Is Healthy Paws The Best Pet Insurance Provider?

To sustain this free service, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. This doesn’t affect rankings. Our review process.

Dog's paws in sand (text in image: Healthy Paws pet insurance review) Healthy Paws is committed to helping homeless pets — so much so, they’ve donated over $1 million in grants to more than 300 nonprofit organizations. A great selling point for a pet insurance company, for sure.

But is Healthy Paws worthy of insuring your beloved pet? How does its coverage, service and cost compare to other top pet insurance companies?

Visit Healthy Paws Website

Article Overview

Healthy Paws

4.65 / 5
Healthy Paws
Policy Coverage 4.3
Customer Service & Reputation 4.8
Timeliness of Claim Payment 4.8
Price of Policy 4.8

Pros

  • Annual deductible (not per incident)
  • Unlimited lifetime coverage so no annual or per incident limits on claims
  • Pricing is generally the best value vs competition
  • Your pet is covered when they travel with you in the United States or Canada
  • High customer satisfaction
  • Easy to submit a claim on the Healthy Paws app for quick claim reimbursement
  • BBB rating: A+
  • Great email response time
  • Good CCL (ACL) coverage
  • Direct deposit or check reimbursement

Cons

  • Veterinary exam fee and behavioral therapies are not covered
  • Excludes hip dysplasia in animals enrolled after age 6, so this might not be the best option for large breeds that are older than 6. There is also a 12-month waiting period.
  • There are age restrictions (if pet is older than 6, you must have vet exam within past 30 days for enrollment or within 15 days of policy issuance)
  • Pets older than 8 years old are restricted to 60% reimbursement and a $750 annual deductible
  • 15-day waiting period for accident and illness
  • No wellness plan
  • Charges a one-time $25 fee
  • Can't enroll pets over 4 years old in NY

Key Features

Healthy Paws App Screenshots

  • Underwriter: Westchester Fire Insurance Company/Chubb
  • Has one bilateral exclusion (a condition or disease that affects both sides of the body): pre-existing cruciate ligament problems to one leg as respects to the cost of future treatment for problems of the other leg
  • Must file claims within 90 days of the date of service, and they process 99% of claims within 2 days
  • Policyholders can opt for direct deposit instead of a hard copy check
  • With approval from Healthy Paws and the clinic, on a claim-by-claim basis, Healthy Paws may be able to pay your clinic directly. This means you don’t have to pay a hefty vet bill in advance and wait for reimbursement (check with your vet — not available everywhere).
  • Can transfer your policy without a lapse in coverage to someone else if the pet parent becomes unable to care for the pet. The new policyholder will pay the same amount, and there will be no newly added pre-existing conditions.
  • Submit claims through the app (download the iOS app for free via this link or the Android app here) or online customer center
  • 30-day free look period (similar to a money-back guarantee)
  • Continues coverage for a pet if its policy transfers to a new owner
  • AAA and AMAC member discounts may be available

Exam Period

  • Dogs younger than 6-years-old must have visited the vet in the last 12 months or go within 15 days of policy issuance
  • Dogs older than 6-years-old must have been to the vet in the last 30 days or go within 15 days of policy issuance

Pre-Existing Conditions

Defined by Healthy Paws as:

a. an illness or the recurrence of any illness or condition which first occurred or displayed any signs and/or symptoms consistent with the stated illness or condition prior to the pet policy effective date;
b. an injury or recurrence of an injury that occurred prior to the pet policy effective date; or
c. any condition or complication resulting from an illness or injury that occurred prior to the pet policy effective date.

Customer Service HoursHealthy Paws Waiting Period Chart

  • Email: 24/7
  • Phone: Monday – Friday from 6am to 6pm PST and Saturday – Sunday from 8am to 5pm PST

Waiting Periods

  • 15 days: Illnesses
  • 15 days: Accidents
  • 15 days: Cruciate ligament events (bilateral exclusion for pre-existing cruciate ligament injuries and lameness)
  • 12 months: Hip dysplasia

There are no waiting periods for New Hampshire and Maryland.

What Does Healthy Paws Cover?

Services included are not limited to this list and are subject to change.

CoveredNot Covered
SurgeriesPre-existing conditions
HospitalizationVeterinary exam fees
CancerPreventative care (vaccines, flea control, heartworm medication, dental health care, grooming, anal gland expression, spay and neuter)
Prescription medicationsBehavioral modification
Diagnostic treatment and testing (x-rays, blood tests, ultrasounds, etc.)
Accidents
Illnesses
Congenital conditions
Hereditary conditions
Specialty Care
Emergency care
Alternative treatment

Is Hip Dysplasia Covered?

Dog in wheelchair on beach: Canine Hip DysplasiaHealthy Paws covers expensive hereditary and congenital conditions if your vet hasn’t noted associated clinical symptoms before you purchase a policy. Still, you must enroll your dog for Healthy Paws pet insurance before the age of 6 for you to take advantage of this coverage. Healthy Paws DOES NOT cover hip dysplasia for dogs enrolled after the age of 6.

Healthy Paws also has a 12-month waiting period for hip dysplasia coverage from the date you sign up.* This applies as long as there’s no prior related medical history for this condition. Check out our hip dysplasia article to learn more about this condition.

*Both New Hampshire and Maryland remove the 15-day waiting period and the 12-month hip dysplasia waiting period. New Hampshire retains the hip dysplasia age limitation for coverage. Maryland does not have this age limitation.

Is My Dog Eligible For Healthy Paws?

Is My Dog Eligible For Healthy Paws graphicAll dog breeds are eligible for Healthy Paws’ no-caps-on-claim payouts. Dogs between the ages of 8 weeks and 14 years are eligible to enroll, and your dog has coverage for the lifetime of the policy.

Healthy Paws has some restrictions on reimbursement and annual deductible amounts depending on your pet’s age at enrollment.

  • Dogs and cats 5 years and under:
    • 90%, 80% and 70% reimbursement
    • $100, $250 and $500 deductible
  • Dogs and cats 6 and 7 years old:
    • 80%, 70% or 60% reimbursement
    • $250, $500 or $750 deductible
  • Dogs 8 years and older: 
    • 60% reimbursement
    • $750 deductible

Pricing Quotes

See the table below for examples of quotes from Healthy Paws. You can get personalized price quotes for your pet(s) from Healthy Paws and several other top-ranked companies when you fill out our short quote form.

Remember though that Healthy Paws is the only company that offers unlimited coverage. We believe it’s the best choice if you’re opting to get pet insurance since it covers you in just about any new situation. However, pricing may be slightly higher for Healthy Paws since you receive more complete coverage.

BreedLabrador RetrieverEnglish Cocker SpanielGerman ShepherdYorkshire TerrierYorkshire TerrierMixed Breed Cat
Boy or GirlBoyBoyGirlBoyGirlGirl
Age2 years8 years4 years2 months2 months2 years
LocationFlorida
(zip code: 33601)
Illinois
(zip code: 60290)
California
(zip code: 90001)
New York
(zip code: 10001)
Florida
(zip code: 33601)
Washington D.C.
(zip code: 20001)
Price Per Month$44.86$52.57$71.63$33.82$31.87$18.13
Reimbursement Level80%50%90%80%80%80%
Annual Deductible$200$1,000$500$250$200$250

You should expect annual increases on your premiums from any pet insurance company. These rates and increases will vary based on your location, changes in vet costs and more.

Also, visit our pet insurance quotes page to see how the cost of Healthy Paws stacks up against the competition.

Coupon Code

Use this link and you will automatically receive up to a 5% discount. The actual discount varies based on individual state regulations. You can also visit our dedicated HealthyPaws promotions page to discuss current offers.

How Is Reimbursement Calculated?

Reimbursement is determined by taking the total of the covered treatments and multiplying that by your chosen reimbursement rate. The annual deductible is then subtracted. Here’s an example for someone with a 90% reimbursement and $100 deductible:

$1,200 (covered treatments) x 90% (reimbursement level) = $1,080
$1,080 – $100 (remaining annual deductible) = $980 reimbursement amount

Healthy Paws’ deducible is annual, which means it only needs to be satisfied once per policy year. It resets on the anniversary of your pet’s enrollment.

Reimbursement Story

  • Dog: Charlie, miniature Dachshund
  • Diagnosis: Intervertebral Disc Disease

Dachshund looking out windowJordan, Charlie’s pet parent, knew something was wrong with Charlie when he didn’t greet her when she returned home as usual, so the next day they went to a vet for neuro and orthopedic exams. They both came back normal.

The vet took knee and hip radiographs, which also came back normal. Jordan worked at the vet’s office and knew that Dachshunds were prone to back problems, so she requested a second neuro and orthopedic exam. This time, he failed both.

Charlie was unable to walk by this time so Jordan rushed him to the emergency hospital where she was told it was intervertebral disc disease. They started him on a pain regimen, and things got worse overnight. Charlie was prepared for anesthesia and had an MRI which identified where his discs herniated into the spinal canal. Fortunately, the damage was corrected in surgery.

After weeks of physical therapy and about 2 years later, Charlie is about 90% recovered. He still receives maintenance therapy every 2 weeks but is running around like a puppy again.

  • Treatment Cost: $12,085
  • Healthy Paws Reimbursed: $9,168
  • Final Cost For Pet Parent: $2,917 ($250 deductible, 20% copay)

Customer Opinions

Positive Reviews

It was a huge relief to have Healthy Paws insurance. They paid accurately and on time. It is hard enough to have a pet go through something like this, and knowing that we had insurance to help with expenses made it more bearable. – E.F., BBB 11/18/2019

My wife and I are so extremely thankful to all of you at healthy paws. It means such a great deal to us that for the most part, we will never have to make the hard decision of choosing between trying to avoid difficult financial hardship and our dog Monkey’s well being. This especially rings true to us because a friend of ours had to deal with those circumstances recently and unfortunately, to poor results. Even though the complexities of health insurance may escape Monkey, it certainly does not escape my wife and I. Monkey is well loved and cared for and that is due in part to all of you at healthy paws. – John S., Yelp 10/2/2019

Negative Reviews

My pet was fully examined and declared to be healthy when I took possession of her from her rescue. I signed up for Healthy Pets and they asked for her medical records and I sent her the FULL packet from her vet. Healthy Pets said great!!! Thanks that is everything we need to cover her, after her waiting period she is covered for everything blah blah blah. Fast forward to now when I have my first vet visit with her and reason for claim. Their reponse? “You aren’t covered because we haven’t received your medical history from your vet! Nah, nah, nah, nah, nahhhh, NAH.” (keep in mind that anytime you interact with them after you are a paying customer you have to wait almost 2 weeks for a reply or sit on hold for over an hour.) So I explain that she was healthy during her last full exam, nothing has changed and she hasn’t been to the vet BECAUSE SHE HAS BEEN HEALTHY. Too bad!!!! they say, now she is never covered for any future back issues (she threw out her back after hiking with us) because apparently you have to go to the vet and pay for nothing even with a healthy pet for them to cover anything. Also they won’t even cancel my policy, they write back (after 2 weeks as is their MO) and keep making you jump through hoops. $40 a month wasted since signing up for NOTHING. AVOID THIS COMPANY at all costs. – K.M., BBB 10/7/2019

I just cancelled. I had one more pet on my policy and now I have none. I got a notification that my insurance was going to increase yet AGAIN in the next 90 days. My cat just turned 6 and what started as a 21.00 monthly, now costs more than my own health insurance. They hook you with low rates and increase the premium substantially over time to recoup the cost for the initial low rates. With their declining customer services, as you can see in my previous review and some of the other customer reviews, it’s time to cancel. I hope they see these bad reviews and improve for the sake of other pet owners. – Shanny L., Yelp 10/15/2019

How Did Healthy Paws Help Baxter & His Pet Parents?

Cancer is the highest disease-related cause of death for pets each year, making up almost 50% of the total. Unfortunately, Baxter’s cancer diagnosis meant his owners needed help financially. See how Healthy Paws helped this family in a time of need.

Healthy Paws vs Other Companies

See what the key differences are between Healthy Paws and other leading pet insurance companies.

Healthy Paws vs Trupanion

  • Healthy Paws has a better customer service reputation and pays out 99% of its claims within 2 days as opposed to the 60 days Trupanion allows.
  • Trupanion is consistently more expensive than Healthy Paws in the quotes we ran.
  • Trupanion has a shorter 30-day waiting period for hip dysplasia, while Healthy Paws is 12 months.

Compare Healthy Paws and Trupanion

Healthy Paws vs Embrace

  • All Healthy Paws plans include unlimited claim limits. The maximum claim limit you can get online from Embrace is $30,000, you must call in for unlimited claim limits.
  • Healthy Paws averages a 2-day claim repayment, while Embrace average 10 to 15 business days.
  • Embrace has a 2-day waiting period for accidents, while Healthy Paws has a 15-day waiting period for accidents.

Compare Healthy Paws and Embrace

Healthy Paws vs Petplan

  • All Healthy Paws plans include unlimited claim limits, while Petplan offers claims limits ranging from $2,500 to unlimited.
  • Petplan has a shorter 6-month waiting period for hip dysplasia, while Healthy Paws is 12 months.
  • Healthy Paws averages a 2-day claim repayment, while Petplan average 5 to 14 business days.

Compare Healthy Paws and Petplan

Healthy Paws vs Pets Best

  • Pets Best offers $5,000 or unlimited claim limits, while Healthy Paws offers unlimited.
  • Healthy Paws has a longer waiting period for hip dysplasia at 12 months vs Pets Best’s 14 days but a shorter ACL waiting period at 15 days vs Pets Best’s 6 months.
  • Both companies were consistently among the least expensive when we ran quotes, but Pets Best is often slightly lower in cost.

Compare Healthy Paws and Pets Best

Healthy Paws vs Figo

  • Healthy Paws was founded in 2009 and has a great, stable reputation. Figo was founded in 2012 and doesn’t have the customer service reputation that Healthy Paws has.
  • Healthy Paws pays 99% of its claims within 2 days, while Figo typically pays claims within 5 to 7 business days.
  • Healthy Paws was more consistently among the least expensive options in quotes we ran, whereas Figo was more sporadic.

Compare Healthy Paws and Figo

How Does Healthy Paws Compare?

Visit Healthy Paws Website

Healthy Paws has a history of excellent customer service, an annual deductible (vs per incident) and unlimited lifetime benefits with every policy. When you sign up for your initial plan, you choose your yearly deductible and the percentage of the vet bill for reimbursement. Learn more about Healthy Paws and their foundation in our interview with Co-Founder Rob Jackson.

If you’re still not sure if Healthy Paws is the right pet insurance provider for you, you’ve got lots of options, and you should always get multiple quotes to compare coverage and costs to find the best value for your family.

Our best pet insurance article compares Healthy Paws against many other providers to help you determine the best fit for you. If you’re thinking about getting pet insurance but still have some unanswered questions, feel free to ask us. We’re here to help you and your pets live a better, less stressful life.

Do you have any questions about Healthy Paws and what they cover?

About The Author:

Kimberly received her Bachelor of Arts in multimedia journalism from Simpson College. She has been writing about dogs since 2014, covering subjects such as dog insurance, training, health, accessories and more. Her natural curiosity helps her research as she seeks the truth when learning about, comparing and personally testing canine products and services. With every piece she writes, her goal is to help our readers find the best fit for their unique needs.

Kimberly grew up in a family that loved Labrador Retrievers and remembers running and playing in the yard with them as a child. In 2017, she and her husband adopted their Coonhound mix, Sally, from a local shelter. Kimberly's research was put to good use since Sally faced some aggression issues with other dogs and needed some training to be an inside dog. She worked daily with Sally and sought help from professionals to help Sally become the happy pup she is today.

One of Kimberly's favorite pastimes is spoiling Sally with new toys, comfy beds and yummy treats (she even makes homemade goodies for her). She tries to purchase the safest products for Sally and knows that each canine has their own specific likes and dislikes. Kimberly is passionate about dogs, and knows the bond between humans and canines is like no other.

Disclaimer: Information regarding insurance company offerings, pricing and other contract details are subject to change by the insurance company at any time and are not under the control of this website. Information published on this website is intended for reference use only. Please review your policy carefully before signing up for a new pet health insurance contract or any other contract as your unique circumstances will differ from those of others who may be used for example purposes in this article.
Disclaimer: The information provided through this website should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, you should consult your health care provider.

Disclaimer: This website contains reviews, opinions and information regarding products and services manufactured or provided by third parties. We are not responsible in any way for such products and services, and nothing contained here should be construed as a guarantee of the functionality, utility, safety or reliability of any product or services reviewed or discussed. Please follow the directions provided by the manufacturer or service provider when using any product or service reviewed or discussed on this website.

Subscribe
Notify of
440 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
John
July 1, 2020 10:01 am

Raised our premiums three times without any prior notification. Contacted them twice by email and they never responded. Found much more affordable coverage and better coverage elsewhere. Recommend if you have no preexisting condition issues that every year you price out the cost of your insurance.

Mary Beth Niziol
June 22, 2020 11:55 am

I have been very pleased with Healthy Paws. About a year after we adopted our dog she started to have serious health issues that required expensive medical intervention. We would never have been able to treat her if it weren’t for the insurance coverage. Claims are easily made through the app and are quickly processed. I was especially touched when we received a hand-signed sympathy card after we lost a different dog to cancer.

Vickie Schultheiss
June 22, 2020 7:54 am

My recent need for a $6000 surgery and Healthy paws did a check in on how we were doing post op. Here’s my reply/review:
Andrew is doing FANTASTIC! His knee had to wait 2 months due to Covid and all his other joints were getting sore from the offloading. He is feeling so much better ALL OVER! He would chase the ducks already if he was allowed, but he has 7 more weeks on the leash. Thank you for such rapid processing of his claims as during this time it was crucial to be able to cover his fees right away.

Marc F
June 20, 2020 11:57 am

Healthy Paws came through again and fast! We submitted invoices for a recent TPLO surgery (2nd one – opposite leg) and we were reimbursed the following week. The process was quick (Upload invoice – that’s it – easy), get confirmation and in process, then approval notice) all in about a week – before the credit card bill even came in. It’s a comfortable feeling knowing that when the big decisions come in for our pets; Healthy Paws helps with that otherwise expensive decision and one less stressful thing to think about.

Kim
June 17, 2020 12:49 pm

I did a ton of research on different pet insurance companies before I chose healthy paws 6 years ago. They have been incredible to deal with. Unfortunately, my purebred dog had had many problems over the years which has led to several $2,000 – $3,000 bills. The amount of vet problems she has had is crazy that it’s almost laughable. Healthy Paws has always given me full reimbursement and never pushed back. Their customer support team is always helpful and it’s very easy to submit a claim from your phone. I’m very thankful to them for helping me keep my very expensive dog healthy and happy. I’ve never had to make a tough choice about her care knowing that Healthy Paws will cover it. I highly recommend this insurance company.

Clarice's mom
June 16, 2020 7:00 pm

I am so grateful for the support from Healthy Paws!! Having this insurance made us feel less anxious when our baby got sick. We were able to worry less about the financial part of this challenge and really focus on recovery for our dog. Also their customer service is AMAZING!!

Joanna
June 15, 2020 10:17 pm

Healthy Paws is amazing! One of my dogs has had ongoing health issues and every time I have a major medical bill they have come through for me and my pup. There has never been any issue with coverage, the process is quick and easy, and it’s one less stress to worry about when my pup isn’t feeling well. Thank goodness for Healthy Paws, I will keep my baby insured through them as long as they keep renewing my policy!

Ginger and Juno's Mom
June 15, 2020 2:41 pm

Healthy Paws has been a lifesaver for my dogs and my pocketbook. Both dogs have had unexpected and expensive health issues, both chronic and emergency. Healty Paws covered a substantial amount of the expenses. I’ve used HP for 10 years and nevevr had a problem with premiums. Rates go up but incrementally. Same with any insurance policy. They are very clear about what is covered and what isn’t. I haven’t had any surprises with my claims–expect happy surprises when they covered more than I expected. It’s easy to submit claims using their app. I recently signed up for direct deposit, which I expect will streamline the process even further. Customer service is quick. Ginger and Juno are very grateful with their Healthy Paws plans.

Acadia
June 15, 2020 12:55 pm

Having our puppy insured with Healthy Paws has been a great, easy experience! Our puppy became very sick and he needed to have multiple vet visits and diagnostic testing to determine what was wrong. Every vet visit bill we were able to easily upload on the Healthy Paws site and the process for approval and reimbursement checks was extremely easy and quick. Thanks to Healthy Paws we were able to make sure we got him the necessary and best treatment.

Meghan C
June 15, 2020 8:39 am

My dog got a quite expensive knee surgery on a Friday, healthy paws covered 80% no questions asked, and I got my money deposited into my account the next business day. highly highly recommend. It’s been a breeze with them and all you have to do is take a pic of the receipt and upload so it’s really easy. I’ve heard horror stories and it’s been 5 easy years with them.

Tiago
June 14, 2020 6:30 pm

We are extremely happy with Healthy Paws and we do recommend it. Our dog Sherlock has been covered for years and already had 2 types of cancer, and both times the treatment has been fully covered and the process was very swift and uncomplicated – as a matter of fact, we received the refund before my credit card bill had closed so we didn’t even need to pay the treatment out of my bank account first!
We are just so glad we don’t need to think twice before deciding to go ahead with the best possible treatment for Sherlock. That piece of mind is definitely something we didn’t have before we signed up. Thank you, Healthy Paws!
Also, if you read any negative comment down below here, I suggest checking if their dog ever had any major event as surgery / hospital admittance – that’s exactly the reason why we have dog insurance. I guarantee that what they refunded me back is more than what I ever paid them on premiums. Until that happens, just enjoy the fact your pet is healthy. But trust me, major events will happen sooner or later.

Lilet Martinez
June 13, 2020 5:50 pm

Thanks to Healthy Paws for Quick Reimbursement; Surely a Big Help in an already Rough Time.

I purchased pet insurance shortly after my then 7-mo old pup had a bout of throw-up/diarrhea combo and cost me a hefty $500+. At 4 yo, it’s been pretty uneventful until last April … It was emotional. Plus, worrisome and stressful. Worried-sick about my baby who is in pain, and yes, worried about how much it would cost, especially during the uncertainty of COVID.

Filing Claims: as soon as vet bill was emailed to me, I attached same in my account (no forms)
Claim Processing: was completed either by same afternoon or following day
Reimbursement: when huge surgery bill came, they requested for medical records from vet; upon their receipt, it was processed by following day … and money was in my account by next day.

As much as we love our babies, vet bills are often cost-prohibitive and does weigh into our decisions on plan of action. With all the stress and worry about your baby, for me, relieving some of the financial burden, when we’re talking lumpsum in the thousands, certainly helps a lot. So thankful for quick processing and reimbursement.

Shelly McGahuey
June 13, 2020 5:14 pm

Healthy Paws has been Awesome!! I have a dog who is 1 1/2 years old. She just had her 2nd knee surgery(TPLO). I could not have afforded the cost of both procedures within 6 months. They paid their portion of the bills asap with out any hassle. I have recommended Healthy Paws to all my friends and family. Thank You Healthy Paws for saving my Dog!!!

Very Unhappy
June 8, 2020 2:56 pm

I wish I had gone with a different company when insuring my pet, Healthy Paws has never once been helpful. They claimed diagnostic tests were ‘routine’ so they weren’t covered. Their deductible is way higher than it seems, because they only count a percentage of your bills toward it. After two years of paying me nothing on claims, they raised my monthly rate to nearly double! I called to ask why and they said the only way to lower the premium would be to get less coverage…except I’m already at the lowest tier (which they hadn’t bothered to check). I hope someone sees this review and thinks twice before signing on with Healthy Paws.

Tim from Healthy Paws
June 10, 2020 8:58 am
Reply to  Very Unhappy

Hi Very Unhappy,

Thank you for reaching out to express your concerns. We understand that you’ve already been in contact with our customer care team to discuss your pending premium increase. Please call us at (855) 898-8991 and ask to speak with one of our Customer Liaison Managers if you would like to discuss your policy coverage and how your reimbursements are calculated.

Best

The Healthy Paws Team

Audra M Perschilli
June 8, 2020 12:45 pm

Healthy Paws is amazing! Our dog has had some major health issues in the last two years. He has had both of his knees done and Healthy Paws was amazing. Most recently, he had an obstruction in his stomach and intestines which led to pancreatitis and pneumonia. We’re so blessed to have had Healthy Paws. The surgery and his care was very expensive and we had comfort in knowing that we had Healthy Paws to help us. Their service is excellent, they reimburse quickly, and they even have someone check up on the dog to see how they are doing. It’s a wonderful pet insurance company and I recommend them to everyone.

Mitchell Grayson
June 4, 2020 1:36 pm

Healthy Paws has been fantastic! Our dog has not had any major issues until she tore both of her hind leg cruciate ligaments. The surgery was expensive, but Healthy Paws paid the claims without any problems (and quickly, too). I am totally satisfied with their service and the peace of mind knowing that come what may, my pet insurance will cover the expenses. As others have said, as well, Healthy Paws even followed up to see how my dog was doing. I have to say I’m impressed and quite pleased — definitely a great company!

Cara Becker
June 2, 2020 11:29 am

If I paid my monthly Healthy Paws pet insurance premium for my dog’s entire life and he never had an injury or illness, it would still be worth it for peace of mind. Unfortunately, we have encountered injuries, and peace of mind expanded into tangible benefits. Healthy Paws has been consistently responsive and helpful through our many claims. The process of submitting a claim for reimbursement is easy and the reimbursements have been prompt. Our dogs are part of our family and I knew if anything ever happened I would feel compelled to do whatever it takes to get them healthy. “Whatever it takes” with veterinary care is often costly and stressful. Being able to take the financial worry out of the equation so you can focus on caring for your pet is invaluable.

Molly Kirkpatrick
June 1, 2020 4:59 pm

When I first adopted my dog from the shelter (my first dog) I never really considered getting pet insurance. After the first dew-claw tear after playing frisbee I decided that I should probably look into it with such an athletic dog. After doing some research and asking around, I was referred to Healthy Paws by my coworker and let me tell you: BEST. DECISION. EVER. These guys are VERY responsive, quick, and easy to work with. I wish human insurance companies were as diligent about customer service. To top off the great service, the company’s mission to help animals in need just makes choosing Healthy Paws an easy decision. I have unfortunately had to put in several claims with Mozart, but the process was painless. I find that the price is very reasonable for the exceptional customer service, not to mention the peace of mind that I can continue to get the care my dog needs. The quality of life my dog has is optimal because of this company. Mozart and I thank you Healthy Paws!

Sarah Harring
May 29, 2020 4:12 pm

When we were thinking about getting insurance for our dog Zeus we had heard such great things about Healthy Paws and decided it was the company for us! No pet parent thinks the worst will happen to them until it does and I was so thankful to have Healthy Paws on my side when Zeus had a disc rupture and he lost movement in his back legs. He had to have an MRI, emergency surgery, and a 3 night hospital stay. All of those expenses added up very quickly and I was glad that I didn’t need to think twice about giving him the best possible care he needed at that time. Healthy Paws reviewed our claims quickly and reimbursed us based on our agreement with them. The process was so simple and efficient and the money was deposited into our account 15 days after our first claim was submitted (we had four over the span of 7 days). I also truly appreciate Healthy Paws’ care and commitment. They sent us an email asking how Zeus was doing after surgery and you could tell they sincerely cared and did not want you to experience more stress than you already are. The only suggestion I have for anyone signing up is to have your vet send medical records as soon as possible. I did not do so until my first claim and luckily my vet was on top of getting documentation to Healthy Paws, but it is one less thing you would need to worry about during an emergency. I can’t thank Healthy Paws enough for helping us through this difficult time.

Bethany F
May 27, 2020 2:30 pm

I cannot say enough great things about Healthy Paws. My pup, a Frenchie, has had two major surgeries (intestinal blockage x2 and now IBD with PLE), and they’ve covered both 5 figure claims. They’ve even followed up via email a few times to check to make sure he’s doing okay. Sure my premiums have gone up once but it’s still worth it so that I can continue to make my pet’s health a priority, no matter what the cost. Thanks Healthy Paws!

Anna Frost
May 23, 2020 3:13 pm

Five weeks ago, our 10-year-old Springer tore her rear knee ACL so badly it disconnected. She needed reconstruction surgery. We were incredibly stressed about her safety, our ability to care for her when she came home, and also the cost. It has been so much easier than we expected, largely because of Healthy Paws Health Insurance. When I called them to check coverage, they assured me that unless it was a pre-existing condition, there would be no problem. They told us not to worry, that Healthy Paws was there to relieve us of stress, not increase it. Since our girl has been insured since she was less than a year old we were relieved. The surgery was expensive, and we were reimbursed exactly as we hoped, within days of submitting the bills. We have enjoyed their efficiency and courtesy for ten years of mostly mundane and minor health issues (foxtails, UTI infections, allergies…) Their processing system is extremely streamlined and user friendly. We find their newsletters informational. And their customer service all these years has convinced us that they actually care about our girl. They have never let us down, but this time they really had our backs – and we deeply appreciate it. If you are thinking of getting pet insurance, look no further than Healthy Paws.

Lauren
May 23, 2020 9:20 am

In 2014 I purchased Healthy Paws Pet Insurance shortly after I adopted my female border collie, C.C. Very shortly afterward, C.C. became so sick with vomiting, bleeding and appetite loss, and I remember saying to her, “Don’t worry, C.C. I’m not going to give up on you and we are going to figure out what is wrong and make you better.” After numerous and expensive tests, she was diagnosed with Inflammatory Bowel Disease and we were able to control the IBD and she was her beautiful happy self again.

Then, in December 2018 she was diagnosed with cancer of the liver and spleen. The vet gave me terrible news that typically even with treatment, most dogs with this type of cancer only live 4-6 months, and the treatments are $3k/month. C.C. was only seven years old, and I was terrified of losing her. Thanks to her Healthy Paws pet policy, I had the option to treat her with chemotherapy, otherwise, she would never have had this chance, and I would have had to put her down in January, 2019. A year and a half later (which is a long time for a dog), C.C. is still with us and her cancer is in remission. I would have never been able to afford the treatments on my own, but Healthy Paws made it possible to keep my promise to C.C. that I was not going to give up on her. Additionally, taking the financial strain out of the stress of taking care of a sick pet was so incredibly helpful. To date, Healthy Paws has paid all 108 of C.C.’s claims. (I also have another policy for C.C.’s brother, Pirate, but after 4 years, he still has no claims. Good Dog!)

Every once in a while, I get a little note from Healthy Paws asking how C.C. is doing, and I am so happy to report that she turned 9 in January and is still doing well. I asked if I was in jeopardy of having our policy canceled, and the response was, “Nope! As long as you pay your premiums, we will keep paying the claims!” Every claim I submit has been processed, and I usually have the money back in my account within a week.

I thank God every day that C.C. is still with us, and I thank Healthy Paws for allowing me to afford the care of my pets. The world is definitely a better place with them in it.

Barry Shapiro
May 20, 2020 4:49 pm

Just wait until your premiums go up. I would have been better off putting away the $35 or so per month in an account to use if something happened to my dog. He just turned 8, has never had a claim, eats the healthiest food possible, goes for annual shots and physical exams and we run 15 miles per week. Boom, my rates went up so I cancelled. All they had to do was send a 5 question survey to our vet who would have told HealthyPaws we have the healthiest dog around. I give 4 paws down to HealthyPaws. What a fool I was.

Tim
May 24, 2020 6:32 pm
Reply to  Barry Shapiro

Barry,

We truly appreciate that you have been a valuable member of the Healthy Paws Family over the years and glad that for the moment, you have reconsidered canceling your policy. We also know you haven’t had to file any claims and we hope that you never have to–this means your pup is healthy and accident free. Our management team works hard to keep our premiums as low as possible while still providing comprehensive coverage. New technology, advancements in veterinary treatments, and overall claim costs are taken into consideration when assessing our rates. Premiums are determined based on the rates and rating rules filed and approved within each state’s Department of Insurance. These reflect the cost of treatment, advances in veterinary medicine, your individual pet’s breed, gender, age and other factors, in addition to the overall claims experience for the program within the region your pet resides. As a result, we need to increase the premium level for all pets in your state so you and your pet can have continued access to the best veterinary care. Rest assured, we will never penalize you with higher rates for making claims. All pet insurance companies, no matter how they market their benefits, will raise rates to keep up with the rapidly rising cost of veterinary care. We do our best to be transparent regarding annual premium increases by including this information on the “Frequently Asked Questions” page of our website. Give your buddy a big hug from us.

The Healthy Paws Team

Lauren
May 23, 2020 9:20 am
Reply to  Barry Shapiro

So you’re upset with an insurance company because you have a healthy dog and didn’t have to put a claim in? You’re lucky. I hope your dog stays healthy.

Melissa
May 19, 2020 5:37 pm

During a difficult few months with our young golden retriever puppy (giardia and two surgeries for a facial abscess), Healthy Paws was consistently helpful. Whether it was answering questions right before close of business, processing claims quickly, talking to our vet to set up direct pay on occasion, or getting out reimbursement checks. This company really cares about their customers (parents and pets) and it really shows in their customer service. A follow up email from Tyson and Wagner to see how are puppy was feeling after surgery warmed our hearts. We love Healthy Paws and recommend them to everyone we know with pets!

Elizabeth A.J. Salzer
May 19, 2020 10:26 am

As a physician assistant, I wish Healthy Paws could also insure humans. They are superb. Our Sheltie has had three events for which he needed medical care (a mild shoulder strain, pancreatitis, and two broken teeth that had to be extracted) and in all three cases we had the funds deposited in our account in a matter of days.