently purchased pet insurance for my 2 cats. Unfortunately, just a few weeks after I made the purchase, I needed to use it for one of my cats. Their Customer Service Rep (Happiness Manager) could not have been more kind, understanding and helpful. She walked me through every step of the process and answered all of my (many!) questions. I felt good knowing that I could call and talk to someone 24/7. And rather than feeling like the company was trying not to reimburse me, I knew that they were behind me every step of the way, helping me and keeping in touch with me until I got my reimbursement just a few weeks after my cat got treatment. Happily, he is doing much better, and I could not be happier about the choice I made. There are many choices for Pet Insurance, but Petplan stands out as a company that treats people and pets with the care they deserve.
Keyai - Petplan Social Media Manager
Hi Marie, thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with others looking for information about the coverage Petplan provides. I am so glad we were able to be there for you and your furry family when you needed us the most. I hope your cat is doing much better now.
Joan
Petplan is the worst pet insurance. My dog was attacked by a pit bull and I took him to the vet they paid zero. My dog contacted a cough from the dog park they paid zero for vet bill or medicines they raise rates to high to pay. I am now looking for new insurance. If you call them it’s like talking to no one cause they don’t care
Keyai - Social Media Manager
Hi Joan, I’m so sorry to read that your dog was attacked. I sincerely hope your dog is doing better now. If you feel that we rejected your recent claim we have an appeals process available to you. Please email us at socialmedia@gopetplan.com and include your policy number so we may follow-up with you.
Iain D
Question for CanineJournal: I have had Pet Plan for over 8 yrs. at first I was very happy and received great service and coverage. When PetPlan changed its underwriter(s) the premiums more than doubled and the coverage amount went way down. I have been looking at other pet insurance plans but am having trouble finding one that covers older pets. Could Canine Journal please publish an article on what to consider when purchasing insurance for an adopted older/senior pet or an aging pet one has owned for awhile? What should persons on retiree fixed incomes have to consider before deciding to insure or continue to insure their aging/older pets? Which pet insurers refuse to insure older pets? Thank you for publishing your website. It is very very helpful.
Nancy Mosner
I have always been happy with Pet plan plus UNTIL NOW. I can no longer recommend this company. I have gotten excuses and condescending attitudes when I call to see why I am getting letters saying my claim will not be paid because I haven’t met my deductible…. I am thousands of dollars over my deductible. The woman I spoke with had no idea who her supervisor was…also unacceptable.
I was asked irrelevant questions and the blame was being put on me for their incompetence.
They have no record of receiving my emails initially but when I questioned them all the sudden they could find them….
Nothing but excuses and looking for reasons not to pay very straightforward claims.
Very disappointed and it’s a shame as I am involved in several resumes, and social media groups with well over 50,000 followers who now will not be recommended to use this company.
Theresa
I am now waiting at 30 days for my claim to be “assessed”. I am told they received everything on 2-5-19 they needed. It is now 3-2-19. I was told today yet a 4th excuse. It has been anything from backed up from the holidays to they do it as they are received and it is high volume right now. New excuse everytime. Then told 30 days are “business” days. Not what it says in terms and conditions of contract. Shame on them. BEWARE!!!!!
Matt
Do not buy insurance with Petplan. Rude and dishonest company. Unfair business practices. Will try and find any reason to not cover your claim. Everything is a pre existing condition to them no matter what. Customer service agents will not let you talk with or give any contact info for superiors. Please look elsewhere.
Glen
I am sorry to say that Petplan is a ripoff, I warn you to avoid them and use another company. Petplan used to be a good company with good service. They would make reasonable decisions on claims and pay fairly promptly. Helped with some major unexpected expenses over the years. Over the last couple years they started applying unreasonable fine print policies, such as denying all claims because an animal had not had sufficient “wellness” visits in PRIOR years. They are taking money from people who expect coverage, and then find any excuse to refuse to pay claims when problems arise. This is the opposite of what people are paying for.
Michele
After reading the complaints I am staying with Healthy Paws insurance. They are great!
Joan
Stay away from PetPlan!!! Run if you already have them. They changed ownership two years ago and seem to come up with EVERY imaginable reason NOT to pay a claim. They demand a ridiculous number of records with little to no explanation of the need (my dog has been covered since before 2015, but they now want records from subsequent years even though there were no claims during those years. They claim that my vet’s records aren’t sufficient. They just denied a claim because I filed the claim more than 90 days after the end of “the policy year.” Yet I file claims with two other pet insurance companies for mt two other dogs at the end of the calendar year with no problem. I haven’t had them actually pay a claim in years.

I have Healthy Paws and Trupanion for my two other dogs. Both companies pay without any hassle.

Do yourself a favor – pick Healthy Paws or Trupanion. PetPlan has become worthless.

Cheryl R
Joan…I so agree. I had a major problem with my old dog. You may not believe this, but they raised my premium from $1642 to $3600 based on the amount of claims. They say PetPlan for life, but I believe they are trying to force me to cancel the policy. I would have pre-existing conditions if I move to another insurance company. He is 14. They only want to insure healthy pets. I just got 2 new puppies and went with TruPanion. Petplan looks at age and # of claims yearly and adjust your rate accordingly. TruPanion only looks at vet costs in your area for premium increases. This is a very important factor when researching Pet Insurance Companies
David H.
Be aware: as Christina S. noted earlier, Petplan has a trick in calculating the reimbursement. They take your copay (C.) percentage off first, then subtract the deductible (D.), and then pay your reimbursement (R.), i.e., in the order of C.D.R., while the industry standard is D.C.R. (i.e., you pay your deductible first before insurance steps in). This simple trick means Petplan would reimburse you LESS than the industry standard, by the amount = (your deducible $ amount) * (your copay percentage).

For example, if your deductible is $300 and copay 10% (or 100%-10%=90% co-insurance), then you would get $300 x 10% = $30 less than what you are entitled to. See details below for math.

(1) Petplan’s C.D.R. – Copay first, then Deductible, then Reimbursement payment:

Say, you have a vet bill of $1,000,
they first take out your copay of 10% to arrive at $1,000 * (100% – 10% copay) = $900,
then take out deductible, $900 – $300 deductible = $600,
This $600 is what Petplan would reimburse you.

This can be written as a formula:
R1 = B * (1-C) – D
where B: Bill, C: Copay = 100%-Co-insurance, D: deductible, R1: reimbursement to you

(2) But the industry standard is – D.C.R.:
$1,000 bill – $300 deductible = $700
$700 * (100%-10% copay) = $630 = $600 + $30 = insurance pays you ($30 more than Petplan does).

i.e.,
R2 = (B – D)* (1-C) = B * (1-C) – D * (1-C) = [B * (1-C) – D] + D*C = [R1] + D*C
where R1= Petplan reimbursement

Comparing the above two results, one can see (2) the standard reimbursement is D*C= $30 more than (1) what Petplan pays. It’s not a huge number, but it’s a product between two numbers [(your deducible $ amount) * (your copay percentage)] and can add up over time for a pet parent.

Their 24/7 customer service is great, but they have the highest premium among several quotes we have and their premium also has the steepest increase with pet’s age like 20%-25% per year.

Wayne
Hi, Kimberly et al.,

Would like share our experience with Petplan after signing up a month ago. So far:

Negative: high premium, slow processing for medical record review.
Positive: 24/7 phone support, helpful customer service

Details follow:

1) Just called Petplan rep confirmed no 5% online sign-up discount for California.

2) After the enrollment, they offer medical record review, which takes 30-40 days, can easily go beyond the 30-day trial period; while at Figo it takes ~15 days.

3) Found they premium on the higher end:
for a 6-year old small dog mix breed (<12 lbs) in California, we got $120.02/month for unlimited coverage, 90% reimbursement, $300 deductible, twice that at Figo or ASPCA.

Their premium increase from 5 year old to 6 year old is about 25%. Seems consistent with what folks have complained about on this page.

One can lower the coverage at anytime, but cannot go back up unless there is no claim submitted thru your policy anniversary – then you could raise your coverage again.

Still considering whether we want to continue with Petplan. Will decide after receiving the medical record review report.

Erin Kunkel
Barry C. did a great job assisting us with changing our autopsy plan!
Susie
I just asked a representative from Petplan about the yearly discount if you don’t file a claim. I quoted from above
“Receive a discount on your premium if you don’t file a claim (2% the first year, 4% the second year, 6% the third year, 8% the fourth year and 10% the fifth year)” The representative said this is not true. Petplan doesn not offer this discount. You had best check with Petplan or remove this from your review.
Diana H.
I have been with Petplan since 2014 and their customer service is just as excellent as the day I signed up. Their turn around time for processing my claims are paid quickly. The staff has always been polite and helpful. The most recent reps I’ve worked with was (name redacted) and (name redacted); they must bring their dogs to work because they are always so cordial and happy on the phone. This is a great company and always refer them when I can. Ten out of Ten stars!!!
Keith
Petplan is AWESOME!!!!
100% satisfied!!
#woof